planetshaker
post Mar 18 2008, 08:35 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Mar 18 2008, 12:31 AM)
Waaaa...
This week will be busy like hell.
All the Assesment came together. sioa lo..
restaurant assesment is damn difficult.
We broke college record LOL...
80% of DC29 student fail F&B. (last time)
this week 2nd assesment.
geng notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif tongue.gif who's the lecturer
TSmunak991
post Mar 19 2008, 10:18 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(planetshaker @ Mar 18 2008, 08:35 AM)
geng notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  tongue.gif  who's the lecturer

TRVO
post Mar 20 2008, 01:53 AM

Hey guys! "P
Nice to meet you all!!!
I'm a SPM school leaver planning to go for a Culinary Arts course!

There are some choices of college in my consideration...
But I'm not sure which school to go...

Below are some questions that I would like inquire:

1. A French Diploma and a Swiss Diploma, which one is more developed?

2. Which school would you recommend?

3. Do your course touch on pretty much of Oenology's knowledge?

4. Does GentingInti cooperate with the restaurant, THE OLIVE at Genting Highland? I mean, does student have the choice to undergo industrial training at THE OLIVE?

Thanks a lot if i can get your kindly reply!!!
"P

This post has been edited by TRVO: Mar 20 2008, 01:35 PM
julnoel
post Mar 20 2008, 04:34 PM

739 posts

if im not mistaken

swiss = management
france = culinary arts

as for oenology, did it in my term 3 and tbh, i didnt learn much. maybe lack of interest. but taylor's does provide a cert in wine something, so maybe if you really like these things related to wine, you can pursue.
TRVO
post Mar 21 2008, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(julnoel @ Mar 20 2008, 04:34 PM)
if im not mistaken

swiss = management
france = culinary arts

as for oenology, did it in my term 3 and tbh, i didnt learn much. maybe lack of interest. but taylor's does provide a cert in wine something, so maybe if you really like these things related to wine, you can pursue.
Thanks!!!
I'll get more different info from other college then!!!
Ezymeal.com
post Mar 21 2008, 05:02 PM

92 posts

MIB (Malaysian Institute of Baking) Open Day

Get more details on baking courses and baking workshops.

Day : Sunday, 23 March 2008
Time : 10.00am - 3.00pm
Telephone: 603-7956 9011
Fax: 603-7954 1557
Mr.Vera : 6012-235-1661
Visit Us at:
MALAYSIAN INSTITUTE OF BAKING (32003-V)
11, Jalan 52/8
PJ New Town
46200 Petaling Jaya
MALAYSIA
TSmunak991
post Mar 24 2008, 05:37 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Yay... Term Break.
Senior graduated from Higher Diploma and DC batch biggrin.gif
kueks
post Mar 24 2008, 08:00 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

term break ?
i tot finals starting this week

80% fail 1st term fnb ?? =.=

Added on March 24, 2008, 8:03 pm
QUOTE(planetshaker @ Mar 16 2008, 01:09 AM)
not all restaurant are bad.try go fine dining ones.good experience.
sometimes hotel oso sux.too busy cant learn anything but at least u can experience hotel life the harshnesss of hotel line lol whistling.gif
good learning environment is in those high class fine dining.... which almost all tongue.gif

and they wont accept trainees la
y wanna risk reputation just bcos of trainees

too busy ...we can learn things wat
busy time don just do do do ...look around and try to catch something to learn
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kueks: Mar 24 2008, 08:03 PM
TSmunak991
post Mar 25 2008, 09:32 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Mar 24 2008, 08:00 PM)
term break ?
i tot finals starting this week

80% fail 1st term fnb ?? =.=

Added on March 24, 2008, 8:03 pm

good learning environment is in those high class fine dining.... which almost all tongue.gif

and they wont accept trainees la
y wanna risk reputation just bcos of trainees

too busy ...we can learn things wat
busy time don just do do do ...look around and try to catch something to learn
tongue.gif
Yeah. FNB 1st paper 80% failed.....
Lecturer kena Pwned. rclxub.gif
PeNNyPupZ
post Mar 25 2008, 02:19 PM

79 posts

what? which college? 80% fail?!?!?!!
Smileyface
post Mar 25 2008, 09:28 PM

104 posts

KDU College Culinary Arts March 08 Intake Here! It's my 1st week... The lecturer already giving pressure... >.<
kueks
post Mar 26 2008, 07:26 PM

Playstation
6,437 posts

good la
kitchen life is always pressure tongue.gif
Smileyface
post Mar 26 2008, 09:43 PM

104 posts

aiyo... lol la... but true ah... kitchen life is really under pressure if you want good grades and nice results... gosh! =.+
edi having presentation on the 1st week... hate..~!

