125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

danmooncake
post Apr 7 2009, 09:17 AM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Apr 6 2009, 11:30 PM)
Yup..preferably pullback till 7.5K (at least 3 black candlebars to make it achieveable)
Then will long kao kao.
Anyway, Alcoa 1st quarter result tommorrow will determine whether it is pullback or further south.
The pullback wasn't too bad today.. around halfway thru.. seems like the buyers are in, minimizing the DJ loss.
But, still only about 40 points down from last week ending. Certainly looks like it is ripe for going higher tonight.

As for Alcoa (AA), man, this stock is beaten down pretty bad.

I don't expect they will have any good results as everybody is dumping aluminum worldwide.
I don't expect the outlook look good either because I don't see aluminum prices going up anytime
soon not until cooper prices are way back to normal.

I still place my bet on FCX (for Cooper and Gold) for long.. still waiting for a bit more pullback to 38 before
buying more.

Nothing new on Financial (not touching this anytime soon).. seems going sideways.. as to for the REIT (not until housing can spell B-O-T-T-O-M .. approx. 90 days to go).

But.. hey.. look at Tech. some stocks are poised to pop if earnings are good.

I missed the run on AMZN (who doesn't buy from Amazon rite?), now waiting for more pull back..
not sure if I will see it below 60 anymore. sigh..

Good luck to all! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Apr 7 2009, 09:18 AM
W.ROOK
post Apr 10 2009, 08:05 AM

982 posts

Been Targeting UYG and BAC for some time. Sadly both did not reach my target price and now they are even more far off cry.gif
danmooncake
post Apr 10 2009, 10:30 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(W.ROOK @ Apr 10 2009, 08:05 AM)
Been Targeting UYG and BAC for some time. Sadly both did not reach my target price and now they are even more far off cry.gif
Well, you didn't buy some on Wednesday night? The pullback was the opportunity man! smile.gif

Yesterday was best day for financial. Every bank stocks were up.. Wells Fargo has the best run of them all
with over 30%.

It seems the bottoming process already began. Don't wait at the sidelines to wait for the
lowest to get in.. nobody knows when the bottom will in and it is always a rear-view mirror.

I have to take some profits today, selling some of my positions in UCO, FCX and HAL. tongue.gif

We shall play again next week.. biggrin.gif

dreams_achiever
post Apr 10 2009, 03:14 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 10 2009, 10:30 AM)
Well, you didn't buy some on Wednesday night?  The pullback was the opportunity man!  smile.gif

Yesterday was best day for financial.  Every bank stocks were up.. Wells Fargo has the best run of them all
with over 30%.

It seems the bottoming process already began. Don't wait at the sidelines to wait for the
lowest to get in.. nobody knows when the bottom will in and it is always a rear-view mirror. 

I have to take some profits today, selling some of my positions in UCO, FCX and HAL.  tongue.gif

We shall play again next week..    biggrin.gif
Yah, me too. Yesterday nite was the big day for financial shares. And more to come next Wednesday.
Most of US banks announce results that will exceed estimation just like Well Fargo.
BAC (Bank of America) was big winner instead. From USD7 to USD9.55 (high USD9.85) -> 36%.
luckily i bought BAC calls and managed to double my investment capital in single nite biggrin.gif

ozak
post Apr 10 2009, 04:55 PM

17,018 posts

Have succed open an optionexpress acc. Really fast. Just 3days. Now got to sturdy hard how to trade and tt the money.
W.ROOK
post Apr 10 2009, 06:15 PM

982 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 10 2009, 10:30 AM)
Well, you didn't buy some on Wednesday night?  The pullback was the opportunity man!  smile.gif

Yesterday was best day for financial.  Every bank stocks were up.. Wells Fargo has the best run of them all
with over 30%.

I have to take some profits today, selling some of my positions in UCO, FCX and HAL.  tongue.gif

We shall play again next week..    biggrin.gif
When it comes to buying stocks I am very cautious.Learned some good lesson in my early startup but sometimes being over cautious also not good.
Investing in like BAC doesn't need to be an expert. In a few years time it can go up like 30-40 and above. Probably I set the target too low...sad...

