18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

TSmindstorm
post Feb 4 2008, 02:12 AM

900 posts

Whaoho..viper! Looks like you're going into wilder areas to hunt for 1st king yeah? Good man! Hope you can find big strong challenger! Yeah..this couple of weeks raining alot... I also always wanted to go catch spider then start rainning. So nowadays I always look at sky, if i see rain clouds around, I might as well forget about it. Tuesday i was at Great Eastern... wait for my wife at 5.30 pm but was there at 4.30, you know la what i would do with that extra time...but unfortunately at 5.00pm the sky look like 7.30pm!! Then started pouring...At 5.45pm, outside look like 8.00pm!

Wah, seems like now you have A beat B, B beat C and C beat A situation. Banglo beat Lowland, Lowland beat Lily, Lily beat Banglo. Heheh.. also means all quite equal. Keep them and feed them well. Aiyah..3-4 days eat once very sad la. Why dont you feed one spider twice a day and another one 3 days one time. Then you can test your theory (feeding less makes the spider hungrier and a better fighter) wheather correct or not. I think feed too little will
weaken ur spider.

All the spiders you catch which u dont want u release in ur house garden ah? Overpopulation di...

Ur latest video(the zip file) cannot see la. My winzip cannot unzip it. What software you use to zip it?

PS. u go catch spiders, take some pics too..more interesting.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 4 2008, 02:14 AM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 4 2008, 02:30 AM

900 posts

Ok, I got my streamyx already... pretty fast, in fact blazing fast...at first...then now and then slow down. But ok la...better than dialup

Here are the power struggle fights between topman and bro1..

22/01/08(mentioned before)
Topman(won) vs bro1 - rolled off the screen(no clip)
Topman(right) vs bro1(left) again - topman chased bro1 off paper
see video - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DoR66ObSVvw

25/01/08
Bro1(right) vs topman(left)
Bro1 won! Bro1 carried topman to the edge of leave..afterthat cannot see. Then when i recovered topman..he was injured! One side leg standing up... Good one from Bro1
see video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hVxNjjMS0WI

02/02/08
Today I fought the spiders on glass surface(my dining hall coffee table). I always think that if spiders fight on smooth surface(even a smooth leave like money plant leaf), they can fight a bit longer than rough surface because the impact of push and chops would not be so great. It's like boxers wearing gloves to fight. Hence both spiders would receive softer blows and hence the fight would last longer because the weaker one wont run away so fast. You can actually see that as the spiders push each other, their legs keep slipping because of the smooth surface.

Topman(left) vs Bro1(right) - ROUND 1
Short fight with one chop. But can see Bro1 side stepping onto the ledge which cause him to slip and maybe lose abit of confidence.
see video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3WYte7HL0LM

Bro1(left) vs Topman(right) - ROUND 2
13 second fight! Fought them again about maybe 15min later from round one. In between both had a fight with Bro2.
Both won Bro2. This round although Topman went all out to topple Bro1 but damn...Bro1 stood on firm ground and wouldnt let up...

After pushing a while, Bro1 started off with a couple of chops
Topman countered
Followed by grappling and holding on to each other
Bro1 SLAMMED Topman onto a container wall!!
After that topman look a bit dazed yet still try to chop Bro1, but then
Bro1 said no way hosay and Topman fled...

see video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wzk1sfCITGE

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 4 2008, 02:53 AM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 4 2008, 08:40 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(climacool @ Feb 4 2008, 07:35 PM)
how to determine fighthing spider a.k.a pow fu ?? i saw few in my garden but i'm not sure isn't it pow fu? It's a slings...
Slings means spiderlings? Depending on the size, the color may be a bit different. If it is very small, most probably it is still all black but as it grows older, maybe 4mm in length then may be able to see the irridescent greenish/bluish markings on its legs and abdomen like the adults u see in the pics and videos here.

