Home Theatre AV Room / Home Theatre Build Report, Build Completed, pics on Pg 6.

TSjasonlky
post Nov 17 2007, 04:02 AM, updated 18y ago

451 posts

A very much long awaited dream will come true for me very soon. I will be builiding my AV / Home Theatre room!!! Yay for me rclxms.gif . After almost a year of designing and redesigning the room, I finalised the designs about 2 months ago. The contractor just finished fabricating the parts, cabinets dewign accents and started bringing them over to my house.

But first here is a glimpse of my AV Room before the build..... actually I have the electrician doing some wiring already.

The room is situated on the 3rd floor, has a funny shape, but it is generally rectangular staircase (see black grille) and an access door on one side. The staircase picutred leads to the 2nd floor. The door leads to a flat roof where I place the water tanks, air conditioner compressors and water filters for the house. The wall with a lamp will be where the screen will eventually be placed.

This next picture shows the other end of the wall where the screen will be placed.

This picture is of the rear of the room. I will be placing build in display cabinets here and the Epson projector will be housed at the top of the cabinet just below the Air Conditioner. I have a dedicated fuse box for the AV Room. Notice the black grille, thats part of the staircase that leads to the 2nd floor.

A closer look at the wiring mess... The suqare box you see in tis picture is my DIY 12" servo subwoofer.

More wiring mess

And the contractor brought the fabric wall panels... somehow the reds did not turn out as dark as I had wanted..

Base for the screen housing

Cabinets...

And yet more cabinets...

I'll take more pictures and go thru the build as the contractor starts work tomorrow. I'll keep a close eye on them to make sure everything is doen up to my standards.

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Jan 23 2008, 12:32 PM
nicholas_1213
post Nov 17 2007, 10:18 AM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

Wow.. cant wait to see your progress.. must be a massive one..
mpyw
post Nov 17 2007, 11:34 AM

3,603 posts

walaueh....really jeolous now...
walabies
post Nov 17 2007, 11:53 AM

Jaben Network.. A headphones store with teddy bears...
6,934 posts

How much to spend on building it?
JonC
post Nov 17 2007, 12:17 PM

Forever Silenced But The Truth Will Be Told - JFT96
1,612 posts

Great mate! Hope it'll turn out to be better than the dream A/V room you've always wanted. thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

Maybe can inspire some of us with some great designs too! notworthy.gif
xterminator
post Nov 17 2007, 02:40 PM

=What a small box in here=
793 posts

Tell us how much is the total cost
songbo
post Nov 17 2007, 04:18 PM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

looking forward to the final result drool.gif
TSjasonlky
post Nov 18 2007, 01:40 AM

451 posts

Please don't be jealous of this. An AV room is possible for every kind of budget. As for me, I do not know the final price of the build yet. The contractor is actually my wife's Uncle, and he only charges us material and labour. I guess I am lucky I don't have to worry about sky high markups.

So after Day 1.... all I can say is that progress is slow. Only major acomplishment is to get the ceiling section of screen area up plus some wall panelling.

Ceiling Section was a real tough one to mount. It is really heavy and required 6 workers to mount. The worker had to crawl into the ceiling to secure the section to the ceiling trusses.

Ceiling section done

Here are some wall panelling...

And more wall panelling...

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Nov 18 2007, 01:42 AM
shoden
post Nov 18 2007, 12:51 PM

243 posts

dem... drool.gif
after finish we all together can come for a movie in this room tongue.gif
kwekeugene
post Nov 18 2007, 02:34 PM

1,479 posts

I think need to pay for ticket tongue.gif

BTW, nice work!
yuheng
post Nov 18 2007, 02:45 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

congratulations...u have ur dream come trues...so when mines ?? cry.gif

good job and looking forward for your final work
ken3011
post Nov 18 2007, 05:18 PM

317 posts

nice diy bro
schizophrenic
post Nov 19 2007, 05:02 AM

Tribute to Tun Mohamed Suffian Hashim (1917-2000)
1,645 posts

my dream is to have an av room too

shall wait for the day...

keep up with the report
very interested to know more
especially cost
rx330
post Nov 19 2007, 09:17 AM

11,811 posts

holy.... so envy of u
if only i have a 3rd floor... and all to myself....
dirtrun
post Nov 19 2007, 10:25 AM

3,136 posts

Wow,

Nice...