This post has been edited by Smileyface: Mar 26 2008, 09:44 PM
TSmunak991
post Mar 27 2008, 10:10 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

What the hell?!
presentation 1st week.
i will die la like that.
mengking
post Mar 31 2008, 06:02 AM

QUOTE(munak991 @ Mar 27 2008, 10:10 PM)
What the hell?!
presentation 1st week.
i will die la like that.
KDU lecturer to avoid - Ms Gan very fussy old lecturer.. heheh tongue.gif
I was a X KDU degree student in management. Working in hotel is good if you do not have family commitment (due to working preasure and odd working hours). After graduate, plz do not expect high salary or post. Even after obtaining a hons degree, I have to be a FOA in 5 stars hote. haizz... Certification is like a passport or a visa for us to work. Determination, passion and a little of networking (aka politic) will get you on top. Anyway it is good to share experience over here. Good Luck !
Smileyface
post Mar 31 2008, 10:26 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(mengking @ Mar 31 2008, 06:02 AM)
KDU lecturer to avoid - Ms Gan very fussy old lecturer.. heheh tongue.gif
I was a X KDU degree student in management. Working in hotel is good if you do not have family commitment (due to working preasure and odd working hours). After graduate, plz do not expect high salary or post. Even after obtaining a hons degree, I have to be a FOA in 5 stars hote. haizz... Certification is like a passport or a visa for us to work. Determination, passion and a little of networking (aka politic) will get you on top. Anyway it is good to share experience over here. Good Luck !
Haha... Thanks for the 'useful' advise mengking... Luckily I dont have Ms Gan's class... XD
Through my opinion, all the fussy and fierce lecturer is in hotel... Chef not that much...
But there is 1 thing... I like Mr Rajah... A good man... Nice and friendly...
Hey, mengking, play any games from Mr Don before?

This post has been edited by Smileyface: Jul 12 2008, 06:27 PM
Little_Angel87
post Mar 31 2008, 01:42 PM

44 posts

hello everyone.. my bro is spm holder... he decide to become a chef... but he like to study base on western food..
so.. which coll or uni is much more better?? which courses should he take?
TSmunak991
post Mar 31 2008, 04:36 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Little_Angel87 @ Mar 31 2008, 01:42 PM)
hello everyone.. my bro is spm holder... he decide to become a chef... but he like to study base on western food..
so.. which coll or uni is much more better?? which courses should he take?
there are 3 college offering this course.
As now im taking Chef course also(aka Culirany Arts)

1st is Sunway College.
(it offer hotel management but if u interest in Chef u specialise on that section)
2nd is Taylors College
Culinary arts is the course it offer Pastry, French Cuisine(western), and u have to study restaurant and etc course(compaulsary)
3rd is KDU
i have no idea for KDU,but i heard they offered Culinary arts also.( you could consult other forum-er like smiley face and mengkin)

Extra comments
Some of my seniors said KDU is much better than taylors, but i have no idea why they say like that.
But Taylors had been platinum awarded 2007/2008 best hospitality School in Asia.

And i hate consultant say this word: " The Quality Is There"
where?
nikeshock
post Apr 2 2008, 06:50 PM

561 posts

kuek. u work on sat and sunday also??? @.@ i mean during ur practical training.

Added on April 2, 2008, 6:52 pmmunak. what u mean by the consultant said the quality is there? taylors consultant?

This post has been edited by nikeshock: Apr 2 2008, 06:52 PM
TSmunak991
post Apr 2 2008, 11:30 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(nikeshock @ Apr 2 2008, 06:50 PM)
kuek. u work on sat and sunday also??? @.@ i mean during ur practical training.

Added on April 2, 2008, 6:52 pmmunak. what u mean by the consultant said the quality is there? taylors consultant?
yeap.
keep saying platinum award lol...

59 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:22 PM