Behaviour wise, they are found in between 2 smooth(non-hairy) leaves stuck together by their web. Usually they are found in plants/creeper under some shade. Very rarely do fighting spiders slings walk about hunting for food. If you see one walking and stopping in the open looking for food, most probably it is not a pow fu. They spend 99% of their time in between the leaves and only come out to strike at a passing ant/insect or if its nest happened to be destroyed or invaded by other insects/spiders. They will then quickly go back into their nest or look for a new one. Adult females are also quite passive. Only the adult males will come out almost daily and wander about to look for females. I think they come out about 2 times a day... usually between 9-10.30 and 4.30 to 6pm depending on the weather.

If u happen to catch an adult, don't hesitate to show it to us. If it is big, dont hesitate to let me know where you stay... smile.gif

here's a couple of pics of only ONE sling i have(Quietman junior)
left pic: small enough just to sit on its Dad's head
right pic: I fed it with a very tiny type of ant that likes fruits...lots of them in my front porch

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 4 2008, 08:41 PM

TSmindstorm
post Feb 5 2008, 03:46 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(Mangrovejumper @ Feb 2 2008, 03:50 AM)
Interesting scientific observations.  With the amount of data you'll have by the end of this year, you can probably publish a paper on it!

Ajax was from a time where we didn't have enough resources and guidance to document our experiences.  It was also from a time that I always had at least one chop spider among my collection.  Those were the days when hot spots were bountiful and KL wasn't as developed as it is now.  I agree that the biggest fighting spiders always tend to live in areas with plenty of moisture and adequate shade, but enough sunlight.  I've never found big males in the middle of the hutan belantara.

Did Quietman's female get enough food to keep her satisfied?  I assume she ate all the rest of the hatchlings.

The "big spider star" nest that I had 2 months ago didn't have a female watching over the batch of eggs and they hatched even though the leaf got dry and turned brown.  So I'm not really sure if the mother is needed to care for the eggs, other than guard them against predators.
Hehe.. this forum itself is a good enuf "paper"... with pictures and videos, I think it is better than reading a scientific paper smile.gif

yeah.. i think so too she ate her young or eggs. But i was feeding her everyday with some fly or ant. Now she has turn quite black..old i think. I have separated her out and let her second batch of eggs hatch on their own...hopefully they do.
TSmindstorm
post Feb 5 2008, 03:57 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 4 2008, 09:44 AM)
The earlier video i zipped using WIN RAR. Heres the one using WINZIP. icon_idea.gif
[attachmentid=393387].

Yea.. wheres ur other spider fierce long videos? i want to dl oso.. drool.gif .

Last time i normally trained the spider to chop by fighting it with other type of species spider smaller size. The fighting spider will kill off its opponent.
Fght with the small green grasshoppers oso.  icon_idea.gif I also let it fight with 1-2 black ants just to make it gila-gila abit. Fighting spider tend to move franticly when see ants nearby.. dunno why.. either they excited or panic? One of my black fighting spider got bitten by the big ant with pincher on its arm and died.  shocking.gif  My friend oso told me bfr to feed fierce fighting spider with dead red ants coz red ants bite very stingy n painful. If the spider eat alot red ants juice, its own bite oso will be deadly and painful.  tongue.gif Not sure whether true onot la..

The most exciting one is catch a big house flies(its eyes big type) and let the spider kill it off. Last time my fighting spider is big and fierce type, it will terkam at the big flies and kill it after some time coz the flies will struggle abit.  tongue.gif  The current spider i have, put small plant flies oso it duwan attck it only sometime when its hungry only it will kill the small flies.. haiz.. so much different from last time.  cry.gif

The big n fierce type of spider will always eat and drink alot everyday. Its not scared of other bigger insects, and will kill it off oso even its own kind of fighting spider normally the smaller one will die n become its food.

Yeah, train it with female spider n let other spider to fight in its nest also boost the my spider confident to fight fiercely.

Nowdays less time to train spider, after work i oso flat ady...summore go jogging abit... den nite sleep ady. If i train the spider hard like those skool days.. might have chance to beat ur spiders.. kekkekee.. tongue.gif
Cheers,
v_viper88
Yeah later I will have a topic on fighting spider records... one of them will be the longest documented fight.

