85 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Bottom

Importing A Vehicle To Malaysia

daniel880516
post Oct 13 2014, 08:12 AM

Hi guys, thanks for the infos first of all. I'm a Sabahan currently residing in Canada, and am interested in importing a 2015 corvette z06 back to Sabah, of course the vehicle is not even out yet not until March next year, but that is the plan anyway. I don't think I will be elligible to get an AP as I'm a Permanent resident of Canada, so the student visa, and work permit doesn't apply in my case. Can't seem to find any info for my situation either, any help is greatly appreciated thanks! thumbup.gif
http://jalopnik.com/tag/2015-corvette-z06

This post has been edited by daniel880516: Oct 13 2014, 08:19 AM
BeastX
post Oct 13 2014, 08:24 AM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(kreyleaf @ Sep 18 2014, 03:36 PM)
Hello all,
If I had a contract for 2 years working in Thailand, can I buy a car here then bring back without paying the tax?
I need to apply AP first right? Am i eligble for AP?
Cross border not applicable .... which includes Thailand, Brunei, Singapore and Indonesia
latias93
post Oct 18 2014, 04:01 AM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(daniel880516 @ Oct 12 2014, 07:12 PM)
Hi guys, thanks for the infos first of all. I'm a Sabahan currently residing in Canada, and am interested in importing a 2015 corvette z06 back to Sabah, of course the vehicle is not even out yet not until March next year, but that is the plan anyway. I don't think I will be elligible to get an AP as I'm a Permanent resident of Canada, so the student visa, and work permit doesn't apply in my case. Can't seem to find any info for my situation either, any help is greatly appreciated thanks!  thumbup.gif
Interesting! I own a newly bought 2014 Ford Mustang V6 (FP6 Package), thinking about sending that one back to Malaysia sometime down the road. I'm in Texas, USA and will be using an AP since I am studying here right now and my family is here too on working visas. I do know that if you plan on bringing the car in, you need to prove an ownership status of at least 9 months.. maybe in the future can join you. brows.gif

Anyway, this thread is kinda useless. I've been in this thread for YEARS and it's just a bunch of guys asking the same questions. Even the TS hasn't been online in SIX YEARS! laugh.gif
missybeebee12
post Nov 4 2014, 03:02 PM

14 posts

Hi all!

Does anyone know what is the procedure or steps that needed in Malaysia to import 1 container of children bicycle from China? There are 2 types if bicycles which one is manual one without electrical components and another one is with motor n remote control.

Kindly advise this as i totally have no idea. Thanks!!
winkiedilwy
post Dec 4 2014, 03:32 AM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Oct 18 2014, 04:01 AM)
Interesting! I own a newly bought 2014 Ford Mustang V6 (FP6 Package), thinking about sending that one back to Malaysia sometime down the road. I'm in Texas, USA and will be using an AP since I am studying here right now and my family is here too on working visas. I do know that if you plan on bringing the car in, you need to prove an ownership status of at least 9 months.. maybe in the future can join you. brows.gif

Anyway, this thread is kinda useless. I've been in this thread for YEARS and it's just a bunch of guys asking the same questions. Even the TS hasn't been online in SIX YEARS! laugh.gif
Hey! I have the same case as you. I had a student visa and planned to spend 2 years here. So was thinking of getting a car (still no idea what) back to Malaysia after a year. Can I know the procedure and anything that I need to take note of?

Plus, recommend me any car that is special, as long as it's not muscle cars or anything with a big engine biggrin.gif it may sound nice but long term use, nope.
latias93
post Dec 4 2014, 05:18 AM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Dec 3 2014, 02:32 PM)
Hey! I have the same case as you. I had a student visa and planned to spend 2 years here. So was thinking of getting a car (still no idea what) back to Malaysia after a year. Can I know the procedure and anything that I need to take note of?

