59 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

Closing thread.

Wiseman
post Sep 24 2009, 01:36 PM

QUOTE(guess19 @ Jun 13 2009, 12:40 AM)
go midvalley and find the shop zwilling , they selling it for rm100 promotion price . usual price is 199 .
why u say taylors is better?
taylors is only good at advertising and getting the award through their own way.
still, quite a number of ppl like me , who are doubting between taylors and kdu went into kdu instead of taylor
I'm in the Taylor's School of Comm and so are some of my friends.. and I must say that we are happy with the college so far. We practice this initiative called the “Graduate Capabilities” whereby the lecturers not only groom students through academic and theoretical knowledge, students are also imbibed with supplementary qualities such as leadership, creativity, teamwork, adaptability and street-smarts that will give each one of them the extra leverage that is so desperately needed in today’s competitive global market place. Not many colleges have adopted this initiative which I find is an advantage for us when we look for job. There is a lot of field trips, outdoor activities and talks by industry practitioners from time to time.
nikcraft
post Sep 29 2009, 04:25 PM

may i know how much is Taylor fees for CA?i heard it has discount for local students and Taylor January Intake for 2010 is based on Trial SPM result or SPM result?
TSmunak991
post Sep 29 2009, 08:06 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

its about RM 35k+ Discount for newly intake? i never heard of it.
Now im in Semester 6 of CA, so far i said taylors does offer good pratical and theory, after visiting KDU i still say Taylors the best? why? that 1 u got to visit both of them and found out happy.gif

++
Guys im now in term 6 guys, from semester 1 i created this thread until now happy.gif thx you guy for supporting this thread.

Added on September 29, 2009, 8:22 pmGuys Please Post ur info for does taking Culinary arts!

Thx you!

This post has been edited by munak991: Sep 29 2009, 08:22 PM
kueks
post Sep 29 2009, 09:34 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

hmm munak

im interested in ur course
wat other skills u all learn ah ? pat siao left already
still got sugar art classes?

wat about cake deco.... chocolate carving...
nikcraft
post Sep 29 2009, 09:51 PM

35k..hurm..does taylor have scholarship?because my family cant afford 35k and i dont want because of money problem i had to stop my dream becoming a chef. sad.gif
kueks
post Sep 29 2009, 10:57 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

QUOTE(nikcraft @ Sep 29 2009, 09:51 PM)
35k..hurm..does taylor have scholarship?because my family cant afford 35k and i dont want because of money problem i had to stop my dream becoming a chef. sad.gif
well u don really need so much money though ...go to cheaper colleges to learn the basics....

if u got the passion... u will become a very successful chef
really

gradoo
post Sep 30 2009, 03:41 PM

Raffles Design Institute School of Arts in Malaysia and Singapore also provide diploma and degree of culinary arts leh, but I like eat beautiful food. cooking me is just for make my girlfriend happy.

This post has been edited by gradoo: Oct 6 2009, 02:37 PM
chloe_yee87
post Sep 30 2009, 11:24 PM

367 posts

hey all food peeps!

need to ask u guys for help smile.gif

Do u know of any interesting traditional way of cooking? For example, addition of certain ingredients to food to enhance the taste or texture. (get rid of fishy smell, sour taste etc etc)
examples:
1)Soaking bitter gourd in salt water to reduces the bitterness level of the bitter gourd
2) soaking raw cockle in milk before cooking to remove the fishy smell of the cockle

Appreciate it if u guys can provide other way besides from above two...
hehe..i'm sure u guys will know some secret tips...come share share biggrin.gif

thanks! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by chloe_yee87: Sep 30 2009, 11:25 PM
TSmunak991
post Oct 2 2009, 08:47 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Hmmm i cant think of anything yet but ill post them if i got it !
JoBigShow
post Oct 3 2009, 05:21 AM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(chloe_yee87 @ Sep 30 2009, 11:24 PM)
hey all food peeps!

need to ask u guys for help smile.gif

Do u know of any interesting traditional way of cooking? For example, addition of certain ingredients to food to enhance the taste or texture. (get rid of fishy smell, sour taste etc etc)
examples:
1)Soaking bitter gourd in salt water to reduces the bitterness level of the bitter gourd
2) soaking raw cockle in milk before cooking to remove the fishy smell of the cockle

