125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

boonhan_choo
post Oct 8 2008, 03:01 AM

32 posts

It does not necessary to trade US shares through online trading. You can trade US shares through Malaysia broking firm such as OSK. Most importantly, you are serviced by a company dealer (company's remisier). If you are interested to know more, you are welcome to contact me for inquiries. My contact no is 0162677903, MSN : boonhan_choo@hotmail.com, email:boonhan_choo@hotmail.com

This post has been edited by boonhan_choo: Feb 10 2009, 08:57 PM
boonhan_choo
post Oct 8 2008, 03:30 AM

32 posts

The reason i am creating this post is to informed most investor who are interested to trade US market shares but doesnt have a clear idea of how to do it. I noticed there are quite a number of post in this forum regarding how to trade foreign shares. Basically most people doesnt aware that they can trade foreign shares such as US, Hongkong, UK, Aus, Singapore shares through local securities firm. This is because only a few local securities firm offers such service to trade foreign shares. I am basically an equities dealer representative from OSK investment bank berhad. OSK provides interbroke services to trade foreign shares which they have been doing for quite a long time ago. Currently there are hundreds over client opened a trading account with me just to trade AIG and citigroup shares. What it means by interbroke is that OSK will place an order for their client through our subsidiary in singapore which is DMG partners which then DMG partners will forward the client's order with US broking firm. The advantages of trading through interbroke services is that all your account is managed by OSK in malaysia and you are serviced by the OSK companies dealer representative(company's remisier). The different between interbroke service and direct trading is that you have somebody to deal with instead of dealing with US directly with no clear vision of what is happening and who is handling your account. With a person handling your account, you are able to obtain advises and also efficiency in all kind of complicated procedures that you might face. In order to trade foreign shares, all you need to do is just opened a normal trading account with OSK which is 2 in 1, that enable you to trade local and foreign shares. If you have any further enquiries about trading foreign shares, you can contact me through my handphone,email or msn.

This post has been edited by boonhan_choo: Oct 8 2008, 03:33 AM
SUSgogo2
post Oct 8 2008, 08:13 AM

gogo2
18,672 posts

How is the commision? In US, the commission is USD9.99 per trade. By the way, what is the exchange rate?
normanTE
post Oct 8 2008, 01:14 PM

259 posts

boonhan_choo@hotmail.com

most local interbroke ; double charge, not very attractive, i want to save cost, by eliminate commission fee,
www.zecco.com no commission fee, for those who interested cancheck it up.
scotrade; pertrade usd 7 with no maintenance fee or inactivity fee,
ameritrade pertrade usd9.99 an no minimal , inactivity or maintenence fee.
tradeking pertrade usd 4.5 and not sure got inactivity fee
optionexpress 14.95 per trade
interactive brokers; not sure per trade how much ?
but their is monthly usd 10 for inactivity fee, lot of charges
etrade;12.99 usd pertrade and quarterly usd 40 maintenance fee, not wise to own this account if less then 50,000 is account
fidelity 19.99 usd pertrade on of the top of the charges

well i think open with ETRADE.CM.sg just put usd 50,000 can get 9.95usd pertrade that fare, they have service center in singapore in uob plaza 1 , raffles place.

unless osk going to cut down their commission so as competetive as
scottrade, zecco, ameitrade, i wont mind open account with osk to trade us stock.

Added on October 8, 2008, 1:16 pmsingapore bank such as uob,ocbc,dbsvicker average ; 40-50 usd pertrade
cimb malaysia; double charge here malaysia flat rm150pertrade plus us brokerage additional charges
osk,tarr security thru singapore securities same as uobkayhian,dbs vicker high charges
citibank sigapore; rate is 0.01% with custody fee usd 2 per counter

Added on October 8, 2008, 1:22 pmif i not mistaken osk didnt charge minimal fee, inactivity fee, or custodian fee for us stock market,
what about pertransection
as if i bought 1000 share pg, at 70usd pershare , how much in total i will be bill?
and dividend i want in usd,? possible no right
and any dividend reinvestment plan via osk? NO right

Added on October 8, 2008, 1:27 pmany margin account can put usd? if can what is the interest be like? can it be the same as in us bank interest

just sorry la osk, unless for ure side can cut down your fat commission and improve system is not ideal for us trading

This post has been edited by normanTE: Oct 8 2008, 01:27 PM
rstusa
post Oct 8 2008, 01:56 PM

1,798 posts

I want to trade in singapore stock market, any broker or bank recommend in malaysia? Currently i found hlebroking transaction fees for trading hk & sg stock http://www.hlebroking.com/v2/templates/foreignstkdet.html pls refer to it and tell me which broker still offer better rate compare to hlebroking, thanx!