Plus, recommend me any car that is special, as long as it's not muscle cars or anything with a big engine biggrin.gif it may sound nice but long term use, nope.
Hi there! Just wanted to say, I approve of your Rise avatar.. I met my ex girlfriend because she was wearing a Rise costume during Halloween. drool.gif

btw, are you in the US now or what? Anyway, the very basic steps as far as I know is.. (1) email MITI your car info and they will respond with a calculated cost break down of your taxes, tariffs, etc. (2) ship your car back to Malaysia (3) let customs agent/broker handle it (4) car is released from the port. I may be missing a few details here and there but that's the general idea.

Hm, there aren't that many special cars if it isn't muscle cars. Unless you're talking about supercars, which are ALL OVER THE PLACE in Malaysia or Teslas, which is practically useless in Malaysia (and in many US states too). Maybe if you give me a budget, age range, and kind of car you want I can give you some suggestions. American cars mostly have high displacement engines, so that leaves you with European and Japanese cars.. which are plentiful in Malaysia as it is. Anyway that's why my Mustang is 3.7L V6, the roadtax in semenanjung Malaysia should be RM 5,280 and if I register it in my birth state of Sarawak, it'll be RM 1,969. rclxm9.gif
reiben05
post Dec 6 2014, 07:59 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Oct 18 2014, 04:01 AM)

QUOTE(latias93 @ Dec 4 2014, 05:18 AM)
Hi there! Just wanted to say, I approve of your Rise avatar.. I met my ex girlfriend because she was wearing a Rise costume during Halloween.  drool.gif

btw, are you in the US now or what? Anyway, the very basic steps as far as I know is.. (1) email MITI your car info and they will respond with a calculated cost break down of your taxes, tariffs, etc. (2) ship your car back to Malaysia (3) let customs agent/broker handle it (4) car is released from the port. I may be missing a few details here and there but that's the general idea.

Hm, there aren't that many special cars if it isn't muscle cars. Unless you're talking about supercars, which are ALL OVER THE PLACE in Malaysia or Teslas, which is practically useless in Malaysia (and in many US states too). Maybe if you give me a budget, age range, and kind of car you want I can give you some suggestions. American cars mostly have high displacement engines, so that leaves you with European and Japanese cars.. which are plentiful in Malaysia as it is. Anyway that's why my Mustang is 3.7L V6, the roadtax in semenanjung Malaysia should be RM 5,280 and if I register it in my birth state of Sarawak, it'll be RM 1,969.  rclxm9.gif
I'll see you back on the road brotha.. Mustangs and Camaro side by side..
latias93
post Dec 6 2014, 10:34 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Dec 6 2014, 06:59 AM)
I'll see you back on the road brotha.. Mustangs and Camaro side by side..
Babi.. kat sini pun boleh cari aku hahaha!! My Mustang is going to the muffler shop today to get my my new exhaust installed. I'll visit your Camaro in December to see how its doing while you are back in Malaysia. brows.gif
reiben05
post Dec 6 2014, 11:53 PM

American Muscle
1,800 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Dec 6 2014, 10:34 PM)
Babi.. kat sini pun boleh cari aku hahaha!! My Mustang is going to the muffler shop today to get my my new exhaust installed. I'll visit your Camaro in December to see how its doing while you are back in Malaysia.  brows.gif
what exhaust did u get?? ke straight pipe je terus. lol
OC4/3
post Dec 10 2014, 10:52 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(daniel880516 @ Oct 13 2014, 08:12 AM)
Hi guys, thanks for the infos first of all. I'm a Sabahan currently residing in Canada, and am interested in importing a 2015 corvette z06 back to Sabah, of course the vehicle is not even out yet not until March next year, but that is the plan anyway. I don't think I will be elligible to get an AP as I'm a Permanent resident of Canada, so the student visa, and work permit doesn't apply in my case. Can't seem to find any info for my situation either, any help is greatly appreciated thanks!  thumbup.gif
In your case,it would be easier to just approach car importer and ask them import one example for you smile.gif
The only reason people go through the hassle of importing ownself is because they got AP
RT712
post Dec 22 2014, 09:23 PM

41 posts

Anybody can roughly tell me, how much does car importer charge ?