Enjoy bro...
Dirtrun
htkaki
post Nov 19 2007, 05:44 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Nice work. What is size of the area?

viper_1129
post Nov 19 2007, 08:22 PM

401 posts

Cool man. Salute!
TSjasonlky
post Nov 20 2007, 04:09 PM

451 posts

The build is coming along nicely. Display cabinets are going up for it as we speak. The screen mountings will be up later today, minus the screen. I STILL have not gotten around to selecting a screen yet.

The artificial floor that will cover staircase access area will probably go up tomorrow. Why an artificial floor? So that that area can be used as well and not end up as just empty space.

I have taken many pictures of the build as it proceeds, but I cannot download the pics, as my PC seems to be acting up and refusing to recognise the camera. Will try to resolve this asap so that I can post the pics.

The size of the area is roughly 4.5 x 5.5m. But its in a funny rectangular shape. I am trying to use all the available area as best I can. See attached sketch but note that it is not drawn to scale.

Jason biggrin.gif
timothyy
post Nov 20 2007, 07:09 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Wa lau... super rich dude. tongue.gif tongue.gif

Good luck...

How I wish I got a room like yours... cry.gif
kvn1080
post Nov 20 2007, 10:14 PM

215 posts

congratulations~jasonlky ....(you are soooo rich man)

songbo
post Nov 20 2007, 10:51 PM

♥ ▬▬ ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ 爽吗 ҳ̸Ҳ̸ҳ ▬▬ ♥
1,029 posts

do u use anything for soundproof?
TSjasonlky
post Nov 21 2007, 12:53 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(songbo @ Nov 20 2007, 10:51 PM)
do u use anything for soundproof?
I never thought about sound proofing coz the nearest bedroom is the master bedroom which is right below and even then there is very little sound intrusion. My house is not condo or terrace so I dun have to worry about the neighours.

QUOTE(kvn1080 @ Nov 20 2007, 10:14 PM)
congratulations~jasonlky ....(you are soooo rich man)
Just before everyone thinks I am super loaded with cash let me explain a bit.....

I am getting this project done by my Uncle who is a contractor for built in furniture and interior carpentry. He is one of the carpenters that worked on restoring Mahatir's house and turning it into a museum in Alor Setar.

So I prolly will not be spending as much as one would expect since there is no markup..... uncle mah!! I'll give you a rundown of the cost once I get the bill from him. Anyone care to estimate.... lets see who gets the correct guess....

Jason biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Nov 21 2007, 08:51 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I love those wood panelling. But, I couldnt have it in my house. Thanks to bloody termite. Still sceptical even after those termite treatment.

Jason, do post more photos whenever possible. TIA
TSjasonlky
post Nov 21 2007, 02:46 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 21 2007, 08:51 AM)
I love those wood panelling. But, I couldnt have it in my house. Thanks to bloody termite. Still sceptical even after those termite treatment.

Jason, do post more photos whenever possible. TIA
The wood panelling took an agonisingly long time to decide. I was to-ing and fro-ing between my wife and the interior designer. I must say that I think it is integrating very well with the overall design. But the wood panelling is only veneer, cannot afford solid woodlah.

haha termites.... I had the soil treated before the house was built and the pest control inspects the house every 3 months. But more importantly I insisted on using hardwoods for all flooring, fencing, windows, doors and frames.... cengal, resak and jati.

Photos coming soon, gonna try to uninstall and reinstall the drivers and related programs.

Jason biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Nov 21 2007, 03:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

They did inspect my crib quarterly. Evem with the warranty, I really afraid that these highly intelligent insects will ruin the furnitures.

