50 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

ATi Radeon HD 3850 & 3870 Single / CF / CFx, OC discussion thread~

clayclws
post Jan 9 2008, 10:04 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 9 2008, 09:32 PM)
here's my 1k+ coreclock speed.

It takes abt 1.5vcore to achieve this speed bench-able, the temps never above 44c on load... but i dare not pump more. This is a 55nm core... anything more it might be dead lolz.

well... currently i have some issue with my motherboard memory timings and vcore, with proper tuning i am very sure im able to get at least 12-13k. You would notice my last timing on the rams damm cacat, this is an issue with my K9A2 Platinum, currently still discussing with MSI support team.

Will update soon once i am able to run my motherboard to its full potential icon_rolleyes.gif
Great core timing. Can you play games with it?
sniper69
post Jan 9 2008, 10:18 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

how you guys can get over 900MHz on core? pencil mod? hard-modding? unsure.gif, damn... i'm desperately doh.gif laugh.gif... and, is that on stock cooling?
sukhoi37
post Jan 9 2008, 10:20 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:18 PM)
how you guys can get over 900MHz on core? pencil mod? hard-modding? unsure.gif, damn... i'm desperately doh.gif laugh.gif... and, is that on stock cooling?
yes, you can check previous pages.
rlhc did that with 1.42 Gvcore with stock cooler 100% speed. rclxms.gif
dreaming
post Jan 9 2008, 11:24 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(vickyrao @ Jan 8 2008, 05:11 AM)
would like to find out with u guys...

my spec:
amd phenom 9500 2.2ghz stock cooler
2gb kit patriot 800mhz high performance 4-4-4-12 2.2v
msi k9a2 platinum 790fx chipset
msi oc edition ati3870 512mb x2 (crossfired) stock cooler
silverstone zues 750watts psu
500gb wd 16mb sata2

running on windows vista ultimate

3dmark06 score:
without cf: 10k
with cf: 12k

is this normal score? if yes, how to make it perform higher? if no normal then what is wrong?

secondly, temp is 72deg for ati3870. why is it high? should i change the cooler? if yes, then what cooler is reccomended?

sorry for the noob questions as im kinda new to this nexgen system.
@vickyrao,
i think my gpu is same with yours.
the default fan speed is only 30%. rclxub.gif
you can try to use rivatuner to adjust the fan speed to spin at 50%~60%

[attachmentid=375575]

you can check my temperature is only around 60'c when running 3dmark06, and 44'c idle... smile.gif

AoiNatsume
post Jan 10 2008, 12:35 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jan 9 2008, 09:43 PM)
nice clock.
i'm still wondering why my sapphire cant even pass 950mhz at 1.54v. cry.gif
thats weird.. mine is a sapphire as well, that speed was achieved @ 1.5v, actually, i did a few run with 1.5v @ 1026Mhz as well, it passes but point difference wasn't significant so i was a lil lazy to take a screenshot, oh yea, the mem can run @ 1350mhz too.

Could it be that your P.Regulators are overheating? try to cool off all the component on your card bro, esp the P.regs, i noticed they are VERY hot after vmod.

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 9 2008, 10:04 PM)
Great core timing. Can you play games with it?
Shouldn't be a problem, 55nm does indeed run very cool, my idle is 36 and on load it doesnt even go more than 44c, it could be cooler, just that the GPU is looped right after my CPU and its affecting the temp of the entire WC.

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:18 PM)
Pencil mod bro, and on watercooling.

Oh yea, u reminded me of something.

Credit goes to BrianYeo for helping me with the pencil mod, it really isnt as hard as i thought it would, then again, its a rather delicate process, a small mistake can toast your entire card.

bryanyeo87
post Jan 10 2008, 12:38 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

lol... apa la, no need credit for me.. ur the one who owns the pencil what haha....

This post has been edited by bryanyeo87: Jan 10 2008, 12:41 AM
sniper69
post Jan 10 2008, 12:56 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 10 2008, 12:35 AM)
thats weird.. mine is a sapphire as well, that speed was achieved @ 1.5v, actually, i did a few run with 1.5v @ 1026Mhz as well, it passes but point difference wasn't significant so i was a lil lazy to take a screenshot, oh yea, the mem can run @ 1350mhz too.

Could it be that your P.Regulators are overheating? try to cool off all the component on your card bro, esp the P.regs, i noticed they are VERY hot after vmod.
Shouldn't be a problem, 55nm does indeed run very cool, my idle is 36 and on load it doesnt even go more than 44c, it could be cooler, just that the GPU is looped right after my CPU and its affecting the temp of the entire WC.
Pencil mod bro, and on watercooling.

Oh yea, u reminded me of something.

Credit goes to BrianYeo for helping me with the pencil mod, it really isnt as hard as i thought it would, then again, its a rather delicate process, a small mistake can toast your entire card.
owh on WC... aiyak... after 7 series GeForce, kinda lazy (actually takut wooo... doh.gif laugh.gif) to pencil mod..., besides... all i did was on low-end card, so... not hurt much as HD3870...

damn, i'm gonna make it sooner or later, blindly without DMM... whistling.gif

eh, btw... do you guys even flash to other BIOS or stock? after that mod?

erm... this is what i got... not yet bench, but after 3DMark06 stress test, gonna push more... smile.gif...

