ATi Radeon HD 3850 & 3870 Single / CF / CFx, OC discussion thread~

8tvt
post Dec 17 2007, 10:03 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

gaming in vista really˛ sucks.. dx10 problematic..

on the stock bios... i'm observing the core clock will flunctuate while gaming.. from 2d to 3d clock.. still quite tricky maybe ATI tech..

when i set fix 777 core clock for 2d/3d using rivatuner (a litte bit buggy i think) .. even in idle the temp will raise...

auto fan seems not working right.. set fix fan around 40-50% will caused load temp around 60C only.. atleast not noisy when we set around 60-70% fan speed..

actually the card is cool... only the fan speed not working right..
will try latest bios later... and revert to winxp...
8tvt
post Dec 19 2007, 10:01 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Dec 19 2007, 03:21 AM)
Not so sure.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Maybe it is bottlenecked by your processor.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

-pWs-
surely cpu ler.. mine also 10k when using 3ghz.. if not suffers 2-3k...
that's why i waiting for phenom to see the difference.. expecting 12k..

with current cpu.. oc gpu also no use.. this 3870 is overkill..

don't worry la bro.. i ran my rig using 400W only..
yesterday flashed with latest bios.. very good one.. fan speed fixed.. onload 60C not like before reaching 8+C
8tvt
post Dec 19 2007, 10:14 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i'm using 3870 bro..
donno 3850 got same problem or not..

for the guide u can go here..
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=11

i'm using ATIFLASH.. just same like flashing mobo..

search the bios here if any...
http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.p...face=&memSize=0
8tvt
post Dec 19 2007, 11:04 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

lol.. it's less risk than flashing the mobo..
u can also flash for different brand bios especially OC ver..

seriously i recommend to flash.. if not the slow fan speed will ruin the chip.. or u can tweak using rivatuner then..
8tvt
post Dec 19 2007, 11:33 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

it's ATI..

from my observation the default bios always stay around 25-30%..
eventhough onload.. that's why quite n dangerous.. easily goes 90C...

the new bios will increase the fan speed accordingly depends on gpu temp..
50% fan speed is just nice... not so loud n can bring the temp down..

we can hear the fan sound when reaching >70% fan speed.. but still not reach there as the temp is remain 60C onload with new bios..

100% fan speed just plain stupid.. we will ruin the fan faster..

maybe it's predefined as
30-50c == 25%
50-70c == 50%
70-100c == 70%

as different rig spec got different air ventilation so the result may vary...
we can cater the fan problem by using rivatuner..
go here
http://www.guru3d.com/article/article/449/1/

i suggest the great link should be placed in the front page for better view/referrence later...
8tvt
post Dec 26 2007, 12:31 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

play with core first..
if got line, square becoz of oc the ram later more problem..
8tvt
post Jan 8 2008, 02:52 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

it's not wrong.. just the cpu speed just ain't right...

yesterday i bought one 3850 for my friend.. got a chance to try on my system..
to my surprise the default gpu clock will give 9000 on 3dm06 result..
even for my 3870 end up 9600..

i'm on 3ghz cpu speed.. the default cpu just give me 7k on 3dmark...

if u can clock the phenom until 2.8ghz.. then the result will surely good..

for u guys worry about the temp... just set using rivaturner @ 50% fan speed.. with default bios fan spin is very slow.. that's why temp is high..
flash new bios should solve the prob... i got 60c onload now... last time 90c...
8tvt
post Jan 8 2008, 06:13 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Jan 8 2008, 06:01 PM)
hmm.gif, yesterday just tried on Crossfire, but i doubt that is the Crossfire really enabled or not... tried 3DMark06, i got 10k doh.gif, same as single card doh.gif...
how u did bro? put the bridge or not?
8tvt
post Jan 8 2008, 06:42 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

single only.. other one if want to do quad..
can check in catalyst xfire enable..

seriously cpu power needed.. even single gpu is overkill..
8tvt
post Jan 9 2008, 09:06 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Jan 9 2008, 02:52 AM)
both bridge...left left n right right..both need to put
my bad..
http://ati.amd.com/technology/crossfire/howitworksdemo.html

confuse edy.. only dream on quad lol..

@vickyrao
that's screeny xfire?
not 2.3 it's 2.5ghz..
8tvt
post Jan 11 2008, 09:59 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 9 2008, 09:32 PM)
here's my 1k+ coreclock speed.