Wah, can fight with grasshopper? Never heard or try that before. I think the spider panic when see many ants cuz ants can kill them. Some fighting spider will eat red ants some don't. I think red ants give out a type of smell which repels the spiders.

Last time when young I always feed house fly to my spiders but nowadays I dont becuz i think feeding them house fly may cause them to die faster because most house fly are quite dirty carrying alot of harmful bacteria or parasites because most will come from the dirty dump.
Last year I caught a lot of spiders and fed them houseflies but all of them died within 1-2 months. I thot was old age but now you told me u kept a spider for 10 months means it cant be. Must be contamination from houseflies. I also read from a singapore forum that this guy also advice against feeding housefly because once he fed his spider housefly and next day it died!

Btw...still cannot unzip ur file la...

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 5 2008, 05:14 AM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 5 2008, 04:17 AM

900 posts

Yes, cny is here. Today i half day and will be having 8 days leave. Yeap, not wanting to waste the evening i went back to leech land in Puchong. Today i tell me story in pictures.

Reach there around 5.25pm. Walao, saw herd of kerbau behind the new rumah pangsa...interesting.. but the place i catch is the other side of the road...

The other side of the road. I didn't head straight to leech land but further up where i caught big leave, you can see the place is just beside busstop.
Pic on left shows deadend. Pic on right goes back to where i came from. Further back up is leech land.

First I saw a nest. I open a bit and yes there is a male inside! But unfortunately it jumped away when i tried to cut its leaf... So I explore further back up a bit.

I went into the shrubs a bit..can't go in much cuz there is a swamp but when i look back..heyhey...saw something...
dunno what these plants are called but their leave is small and soft... so i call them small leave plant, same ones i caught spiders in klang.

Before i catch this male, i looked around and saw another... heh, while trying to take more pictures of it, it jumped away! anyway eventually i waited and caught it. Also the one before this. Nice. 2 males in my pouch. Right pic shows the location is just beside road.

Suddenly i saw the busman walking up to me. He pointed and said, "Ular..." Ah... really ular...in the drain. I think it is a grass snake. Maybe someone from snake tread can confirm.

Anyway i went back to the first place where i lost a male and scouting nearby suddenly i saw a "hangkai pao"(wandering spider)... yeap it is the time of the day where males would wander around looking for food and female.. i think it was around 6.15pm.
When i tried to catch this guy(the biggest one caught today), it jumped and couldnt find it! Then i just look around and saw another one walking about! smaller one and caught it. Then i saw ANOTHER one also walking around!(nope i did not double type) but this time i did not catch it cuz i think it is small and also quite hard to catch. So i decided to wait for this big male. Wah..wait for 10-15min still did not show up... Got impatient and started searching..no wonder..it found a nest and stayed there... caught it. 4 males in my pouch.

I decided enuf for this area so I went back to leech land...why? cuz i want to catch some flies for my spiders back home...i remember leech land got a lot of fruit flies. Here is leech land. In the right pic can see the edge of the forest... one day i will explore there.

Where the leeches are(the right side of the pic)

Just beside the road. These are the leaves usually found in kelapa sawit plantation. They have tiny hairs. Not surprisely i don't find many fighting spiders here despite the dense leaves although got. Lowland was found in these type of leaves

1 minute i stepped into leech land and here i was greeted by the host(looks like i'm the host-to-be). No wonder... the ditch has become even more flooded due to contruction. The grey wall structure wasnt there when i came here the last time.. Looks like this area is going to be gone soon. Anyway smeared some OFF on this leech and on shoes.

I walk further in and started catching flies and also look at some nest. A lot of nest here are by a type of crab spider.. Here's a nice specimen.

Arrgh..attack by leech again. On my tracks. There you go..i shld say OFF you go.

Catch until about 7.30pm and went home. Here's the days catch.
Dont want to fight them today, let them eat and rest...Tomorrow let the games begin...

