125 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

瘟神
post Sep 26 2009, 01:05 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Sep 26 2009, 12:38 AM)
This is the utterly no basis. How the heck you come out with the basis of 25K?
Some of LYN member have less than 3K and making GOOD return.
The best method in US market is to use TRAILING STOP. Enough said.
sorry for the incomplete info, i should write it as "adviced". tongue.gif 25k is for pattern daytrading PDT accounts, such as in mbtrading, specially for day-traders. IMO, 3k is enough as capital to trade, only with LOW commission, such as US brokers mentioned in previous posts. with larger capital, traders could split their trades into few counters/ industry or different ETF (diversify risk), and as "extra bullet" when want to averaging down certain positions.

p/s: zaman98 is an expert in trading. should learn from him. notworthy.gif biggrin.gif
redken
post Sep 26 2009, 02:07 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Sep 26 2009, 12:38 AM)
How the heck you come out with the basis of 25K? (this is the part that I dun think you're even close to correct)

Some of LYN member have less than 3K and making GOOD return.

The rest of the statement is quite true, but thing can turn upside down. AIG was good companies, hell even EPF bought some at 3 digits pricing.

The best method in US market is to use TRAILING STOP. Enough said.

Added on September 26, 2009, 12:46 amguys , please do not FIGHT over small matter on what broker to use.

Use your common sense.

If you DON"T DO DAY TRADING> can use your MALAYSIA broker. Since you will buy n HOLD for LONG LONG LONG TERM. Duh, what is RM40 for charges if you can make RM4000?

If you wanna trade once in a while, then go for US Broker.

Again, back to Malaysian CROSS Border trade. Please answer this question: WHat US broker they use? THen ask back the question, is the broker safe? Remember your US/UK/HK/SPORE non-Malaysian securities (shares) are not covered by BURSA act.

THen what SECURITY you all talking about? Will the BROKER refund you if anything happen? NO.
Did you actually read the terms n condition for cross border trade?

Please go n dig some info. While you all are busy digging, I'm trading smile.gif
Good read. U sent that message across like a football field wink.gif

Firstly security, I for one uses Cross Border because at least they are governed by the Malaysia Security Commission. When we trade in BIG quantities, security is the main concern.

Secondly price, if u are gambling with money u cant afford to lose and commission that are too expensive for u to pay, then please play some simulation first. Reason? The US market is recovering sooner or later, if things go awry, at least u can afford to go REALLY LONG! In the end profit is almost inevitable given you made the right purchases. Heck even danmooncake doesn't use the cheapest US broker service and he flies there to collect his payout. Its all up to the individual, but one thing's for sure, if u are too CHEAP, prepare to pay the price.

Thirdly the hole, it may come in useful when its time to bury your investment or yourself tongue.gif
epalbee3
post Sep 26 2009, 07:53 AM

1,345 posts

I have just known that Sogotrade does not allow check withdrawal for non-US citizen, you can only use wire transfer which costs USD50 once.

So if you want to play with Sogotrade, your fund must stay longer..
GHz
post Sep 26 2009, 10:02 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Sep 26 2009, 07:53 AM)
I have just known that Sogotrade does not allow check withdrawal for non-US citizen, you can only use wire transfer which costs USD50 once.

So if you want to play with Sogotrade, your fund must stay longer..
Or else try get yourself an US-bank account. You can do ACH transfer for free between broker & bank account.
mynewuser
post Sep 26 2009, 10:28 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Sep 26 2009, 10:02 AM)
Or else try get yourself an US-bank account. You can do ACH transfer for free between broker & bank account.
Where to open US-Bank account in MY? HK bank can open US-bank account if you are their premium customer. (MIN 200k deposit).
zamans98
post Sep 26 2009, 10:47 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(瘟神 @ Sep 26 2009, 01:05 AM)
sorry for the incomplete info, i should write it as "adviced". tongue.gif  25k is for pattern daytrading PDT accounts, such as in mbtrading, specially for day-traders. IMO, 3k is enough as capital to trade, only with LOW commission, such as US brokers mentioned in previous posts. with larger capital, traders could split their trades into few counters/ industry or different ETF (diversify risk), and as "extra bullet" when want to averaging down certain positions.

p/s: zaman98 is an expert in trading. should learn from him.  notworthy.gif  biggrin.gif
Aiyo, me no expert, I just read n practise a lot with real money. For me, Game trading n real trading is really different.
Err, MB Trading allows day trading, no such thing as 25K min. My account is less than 10K.

