125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

dreamer101
post Jan 28 2008, 10:52 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jan 28 2008, 10:29 AM)
As keith mentioned, the tax is charged on your dividend income.
There is no charge for capital gain.
But I think investing in US will incur double tax?
I read it somewhere that we'll be taxed there, and if our money comes back to Malaysia, we'll be taxed again.
I forgot which article it is from wink.gif
Jordy,

<<if our money comes back to Malaysia, we'll be taxed again.>>

Since 2003 or 2005, the law had changed.

A) If the money come back to a Malaysian resident, it is tax free.

B) If the money come back to a non-Malaysian resident, it is taxable.

A Malaysian resident is a Malaysian that lived in the country for at least 180 days for that calendar year.

Dreamer
Jordy
post Jan 29 2008, 03:08 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Jan 28 2008, 10:52 PM)
Jordy,

<<if our money comes back to Malaysia, we'll be taxed again.>>

Since 2003 or 2005, the law had changed.

A) If the money come back to a Malaysian resident, it is tax free.

B) If the money come back to a non-Malaysian resident, it is taxable.
A Malaysian resident is a Malaysian that lived in the country for at least 180 days for that calendar year.
Dreamer
Oh silly me, thank you dreamer for clearing my doubt smile.gif
davehii
post Feb 6 2008, 02:32 PM

Chilling
607 posts

any of these broker for US stock is approved by malaysia government? and is protected under msia law? thanks
dreamer101
post Feb 6 2008, 08:10 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(davehii @ Feb 6 2008, 02:32 PM)
any of these broker for US stock is approved by malaysia government? and is protected under msia law? thanks
davehii,

I would trust US law MORE than than Malaysian law.

Dreamer
cherroy
post Feb 6 2008, 08:16 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jan 28 2008, 10:29 AM)
As keith mentioned, the tax is charged on your dividend income.
There is no charge for capital gain.
But I think investing in US will incur double tax?
I read it somewhere that we'll be taxed there, and if our money comes back to Malaysia, we'll be taxed again.
I forgot which article it is from wink.gif
In US and some other western countries, capital gain is taxable, (if not mistaken 15%?), while in Malaysia, capital gain is not subjected to any tax.
davehii
post Mar 2 2008, 06:57 PM

Chilling
607 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Feb 6 2008, 08:10 PM)
davehii,

I would trust US law MORE than than Malaysian law.

Dreamer
sure you can say US law is more reliable or what. however we are malaysian and we have to obey the country law, and this apply to every countries in the world. the citizen will be taken legal act if do not follow the law. so anyone has the answer?

Added on March 2, 2008, 7:05 pm
QUOTE(root_y @ Dec 18 2007, 10:24 AM)
I'm using InteractiveBrokers, the commissions is low, for 1 to 100 shares is usd1.00 and Options are usd1.00 per contract.

You can open the account online and fund your account via bank transfer. The minimun amount to start with is USD2K or 3K, I cannot remember. There is a platform for you to do paper trading as well.

Once you are ready, you can access the trading platform via web or Javaapps, real-time.

I don't work for them, no commissions for promoting them here.

root_y
hi, can you show me the webpage saying that the minimum starting is 3k? coz i cant find it. thanks

This post has been edited by davehii: Mar 2 2008, 07:05 PM
cherasbabe
post Mar 10 2008, 03:48 PM

491 posts

try mbtrading.com, min opening is 1k.
shrimphead
post May 7 2008, 11:54 PM

14 posts

This topic was locked.
If you own VISA or MasterCard, must see !
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/686634

chen9wei were asking how to buy stock in US.
chin20350 answered http://www.interactivebrokers.com.hk/en/main.php

to further elaborate :-
But i prefer http://www.interactivebrokers.com
or http://www.thinkorswim.com

many singaporean use http://optionsXpress.com

Pretty simple, fill up the online forms, print out, sign and fax to them.
Then TT the money to them, and you can start buying.

** DO THIS ON YOUR OWN RISK **

i paid RM4xxx.xx to learn about all these.

If you are serious, do your homework, evaluate the course out there... and choose one that you are comfortable with.
Rather than get crashed in the market without know how to drive your car properly.

---------------

also

SKY1809 were asking about this...

>>
You said you bought the shares at US $ 6x.xx but do not hesitate to recommend to forumers to buy at current price of US $ 84 ?

What is the logic behind. What is your target price and why ?

Investors rushed to buy TMI shares at rm 7.75 thinking much lower than DIGI .

These investors are suffering today.

A lot of credit card holders in US are in serious troubles today. They are facing actions from banks. Visa's business, bulk of them are from US ( as per above data ).