This post has been edited by rstusa: Oct 8 2008, 01:58 PM
xtreme82
post Oct 8 2008, 02:05 PM

109 posts

anyway i have been trading in US market more than half a year using the OPTIONSXPRESS. Their commission is extremely high compare to the other online broker but i am still very happy with it. Their user interface is excellent and i love it. Ask yourself, how many times are you going to trade per day and what's your target profit. If you are planing to buy and sell per day than you will need to choose a broker offer extremely low rate or else just choose a broker which is SAFE, Reliable & easy to use. There is a singapore office. When you submit document for new account application, you can send it to the SG branch. To start trading you still need to TT the money over to US.

normanTE
post Oct 9 2008, 12:57 PM

259 posts

it definately avoid high commission, for whatever reason, ofcourse optioexpress over charge,
i heard etrade provide credit card, bank check facility, very convenience, thinking of open that account, somemore near here, can going down from jb anytime. the only problem is not enough bullet or $ that all, orelse everything be perfect.

Added on October 9, 2008, 12:58 pmrusa;

local bank only for trading local stock, not aboard,
singapore just go down singapore plenty securities to choose at competetive commision rate.
malaysia over charge.
same with hk.

Added on October 9, 2008, 1:17 pmus been drop for last 7 day, look like they lost direction already
down open last night at -200 point and went up +150 and then went down again -180 point in 1/2 hour and next half +200
. can doing some short selling also damn profiting with 0 commission
with zecco

Added on October 10, 2008, 12:30 pmwow zecco.com number one site for international trader,
i had read a lot of blog regard rude customer service and system down mosttime,

that no problem to me i trade when can i hardly do short selling, i dont need fancy webpage as etrade,IB,OPTIONEXP, i just need my order excecuted that all,
and as long money not missing that fine.

Added on October 10, 2008, 12:31 pmif not today tomorrow also fine, i am not aggresive investor or speculator

This post has been edited by normanTE: Oct 10 2008, 12:31 PM
! Love Money
post Oct 12 2008, 11:30 AM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

hi all,

i plan to invest in sg or hk stock as now the market value is dropping... i think now is the most suitable moment for this...
wat is the min amount? i m using my car loan money cry.gif later kena tow...
also i will terminate my internet due to save living cost so is there possible to trade without internet?
meoo
post Oct 12 2008, 06:18 PM

72 posts

Interactive Brokers Trading cost only US1

http://www.interactivebrokers.com.hk/en/main.php

danmooncake
post Oct 12 2008, 10:37 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Oct 12 2008, 11:30 AM)
hi all,

i plan to invest in sg or hk stock as now the market value is dropping... i think now is the most suitable moment for this...
wat is the min amount? i m using my car loan money cry.gif later kena tow...
also i will terminate my internet due to save living cost so is there possible to trade without internet?
You can trade anywhere in the world with just a phone call away.

But, using your car loan to trade stocks? Sorry but IMO, that would be a crazy idea.
You could lose EVERYTHING!

Playing with stocks is risky and you must be willing to lose it all if the market is bad
or simply the companies that you own is not performing.

Yes, market value is dropping but is like catching falling knives too.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Oct 12 2008, 10:38 PM
normanTE
post Oct 15 2008, 08:14 PM

259 posts

well depend i bought 2000 share citibank at 13 usd now i earn 6thousand in least then 3 day.

Added on October 15, 2008, 8:16 pminteractivebroker unless ure active trader otherwise lot of maintenace fee wo. inacivity fee monthly cost 10 usd.

Added on October 15, 2008, 8:18 pmtry zecco.com 0% commission, if u are not active trader.

