Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

viper88
post Apr 29 2009, 10:51 PM

2,359 posts

Wow.. good catch. More chops FS.

Here's the SG fighting spider drama series.
This episode show the type of leaves where they caught their fs. Its the same leaves!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rTXIuOXIi8&feature=channel

Its a chop.!! Win other smaller FS with just a direct chop. flex.gif
See the ending part for the FS fight.. very short only...Nice fighting stance bfr chop.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1hs7iIS854...re=channel_page

i 'm watching the episodes from youtube.. Nice. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(KENZ691 @ Apr 29 2009, 06:50 PM)
Hi all bros...yuda n me went for a day of hunting today. 29042009 wed. We went browsing at seletar dam, jalan kayu, mount alvernia oppostie, mac ritchie reservoir n lastly admiralty park near yuda's hse. The places we went some had these "pepper leaves"...n yuda was crazy abt them.Now then i know thatz because bro kopau n yuda caught a few chop fs in this kinda leaves. 

So, before sending yuda hm to woodlands ard 4pm, he brought me to the place where kopau n himself caught the chop fs. Guess what! the first fs he caught there was a semi black headed slightly smaller than mid size. he kept telling me it may be a chopper n it really was!! This new chopper won his 1st n 2nd kings n even a the mid size fs which we caught at mac ritchie! All with straight chops without the usual fighting stance! The mac ritchie one oso won his 1st n 2nd kings with fair normal fights.
So bro koppau, yuda will be challenging yr choppers this fri liao.

To conclude, we caught abt 8-10 males the whole day, not alot but rewarding .

Too bad , we din manage to see or catch any King Kongs which is my hope.

Rdgs, ken.
This post has been edited by viper88: Apr 29 2009, 11:02 PM
Trevally
post Apr 30 2009, 07:06 AM

QUOTE(KENZ691 @ Apr 29 2009, 06:50 PM)
Hi all bros...yuda n me went for a day of hunting today. 29042009 wed. We went browsing at seletar dam, jalan kayu, mount alvernia oppostie, mac ritchie reservoir n lastly admiralty park near yuda's hse. The places we went some had these "pepper leaves"...n yuda was crazy abt them.Now then i know thatz because bro kopau n yuda caught a few chop fs in this kinda leaves. 

So, before sending yuda hm to woodlands ard 4pm, he brought me to the place where kopau n himself caught the chop fs. Guess what! the first fs he caught there was a semi black headed slightly smaller than mid size. he kept telling me it may be a chopper n it really was!! This new chopper won his 1st n 2nd kings n even a the mid size fs which we caught at mac ritchie! All with straight chops without the usual fighting stance! The mac ritchie one oso won his 1st n 2nd kings with fair normal fights.
So bro koppau, yuda will be challenging yr choppers this fri liao.

To conclude, we caught abt 8-10 males the whole day, not alot but rewarding .

Too bad , we din manage to see or catch any King Kongs which is my hope.

Rdgs, ken.
Wow not bad. At least caught a powerful chop. Any good fs from jalan kayu ?

Added on April 30, 2009, 8:29 amHi Koppao, haha that spot too many ppls walk through so I dun think anyone will hunt for fs there. If this fri fs hunt is at sengkang then I can show u guys ard those vegetation. Some quite dense and I dare not step in tongue.gif
If go hunting for fs this fri, what is the timing ?

So far no videos yet cos kind of busy at night and weekends and dun have much time to play with my fs.

This post has been edited by Trevally: Apr 30 2009, 08:29 AM
kopPao
post Apr 30 2009, 08:49 AM

QUOTE(Trevally @ Apr 30 2009, 07:06 AM)
Wow not bad. At least caught a powerful chop. Any good fs from jalan kayu ?

Added on April 30, 2009, 8:29 amHi Koppao, haha that spot too many ppls walk through so I dun think anyone will hunt for fs there. If this fri fs hunt is at sengkang then I can show u guys ard those vegetation. Some quite dense and I dare not step in tongue.gif
If go hunting for fs this fri, what is the timing ?