I am embarassed that I have been putting on hold of my project. Home Minister given green light to convert one of the room to HT. Still pondering whether to save enough to buy a 1080p projector or just buy 720p projector. Then again, sourcing for a long HDMI here is costly. Now, waiting for my bro-in-law to go to USA

TSjasonlky
post Nov 24 2007, 02:30 AM

451 posts

The build continues with the installation of the sliding wall panels that will be used to close the windows during movie time.

At the same time the display cabinets go on the back of the theatre.

The rest of the display cabinets are installed, this is the portion that sits on top of the staircase.

The artificial floor over the stairs are also installed... This is the fixed part, picture taken from the underside showing the supports bolted to the wall.

And this is the door that will allow access to the stairs. Note that the railing has been removed to allow free movement when the door is closed.

The door to the stairs are closed. Don't worry it is supported by very strong wood and it can easily take the weight of 4 adults!! unfortunately due to safety concerns the other railing cannot be removed.

This is the completed display cabinet at the rear of the theatre. Glass doors are already installed. Here is the main section with the open shelve ready to receive the projector.... just below the air conitioner.

And here is the other section with the cabinets on top of the artificial floor. Notice the door on the right side of the picture...

Here is the door leading out to the flat roof. The fixed cabinets that will be housing the AV systems are in place. The removeable cabinet will go in to cover the door, so that you will not see the door. Good idea eh...

Last but not least... the unfinished frame for the screen.

This is where the build stand after 7 days of non-stop work. Quality is top notch, fit and finish is really good. However it just dawned on me that I may have made a fatal mistake in the design....

Notice that I have used glass doored display cabinets at the rear of the room. In addition, I am using Rythmik Audio's subwoofer that can effortlessly go down to 14hz. Put the two together and what do you get? The glass doors in the display cabinets will have a hell of a time when the movies start. Granted this is only a conjecture at the moment as I have not started watching any movies in the yet unfinished theatre. But I am pretty sure it will be rattle central when the bass starts hitting. Any suggestions on how to remedy the situation.

Jason biggrin.gif

ps- I have just been given a hint of the cost... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Nov 24 2007, 02:50 AM
ADCollector
post Nov 24 2007, 06:48 AM

Nice bro. I guess the cost must be in the 5 figure mark?? blink.gif

Btw, what are you planning to display in those cabinets? Toys and figurines would be my guess.. smile.gif thumbup.gif
TSjasonlky
post Nov 24 2007, 09:09 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(ADCollector @ Nov 24 2007, 06:48 AM)
Nice bro. I guess the cost must be in the 5 figure mark?? blink.gif

Btw, what are you planning to display in those cabinets? Toys and figurines would be my guess.. smile.gif thumbup.gif
You scored a bingo on both counts.....

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Nov 24 2007, 11:17 AM
ycs
post Nov 24 2007, 11:15 AM

4,234 posts

nice. how big is your screen?

TSjasonlky
post Nov 24 2007, 11:19 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Nov 24 2007, 11:15 AM)
nice. how big is your screen?
Thanks, the screen will measure 110" diagonal.... 96" x 54", 16:9 format.

Jason biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Nov 24 2007, 05:10 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

That's what I am going to say when I see those glass cabinets at the back. It will rattle and reflect sound due to its hard surface. Not to mention that ur sub digs real low
selvenz
post Nov 25 2007, 11:42 AM

841 posts

i suggest heavy curtain as an additional cover for the glass cabinets, as glass cabinets are a no-no in HT design, any low bass will be immediatly felt in the reveberation . Sometimes it is known to make the whole movie feel a bit distorted(sound) as unnecessary sound is redirected. just my 2 cents worth...anyways great job have lot of fun.
ADCollector
post Nov 25 2007, 10:19 PM

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Nov 24 2007, 11:19 AM)
Thanks, the screen will measure 110" diagonal.... 96" x 54", 16:9 format.