This post has been edited by normanTE: Oct 15 2008, 08:18 PM
chin20350
post Oct 16 2008, 02:37 PM

89 posts

guys... i am interested buying into us stock and i am attracted to the low commission fee that provided by online brokers...

i did contacted with the local broker which can provide buying US stock services but it is about 0.7% .... and i felt it is quite expensive but relatively safety than buying stock through online...

so my question is when we buy stock thru online broker... is that possible that the website brankrupt and we lose all our money that we put into thier website.... this is what am i worrying the most...

can some1 give some comments?? Thx
pocalypse
post Oct 17 2008, 01:44 AM

67 posts

hi reposting from elsewhere wink.gif if anyone is using firsttrade let me know your opinion bout it. i m going to open a new account, if wanna refer me please PM me

http://www.firstrade.com/public/en_us/welc...s/referafriend/
SUSsylar111
post Oct 17 2008, 06:57 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(boonhan_choo @ Oct 8 2008, 03:30 AM)
The reason i am creating this post is to informed most investor who are interested to trade US market shares but doesnt have a clear idea of how to do it. I noticed there are quite a number of post in this forum regarding how to trade foreign shares. Basically most people doesnt aware that they can trade foreign shares such as US, Hongkong, UK, Aus, Singapore shares through local securities firm. This is because only a few local securities firm offers such service to trade foreign shares. I am basically an equities dealer representative from OSK investment bank berhad. OSK provides interbroke services to trade foreign shares which they have been doing for quite a long time ago. Currently there are hundreds over client opened a trading account with me just to trade AIG and citigroup shares. What it means by interbroke is that OSK will place an order for their client through our subsidiary in singapore which is DMG partners which then DMG partners will forward the client's order with US broking firm. The advantages of trading through interbroke services is that all your account is managed by OSK in malaysia and you are serviced by the OSK companies dealer representative(company's remisier). The different between interbroke service and direct trading is that you have somebody to deal with instead of dealing with US directly with no clear vision of what is happening and who is handling your account. With a person handling your account, you are able to obtain advises and also efficiency in all kind of complicated procedures that you might face. In order to trade foreign shares, all you need to do is just opened a normal trading account with OSK which is 2 in 1, that enable you to trade local and foreign shares. If you have any further enquiries about trading foreign shares, you can contact me through my handphone,email or msn.
Where is your reply? Waiting for it
simplesmile
post Oct 22 2008, 04:11 PM

2,991 posts

I have not traded in stocks before. I want to start buying some stocks. I've read some of the members here are making good profits from the US exchange. Compare to the local exchange, is not volatile enough to trade.

Could all please share the pros and cons of trading or buying US stocks versus Malaysia stocks? When should an investor invest in US stocks over the Malaysia stocks and vice versa?

Thank you.
TSeXTaTine
post Oct 25 2008, 11:11 AM

To Tongsan we bow!!
820 posts

QUOTE(boonhan_choo @ Oct 8 2008, 03:30 AM)
boonhan_choo, did you read the first post? In the very first post I mentioned that OSK does allow people to trade in US stocks. Problem is, the commission is 0.7% + USD100 per trade + 4.x% in conversion charges from RM to USD and back to RM, so, unless I'm trading in huge amounts of money, it's not worthwhile at all.

This post has been edited by eXTaTine: Oct 25 2008, 11:13 AM
normanTE
post Oct 29 2008, 11:31 PM

259 posts

try zecco.com commission free for 1st 10 trading of the month

Added on October 29, 2008, 11:32 pmyou subject to maximum tax 30% of anysort that earn thru dividend and capital gain from speculation

Added on October 29, 2008, 11:33 pmmalaysia tax only 25% so lot cheaper compare with us

This post has been edited by normanTE: Oct 29 2008, 11:33 PM
SUSwankongyew
post Oct 31 2008, 12:14 PM

1,177 posts

A bit of a thread derail, but does anyone know how to invest in US mutual funds, like Vanguard's funds from Malaysia? I know local unit trust companies offer funds that invest in the U.S. and other countries, but personally, it seems to me that if I'm investing in the U.S. I should rely on analysts that know that market better.
Myinvestors
post Oct 31 2008, 06:58 PM

Although you may not be able to trade stocks on the American exchanges, that does not mean you cannot trade American stocks. Just like the US exchanges trades foreign stocks such as Siemens, Sony, Nokia, etc. as ADRs (American Depositary Receipts), foreign exchanges trade many American stocks that are limited to trade on a specific exchange.

MyInvestorsPlace - trading, value, investing, forex, stock, market, technical, analysis, systems

kengchow
post Nov 1 2008, 10:24 PM

Hi! NewB here. After reading the discussion posted here, would like to know from those who have / are using zecco.com on how's the cash withdrawal procedures. Thanks

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0327sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:27 AM