I bought Resorts and Proton almost at the lowest price and making some good money now but when I compare to what I could have made of the US,its
really pathetic and peanut money....

Looks like you are making very good money out there. congrats!

wcwong100
post Apr 11 2009, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Dec 18 2007, 01:39 AM)

I'm wondering if anyone knows how we can buy stocks on the US stock exchange? I know OSK has a service for this but the charges is very high, anyone know of any more effective way to invest in the US stock exchange?
There are 2 main brokers that most Malysians use to buy US stock.

1) Interactive Brokers (min USD10,000 to open an a/c)

2) Options Xpress (no min to open an account)

so depending on your capital.

Maybe you would like to consider US Stock Options too,
it's cheaper and more Profitable if done correctly.

www.SimpleOptions.blogspot.com

dreams_achiever
post Apr 12 2009, 10:56 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(W.ROOK @ Apr 10 2009, 06:15 PM)
When it comes to buying stocks I am very cautious.Learned some good lesson in my early startup but sometimes being over cautious also not good.
Investing in like BAC doesn't need to be an expert. In a few years time it can go up like 30-40 and above. Probably I set the target too low...sad...

I bought Resorts and Proton almost at the lowest price and making some good money now but when I compare to what I could have made of the US,its
really pathetic and peanut money....
Looks like you are making very good money out there. congrats!
Exactly. Once you start trade in US market (specifically US options), you find boring to trade in KLSE anymore..too slow, no volume(for some warrants), low volatility.
Better move all capital to US and start trading there permanently biggrin.gif
Earn US dollars better than Ringgit Malaysia. The good things is we no need to stay there to earn USD..lolx icon_rolleyes.gif
W.ROOK
post Apr 13 2009, 08:20 PM

982 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Apr 12 2009, 10:56 PM)
Exactly. Once you start trade in US market (specifically US options), you find boring to trade in KLSE anymore..too slow, no volume(for some warrants), low volatility.
Better move all capital to US and start trading there permanently biggrin.gif
Earn US dollars better than Ringgit Malaysia. The good things is we no need to stay there to earn USD..lolx  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for the advise, now waiting for pullback... hmm.gif
danmooncake
post Apr 13 2009, 10:31 PM

10,123 posts

Howdy... ye all.. ready for another ride at Wall Street? tongue.gif

This week, we may not see much volatility.. I'm expecting sideways trading.
it is all about earnings, earnings and layoffs (what else huh?).

Flat or slightly bette earnings may push some sectors up higher, bad quarters may see downward pressure on the other but
outlook certainly more important here and any signs of slower downhill slope.. stocks will stand to resist and push
up even higher because prices already discounted.

I would expect some pullback at beginning of the week due to some more profit taking from last week highs,
and perhaps stablise towards the middle or towards end of this week.

On my watch list this week: GE (Industrial), XLF (Financial), GM (bankruptcy plan to unveil)
On my trade list: DXO (Oil), FAS (3x Financial), FXI (Copper/Gold).

Good luck and happy trading! smile.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Apr 13 2009, 10:38 PM
kb2005
post Apr 13 2009, 11:41 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

ANyone using CIMB online to buy US stock ? I'm thinking of opening the account.
dreams_achiever
post Apr 14 2009, 12:27 AM

1,120 posts

Today US financial shares rally even though DOW stay in RED all the time...
Anyway, i bought BAC 9 - 10 April bull call spread. Earn multiples of 5X..hehe
Wish you all good luck in trading..

Reason: betting on Goldman, JPM announcement will be good. Boosting financial shares biggrin.gif
danmooncake
post Apr 14 2009, 06:02 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Apr 14 2009, 12:27 AM)
Today US financial shares rally even though DOW stay in RED all the time...
Anyway, i bought BAC 9 - 10 April bull call spread. Earn multiples of 5X..hehe
Wish you all good luck in trading..