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 5 2008, 05:07 AM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 6 2008, 11:58 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(malowie @ Feb 6 2008, 11:30 AM)
where can i buy or get them?
You can try catching them from shrubs under shade. I posted a lot of pictures to show the type of places you may find them. Or you can buy them from viper88 or me loh.. smile.gif

Besides fighting them, they can be quite fun to keep too. One of the reason fighting spiders are so likeable is because
1) Being jumping spiders, they have 2 big front eyes, hence can look at you like with human eyes. This makes them pretty cute. They actually have bifocal vision(overlapping field of vision of the two eyes) like humans which enable them to differentiate distance very well. They catch insects by stalking them like a tiger.
male. female

2) Fighting spiders are hand friendly. Newly caught ones maybe a bit wild and will try to jump away from your hand. But after a while when they get used to your hand, they will comfortably walk and jump about on your hands. Not all jumping spiders can be hand tamed. Most house spiders you see walking about in your house are impossible to get them used to human hands and will jump away once they touch human hands.

3) Their colours are pretty! Although their markings are quite uniform throughout their species but you cant deny their irridescent colours are quite attractive. Actually there are several species of the same genus and they can be found in many different countries, up to india, hongkong and taiwan! Different species have different patterns and size. In malaysia itself i know of another 2 species.

4) When you take them out to play they are very active creatures.

5) They are easy and almost free to maintain

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 6 2008, 12:57 PM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 6 2008, 01:17 PM

900 posts

Hai... those spider i caught in leech land.. 3 cannot fight.. only one can.. the biggest one. It wins Bro1 and topman. But it lost to big leave. so currently 5th king.

current ranking

Bighead
Bigguns
Blurman!!
Bigleave
Thickarms
Bro1
Topman
Bro2

I'm letting the others go.

Coming into 3rd month i'm keeping Bighead, still cannot find any spiders to challenge him. Looks like i will have to go back to where i found him to try to see wheather i can find his brothers to fight him!

Here's Bighead today...undisputed champion

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 6 2008, 01:25 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSmindstorm
post Feb 9 2008, 12:08 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 7 2008, 09:46 AM)

Yeah, the early pic u compare Big Head with which spider. It size so much different leh.

Included are some of the type of leaves where i caught my fighting spiders.

[attachmentid=394838]

[attachmentid=394841]

Okla.. gtg go Pai Nien.. Happy CNY.

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88
One of the spiders i caught from Puchong...cannot fight one, so i did not name it. Let go already.

Aishh....so sad. Yesterday evening I came back from seremban and found 2 of my males escape from their containers because i did not close them properly. Bigguns and Blurman!! I searched the house and found back Bigguns under a rag cloth hung on my staircase railings. It was in a very thirsty mode. So i let it drink amd eat...now back to normal. Cannot find Blurman.. properly walk up the walk to the airwell windows and go out to the roof already. sad.gif I was planning to breed Blurman cause of its fighting skills... he was in the category of Quietman. Not big, but excellent fighter. Guess now just concentrate on Bighead. Others no plan to breed them.

TSmindstorm
post Feb 9 2008, 12:24 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(malowie @ Feb 6 2008, 04:55 PM)
ICIC... can  you please PM me the spiders that you sell? the pricelist and all?

thanks.
Here's wat I willing to sell
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/628268
TSmindstorm
post Feb 12 2008, 04:20 AM

900 posts

Wah piang eh! Two days you had so much activity with your spiders ah, viper! I just came back from seremban, was playing Dota in internet cafe with my frens from Singapore, i used sniper kena whack kau kau by viper(if u play dota u know wat i mean). Now you caught a Huge spider, i think my spider will kena whack by ur spider also!

I see ur spiders fights a lot of Ding Dong..win then lose then win back. All quite equal. Your Archillies look young but yeah, it is big.

Tomorrow i still on leave. Call u la. Wont write much now. Now want to sleep already.
zzzz......

TSmindstorm
post Feb 13 2008, 05:44 PM

900 posts

BIGHEAD MET HIS MATCH!!! notworthy.gif AND RECORD LONGEST TIME DOCUMENTED MATCH... a gruelling 22 seconds match!!!

