source:here

This post has been edited by sukhoi37: Dec 4 2007, 08:14 PM
sukhoi37
post Dec 6 2007, 07:46 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Dec 6 2007, 05:18 PM)
sukhoi core clock madness..........

mine 3870 stock fan speed also very scary on full load, 92oC @ full load...... incredible...but after pushing the fan speed to 60% quite ok it turns out to be, full load at around 60oC only
not me la.
check out the posted link.

how's the card's noise at that speed?
sukhoi37
post Dec 8 2007, 05:58 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Dec 8 2007, 03:09 PM)
my fren had a abit ip35 pro board and tried xfire 3850...he got 8k score for 3dmark06....for single card he already got 7-8k liao...wat is happening? bios problem? i aware his 2nd slot is 4x...but still the result wont be that low
mind to tell us his full system specs?
sukhoi37
post Dec 20 2007, 11:48 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

hmm...dunno why my sapphire 3870 cant pass 880/1270, after sometimes of gaming(cod4) it will hang a while and the rivatuner fan speed (fixed at 60%) will change to auto. no artifacts though.
sukhoi37
post Dec 20 2007, 07:02 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(MangKoK^ayon @ Dec 20 2007, 06:37 PM)
tried the 'unlocked' bios?
i'm using the bios in the first post :'Bios / OC hotfix'
sukhoi37
post Dec 20 2007, 07:37 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Dec 20 2007, 07:22 PM)
any better achievement?
would be nicer if can show something  whistling.gif  brows.gif
my oc result is lousy la.
so i got nothing to show. sweat.gif
tried a few unlocked bios, not much different. doh.gif
sukhoi37
post Dec 23 2007, 01:07 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

sapphire 3870 clockspeed: 870/1300

sukhoi37
post Dec 29 2007, 09:08 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(ahsiah @ Dec 29 2007, 07:58 AM)
I checked the modded bios page that contains several speed for 3870. Not sure what brand of 3870 can flash and used properly for 875/1250?
Run with some games after flashing, flash to lower clockspeed version if found artifacts.
sukhoi37
post Dec 30 2007, 09:07 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Dec 30 2007, 06:50 AM)
Ati HD3870 VGPU pencil mod (from Xtremesystems forums)

Just use a 2B pencil to lower the resistance on the marked blue resistor
from 1.62kOhm to around 1KOhm

My HD3870 stock vgpu = 1.33v (3d) after pencil mod vgpu went up to 1.415v
rlhc17, can we clean the mod back to stock after modding?
how?
gonna try it at company, got multimeter there rclxms.gif
sukhoi37
post Dec 30 2007, 10:19 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Dec 30 2007, 09:38 PM)
just use a bit of alcohol to clean it up drool.gif
need to run the card to check the resistance after modding?
where are the points to check resistance in your picture?
blue square point and ???

This post has been edited by sukhoi37: Dec 30 2007, 10:35 PM
sukhoi37
post Dec 30 2007, 11:46 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Dec 30 2007, 11:26 PM)
system off-

u need to check the resistance on the the blue square point resistor as u shade (power off)
1kohm will give u 1.415vgpu (on 3d mode)

system on -
Vgpu measuring point will be any 1 of the red point
ur DMM red probe to any of the red point & black probe to ground
can i just check the resistance only?
very hard to measure the Vgpu when the system is on, scary.... sweat.gif
sukhoi37
post Jan 3 2008, 08:16 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

just pencil mod my 3870.
i mistakenly thought need to shade it from 5.12kohm to 1kohm.
the system cant boot up after i shade it to 3kohm.
luckily the card run fine after i wash the pencil shade away.
after that i tried to shade again.
3.9kohm, the Gvcore shows 1.7v....shocking.gif
i immediately shut down the system and did some clean up to the pencil mod point.
Gvcore is 1.49v, fan speed 70% temp fulload 63C, idle 59C.
i cant pass 940mhz in COD4 and 3dmark06.
no artifacts showed, but the screen freeze for few seconds then the rivatuner fan speed will change from fixed to auto.
sometimes the stupid ati vpu recovery will pop up.
never experience this in my previous GCs...sweat.gif
sukhoi37
post Jan 5 2008, 02:28 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

just pencil modded the vgpu to 1.54v
but i cant pass 950mhz core.
fan speed 100%, idle: 60C, load: 70C
ambient temperature 30C
sukhoi37
post Jan 5 2008, 10:52 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 5 2008, 09:28 PM)
im new to physical vmodding, so pardon me for any noob questions.

Im a new owner of a HD3870, ive flashed the bios to enable further overclocking and currently achieving only 890mhz where 900mhz will result in crashing.

Currently my max load on 890mhz temp is only 40c which leaves alot of headroom for further overclocking IMHO. Which is why im resulting to vmodding, actually i prefer avoiding this, is there any way to do this another way? im currently reading up on changing voltage via bios.

Anyways.. on to pencil mod, is it possible to do it without a multimeter?
it's quite dangerous to mod it without dmm. sweat.gif
I just bought a china brand dmm at rm45 only.
lousy?but i got the same reading with branded dmm(borrowed from company rm140).
rm50 for 100mhz boost...you judge the value. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sukhoi37: Jan 5 2008, 10:53 PM
sukhoi37
post Jan 6 2008, 10:26 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

it's quite easy, shade the first pencil mod spot to 1kohm.
the default resistance should be 1.62kohm.
1kohm will give you 1.42 vcore.
it's better to check the vcore when you system is running in 3d mode.

how to check vcore:
black test probe put into any available psu molex connector ground (the black one is ground)
then use the red test probe to any red point (the left side row)showed in the picture.

it's not as dangerous as i expected actually. cool.gif

sukhoi37
post Jan 6 2008, 01:37 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(DevilMan @ Jan 6 2008, 12:41 PM)
need advise  notworthy.gif
im planning to get another 3870. is my 560w psu enough?  doh.gif
would be fine if you dont' oc your the 3870s.
sukhoi37
post Jan 6 2008, 10:56 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(fesick @ Jan 6 2008, 10:34 PM)
system running in 3d mode..?is it the one that we set on CCC?
can explain bit for me..
i checked with dmm in 2d and gaming mode, no difference... sweat.gif
sukhoi37
post Jan 7 2008, 08:17 AM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Jan 7 2008, 04:54 AM)
ATI HD3870 hardmod done...... smile.gif

getting ready for 1Ghz  thumbup.gif
nice.
what's the difference between pencil mod and hardmod in overclocking?
the pencil mod effect will last for how long?
the hardmod definitely will void the warranty right?

sukhoi37
post Jan 7 2008, 07:07 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(rlhc17 @ Jan 7 2008, 07:03 PM)
hardmod u can adjust the voltage u like while the system is running
warranty void sad.gif

Hardmod to 1.52Vgpu (3D)
oo, i pencil mod to 1.54vgpu but still cant pass 950mhz.
your hardmod only for vgpu? or both include vmem?
sukhoi37
post Jan 7 2008, 09:22 PM

Into Computer Since 2002
4,810 posts

QUOTE(DevilMan @ Jan 7 2008, 09:10 PM)
done edi bro. it wont work with my pcie2.0  doh.gif
wont work of what?
don't think there's oc issue because of pcie 2.0 cos i've seen many ppl with pcie 2.0 board oc it like mad. tongue.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:27 AM