Reason: betting on Goldman, JPM announcement will be good. Boosting financial shares biggrin.gif
Goldman hits the home run after hours reporting. We may see things pop up by the next day for banks stocks. Time to take my profits on FAS. tongue.gif
W.ROOK
post Apr 14 2009, 07:48 AM

982 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 14 2009, 06:02 AM)
Goldman hits the home run after hours reporting. We may see things pop up by the next day for banks stocks.  Time to take my profits on FAS.  tongue.gif
Looks like I really miss the boat.
If I enter now ,will look like a dumb arse sweat.gif
dreams_achiever
post Apr 14 2009, 07:49 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 14 2009, 06:02 AM)
Goldman hits the home run after hours reporting. We may see things pop up by the next day for banks stocks.  Time to take my profits on FAS.  tongue.gif
Aikss..BAC (11), Citi up to 3.80 all bull market.
Regretted that i do bull call spread. Should long straight call only. Wrong strategy in this super bull run doh.gif
Miss alot of potential profits. cry.gif
W.ROOK
post Apr 14 2009, 07:52 AM

982 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Apr 14 2009, 07:49 AM)
Aikss..BAC (11), Citi up to 3.80 all bull market.
Regretted that i do bull call spread. Should long straight call only. Wrong strategy in this super bull run  doh.gif
Miss alot of potential profits.  cry.gif
At least you are making something.

This post has been edited by W.ROOK: Apr 14 2009, 07:53 AM
danmooncake
post Apr 15 2009, 11:15 AM

10,123 posts

W.ROOK, if you missed the run last week, there might be another chance tonight..

Watch for it.. earnings are out this week but since guidance are not clear..
it may put selling pressure on stocks..and another 100-200 points pullback.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Apr 15 2009, 11:17 AM
debbieyss
post Apr 15 2009, 01:44 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

hi, just want to ask something:

I'm planning to invest Futures in US, my brother will be staying there for his study. I wonder if it is possible to let my brother withdraw the money from the bank account which I'm using in US, and is it possible for him to withdraw the money any time at his own convenience?

Also, if he withdraws the money from this bank account and spend the money in US, will there be any commissions charged?
danmooncake
post Apr 15 2009, 10:18 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 15 2009, 01:44 PM)
hi, just want to ask something:

I'm planning to invest Futures in US, my brother will be staying there for his study. I wonder if it is possible to let my brother withdraw the money from the bank account which I'm using in US, and is it possible for him to withdraw the money any time at his own convenience?

Also, if he withdraws the money from this bank account and spend the money in US, will there be any commissions charged?
Err... what do you mean by 'Futures'? Are these Stocks, Bonds, CDs (aka 'Fixed Deposits' in Malaysia), Mutual Funds (aka 'Unit Trusts')? What exactly? I mean 'Futures' investments products are so damn generic here.

You mentioned 'bank account', is this just a 'Saving Account' that is somehow tied to your investments products listed above?

If it is your money, you have the right to withdraw anytime.. the only thing one has to worry is the banks may charge you a fee before the maturing dates or if have any gains (if it is dividends), Uncle Sam may want its portion for taxes.

debbieyss
post Apr 15 2009, 10:26 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 15 2009, 10:18 PM)
Err... what do you mean by 'Futures'?  Are these Stocks, Bonds, CDs (aka 'Fixed Deposits' in Malaysia), Mutual Funds (aka 'Unit Trusts')? What exactly?  I mean 'Futures' investments products are so damn generic here.

You mentioned 'bank account', is this just a 'Saving Account' that is somehow tied to your investments products listed above?

If it is your money, you have the right to withdraw anytime.. the only thing one has to worry is the banks may charge you a fee before the maturing dates or if have any gains (if it is dividends), Uncle Sam may want its portion for taxes.
hi danmooncake,
thanks for your reply, been waiting for few days smile.gif

Well, despite what kind of investment tool I'm having in US, whatever investment I'm going to have in US, i will save all the money into a bank account.

My concern is my brother may be studying in US, I wonder if it's possible to open a saving account in US, which allows my brother withdrawing the money from this account at his convenience, without me being there.

Perhaps, I should open a joint saving account with my brother in order to let him withdraw money from this account?

Is it possible to apply and open a saving account in US via internet?

125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:17 PM