It takes abt 1.5vcore to achieve this speed bench-able, the temps never above 44c on load... but i dare not pump more. This is a 55nm core... anything more it might be dead lolz.

well... currently i have some issue with my motherboard memory timings and vcore, with proper tuning i am very sure im able to get at least 12-13k. You would notice my last timing on the rams damm cacat, this is an issue with my K9A2 Platinum, currently still discussing with MSI support team.

Will update soon once i am able to run my motherboard to its full potential icon_rolleyes.gif
a rather of topic.. what's ram problem bro with that board?
8tvt
post Jan 11 2008, 10:32 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 11 2008, 10:22 AM)
the TRAS and TRC always stays at 18 clock regardless of what timing i set them.

And also, my max vcore is only 1.47v which left me unable to go any further than 3.4Ghz.
i tried with different beta bios, even if not quite good but i'm not facing those prob..
maybe ur ram picky on the timing..
i tried bios 110,111,121,113,122,131

u can go here for the latest beta
ftp://jerryuser:msienduser@ftp.msi.com.tw/BIOS/7376

guess need to open separate thread for it though..

all i found max vcore = 1.607, vdimm = 3.2v
now i'm on 131 bios
8tvt
post Jan 11 2008, 10:42 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(leslie0880 @ Jan 11 2008, 10:36 AM)
hi all,need some help form ur!
which brand 3870 more better? or all same???
me more prefer Asus or PowerColor OC Edition(WithZeroTherm HS)
got any disadvantage of this both card?
my fran want sold me PowerColor with the zerotherm HS,at rm 790!
izzit worty?
all same.. temp depends on cooler..
oc base on luck..
good looking.. user preference..
8tvt
post Jan 14 2008, 11:02 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jan 11 2008, 07:03 PM)
btw guys which bios is the best for sapphire card, thinking of flashing mine to see whether can get better performance
i want to know also..
so far i just tried sapphire bios only.. no time to play..
8tvt
post Jan 14 2008, 11:16 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 14 2008, 11:05 AM)
the bios wont do miracles or anything, dont expect much. It just change your core/mem clock to the one which you flashed, basically, these can be done by overclocking it urself without the need ot flashing bios. The only purpose of flashing to the modded bios is to remove the 860mhz core barrier, other than that... well... just understand the risk of flashing before proceeding =)

A wrong move may just kill ur card.
agreed..

but i saw some got different voltage etc.. so should be one better suit for everage oc mode..
or any unnotice changes...
8tvt
post Jan 14 2008, 02:29 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

it's not about oc.. it's raise the fan speed so reduce the core temp..
90 to 60 is a big gap..
u need volt mode to oc >900
8tvt
post Jan 17 2008, 07:58 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(MangKoK^ayon @ Jan 17 2008, 06:38 PM)
cat 8.1 is out~~!!!
lol.. it's better u supply the link rather than shouting like that..
http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_catalyst.aspx

@^666^
atleast lucky u reach there.. tried using riva tuner?
one think i dislike rivatuner coz no 2d mode clock.. always high.. the temp increase even on idle..
8tvt
post Jan 18 2008, 09:14 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Jan 17 2008, 11:22 PM)
ATITools cannot detect my GC but RivaTuner can.... ????

btw

after install ATI CCC 8.1,

i cannot open ATI CCC ....

how ?
reinstall it..

QUOTE(leslie0880 @ Jan 18 2008, 03:03 AM)
u need remove all and remove b4 u install tat 1....
and must install the .net 2.0......

btw 8.1 and 7.12 got big performance different?
and i dun know how to oc my Powercolor....... sweat.gif  doh.gif
coz cant flash the bios at the 1st page......
so got any other method ?
more stable though in vista..

urs one 3850 or 3870.. the bios not same..
always check previous page..
BIOS 3870

why my 885 core not stable? temp prob? but i check still 60c onload n no artifact found.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by 8tvt: Jan 18 2008, 09:19 AM
8tvt
post Jan 18 2008, 03:12 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jan 18 2008, 11:29 AM)
it's probably caued by not enough voltage for the core.
but i heard even 900 no need extra voltage..
will try modded bios la later..
8tvt
post Jan 21 2008, 12:08 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i tried modded bios..
the ccc slider change to 1500/1400 but too bad i think the modded bios use the old bios.. fan not right.. too slow..

set to 900/1250..
set with rivaturner to 60% fan speed.. ok.. but if anything goes wrong the fan speed will be reset..

must think about cooling method if really want to go extreem..
reflash the fixed bios as no point push so hard when cpu bottlenecking..

0.0325sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:16 AM