I met viper yesterday for some great fighting matches. I brought along only 2 spiders, Bighead and Bigguns. But before that I also caught some new ones, 6 males. 6legbigman, Noname, Redleaf, Forgot, Smallchop and Smallkecut.
Yes, finally got a chop but unfortunately it is small. However now we have a documentation of a true chop.

Here are the fights we had. I uploaded video only for the good ones.

Archilles vs Bigguns
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6nbbEf64fE

Red leaf(win) vs Lily - long push
Red leaf(win) vs Lily - 1 chop
Red leaf(win) vs Lily - 1 chop and lift(no recording)
Banglo(win) vs Red leaf - 1 chop
Noname(win) vs Banglo - 1 chop
Noname(win) vs Lowland - 1 chop

Noname vs Lowland - 1 strong chop
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_1DGXuRDyo

MATCH OF THE DAY!!! Simply awesome!!!
Defending champion Bighead is on the right. New Arrival Archilles by viper is on the left.
The 2 superheavy weights "chap ma bou"(showoff) for 20 seconds before fight.

After some pushing...
...Archilles launch a strong chop which sent Bighead backwards.
Bighead countered with some arm biting
Some twisting between the 2 gladiators, Bighead manage to lift Archilles a bit.
Back to some arm waving push
For a moment, again Bighead manage to carry Archilles a bit
Archilles nearly flipped Bighead!
Then Archilles mustered all its strength and sent Bighead backwards a long long way!!! Lots of grappling and pushing and Bighead was totally in defensive mode!!
Holy cow! You got to watch the real video to see how it ends!!! Incredible wrestling!!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uPncA-m4Tk

Romeo vs smallchop... notice the huge size difference and the aggressive chop.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTA9MwqeFUY

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 13 2008, 06:02 PM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 14 2008, 02:48 AM

900 posts

I'm equally impressed by the performance of both spiders. Archilles being the active aggressor, showing amazing determination to try to topple Bighead and Bighead for its staying power, it just would not let up, even after having to "berundur"(retreat) so far.

In the final seconds, Archilles was chopping Bighead and even trying to lift Bighead.
(viper mentioned it as Bighead being forced to move upwards)
Archilles bottom.

I can't help but to think Bighead had ladyluck just in the final seconds when he managed to flip Archilles. Being flipped caused Archilles to be in a helpless and out of control position. Otherwise the fight would have carried on and Archilles may win. Viper is right to say that Archilles flipped because it was trying to get out of the lock position. This means Bighead didnt really intentionally do anything to flip Archilles.

If I would to bet on the second round, i would bet on Archilles. Bighead was maxed out.

Yeah, if there is a difference in size, it would be Bighead being minutely bigger than Archilles.

From here, we can also see that larger spiders tend to fight a bit slower and not as fast as average sized spiders.
I also noticed in the beginning, Archilles arms was waving faster than Bighead's.

Bighead is back to normal. For the record, it is the 9th of Jan when i started this tread to find Bighead a challenger...now 1 month and 3 days later on the 12th of Feb, the goal is met. And this could very well be the fight of the year, not just the day. Kudos to you, Viper.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 14 2008, 03:02 AM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 14 2008, 03:06 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 14 2008, 12:31 AM)
Hmm.. Mindstorm the match between NoName and LowLand... rolleyes.gif 
After see the video few times, i feel LowLand won. NoName give a strong chop at the beginning but LowLand manage to defend and lock NoName , it push 90degree before NoName breakfree and ran. LowLand gave a chase. Its abit confusing coz both spide turn very fast and get mixed up. I think we get the spider switch ady.. lol. U try c the video again.. Maybe i c wrongly.. Both spiders looks about the same.  hmm.gif Maybe i'm wrong..u try n chk the video.

v_viper88
yeah, u could be right as I can see Lowland countered.

Actually the middle size spiders i also not really sure the sequence because I didnt record down! But i think it was something like that huH,viper?