950/2500

This post has been edited by sniper69: Jan 10 2008, 02:09 AM
sukhoi37
post Jan 10 2008, 08:17 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

water cooling....
then i guess my stock cooler is holding me.
sniper69
post Jan 10 2008, 08:53 AM

7,173 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jan 10 2008, 08:17 AM)
water cooling....
then i guess my stock cooler is holding me.
same here, using stock air cooling, i can't pass 1GHz barrier... doh.gif

just wanted to inform tongue.gif, i'm turning off other additional fan and set the cooling fan @50%, once load up Real Time HDR, i got 100°C in a blink doh.gif laugh.gif, hanged and restart tongue.gif

AoiNatsume
post Jan 10 2008, 10:15 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

well.. i think the problem is with the stock fan itself. Theres a mod simple for it and it works just like the 88GT/GTX series. Just remove the HSF cover and direct a fan to blow directly to it, or zip-tie the fan to it. Not very aesthetic there, but it works better than the stock fan.

oh btw sniper, i noticed you are using the omega drivers, any result change from the catalyst 7.12?

Added on January 10, 2008, 10:17 am
QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Jan 10 2008, 12:38 AM)
lol... apa la, no need credit for me.. ur the one who owns the pencil what haha....
haha, thx to ur multimeter though. Damm kan jeong yesterday laugh.gif
wanna yum cha today? tongue.gif

Added on January 10, 2008, 10:26 am
QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jan 10 2008, 12:56 AM)
owh on WC... aiyak... after 7 series GeForce, kinda lazy (actually takut wooo... doh.gif laugh.gif) to pencil mod..., besides... all i did was on low-end card, so... not hurt much as HD3870...

damn, i'm gonna make it sooner or later, blindly without DMM... whistling.gif

eh, btw... do you guys even flash to other BIOS or stock? after that mod?

erm... this is what i got... not yet bench, but after 3DMark06 stress test, gonna push more... smile.gif...

950/2500
im using the modded bios that remove that OC barrier, without that bios... i doubt that i can hit 900 at all sweat.gif

This post has been edited by AoiNatsume: Jan 10 2008, 10:26 AM
dj.eRicZzz
post Jan 11 2008, 03:45 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

anyone tried to pencil mod 3850? can reach 1000mhz core?
8tvt
post Jan 11 2008, 09:59 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 9 2008, 09:32 PM)
here's my 1k+ coreclock speed.

It takes abt 1.5vcore to achieve this speed bench-able, the temps never above 44c on load... but i dare not pump more. This is a 55nm core... anything more it might be dead lolz.

well... currently i have some issue with my motherboard memory timings and vcore, with proper tuning i am very sure im able to get at least 12-13k. You would notice my last timing on the rams damm cacat, this is an issue with my K9A2 Platinum, currently still discussing with MSI support team.

Will update soon once i am able to run my motherboard to its full potential icon_rolleyes.gif
a rather of topic.. what's ram problem bro with that board?
AoiNatsume
post Jan 11 2008, 10:22 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jan 11 2008, 09:59 AM)
a rather of topic.. what's ram problem bro with that board?
the TRAS and TRC always stays at 18 clock regardless of what timing i set them.

And also, my max vcore is only 1.47v which left me unable to go any further than 3.4Ghz.

8tvt
post Jan 11 2008, 10:32 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 11 2008, 10:22 AM)
the TRAS and TRC always stays at 18 clock regardless of what timing i set them.

And also, my max vcore is only 1.47v which left me unable to go any further than 3.4Ghz.
i tried with different beta bios, even if not quite good but i'm not facing those prob..
maybe ur ram picky on the timing..
i tried bios 110,111,121,113,122,131

u can go here for the latest beta
ftp://jerryuser:msienduser@ftp.msi.com.tw/BIOS/7376

guess need to open separate thread for it though..

all i found max vcore = 1.607, vdimm = 3.2v
now i'm on 131 bios
leslie0880
post Jan 11 2008, 10:36 AM

728 posts

hi all,need some help form ur!
which brand 3870 more better? or all same???
me more prefer Asus or PowerColor OC Edition(WithZeroTherm HS)
got any disadvantage of this both card?
my fran want sold me PowerColor with the zerotherm HS,at rm 790!
izzit worty?
8tvt
post Jan 11 2008, 10:42 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(leslie0880 @ Jan 11 2008, 10:36 AM)
hi all,need some help form ur!
which brand 3870 more better? or all same???
me more prefer Asus or PowerColor OC Edition(WithZeroTherm HS)
got any disadvantage of this both card?
my fran want sold me PowerColor with the zerotherm HS,at rm 790!
izzit worty?
all same.. temp depends on cooler..
oc base on luck..
good looking.. user preference..
leslie0880
post Jan 11 2008, 12:08 PM

728 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jan 11 2008, 10:42 AM)
all same.. temp depends on cooler..
oc base on luck..
good looking.. user preference..
thn is my fran Power color 1 worth?
AoiNatsume
post Jan 11 2008, 01:30 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Jan 11 2008, 10:32 AM)
i tried with different beta bios, even if not quite good but i'm not facing those prob..
maybe ur ram picky on the timing..
i tried bios 110,111,121,113,122,131

u can go here for the latest beta
ftp://jerryuser:msienduser@ftp.msi.com.tw/BIOS/7376

guess need to open separate thread for it though..

all i found max vcore = 1.607, vdimm = 3.2v
now i'm on 131 bios
ive tried all those bios as well and problem are still persisting. As for the ram timing, all the clocks which i was able to run with my other boards cannot be used on this board... suspecting maybe my F3 is the culprit which is why im asking to borrow an AM2 proc just to test haha.

MangKoK^ayon
post Jan 11 2008, 04:32 PM

look at my stars
859 posts

3850 users no need pencil mod...just flash to modded bios only....so that 3d vcore is @ 1.33v if im not mistaken....can push more...but need better cooler now smile.gif
AoiNatsume
post Jan 11 2008, 06:17 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

1.33v is rather low for 1k corespeed bro. and if im not wrong, 1.33v is the stock speed on load. Vmodding is still needed.

50 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0166sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:54 AM