125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

GregPG01
post Sep 24 2009, 11:36 PM

4,966 posts

One question guys, do I buy and sell ETF just like normal shares? Any other charges that I have to be aware of? I cannot find the TAN ETF in the cimb itrade...
mH3nG
post Sep 24 2009, 11:39 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Sep 24 2009, 11:36 PM)
One question guys, do I buy and sell ETF just like normal shares? Any other charges that I have to be aware of? I cannot find the TAN ETF in the cimb itrade...
If you're using the cross border to trade, you can't buy ETF's like normal shares. You need to call the nightdesk to place your order. +65 6232 5888
Alternatively you can call the central dealing team in Malaysia during working hours to place your order before the market opens. 2096 1655

This post has been edited by mH3nG: Sep 24 2009, 11:41 PM
GregPG01
post Sep 24 2009, 11:42 PM

4,966 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Sep 24 2009, 11:39 PM)
If you're using the cross border to trade, you can't buy ETF's like normal shares. You need to call the nightdesk to place your order. +65 6232 5888
Alternatively you can call the central dealing team in Malaysia during working hours to place your order before the market opens. 2096 1655
Thanks. Was trying all sorts of combination trying to find the counter. How will they validate us when we call ?

This post has been edited by GregPG01: Sep 24 2009, 11:43 PM
klfong
post Sep 25 2009, 12:09 AM

try TAN.P under NYSE

The stock is not listed in NYSE

http://www.nyse.com/about/listed/lcddata.html?ticker=TAN
It is listed in NYSE-Arca

NYS-Arca ends with .P
NYSE ends with .N
NYSE-Amex ends with .A
NASDAQ ends with .O

This post has been edited by klfong: Sep 25 2009, 12:23 AM
mrPOTATO
post Sep 25 2009, 03:16 PM

2,113 posts

Hi everyone, i have access to some cash & have 1yr to utilise this amount to make some money.

Someone from here recommended i look into american stocks & i have read thro the 1st 2 pg and ongoing.. sweat.gif it seems there is still some debate going on about which broker to use, how to transfer $, subscription to broker advise etc for the next 54 pages, and i'm trying to absorb things on the way.

I wanna go in the soonest possible and will be reading thro these pages but can someone point me the right way on how to start off ? What should i be doing now to prepare myself ? HOpefully i can shorten the learning curve and reduce any mistakes that might happen.

Thanks a lot.
dannyooi_84
post Sep 25 2009, 03:28 PM

312 posts

sifu danmooncake and zamans can help you. I'm still a newbie and learning it step by step.

you can google some stuffs and read it up.

high volatility in US markets, so chances of losing also quite high. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by dannyooi_84: Sep 25 2009, 03:28 PM
瘟神
post Sep 25 2009, 04:45 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Sep 25 2009, 03:28 PM)
high volatility in US markets, so chances of losing also quite highrolleyes.gif
High volatility affects only the rate of price change. For those who with capital less than usd 25k, please never think of trading in US markets, unless you are already an expert. If not, chance for you to lose $$ is very high. For investors, please look for undervalued companies, do some "homework" on their financial statements and figure out their management. Companies with good fundamentals will reward you nice dividend and good capital gain in the future. It just a matter of time. If you are knowledgeable in trading, that's another story.

Happy investing and trading. smile.gif
mrPOTATO
post Sep 25 2009, 04:55 PM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Sep 25 2009, 03:28 PM)
sifu danmooncake and zamans can help you. I'm still a newbie and learning it step by step.

you can google some stuffs and read it up.

high volatility in US markets, so chances of losing also quite high.  rolleyes.gif
Haha.. yah, my heart is beating a lil bit faster just thinking about it. So you are also thinking of going into it ? I found out that cimb has cross border trading facility. Anyone using it ?
dannyooi_84
post Sep 25 2009, 05:09 PM

312 posts

Read in this forum that the brokerage fees is darn expensive. Preferably to use US broker if you want to trade the US market. I'm sure the sifus can teach you a thing or two.

so far the cheapest us broker will sogotrade, at 4.95 per trade IINM..

I don't have the much spare $$ to open a acct with the US broker. what to do.. smile.gif anyway, i'm playing the US stock game ...
mrPOTATO
post Sep 25 2009, 05:53 PM

2,113 posts

QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Sep 25 2009, 05:09 PM)
Read in this forum that the brokerage fees is darn expensive. Preferably to use US broker if you want to trade the US market. I'm sure the sifus can teach you a thing or two.

so far the cheapest us broker will sogotrade, at 4.95 per trade IINM..

I don't have the much spare $$ to open a acct with the US broker. what to do.. smile.gif anyway, i'm playing the US stock game ...
Hmm.. mayb thats why the charges are not on the website. I called them just now. Its -

RM20 per transaction +
a) 0.42%/HK$150 for hk bourse
b) 0.4%/USD$25 for us bourse

shocking.gif

I'm just worried about the technalities & hassles of opening a us account. Somehow it feels safer with everything in malaysia. I dunno .. maybe i need to do some more reading up. Hey, u said you are not opening US broker a/c but playing the US stock, how do u do it ?