Jason biggrin.gif
110"?? blink.gif I can't wait to see that!! 3D like Imax or not?? drool.gif drool.gif

Hmm, scratch the idea of glass cabinets in my HT room. Was contemplating the same idea also. hmm.gif

Akabane@DrJackel
post Nov 25 2007, 10:24 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(ADCollector @ Nov 25 2007, 10:19 PM)
110"??  blink.gif I can't wait to see that!! 3D like Imax or not??  drool.gif  drool.gif

Hmm, scratch the idea of glass cabinets in my HT room. Was contemplating the same idea also.  hmm.gif
widescreen format 16:9 NICE ..cool..
TSjasonlky
post Nov 26 2007, 01:20 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(selvenz @ Nov 25 2007, 11:42 AM)
i suggest heavy curtain as an additional cover for the glass cabinets, as glass cabinets are a no-no in HT design, any low bass will be immediatly felt in the reveberation . Sometimes it is known to make the whole movie feel a bit distorted(sound) as unnecessary sound is redirected. just my 2 cents worth...anyways great job have lot of fun.
I was contemplating the idea of using curtains, but I think that the low frequency will pass through the heaviest curtain that can be hung in my theatre. But then again I don't know what is the resonant frequency of the panes of glass. Each pane of glass could theretically resonate at a different frequency as they are all at different lengths.... Will have to setup everything and find out how big the problem is before I attempt anything.

I am now contemplating a way to physically damp each pane of glass... via some kind of rubber stopper. Currently, each pane of glass has a hinge on one end and it is secured in the close position by the magnet "push on"/"push off" mechanism.

Its just an idea at them moment, need more time to work out the details. I am not going to give up the glass dispay cabinets so easily...

The cabinets and screen frame has been completed today. With the exception of attaching the screen to the screen frame... the mechanical build is completed. The contrator spent Sat and Sun touching up and cleaning up. The pictures are roughly as you have seen them in the pics above. The electrician will be here Monday/Tuesday to wire up the theatre and install the lighting. I will take more pics after this is completed.

Jason biggrin.gif

piscesguy
post Nov 26 2007, 09:05 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Guess you don't need to go cinema for movies in the future.. tongue.gif
TSjasonlky
post Nov 26 2007, 02:54 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Nov 26 2007, 09:05 AM)
Guess you don't need to go cinema for movies in the future.. tongue.gif
Actually I have discussed this at length with my Home Theatre projector buddies. Contrary to popular belief, the Home Theatre is ultimately an approximation of what going to the cinema is all about. Maybe my kids won't know the difference as they seldom go to the movies. E.g. my kids have only been to Chicken Little, Happy Feet and Ratatoille.... that is about once every six months. When I ask them about the cinema, they have a vague idea of what the experience was all about. But when I was a kid leading up to my teenage years... movies were a weekly affair... well almost depending on the pocket money availability.

There is a whole ritual about going to the cinema, choosing the movie, calling/making appointment with friends/gf. Arguing which cinema to go: Ruby Theatre because toilet is cleaner, or which Rex because got more leng lui... deciding to sit upstais or downstairs...Then meeting up for a snack/dinner, proceeding to the theatre, lining up to buy tickets... deciding where to sit... who to sits next to whom (especially important when there is a certain someone in the group u are trying to woo... but trying not to be so obvious. Then choosing your snack and drink, making sure there is enough to last the whole movie.

Sure there is that annoying guy 3 rows back that needs to show how smart he is by narrating the entire movie to impress his friends. Then there is the lady sitting right infront of you with the funky hairdo that reaches up to the ceiling. Dun forget the feel and sound of the kuaci as you walk to your seat. And the occasional chewing gum stuck to you brand new Fung Keong!!

The experience now with the cineplex is a little different but its largely unchanged... but the guy talking loudly in the 3rd row is still there and now has a handphone that refuses go into silent mode. Lady with the big hair is still there. (And the couple sitting the the back corner are still there ...fondling each other in the dark.... thinking no one notices brows.gif

Heck, sure I will still go to the movies. Why ever not?