The writer is bullish , what I believe could have bought lot of Visa shares.
>>>>

As a good netizen ... one should be responsible to what he wrote.
I like to answer your questions.

1. Which sentence did i ask anyone to buy at 84? Did you intepret the msg wrongly?
2. It is a pure analysis and statement post.
3. I just said it has an upside of USD200~300 easily within 2 years time.
4. Guys here i believe have the intelligent to evaluate themselves what they want to do with their hard earn money.
5. I am purely sharing of what i learned thru my course, where KLSE is nothing compare to NASDAQ and US Market.
6. Cannot company TMI/DIGI with V/MA. One is apple and another is orange.
7. Do your homework before comment. Visa business have a huge economic MOAT. They are transcation fee based biz. They do not carry debt and risk. Banks carring the risk of CC holder default. They make money thru processing the transcations. Sure win biz.

I might be wrong.. but we are here to discuss and learn.
You all are taiko... with 898 post...
I am a newbie...but willing to share and learn and grow together
Yoroshiku Onegaishimasu... notworthy.gif

Cheers,
shrimphead

** in case reader wondering what is Economic MOAT. Check out here www.investopedia.com/terms/e/economicmoat.asp

Pls do not judge ppl by what you think...
Why you think ppl intension is ABC.
That is you that is thinking ABC, not necessary that person is thinking about ABC. He might be thinking about abc, or 123, whatever...

Pls allow and give people a benefit of doubt first...
notworthy.gif
chen9wei
post May 8 2008, 08:02 AM

Look at all my stars
923 posts

thanks for the info bro . Anyway, i heard my fren said he buy the stocks in US using etrade. Anyone tried before ?

Added on May 8, 2008, 8:04 amIf i open an account at http://www.interactivebrokers.com.hk/en/main.php , is that mean i can buy stocks all around the world ?

Added on May 8, 2008, 8:12 amQuestion solved, according to the website, it can trade over 70 markets in 17 countries.

This post has been edited by chen9wei: May 8 2008, 08:12 AM
shrimphead
post May 8 2008, 10:08 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 8 2008, 08:02 AM)
thanks for the info bro . Anyway, i heard my fren said he buy the stocks in US using etrade. Anyone tried before ?

Added on May 8, 2008, 8:04 amIf i open an account at http://www.interactivebrokers.com.hk/en/main.php , is that mean i can buy stocks all around the world ?

Added on May 8, 2008, 8:12 amQuestion solved, according to the website, it can trade over 70 markets in 17 countries.
you need USD10k to start IB.
ToS, you need USD3k only

google for TOP ONLINE BROKER...
you will find that IB, ToS, OptionsXpress are the top ....

you can find similar info at my blog also.... lazy to find which post already... google yourself.

This post has been edited by shrimphead: May 8 2008, 10:10 AM
xu7jp
post May 21 2008, 11:30 PM

154 posts

use online discount broker such as ameritrade.
don't need much to open acct.
zamans98
post May 26 2008, 02:14 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

e-trade is simpler. you can even have a current/cheque account. You can ask for Cheque book. On top of that, you can have a debit card to cashout your fund thru local ATM.

Or simply issue E-trade US cheque and credit at local bank (cheaper but slower)
amirbashah
post May 26 2008, 04:31 PM

274 posts

Guys, I just opened a few accounts (thinkorswim and optionsxpress) but haven't decided which one I should stick with. Just want to know which one is better? And could someone please teach me how to transfer money to the account? I think it's a bit complicated and I prefer the easiest and safest method. I'm currently subscribing to Motley Fool's stock advisor. I think it's worth spending RM300+ for the service. You guys should have a look smile.gif Does anyone subscribing other services like Million Dollar Portfolio (Motley Fools)? Do share..............

This post has been edited by amirbashah: May 26 2008, 05:07 PM
wheimeng
post May 28 2008, 07:23 AM

792 posts

go check poems.com.sg..

zamans98
post May 28 2008, 08:25 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(amirbashah @ May 26 2008, 04:31 PM)
Guys, I just opened a few accounts (thinkorswim and optionsxpress) but haven't decided which one I should stick with. Just want to know which one is better? And could someone please teach me how to transfer money to the account? I think it's a bit complicated and I prefer the easiest and safest method. I'm currently subscribing to Motley Fool's stock advisor. I think it's worth spending RM300+ for the service. You guys should have a look smile.gif Does anyone subscribing other services like Million Dollar Portfolio (Motley Fools)? Do share..............
I heard about Motley Fool's stock advisor. Since I'm not into US market, so its worthless to subscribe it.