So far no videos yet cos kind of busy at night and weekends and dun have much time to play with my fs.
Hi Trevally,
Timing will depend on what time im going to zz tonight.. lol

how about u guys meet up with my kaki YuDa 1st ?
he is the kind of early bird, so u guys might start early.

i will try my best to start hunting early too, ..
how about u trevally ?
what timing would u prefer ?
how many FS r u keeping now ? smile.gif
Trevally
post Apr 30 2009, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(kopPao @ Apr 30 2009, 08:49 AM)
Hi Trevally,
Timing will depend on what time im going to zz tonight.. lol

how about u guys meet up with my kaki YuDa 1st ?
he is the kind of early bird, so u guys might start early.

i will try my best to start hunting early too, ..
how about u trevally ?
what timing would u prefer ?
how many FS r u keeping now ?  smile.gif
Yuda and ken coming along ? My prefer timing would be after 1pm ? Hopefully weather would be sunny else siao liao. I caught quite a nos of FS lately. Last night counted ard 10 after releasing afew. This morning released another 4. All not so good fighter except my 1st king and chop fs. My chop fs still has one of its arm and leg hanging high (accidentally injured him) sad.gif . I tested him with one lousy fs and lucky he still able to chop and bitten one of its opponent arm off. If fri meet up with u guys, I will bring down my 1st king and chop to challenge u guys fs.

Added on April 30, 2009, 10:04 am
QUOTE(viper88 @ Apr 29 2009, 10:51 PM)

This episode show the type of leaves where they caught their fs. Its the same leaves!

Its a chop.!! Win other smaller FS with just a direct chop.  flex.gif
See the ending part for the FS fight.. very short only...Nice fighting stance bfr chop.

i 'm watching the episodes from youtube.. Nice.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hahah becos of this Fighting Spider drama then I started to go hunt for FS again.

This post has been edited by Trevally: Apr 30 2009, 10:04 AM
viper88
post Apr 30 2009, 11:22 AM

2,359 posts

Tomorrow Friday FS fight.. wohooo.. hope can see some exciting and fierce fight.
Do set a good fighting platform and record video all the fs fight.

Man.. who have the big FS and who have fierce chop fs?
Pasir Ris
CoupleChop
Fat chop
etcs..

Any1 of u have dead chop fs? Maybe can try put the dead chop fs inside a normal fs..see few days/weeks later whether the normal fs will convert to a chop fs.

QUOTE(Trevally @ Apr 30 2009, 09:59 AM)
Yuda and ken coming along ? My prefer timing would be after 1pm ? Hopefully weather would be sunny else siao liao. I caught quite a nos of FS lately. Last night counted ard 10 after releasing afew. This morning released another 4. All not so good fighter except my 1st king and chop fs. My chop fs still has one of its arm and leg hanging high (accidentally injured him)  sad.gif . I tested him with one lousy fs and lucky he still able to chop and bitten one of its opponent arm off. If fri meet up with u guys, I will bring down my 1st king and chop to challenge u guys fs.

Added on April 30, 2009, 10:04 am

Hahah becos of this Fighting Spider drama then I started to go hunt for FS again.
KENZ691
post Apr 30 2009, 11:48 AM

Hi bro koppau, after yuda caught the chop fs at the pepper leaves, we caught 3-4 more normal fighters. We release the rest of them as one of them, its right claw was chopped away by the newly caught chopper fs. Quite fierce i wld say. u guys shld have a good fight i guess n since u have 3 chopsters n he only has 1. Cus i din see the size of yr chopsters yet , u got to prey his is not much bigger than yours. u can use yr 2nd n 3rd kings to wear his out first then lastly yr 1st king. tongue.gif

The abt 10 fs that we caught mainly by yuda. Cuz when i find 1 male, i will normally check his size first, if its small or medium, i wont be so excited liao. sad.gif then i will let him know and he will do the rest of the catching. He is more pro-active i wld say. smile.gif And of course ,my main objective is to find a king kong like the one i had during my school days. Thats why at the end of the day, he only kept the 2-3 better fighters n we let go the rest. Oh, i did ask him to keep 2-3 small males to train his chopster n the mac ritchie mid size fs..n he did.
And to add, his "pasir ris" was hurt slightly by the chopster. fractured one of itz leg when chopster went for him. yawn.gif

Added on April 30, 2009, 11:57 amHi trevally , i should be joining u guys tommorrow which is friday. but timing wise i still not sure. cus i will have a drinkin session 2nite so i guess prob 1-2pm then can join u all . Definitely hangover.