But the benefits of the Home theatre are plenty ...can pause the movie to go to the toilet or to get a hot drink, can rewind to re-listen to dialogue can tapau roti canai or char kuay teow (extra chilli sweat.gif with kerang drool.gif ) to eat during the movie, no loud guy with handphone (probably coz you ARE that guy laugh.gif ), no big hair lady.... and can watch comfortably with the family.

Jason biggrin.gif
JonC
post Nov 26 2007, 04:10 PM

1,612 posts

Thanks for making all my teenage cinema memories come flooding back!!! brows.gif I mean HT will be more comfortable and more convenient but then again it still doesn't beat the scale of a proper theater and the added "extra scenes" thrown in. laugh.gif

Good to see your setup is finishing soon. So when is the boxoffice opening for LYN members? wink.gif
rx330
post Nov 26 2007, 04:27 PM

11,811 posts

sigh... jason.. now u are making me itchy to do a cinema room as well....
ADCollector
post Nov 26 2007, 11:44 PM

Jason,

Any chance the glass will shatter due to sonic vibrations?? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif I'm assuming you will be blasting your HT set while watching the movies. biggrin.gif

What if you point the subwoofer away from the cabinets? Would that make a difference?? E.g. shooting sideways?? hmm.gif
TSjasonlky
post Nov 29 2007, 12:08 AM

451 posts

Don't just think about doing an AV room, if you have the space, then you should just go ahead and do it. If you don't have space then you can convert your living room quite nicely. Bro Timothyy has converted his living room in to a AV room as well with very nice results. Can visit his thread here in LyN.

As for opening the Box Office, I won't be issuing an open invitation. However if anyone is interested to come see see, then just drop me a PM and I can try to arrange for a visit. I live in the vicinity of Kota Kemuning...
Weekends works best for me.

QUOTE(ADCollector @ Nov 26 2007, 11:44 PM)
Jason,

Any chance the glass will shatter due to sonic vibrations??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif I'm assuming you will be blasting your HT set while watching the movies.  biggrin.gif

What if you point the subwoofer away from the cabinets? Would that make a difference?? E.g. shooting sideways??  hmm.gif
The short answer is I don't know. To shatter glass you have to playing sound at the piece of glass's resonant frequency and it needs to be with sufficient energy that will cause it to vibrate so violently that it exceeds its mechanical "strength" and therefore shatter or that it vibrates so violently that it comes into contact with another object that will cause it to break. I do not believe that it matters which direction the subwoofer or any speaker for that matter faces...

I don't think that I am "blasting" when I watch movies. I think Avia and THX recommends setting the volume so that the sound pressure is at 85db.... I tried this and it was like too loud, like in a rock concert hall!! After calibration I listen to movies at 65-75db.(Measurement done using RadioShack Sound Level Meter) I will need to recalibrate the speakers and their settings for the new AV room...

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Nov 29 2007, 09:16 AM

11,811 posts

i think my main issue is not abt space, $$ issue is the real issue biggrin.gif
ADCollector
post Nov 29 2007, 09:46 AM

Ya, got *bling bling* anywhere can create HT set-up. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSjasonlky
post Nov 29 2007, 11:28 AM

451 posts

Very true, everything in this world need $$. I guess we need to prioritise ur spending and then work hards towards the objectives.

Update

Lighting, wiring and electrical works have been completed. After closer inspection, there are a couple of defects and areas needing some additional attention from my contactor. Unfortunately, my uncle is off to his next project and will only be able to spare some time after the New Year... guess I will have to live with it for a while.

The cleaning up is just horrendous work. I have given the AV Room a once over with the vacuum cleaner. However, it needs a thorough wipe down... my lazy bones are telling me to leave that to the weekend. whistling.gif

Jason biggrin.gif
JonC
post Nov 29 2007, 11:32 AM

1,612 posts

Mate, the dust from all the drilling to fix your cabinets and fixtures to wall will not be 100% clean even after you vacuum the whole place. Yep like you say will need to through wipe to clean it up good. Dun wanna have the dirty stuff sticking to all ya HT stuff. thumbup.gif

Congrats! rclxms.gif
dirtrun
post Nov 29 2007, 02:06 PM

3,136 posts

Right,

I guess quoting tat LCD Pjs and dust dont mix is unnecessary then...