Appreciate it if u guys can provide other way besides from above two...
hehe..i'm sure u guys will know some secret tips...come share share biggrin.gif

thanks!  notworthy.gif
Traditionally, to rid of the fishy smell you gotta soak the fishes in brine(salt water) and lemon, or in Malaysian cuisine usually use 'asam keping'(dried tamarind). The acidity in the lemon/dried tamarind will postpone the certain enzymes in seafood that produce these 'fishy smell'.
Therefore always buy fresh products if you dont want those fishy smells in the first biggrin.gif
Just a tip on buying fish, make sure the gills are red(not brownish ore pale red) and the eyes are sparkly/clear.

With raw cockles, i like to "bath" them with brine and red wine vinegar, this is traditionally Southern French-y, i think.
Or my favourite traditional way of cockle preperation(me~san~plaz) is the Japanese way, soak them up is a little sake, chopped seawead and salt thumbup.gif

Talking about food enhancing, they are usually found in starch, e.g. potatoes. Starch are the main ingredient used in Anjinomoto's food enhancing products.
Just a little tip, if you happen to prepare a soup based dish, dont mind throwing in a grabful of grated russett potatoes, one potato is enough.

One of the best Chef's cooking techniques of flavour enhancing is the simple caramalising technique when sauteing/pan frying your food.
This is the same techniques used by Penangites to create Charred Kwoo Tae Yau laugh.gif

chloe_yee87
post Oct 3 2009, 09:48 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(JoBigShow @ Oct 3 2009, 05:21 AM)
Traditionally, to rid of the fishy smell you gotta soak the fishes in brine(salt water) and lemon, or in Malaysian cuisine usually use 'asam keping'(dried tamarind). The acidity in the lemon/dried tamarind will postpone the certain enzymes in seafood that produce these 'fishy smell'.
Therefore always buy fresh products if you dont want those fishy smells in the first biggrin.gif
Just a tip on buying fish, make sure the gills are red(not brownish ore pale red) and the eyes are sparkly/clear. 

With raw cockles, i like to "bath" them with brine and red wine vinegar, this is traditionally Southern French-y, i think.
Or my favourite traditional way of cockle preperation(me~san~plaz) is the Japanese way, soak them up is a little sake, chopped seawead and salt  thumbup.gif

Talking about food enhancing, they are usually found in starch, e.g. potatoes. Starch are the main ingredient used in Anjinomoto's food enhancing products.
Just a little tip, if you happen to prepare a soup based dish, dont mind throwing in a grabful of grated russett potatoes, one potato is enough.

One of the best Chef's cooking techniques of flavour enhancing is the simple caramalising technique when sauteing/pan frying your food.
This is the same techniques used by Penangites to create Charred Kwoo Tae Yau  laugh.gif
oh...thank u so much on this info! smile.gif

what is russett potato? can i get them locally? So, for a healthy option, i can substitute russett potato with ajinomoto?
Thanks! notworthy.gif
JoBigShow
post Oct 3 2009, 07:00 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

QUOTE(chloe_yee87 @ Oct 3 2009, 09:48 AM)
oh...thank u so much on this info! smile.gif

what is russett potato? can i get them locally? So, for a healthy option, i can substitute russett potato with ajinomoto?
Thanks!  notworthy.gif
Russet potato can easily be bought at supermarkets, but they are more expensive than the regular potato.
Russet potatoes are used to make french fries, so in your lifetime of eating french fries, u'd been eating russet potatoes all these times nod.gif

I stay away from ajinomoto as far as possible and opt for a more natural ingredient like russet potatoes, but this is mainly applied for soup or watery dishes bcoz u can't cook for instance fried rice with potatoes can you? laugh.gif
But of course if health is not an issue, Ajinomoto is a really good food enhancers. But still be precautious of MSG(monosodium glutamate), thats the main starch ingredients in Ajinimoto.
(If u cook food 2-3 times a week with it its fine, its when u use it all the time like 15+ times a week that u should take notice...)
For educational purpose if u'r curious why, this is because our human body is not design to digest and metabolize synthetic substance like MSG.