This post has been edited by mrPOTATO: Sep 25 2009, 05:55 PM
dannyooi_84
post Sep 25 2009, 07:10 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Sep 25 2009, 05:53 PM)
Hmm.. mayb thats why the charges are not on the website. I called them just now. Its -

RM20 per transaction +
a) 0.42%/HK$150 for hk bourse
b) 0.4%/USD$25 for us bourse

shocking.gif

I'm just worried about the technalities & hassles of opening a us account. Somehow it feels safer with everything in malaysia. I dunno ..  maybe i need to do some more reading up. Hey, u said you are not opening US broker a/c but playing the US stock,  how do u do it ?
I playing a stock market game. not the real deal though brows.gif
autoforexgroup
post Sep 25 2009, 07:30 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Sep 25 2009, 07:10 PM)
I playing a stock market game. not the real deal though brows.gif
Cool.... Did you watch how the U.S. stock markets plunge right after the FOMC news few days ago? Also Crude Oil just drops like a bomb smile.gif USD sky rocketed and GBP EUR drops like no tomorrow hehe.

epalbee3
post Sep 25 2009, 09:35 PM

1,345 posts

I guess it is going to be bearish starting now for some time, may be there is no good news and.. the DJIA is higher than it should be seeing US economic.
But after the corrections, we can reap again.. wink.gif
redken
post Sep 25 2009, 10:23 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(autoforexgroup @ Sep 25 2009, 07:30 PM)
Cool.... Did you watch how the U.S. stock markets plunge right after the FOMC news few days ago? Also Crude Oil just drops like a bomb smile.gif USD sky rocketed and GBP EUR drops like no tomorrow hehe.
No one is sure what drives the market down. I highly doubt this report is that critical. On the contrary, property pickup has been on the rise at some states according to previous reports. So who's right?

At this point the DOW was testing 10000pts, its a big resistance and the perfect timing for hedges to pull the plug. Point is, nobody wants the economy to recover so fast, everyone wants to make a quick buck.
jeremyhiew
post Sep 25 2009, 10:34 PM

im trading US by using CIMB cross border..damn expensive...all the sifu here....izzit the sogotrade or mbtrading safe ? may wan to try... can giv further info how safe izit ?? tqtq

http://myinvest89.blogspot.com/ THE RISE OF NEW BLOG
epalbee3
post Sep 25 2009, 10:49 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(jeremyhiew @ Sep 25 2009, 10:34 PM)
im trading US by using CIMB cross border..damn expensive...all the sifu here....izzit the sogotrade or mbtrading safe ? may wan to try... can giv further info how safe izit ?? tqtq
http://myinvest89.blogspot.com/ THE RISE OF NEW BLOG
still new, i think should be safe gua...
but the point is you can save 90% brokerage..
jeremyhiew
post Sep 25 2009, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Sep 25 2009, 10:49 PM)
still new, i think should be safe gua...
but the point is you can save 90% brokerage..
the brokerage is very very attractive.. so im surveying whether it is a secure trade web...u trade before ? cashing out the money before ?

http://myinvest89.blogspot.com/ THE RISE OF A NEW BLOG

This post has been edited by jeremyhiew: Sep 25 2009, 10:59 PM
ozak
post Sep 25 2009, 11:06 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(jeremyhiew @ Sep 25 2009, 10:58 PM)
the brokerage is very very attractive.. so im surveying whether it is a secure trade web...u trade before ? cashing out the money before ?
http://myinvest89.blogspot.com/ THE RISE OF A NEW BLOG
Read back and you know it is safe or not. But nothing is safe. Trade as your own risk. icon_rolleyes.gif
mH3nG
post Sep 25 2009, 11:09 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Sep 24 2009, 11:42 PM)
Thanks. Was trying all sorts of combination trying to find the counter. How will they validate us when we call ?
They'll ask you for your IC no as well as your phone number. Not sure if you need anything else though since its been a while since I last called them up.
zamans98
post Sep 26 2009, 12:38 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(瘟神 @ Sep 25 2009, 04:45 PM)
High volatility affects only the rate of price change. For those who with capital less than usd 25k, please never think of trading in US markets, unless you are already an expert. If not,  chance for you to lose $$ is very high. For investors, please look for undervalued companies, do some "homework" on their financial statements and figure out their management. Companies with good fundamentals will reward you nice dividend and good capital gain in the future. It just a matter of time. If you are knowledgeable in trading, that's another story.

Happy investing and trading. smile.gif
How the heck you come out with the basis of 25K? (this is the part that I dun think you're even close to correct)

Some of LYN member have less than 3K and making GOOD return.

The rest of the statement is quite true, but thing can turn upside down. AIG was good companies, hell even EPF bought some at 3 digits pricing.

The best method in US market is to use TRAILING STOP. Enough said.

Added on September 26, 2009, 12:46 amguys , please do not FIGHT over small matter on what broker to use.

Use your common sense.

If you DON"T DO DAY TRADING> can use your MALAYSIA broker. Since you will buy n HOLD for LONG LONG LONG TERM. Duh, what is RM40 for charges if you can make RM4000?

If you wanna trade once in a while, then go for US Broker.

Again, back to Malaysian CROSS Border trade. Please answer this question: WHat US broker they use? THen ask back the question, is the broker safe? Remember your US/UK/HK/SPORE non-Malaysian securities (shares) are not covered by BURSA act.

THen what SECURITY you all talking about? Will the BROKER refund you if anything happen? NO.
Did you actually read the terms n condition for cross border trade?

Please go n dig some info. While you all are busy digging, I'm trading smile.gif

This post has been edited by zamans98: Sep 26 2009, 12:46 AM

125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:44 PM