Enjoy
Dirtrun
TSjasonlky
post Nov 29 2007, 03:04 PM

451 posts

I have just ordered my projector screen material from ebay. I ordered blindly. But the reviews in the feedback had nothing but nice things to say about the material. So we'll see how it goes as soon as it arrives. The material size is 60" x 112", my screen size is 54" x 96". It should be more than enuf. Here is an excerpt out of the marketing material, click on the spoiler.

They said no glare or hot spots (fingers crossed) and I hope that with a gain of 1.3, the viewing cone is not too narrow. I did not spend too much on it, so I guess it won't hurt too much if I had to throw it out.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Nov 29 2007, 03:25 PM

11,811 posts

ohh, tis one thread i will be eyeing
i can learn more abt projectors here, hope u dun mind jason
TSjasonlky
post Nov 29 2007, 03:37 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Nov 29 2007, 03:25 PM)
ohh, tis one thread i will be eyeing
i can learn more abt projectors here, hope u dun mind jason
Actually there is a dedicaed HT Projector discussion going on here... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/397986

Jason biggrin.gif
crazyconsumer
post Nov 30 2007, 11:20 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Any pics as of now? So what happen to the $$$ damage? 5 figures?
htkaki
post Dec 3 2007, 09:37 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ADCollector @ Nov 26 2007, 11:44 PM)
Jason,

Any chance the glass will shatter due to sonic vibrations??  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif I'm assuming you will be blasting your HT set while watching the movies.  biggrin.gif

What if you point the subwoofer away from the cabinets? Would that make a difference?? E.g. shooting sideways??  hmm.gif

It wont help as sub is supposed to be non-directional.

mavric
post Dec 3 2007, 06:21 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Nov 29 2007, 01:08 AM)
Don't just think about doing an AV room, if you have the space, then you should just go ahead and do it.  If you don't have space then you can convert your living room quite nicely.  Bro Timothyy has converted his living room in to a AV room as well with very nice results.  Can visit his thread here in LyN.

As for opening the Box Office, I won't be issuing an open invitation.  However if anyone is interested to come see see, then just drop me a PM and I can try to arrange for a visit.  I live in the vicinity of Kota Kemuning...

Jason biggrin.gif
hey you stay in Kota Kemuning? Same here....any chance I can check out your setup? biggrin.gif
timothyy
post Dec 4 2007, 08:50 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Nov 29 2007, 12:08 AM)
Don't just think about doing an AV room, if you have the space, then you should just go ahead and do it.  If you don't have space then you can convert your living room quite nicely.  Bro Timothyy has converted his living room in to a AV room as well with very nice results.  Can visit his thread here in LyN.

As for opening the Box Office, I won't be issuing an open invitation.  However if anyone is interested to come see see, then just drop me a PM and I can try to arrange for a visit.  I live in the vicinity of Kota Kemuning...

Jason biggrin.gif
HEy... thanks. I will be shifting house again. Ha! Ha! All the hardwork will got to start again. laugh.gif laugh.gif
Anyway, my new place gonna be almost the same. I nearly bought a 4 seater sofa... but luckily remember that my living room is not as big. Ha! Ha!
I wanted to use one of my bedrooms to convert to AV room but at the end, gonna put it on my living room again. My bro-in-law gonna do it in one of the bedrooms. Yeah... He is getting PJ too. So, may be I'll post it like you here too.

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Nov 29 2007, 03:04 PM)
I have just ordered my projector screen material from ebay.  I ordered blindly.  But the reviews in the feedback had nothing but nice things to say about the material.  So we'll see how it goes as soon as it arrives. The material size is 60" x 112", my screen size is 54" x 96".  It should be more than enuf.  Here is an excerpt out of the marketing material, click on the spoiler.