QUOTE(redken @ Sep 26 2009, 02:07 AM)
Good read. U sent that message across like a football field  wink.gif

Firstly security, I for one uses Cross Border because at least they are governed by the Malaysia Security Commission. When we trade in BIG quantities, security is the main concern. 

Secondly price, if u are gambling with money u cant afford to lose and commission that are too expensive for u to pay, then please play some simulation first. Reason? The US market is recovering sooner or later, if things go awry, at least u can afford to go REALLY LONG! In the end profit is almost inevitable given you made the right purchases. Heck even danmooncake doesn't use the cheapest US broker service and he flies there to collect his payout. Its all up to the individual, but one thing's for sure, if u are too CHEAP, prepare to pay the price.

Thirdly the hole, it may come in useful when its time to bury your investment or yourself  tongue.gif
A lot of useful observation there. Agreed.
- big quantity, should use better broker, direct brokerage from Investment bank rather that broker. But hey, you need 1million equities before one can think of moving at that direction. since most of us here trade below 10K, commission then security is the concern.
- like me, so far I dun touch cheap stocks (Penny stocks like SIRI for example). Buying a good company can save you in long run. Example : GE, INTC, MSFT,YHOO.

Sold my ETFC position, all.

[img=http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/9111/traded.png]

klfong
post Sep 26 2009, 12:02 PM

- like me, so far I dun touch cheap stocks (Penny stocks like SIRI for example). Buying a good company can save you in long run. Example : GE, INTC, MSFT,YHOO.

Cheap stock can give u good return (capital + dividend)
e.g.: CEP, HTE

This post has been edited by klfong: Sep 26 2009, 12:12 PM
v2_vehooi
post Sep 26 2009, 02:23 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 4 2009, 07:48 AM)
That's crap. FNM/FRE wasn't up 300% since last week.
Both of these will go to ZERO soon.
Just like GM, it will go to ZERO.
Just as a side note, just to share with some of you who are 'playing' US stocks,  biggrin.gif

e asks me why not trade in local Bursa.. Bur who? hehe.. who cares about that.  yawn.gif
HI, anyway, the FNM & FRE still listed in NYSE, and look at the share price......biggrin.gif
mrPOTATO
post Sep 26 2009, 09:42 PM

2,113 posts

Sifu2, i pour sifu tea & kowtow here. Sifu... summarising your reasoning to my situation :

1. US bourse starts at midnight, so being a working fella i don't think i will stay up till morning, that means i should use local broker.
2. Also, since i don't daytrade, the higher charges shouldn't matter & so i ought to use local broker.
3. Cimb has brokerages in s'pore/hk/london but not usa, so it gives me some sense of safety as its a listed company & there is someone i can hold liable. Anyway i have not read the printout form where i have to sign to activate it. Will read it.
4. Cimb can 'play' stocks in singapore/hk/usa, so many choices.
5. I want to go into nyse soon because it in a dip now, so i just need to hop over to cimb office & can use it in3 days.

Everything (so far) tells me i should use local broker in my case. You mentioned 'long term', if i monitor my shares daily & could possibly buy/sell in 1 week time frame, is it still ok for me to use local broker ?

Thank you sifu for reading my long post. notworthy.gif I would really appreciate your insight in this matter.

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Sep 26 2009, 09:53 PM
zamans98
post Sep 27 2009, 12:48 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(klfong @ Sep 26 2009, 12:02 PM)
Cheap stock can give u good return (capital + dividend)
e.g.: CEP, HTE
Then in that case, BEE and MPG is good choices as well. (Short Term)

I Like CEP and HTE (Energy) for long term.

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Sep 26 2009, 09:42 PM)

Sifu2, i pour sifu tea & kowtow here. Sifu... summarising your reasoning to my situation :

1. US bourse starts at midnight, so being a working fella i don't think i will stay up till morning, that means i should use local broker.
2. Also, since i don't daytrade, the higher charges shouldn't matter & so i ought to use local broker.
3. Cimb has brokerages in s'pore/hk/london but not usa, so it gives me some sense of safety as its a listed company & there is someone i can hold liable. Anyway i have not read the printout form where i have to sign to activate it. Will read it.
4. Cimb can 'play' stocks in singapore/hk/usa, so many choices.
5. I want to go into nyse soon because it in a dip now, so i just need to hop over to cimb office & can use it in3 days.

Everything (so far) tells me i should use local broker in my case. You mentioned 'long term', if i monitor my shares daily & could possibly buy/sell in 1 week time frame, is it still ok for me to use local broker ?