This post has been edited by KENZ691: Apr 30 2009, 11:57 AM
viper88
post Apr 30 2009, 11:59 AM

2,359 posts

Wa.. new chop very fierce.. bite arm & leg till broke shocking.gif
Sizeable chop? Most of the small size but strong chop fs can do dmg to bigger size fs if not ready to fight.
If the bigger fs is ready to fight, the smaller chop fs will have a hard time to defeat them.

Just like Mindstorm smallchop.. very fierce can do strong & fast chop my FS till upside down..

Here are some nice FS pics i found from other website forums. http://blogs.iium.edu.my/razli/2008/05/20/...-time/#comments

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Blueish FS?

female FS eat ants
http://www.lubuk.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=402&start=540

QUOTE(KENZ691 @ Apr 30 2009, 11:48 AM)
Hi bro koppau, after yuda caught the chop fs at the pepper leaves, we caught 3-4 more normal fighters. We release the rest of them as one of them, its right claw was chopped away by the newly caught chopper fs. Quite fierce i wld say.  u guys shld have a good fight i guess n since u have 3 chopsters n he only has 1. Cus i din see the size of yr chopsters yet , u got to prey his is not much bigger than yours. u can use yr 2nd n 3rd kings to wear his out first then lastly yr 1st king. tongue.gif

The abt 10 fs that we caught mainly by yuda. Cuz when i find 1 male, i will normally check his size first, if its small or medium, i wont be so excited liao. sad.gif  then i will let him know and he will do the rest of the catching. He is more pro-active i wld say. smile.gif  And of course ,my main objective is to find a king kong like the one i had during my school days. Thats why at the end of the day, he only kept the 2-3 better fighters n we let go the rest. Oh, i did ask him to keep 2-3 small males to train his chopster n the mac ritchie mid size fs..n he did.
And to add, his "pasir ris" was hurt slightly by the chopster. fractured one of itz leg when chopster went for him.  yawn.gif
Trevally
post Apr 30 2009, 12:34 PM

QUOTE(KENZ691 @ Apr 30 2009, 11:48 AM)
Hi bro koppau, after yuda caught the chop fs at the pepper leaves, we caught 3-4 more normal fighters. We release the rest of them as one of them, its right claw was chopped away by the newly caught chopper fs. Quite fierce i wld say.  u guys shld have a good fight i guess n since u have 3 chopsters n he only has 1. Cus i din see the size of yr chopsters yet , u got to prey his is not much bigger than yours. u can use yr 2nd n 3rd kings to wear his out first then lastly yr 1st king. tongue.gif

The abt 10 fs that we caught mainly by yuda. Cuz when i find 1 male, i will normally check his size first, if its small or medium, i wont be so excited liao. sad.gif  then i will let him know and he will do the rest of the catching. He is more pro-active i wld say. smile.gif  And of course ,my main objective is to find a king kong like the one i had during my school days. Thats why at the end of the day, he only kept the 2-3 better fighters n we let go the rest. Oh, i did ask him to keep 2-3 small males to train his chopster n the mac ritchie mid size fs..n he did.
And to add, his "pasir ris" was hurt slightly by the chopster. fractured one of itz leg when chopster went for him.  yawn.gif

Added on April 30, 2009, 11:57 amHi trevally , i should be joining u guys tommorrow which is friday. but timing wise i still not sure. cus i will have a drinkin session 2nite so i guess prob 1-2pm then can join u all . Definitely hangover.
We fix the time at 1pm ? And where to meet you guys ? Compasspoint ?
KENZ691
post Apr 30 2009, 12:54 PM

Hi bro trevally , abt the time n place to meet, why not u call bro yuda at 97707477 to discuss and decide. then let bro koppau n me know . cus our timing may be different.
Trevally
post Apr 30 2009, 12:55 PM

I am thinking whether a normal FS becomes a chop is it due to their surroundings or is it when they are born, they are a chop ? If its surrounding got other kinds of jumping spiders around them and the normal FS gets to fight those spiders, eventually the normal FS will turn into a chop.
KENZ691
post Apr 30 2009, 12:59 PM

QUOTE(viper88 @ Apr 30 2009, 12:59 PM)
Wa.. new chop very fierce.. bite arm & leg till broke  shocking.gif
Sizeable chop?  Most of the small size but  strong chop fs can do dmg to bigger size fs if not ready to fight.
If the bigger fs is ready to fight, the smaller chop fs will have a hard time to defeat them.