They said no glare or hot spots (fingers crossed) and I hope that with a gain of 1.3, the viewing cone is not too narrow.  I did not spend too much on it, so I guess it won't hurt too much if I had to throw it out.

Jason biggrin.gif
I think you got the same screen material like dirtrun and I. He! He! Just for info, you can find my sceen material in fabric shops. I saw some hotel using it as their BOC.
TSjasonlky
post Dec 4 2007, 12:40 PM

451 posts

The contractor has finished all the woodworking and cabinetry. So for the moment the condition is still the same as in the previous pics that I have posted. I spent all last weekend cleaning the floor and cabinets. Note to self: Glass cabinets need a lot of care, even the smallest fingerprints are easily visible and are a pain to clean!!! shakehead.gif It was really tiring.....

Among other things, I managed to installed my AV Receiver, DVD, Subwoofer and Front left/right speakers to test the sound. So far at moderate listening levels, no reflections, vibrations or shattering of glass rclxm9.gif . I will test with a movie when I get some time. Things left to do:
1. Install speaker cables. Aiming to get 2x 50Ft reels of Acoustic Research 12awg speaker wire (Made in China) only US$12 per reel!!
2. DIY Video Component Cable using Maspro RG/6U coax cable with Neutrik shielded RCA plugs. I will need 6 runs of cables, 3 from DVD to AMP, and another 3 from Amp to Projector. I will jump onto the HDMI bandwagosn when I upgrade to HD and HDMI1.3!!!
3. Refinish my teak floor with some light sanding and a coat of matt varnish coz the contractor's workers left many scratches vmad.gif
4. Paint the ceiling, fan and uncovered walls with a dark blue paint.
5. Get 3 or 4 seater sofa.
6. Get contractor to touch up some unfinished areas.
7. Install Projector Screen

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Nov 30 2007, 11:20 PM)
Any pics as of now? So what happen to the $$$ damage? 5 figures?
I have no new pictures to show. Damage is just under to RM20k. An outside contractor quoted RM27k for less work!!!

QUOTE(mavric @ Dec 3 2007, 06:21 PM)
hey you stay in Kota Kemuning? Same here....any chance I can check out your setup? biggrin.gif
I stay in Bukit Rimau.... right next to Kota Kemuning. Drop me a PM and we can set something up.

QUOTE(timothyy @ Dec 4 2007, 08:50 AM)
I think you got the same screen material like dirtrun and I. He! He! Just for info, you can find my sceen material in fabric shops. I saw some hotel using it as their BOC.
Oh.... forgot that both you and bro dirtrun had bought your screens before me. Should have checked with you first. I went to many fabric shops, even those wholesalers on Petaling street and I cannot seem to find a similar matt white fabric at the size that I need. The closest was canvas (which is not white) but only with a width of 36".

I found a nice off white fabric at IKEA, 60", but it was not very close knit and a lot of the light would pass thru.....

As for this cloth that we are using.... they said no glare / hotspot... but I do remember seeing some hot spotting ou your screen.... well at this price point we cannot expect it to be perfect.

Jason biggrin.gif
timothyy
post Dec 5 2007, 08:59 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 4 2007, 12:40 PM)

1. Install speaker cables. Aiming to get 2x 50Ft reels of Acoustic Research 12awg speaker wire (Made in China) only US$12 per reel!!

As for this cloth that we are using.... they said no glare / hotspot... but I do remember seeing some hot spotting ou your screen.... well at this price point we cannot expect it to be perfect.

Jason biggrin.gif
Yo... Jason, as for the speaker cable... can tumpang? I am also looking for speaker cables. Since its so cheap, and you are getting it, can you help to get a 1 reel for me too?

Regarding the screen... hack... when u are only paying so little and getting nice picture output, what else can you ask for? He! HE! Regarding the hotspot, I guess its only obvious when taking photos. Real life, hardly notice unless I am damn noob and didn't bother.
TSjasonlky
post Dec 6 2007, 10:09 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Dec 5 2007, 08:59 AM)
Yo... Jason, as for the speaker cable... can tumpang? I am also looking for speaker cables. Since its so cheap, and you are getting it, can you help to get a 1 reel for me too?