One of my favourite way of enhancing food is to sometime replace Salt with Chicken stock, as stocks are salty while giving a "base" to the dish you cook, so it does 2 things a once, while salt only makes the dish saltier....
I prefer the brand 'Knows' btw.
A simple omelet or scramble eggs will taste awesome when u use chicken stock instead of salt rclxm9.gif
And dont forget Black pepper, 55% of food cooked in restaurants have been seasoned with black pepper..from salads to meat...etc..

bearyie
post Oct 4 2009, 03:23 PM

15 posts

hi everyone!!!!

can u guys help me plssss.....
i wanted to take culinary arts in KDU...
does anyone here know the fees??
how about the quality??
what do they teach us??i wanted to know so badly......

hope someone could help me......sobss.....

thx alot yaa...n__n
guess19
post Oct 5 2009, 12:12 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(bearyie @ Oct 4 2009, 03:23 PM)
hi everyone!!!!

can u guys help me plssss.....
i wanted to take culinary arts in KDU...
does anyone here know the fees??
how about the quality??
what do they teach us??i wanted to know so badly......

hope someone could help me......sobss.....

thx alot yaa...n__n
what could you possibly want to learn if you were to enter the course? in your first semester , most probabbly will have more theory and the 2nd sem will be more towards the practical . the fees are 35k for my current course. but i think they changed it again , you should go check with the kdu student help center.
gradoo
post Oct 6 2009, 02:19 PM

QUOTE(reuben_1991 @ Jul 12 2008, 10:29 PM)
Haha! not sure yet. Depends first, don't know if i'll get selected for NS.
Yeah, I agree with you ,this is the culinary school of arts is really great. After you graduated, send me the message, I will go your place to eat your food. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by gradoo: Oct 6 2009, 02:28 PM
nikcraft
post Oct 7 2009, 05:55 PM

hey,anyone from taylor can answer my question?In taylor's application form,the number 6 guide it wrote send crossed cheque/money order for first payment made.My question is how much i need to send for the first payment to register for diploma in culinary arts?anyone can answer me?thanKs
gradoo
post Oct 8 2009, 07:15 PM

QUOTE(nikcraft @ Oct 7 2009, 05:55 PM)
hey,anyone from taylor can answer my question?In taylor's application form,the number 6 guide it wrote send crossed cheque/money order for first payment made.My question is how much i need to send for the first payment to register for diploma in culinary arts?anyone can answer me?thanKs
you can directly send the email some culinary arts school, they will think you are their potential student, so answer you faster.
JoBigShow
post Oct 10 2009, 07:29 PM

Ω Ξ Ψ Σ Д Ӫ Ж Π ✿
969 posts

post edited

This post has been edited by JoBigShow: Dec 25 2009, 07:24 AM
nikcraft
post Oct 12 2009, 08:28 PM

hello anyone here can answer my question?If i take french diploma at Taylor than how much i need to pay if i want to further my studies to degree?
TSmunak991
post Oct 13 2009, 10:54 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(nikcraft @ Oct 12 2009, 08:28 PM)
hello anyone here can answer my question?If i take french diploma at Taylor than how much i need to pay if i want to further my studies to degree?
oh sorry, been busy doing my assignment, anyway.
U could check on Taylors college

http://www.taylors.edu.my/

i think its 20k+ for higher dip and another 20k+ for degree, if im not mistaken.

Anyway, u can go anywhere else like going Swiss or Le cordon bleu after finishing ur Dip, for LCB(Le Cordon Bleu) is RM 300k[Included cost of living] for degree program after Diploma.

Hope i answer ur question =)

Added on October 13, 2009, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(nikcraft @ Oct 7 2009, 05:55 PM)
For this is initial payment is around 6-7k? cause u need to pay for equipment, im not sure. =)

Be sure to collect ur meal vocher and enjoy the "Food" cook by ur senior/junior

This post has been edited by munak991: Oct 13 2009, 10:58 PM

59 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:37 AM