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 14 2008, 03:14 AM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 14 2008, 03:12 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(Mangrovejumper @ Feb 13 2008, 07:52 PM)
The match was painful to watch.  I winced a few times before it ended.

Archilles is a very very aggressive fighter.  How he pushed Bigguns out of the way, then he tilted his head multiple times to try to bite Bighead.  I think Bighead will become a better fighter with this type of experience once he heals.  Both spiders had to be exhausted after a fight like that.

I like the chop.  It's funny how he was ignored by the other male until he started biting.  I hope you can use him to convert the other spiders to become chop.
Hope you enjoyed it, man. This one's for you... the captor. biggrin.gif How wonderful the camcord and internet is, being able to share our passion halfway across the world and with everyone.

Wah, use the small chop to convert Bighead??!! High risk having arm broken off or being eaten leh...
TSmindstorm
post Feb 14 2008, 11:37 PM

900 posts

QUOTE(ADEXXXX @ Feb 14 2008, 03:44 AM)
wow, long time didnt play this game dy...
try to get one when i free, and i'll post the pic when i get one..brows.gif
Alrite man, welcome to the gang. Hope you get something like Bighead or Archilles. The more the merrier! thumbup.gif
TSmindstorm
post Feb 15 2008, 01:34 AM

900 posts

Ok, for the record, here's the previous record time fighting match on 25/11/07 between Scareycat(caught by mangrovejumper) and Pippy(caught by me)... an exciting 17 second fast fighting action match which ended in a topdown lock position. They were only average size spiders. Compared to Archilles vs Bighead, we can see the smaller spiders fight much faster with incredible chopping speed and rapid biting. One similarity, both winners are injured while the one that lost is ok!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5CWi7EUOTQA

Also a 6s fight between pippy and midbogel
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQnJ0Ks7FhM

Enjoy

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 15 2008, 01:38 AM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 16 2008, 01:37 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 15 2008, 01:18 AM)
The female spider which put 2gther with Achilles have eggs ady in its nest. Dont know how to breed spiderlings. Mindstorm, u interested with eggs?

v_viper88
Heh..i myself got 2 batch of eggs here. One from quietman and one from bighead(mating in the air). Better you keep the eggs until hatch then let the slings go in your garden. Right now I don't think can cope with so many spiders but I am now designing a system to keep the young. Keeping a few spiders is easy. Keeping a lot of them is tough. To be able to develop a gene line of an animal one need to breed and keep a lot of the animal so that you can have choice to select the type of trait you want.

I have always been interested in automated systems, systems which save working time and energy and I am constantly thinking how to build systems. I used to breed fishes during my teens and at one time I had a few hundred adult bettas in my room!! When I graduated from Singapore, I went to work for a fish farm in Singapore which bred guppies and Discus for overseas export. It was a great experience to see how people can rear hundreds of thousands of fishes with only a few staffs. I help them improved their packing time and help develop a system to rear a type of live feed for their fishes and sale in local market. And that is precisely what i have always been intrigued in.. rearing critters in large quantities! Hence rite now I'm thinking and trying methods for fighting spiders, just for the challenge.

Right now feeding fighting spiders is mighty inefficient. To feed about 500 guppies in a cement tank takes an average 5 seconds...that is to scoop some dry fish meal and toss it over the water surface and to walk from one tank to another. To feed a single spider, would probably take 5-10minutes if you're fast which include having to catch the live insect and to place it into its container. 5 minutes = 300seconds. Divide by 5 seconds(feeding guppy time)=60 and times it by 500 means feeding a fighting spider is 30,000 times slower than a farmer hand feeding guppies!!! So you see, the difference in the economics just on feeding these 2 creatures is astoundingly vast. That's why you let go most of your spiders!

I have seen on TV, people rearing black widow by the hundreds. They are kept individually had to feed them individually not unlike a betta farmer would feed its adult males. Like the betta farmer, they were extremely fast because those black widows were reared in paper cups(one over another, different size i think so that one can close over the other) and they were fed a type of grub. So I watched the farmer just lift a paper cup, pour in a grup or two from a cup he was holding and then just close back the paper cup and moved on to the next cup.