Just like Mindstorm smallchop.. very fierce can do strong & fast chop my FS till upside down..

Here are some nice FS pics i found from other website forums. http://blogs.iium.edu.my/razli/2008/05/20/...-time/#comments

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

Blueish FS?

female FS eat ants
http://www.lubuk.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=402&start=540
yap bro, do agree that even small chopsters can do huge damage to bigger fs, and even more when opponent is not prepared.

Bro, the last pic i think is a different species to our usual fs. Looks nice though and same resting posture...prob quite similar only.
viper88
post Apr 30 2009, 01:06 PM

2,359 posts

Ya.. should be other type of spider in thiania family. Think these type of spider can fight too.. hmm.gif

QUOTE(KENZ691 @ Apr 30 2009, 12:59 PM)
yap bro, do agree that even small chopsters can do huge damage to bigger fs, and even more when opponent is not prepared.

Bro, the last pic i think is a different species to our usual fs. Looks nice though and same resting posture...prob quite similar only.
KENZ691
post Apr 30 2009, 01:08 PM

QUOTE(Trevally @ Apr 30 2009, 01:55 PM)
I am thinking whether a normal FS becomes a chop is it due to their surroundings or is it when they are born, they are a chop ? If its surrounding got other kinds of jumping spiders around them and the normal FS gets to fight those spiders, eventually the normal FS will turn into a chop.
My guessing some are born chopsters or more agressive like their parents, eg same genes. Prob thatz why some areas we can find chopsters particularly. lol even humans, some got bigger balls then others. biggrin.gif

the 2nd reason why maybe because of "training" or imitation i guess. Eg...fights after fights gets them fiercer or good number of fights with chopsters MAY convert them too.

Added on April 30, 2009, 1:13 pmBro Trevally, if u n yuda do meetup first, dont fight the fs first k...if can wait for bro koppau n me. hee

This post has been edited by KENZ691: Apr 30 2009, 01:13 PM
Trevally
post Apr 30 2009, 03:17 PM

Sure sure bro ken. Will wait for u and koppao here then we all fight FS. But hopefully we all can meet at the same time. I'm free in the noon, morning not free.
dreamchaser1
post Apr 30 2009, 07:34 PM

Hihi guys, I used to play FS with my cousins and friends during primary sch days too, from sg tongue.gif
Many years ago, there's a spot near Kallang to catch FS, called Red House aka called Ang Chu.

Our method of catching FS is kinda different though. We will get those transparent fruit plastics bags from ntuc and a styrofoam box from wet market. Then we will go to the spot and try to shake the bushes into the box and see if there's any FS in there and put them into the plastic bag. Well, sometimes u will be surprise what's the in box brows.gif

viper88
post Apr 30 2009, 09:49 PM

2,359 posts

Let me guess.. maybe u will get a jumping lizard inside instead of jumping spider... shakehead.gif

When i open covered leaves den sprang out a fugly lizard.. almost gime a heart attack leh.. sweat.gif
Sometimes maybe just ants ...den still okla. tongue.gif

See u guys go catch fs.. i oso try search for FS nearby my housing area.

Caught 1 average - big size male FS and 1 average - small size male FS.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JzS_nlQCWo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRfOfJZAPA8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cr5Khqtk08c
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAUYlEF1lZo

Only short fight coz both not chop n fierce type. Check out the average big size fs arm.. quite long, open wide show off during fighting stance. laugh.gif
The smaller size fs oso not bad.. still can fight few rounds eventho lost.
After fight, i let go both fs.

Hope u guys there in SG will have a good FS tomorrow. icon_idea.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88

QUOTE(dreamchaser1 @ Apr 30 2009, 07:34 PM)
Hihi guys, I used to play FS with my cousins and friends during primary sch days too, from sg tongue.gif
Many years ago, there's a spot near Kallang to catch FS, called Red House aka called Ang Chu.