Thank you sifu for reading my long post.  notworthy.gif I would really appreciate your insight in this matter.
ANSWER
1. US bourse start at 930pm local time (observe the daylight savings), not midnight leh. I trade/watch pre-market (8pm onwards) then trade between 930-11pm local time

2. Yes, because you just trade once in a while, go for capital appreciation, rite..LONG term I mean

3. Read again, no matter what happen, BANK is hardly on the losing edge

4. What is that suppose to mean? Can you trade Gold, Silver, Oil? Sorry, I dun see that Option. IB (interactive broker)

5. Good choice

mH3nG
post Sep 27 2009, 02:34 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Sep 26 2009, 09:42 PM)

If you're going to be trading that often, you'll probably save more in the long run using a discount broker.
Just imagine, if make 10 trades per month, it will cost you at least USD250 using CIMB, HLe-broking etc whereas going through a discount broker, you'll only incur USD50. If you're in for the long haul, then just stick with the ones here. Like what zamans98 said, what's RM40 for charges if you can make RM4000? smile.gif
epalbee3
post Sep 27 2009, 05:57 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(瘟神 @ Sep 26 2009, 01:05 AM)
sorry for the incomplete info, i should write it as "adviced". tongue.gif  25k is for pattern daytrading PDT accounts, such as in mbtrading, specially for day-traders. IMO, 3k is enough as capital to trade, only with LOW commission, such as US brokers mentioned in previous posts. with larger capital, traders could split their trades into few counters/ industry or different ETF (diversify risk), and as "extra bullet" when want to averaging down certain positions.

p/s: zaman98 is an expert in trading. should learn from him.  notworthy.gif  biggrin.gif
i heard you have direct CDS account with HLebroking.
But I asked my remisier and he said HLebroking only has nominee account.
or you need to go to HL investment bank?
瘟神
post Sep 27 2009, 09:24 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Sep 27 2009, 05:57 PM)
i heard you have direct CDS account with HLebroking.
But I asked my remisier and he said HLebroking only has nominee account.
or you need to go to HL investment bank?
No, I'm with OSK. smile.gif

Btw, if I'm not mistaken, buying foreign shares through OSK (and some other local brokers) are considered under custodian (or called nominee?) account, and for local shares it is under CDS (normal) account. Please correct me if I'm wrong.
GHz
post Sep 28 2009, 10:22 AM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Sep 26 2009, 10:28 AM)
Where to open US-Bank account in MY? HK bank can open US-bank account if you are their premium customer. (MIN 200k deposit).
Read this post on how to open, BTW I have not try it. The post owner said he made it.

I open myself while visiting US last June not through this method

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=26223583
ozak
post Sep 28 2009, 11:06 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Sep 28 2009, 10:22 AM)
Read this post on how to open, BTW I have not try it. The post owner said he made it.

I m thinking to open one also. Thanks for your info. Seems like not so difficult to open a US bank account from here but need some leg walk.

How about if I ask some relative to mail the form to me here and submit back to them via mail to open an acc? And using my relative US address? Is this possible without going to US?
GHz
post Sep 28 2009, 02:01 PM

1,139 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Sep 28 2009, 11:06 AM)
I m thinking to open one also. Thanks for your info. Seems like not so difficult to open a US bank account from here but need some leg walk.

How about if I ask some relative to mail the form to me here and submit back to them via mail to open an acc? And using my relative US address? Is this possible without going to US?
I do not know,maybe you give it a try, because some bank may insist you need to be present at USA to open an account.
mynewuser
post Sep 28 2009, 02:45 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Sep 28 2009, 10:22 AM)

Btw, even we open the US account, transfer money from and to them also will incurs charges. Eg, USD 20 for wired transfer from US bank to Malaysia bank. Any others cheaper option?

As for HSBC, I understand no charges required if you transfer between own local and own US account. (Premium customer).

This post has been edited by mynewuser: Sep 28 2009, 03:16 PM
fyseng
post Sep 28 2009, 03:51 PM

206 posts

For US bank account, just go to HSBC all can settle in their branch and you can get the account in about 2 week. No charges to transfer between local HSBC and US HSBC bank account and can be done online.
motolola
post Sep 28 2009, 04:27 PM

127 posts

fyseng, any idea what's the minimum monthly balance required in the hsbc account?
for such a service, i think the requirement is going to be very high..
edit: are you talking about hsbc premier banking? the below average balance is rm200,000 wow! too much for me, maybe peanuts for some! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by motolola: Sep 28 2009, 04:37 PM
ozak
post Sep 28 2009, 05:53 PM

17,018 posts

Walau. RM200k must balance in thier acc? That is high. Rather invest to stock.

125 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.2799sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:09 AM