Anyway that was just food for thought.

Added on February 16, 2008, 1:50 am
QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 15 2008, 02:17 PM)
Nice video, its a good fight where both spiders didnt give up easily.
Lotsa arm locking and bitting as well. Wheres the longest spider fight u shown me last time?
The winner leg injured after the fight? That is oso a very fierce powerful good fight!  thumbup.gif

For me, i see ScareyCat and Pippy have about the same fighting skill if compared to Archilles VS BigHead. Good locking, bitting n defensive skills.
Actually i feel Archillies and BigHead match is much more exciting and both spiders have more fighting experience skill.
Archilles attack pushing and chopping speed is faster and strenght is much stronger coz can push BigHead all the way down and den push further up while launch fierce chops.
BigHead is good in defend with strong locking techniques and good counter chop attack!!.

If the spiders are good in locking, they cant fight using their arms as fast compare when not being lock earlier. Experience spider will lock its oppoenent arms to stop from being push backwards.
The spiders which have been locked, only have 3 choices :
-Chop bite fiercely to break free.
-Do a strong push/jump using its hind legs forward.
-Try to flip/swap position to get out from the lock

Maybe there are other choices oso, like sacrifice/break off its own arm and retreat or etcs..

Those spiders who been injured or weaken in a fight, if continue to fight might not able to breakfree from its opponent arms lock and
might end up injured badly injured from chops or worst case is death.
v_viper88
That was the longest fight lah, 17s. Now overtaken by ArchillesvsBighead already mah, 22 seconds.
Wah, you really analyze the fights more geng than me or Mangrovejumper, man. Yeah, that's why i love fighting spiders so much, their fights is very short(compared to other animals) but very exciting, with lots of variety.

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 16 2008, 02:42 AM
TSmindstorm
post Feb 16 2008, 02:39 AM

900 posts

Guess what?! 6leg is actually bigger than Bighead!!... and it is CHOP! Darn...if it was full legged, this guy would be awesome. But even with 6 legs, as a chop...it is a very formidable foe given its size. Man...

Here is Bighead vs 6leg on their first encounter...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5yZV3D6nR4o

I also discovered i had a chop female. This female is already very black and its chop trait probably come as a result of old age. This is the female which i accidently took it back with its nest and the eggs become brown. I kept this female and it was very thin and weak when i separated it in another container. It hardly move and refused to eat. It looked as it was going to die. Anyway i just made sure it had water. Surprisingly after two days it moved more and it ate small fruit fly. Slowly it regained its health back. Amazing man... it was probably sick and recovered!!
Anyway here is it in action.... 3 clips in one. First opponent is a female from kelapa sawit. 2nd and 3rd clip is Bigqueen...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Chp6X2ZSiA

So I have a big handicap chop and a chop female.

So naturally if i want baby chops, i would need to breed them. So can a chop male breed with a chop female??
Haha! Watch to find out...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcpNEpG2Fws
TSmindstorm
post Feb 16 2008, 11:33 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Feb 16 2008, 09:43 AM)
Actually its easy to feed the spiders, just throw in a few dead/half dead fat juicy ants and some water drops into the spider case. It will eat and drink by itself when its hungry. Clean its case about 3 days once if dirty. I prefer to keep only few stronger/ good fighting spiders so can take care them better.

v_viper88
True, as i said, feeding them is easy if only 2 or 3 spiders. But can you feed a hundred spiders? In 5 seconds? You can feed a tank full of fish(like your brother fishes) in 5 seconds.

Anyway here's kelapasawit, a male i caught from a kelapasawit plantation. 3 clips in one, with the last match lasting 14 seconds! Bro1 is mighty experienced. (i wrongly mentioned kelapasawit as redleaf in the last clip, should be kelapasawit)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nlAXqI5ky1Y

This post has been edited by mindstorm: Feb 16 2008, 11:37 AM

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0659sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:04 PM