Our method of catching FS is kinda different though. We will get those transparent fruit plastics bags from ntuc and a styrofoam box from wet market. Then we will go to the spot and try to shake the bushes into the box and see if there's any FS in there and put them into the plastic bag. Well, sometimes u will be surprise what's the in box brows.gif
This post has been edited by viper88: Apr 30 2009, 10:59 PM
kopPao
post May 1 2009, 03:51 AM

QUOTE(KENZ691 @ Apr 30 2009, 12:59 PM)

guess the last pic is the legendary "lan pao" ?
yuda will go mad if he sees this pic..

thks for sharing Viper.

juz reached home after a drinking session.
home can wake up in time for tomorrow's hunting.
TSmindstorm
post May 1 2009, 09:15 AM

900 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Apr 29 2009, 10:51 PM)

Its a chop.!! Win other smaller FS with just a direct chop.  flex.gif

i 'm watching the episodes from youtube.. Nice.  icon_rolleyes.gif
haha! nice... but the method the boy used to catch the spider sure cannot work in real life. Spider sure cabut already!!

wah one arm vs chop

nice pics.
the bluish pao i think can only get in forest area

Added on May 1, 2009, 9:21 am
QUOTE(Trevally @ Apr 30 2009, 12:55 PM)
ya, this has been discussed b4. It seems that chop can influence normal FS to be chop eventually.
Wheather it is learnt behaviour, disease or delayed genetic manifestation is still anyone's guess.

Added on May 1, 2009, 9:24 am
QUOTE(viper88 @ Apr 30 2009, 09:49 PM)
Let me guess.. maybe u will get a jumping lizard inside instead of jumping spider... shakehead.gif

When i open covered leaves den sprang out a fugly lizard.. almost gime a heart attack leh.. sweat.gif
Sometimes maybe just ants ...den still okla.  tongue.gif

See u guys go catch fs.. i oso try search for FS nearby my housing area.

Caught 1 average - big size male FS and 1 average - small size male FS.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5JzS_nlQCWo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRfOfJZAPA8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cr5Khqtk08c
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAUYlEF1lZo

Only short fight coz both not chop n fierce type. Check out the average big size fs arm.. quite long, open wide show off during fighting stance.  laugh.gif 
The smaller size fs oso not bad.. still can fight few rounds eventho lost.
After fight, i let go both fs.

Hope u guys there in SG will have a good FS tomorrow.  icon_idea.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif Cheers, icon_rolleyes.gif
v_viper88
wah, very long "chap ma pou". Where u catch? At same place as Archilles?

This post has been edited by mindstorm: May 1 2009, 09:24 AM
TSmindstorm
post May 1 2009, 09:54 AM

900 posts

Still keeping one of the fs in this plant which i caught end of jan or beginning of feb with Mangrovejumper.

Here he is taken out for a walk. Kept him for at least 3 months leow. Notice the brownish patch on the abdomen. This becomes increasingly apparent in old fs. He looks well fed despite me not having bothered about feeding him for the past couple of weeks. I think ants make up his main diet. I just ensure the plant is lightly watered EVERYDAY.

Here is he peeking out from its mansion nest which he had been faithfully staying for the past couple of weeks.

Here i attempt to supplement his diet with wild Drosophila. I put a banana into this container i make and those Drosophila comes from nowhere and breed like hell. They fly around and at times land on the leaves near this container and hopefully at some times, my male fs can feed on them.

The netting is to keep out geckos going into the container to get at the flies and the water is to keep out ants wanting to feed on the rotting banana. Because of the water, the container will tend to float and may topple or hit the side of the outer container which holds the water which then defeats the purpose of the moat. Hence i also put a rock inside the container to weigh it down.
Simple but effective gadget to get many drosophilas. If i want some caught, i can always put a transparent plastic bag over the container and the Drosophilas will fly right into bag which i can transport them elsewhere as feed.

Some of my other plants i'm having in my porch. And i am collecting more every now and then.
Notice they are all rather leafy... for fs mah! haha!
viper88
post May 1 2009, 01:54 PM

2,359 posts

I caught the new FS from Hope's place.

QUOTE(mindstorm @ May 1 2009, 09:15 AM)
wah, very long "chap ma pou". Where u catch? At same place as Archilles?

149 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0372sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:20 AM