Plan to import a 2nd hand car from Japan.

About getting te AP and stuff, its kinda troublesome..
IpohLad
post Dec 30 2014, 08:43 PM

I've contacted MITI before. They replied as not all car need AP. Electric car is one that don't need AP. Confirmed. But all tax still apply though D'oh!
langatian
post Jan 14 2015, 08:31 PM

270 posts

Any idea how to import car from Indonesia? Anyone does it successfully?
mark001
post Jan 23 2015, 05:14 PM

96 posts

Do the customs include the insurance price bought in UK into their duty calculation if the car is going to be import from uk?
speed530
post Jan 24 2015, 01:26 PM

am planning to import a car from japan as well. But i dun have any AP or not working there. So did there any restriction to importing a used car to Malaysia actually?
wesley1987
post Jan 25 2015, 05:22 PM

268 posts

if i want import electrical scooter or bike, what i need to do?
KoalaLumps
post Jan 27 2015, 05:49 AM

This is very good and thorough information you've listed here. I would point out that there are some companies out there that will do A LOT to help you figure out all the paperwork involved. I used this company http://www.a1autotransport.com/ship-car-to-malaysia.php to bring my bike over in 2010 and you're absolutely right about the high import taxes! Thankfully, they knew what they were doing with the paperwork and I got my bike on time. Do not use a company that doesn't specialize in the services you need! I've been down that road and it's no fun.
Jenevis
post Feb 2 2015, 12:04 PM

omg...i am so damn stupid. sweat.gif sweat.gif

rclxub.gif been reading this thread for an hour already, and still dont know how to calculate my duty for a 2nd hand jaguar i am thinking of bringing in from UK. rclxub.gif

Car is from 2010, 3.0L Diesel

Brand new is £35,000 * 5.5 exchange rate = RM 192,500

So far, i know 5 year old car tax is: 59.049%, and shipping rate used for calculations is RM 1,700. thats all i can wrap my mind around....was never good at maths.

Would really appreciate if someone could help me here. notworthy.gif

and thank you so much for all the info here, very helpful and more informative than gov websites.

This post has been edited by Jenevis: Feb 2 2015, 12:05 PM
John Cally
post Mar 10 2015, 04:05 PM

We specialise in Moving Frieght and Cars All over the world visit www.bigboxexpress.net or call 011 3321 5994 alternative 011 33215990. It's not that expensive. Cheers. Big Box Express International Port Klang
winkiedilwy
post May 19 2015, 10:52 AM

Imma farting carrots.
2,343 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Dec 4 2014, 05:18 AM)
Hi there! Just wanted to say, I approve of your Rise avatar.. I met my ex girlfriend because she was wearing a Rise costume during Halloween.  drool.gif

Hm, there aren't that many special cars if it isn't muscle cars. Unless you're talking about supercars, which are ALL OVER THE PLACE in Malaysia or Teslas, which is practically useless in Malaysia (and in many US states too). Maybe if you give me a budget, age range, and kind of car you want I can give you some suggestions. American cars mostly have high displacement engines, so that leaves you with European and Japanese cars.. which are plentiful in Malaysia as it is. Anyway that's why my Mustang is 3.7L V6, the roadtax in semenanjung Malaysia should be RM 5,280 and if I register it in my birth state of Sarawak, it'll be RM 1,969.  rclxm9.gif
Nah. Muscle cars are slow and not sporty. Since only got 1 chance, I want it to be special enough. Currently looking at the new Cadillac CT6/CTS 2.0T luxury for my dad or Corvette 3LT (speed bumps in Malaysia doh.gif) for myself if i got the money. Other than that, Jags/Range Rovers, etc. is easier to walk into showrooms in msia and buy one.

Can recommend anything? I don't mind Teslas but charging that thing is a pain in the a$$ unless with the supercharger.

Plus we can still drive LHD cars in Malaysia right?

85 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:10 PM