Well, check with their helpdesk. Basically, you need to wire the fund to their bank account. Use maybank TT to do it, fast and cheap too.
The same like withdrawal, you can request to wire the fund to your account (mind you the charges is killing, ie USD$25-35, depends)
Then need to convert base currency, ie USD or EURO to your local currency, lose again.

Not to mention the buy/sell brokerage fee, and hidden fees. But what scary about NYSE/DJIA is a share can jump 15-30% or fall by the same. In Malaysia, for example when counter like DIGI posted and announced 200-300 million and beat the market analyst, DIGI oni jump 2-3%.

When you calculate the time, effort, in the end might as well you pump a lot of fund and buy strong fundamental shares in Malaysia KLSE.
For example DIGI, NESTLE, BAT, PETRONAS, SIME, IOI.

All the best man!

normanTE
post Oct 5 2008, 11:48 PM

259 posts

http://www.consumersearch.com/www/internet...comparison.html

this good comparison
interactivebrokers=lot charges with inactivity, monthly fee, no doubt low commission and gateway to europe, asia market.

ameritrade; very high margin interest rate average 8.9-9%

http://www.tdameritrade.com/commissions.html#eq_internet
https://oxint.optionsxpress.com/welcome/bro...aspx?sessionid=
http://www.tradingdirect.com/compare/stock_trades.shtml

just one question how will you withdrawal fund from such account which one is easiest.
need to sign some document?

Added on October 6, 2008, 12:36 ami have 3 account trading in us market, i thing going to sell all my stock and transfer to ameritrade, or INGsharebuilder lowest 9.99 pertrade which offer to non-us citizen, i am not active trader, since they not offer much inactivity fee, wonder anyone agree with me
to zaman, etrade charge 12.99 well i think that is expensive,
i am not a active trader.

Added on October 6, 2008, 12:49 ami own some stock in us via uobkayhian,citibank they sort of charging inactvity fee 2 us dollar percounter, that gona hurt if more than 50 counter, anyway 1200 usd peryear.
well no doubt uob,citibank cant go bankcrupt, some sense of security.
what about this guy etrade, ameritrade, i am not sure.
zaman anything for a records

This post has been edited by normanTE: Oct 6 2008, 12:49 AM
normanTE
post Oct 6 2008, 02:25 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(cloud9_lee @ Dec 20 2007, 08:35 PM)
Other than interactivebrokers:

www.etrade.com.sg (i am using them, fee is high, $19.99 for 2000 shares)

www.optionsxpress.com.sg
They are both US brokerage firms with office branch in sg.

Welcome to US stock/option trading! biggrin.gif
HI GUY this two is over charge as compare to many more, but yet they are best in singapore, is there ameritrade scottrade in singapore?
danmooncake
post Oct 6 2008, 04:07 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(normanTE @ Oct 6 2008, 02:25 AM)
HI GUY this two is over charge as compare to many more, but yet they are best in singapore, is there ameritrade scottrade in singapore?
No, there is no Scott trade or TD Ameritrade office in Singapore.

normanTE
post Oct 6 2008, 07:56 PM

259 posts

i contacted scottrade & tradeking they said no able to provide service to malaysian or singaporean, though they provide lowest around 4.50 and 7 dollar a trade.

i contacted itrade as well they said can provide same price as ameritrade at 9.99 per trade and abolish their quarterly 40usd maintenance fee, if i can keep a minimum of 50,000 usd in their account.
still dont quite itrade,

ameritrade respond very efficiently, email will reply in second, i kind of like their service but the problem is if i want to withdrawal money from such account, it be easier can go to their office in singapore right?

so what other us brokerage firm that have office in singapore, malaysia indonesia thailand, hk, atleast if anything going wrong can be there easily right?

i am really confuse now, which one to choose,
i definately prefer those us brokerage firm that have office in singapore at least i can transfer all the stock i have bought earlier in singapore brokerage firm to those us brokerage firm in singapore.

by the way uobkyhian pertrade is usd 40

any comment, need some suggestion.

boonhan_choo
post Oct 8 2008, 02:59 AM

32 posts

It does not necessary to trade US shares through online trading. You can trade US shares through Malaysia broking firm such as OSK. Most importantly, you are serviced by a company dealer (company's remisier). If you are interested to know more, you are welcome to contact me for inquiries. My contact no is 0162677903, MSN : boonhan_choo@hotmail.com, email:boonhan_choo@hotmail.com

This post has been edited by boonhan_choo: Feb 10 2009, 08:48 PM

125 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:35 AM