Bro I put in my order 2 days ago.

You can get the cables at MCMINONE.COM. The shipping is not cheap, US$40 for 1-3 reels, so after much comtemplation I ordered 3 reels. The list price is US14.95, but if you put in a source/discount code "EMC021", the the price is US$12.00 each. For a branded 12 gauge cable, you cannot do better than this.

I got the 3rd reel primarily because my wife wants to install ceiling speakers for the kids' rooms. If I have a substantial amount left over I'll I sell to youlah.

Jason biggrin.gif
mpyw
post Dec 6 2007, 10:11 AM

3,603 posts

do you get tax for importing those cables???
TSjasonlky
post Dec 6 2007, 12:26 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Dec 6 2007, 10:11 AM)
do you get tax for importing those cables???
I think in Malaysia, almost everything is taxed. But it depends if the packaged is held by our customs at the KLIA Mel Udara depot. If I get a letter from KLIA Mel Udara depot... then I sure kena tax oledi.

I am not sure what is the tax for copper cables, someone told me that its as high as 25%. shocking.gif Anyway I am prepared for it, just don't like to drive down to KLIA...

Jason
JonC
post Dec 6 2007, 12:52 PM

1,612 posts

Mate from what I've seen, if the amount of wires is not that much usually they won't charge you anything. I've managed to bring in at one go 5 interconnects from UK without much hassle through the postage service.

Once you get the letter informing you the wires are held at the dept, you can usually call Pos Malaysia and apoint them to clear the stuff for you. Not too sure whats the charges anymore and you also need to give them a copy of the invoice / proof of payment for them to proceed with the customs clearance process. They will kautim the duty / tax part for you and you will pay them the charges and duties when you collect the wires from the nearest post office. I think the process if the wires sent through courier more or less the same except they will sent it to your door step and you'll pay them COD.

Hope this helps.
timothyy
post Dec 6 2007, 05:59 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 6 2007, 10:09 AM)
Bro I put in my order 2 days ago. 

You can get the cables at MCMINONE.COM.  The shipping is not cheap, US$40 for 1-3 reels, so after much comtemplation I ordered 3 reels.  The list price is US14.95, but if you put in a source/discount code "EMC021", the the price is US$12.00 each.  For a branded 12 gauge cable, you cannot do better than this.

I got the 3rd reel primarily because my wife wants to install ceiling speakers for the kids' rooms.  If I have a substantial amount left over I'll I sell to youlah.

Jason biggrin.gif
Aiya... missed by a day... haiz.
Anyway, if got leftover, let me know. Lazy to do bulk. I just want some cables for my surround speakers in my new place.
mysghooi
post Dec 6 2007, 09:48 PM

254 posts

I'm also interested with the cables. but don't know how do online order. Hi, timothyy if you want to purchase the cable. I will join you. I need two reels. And this cables also free 8 piece banana plug for each reel.
TSjasonlky
post Dec 7 2007, 12:56 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Dec 6 2007, 09:48 PM)
I'm also interested with the cables. but don't know how do online order. Hi, timothyy if you want to purchase the cable. I will join you. I need two reels. And this cables also free 8 piece banana plug for each reel.
Err... the connectors that are provided with the 50ft Acoustic Research 12awg speaker cable are not the standard 4mm "banana" connectors. They are much smaller... more like 2mm and the are called "pin" connectors. These pin connectors are usually used to connect the speaker cables to the amp's speaker terminals. The reason they use the 2mm connector is because of the limited space at the rear of the amp... if you have seen how cramp the backside of an AV receiver, you'd understand what I mean.

Actually I vote for bare wire connection. If done properly bare wire connection can be very neat and will definitely provide a superior electrical connection compared to pins and bananas....

Jason
timothyy
post Dec 7 2007, 08:55 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Dec 6 2007, 09:48 PM)
QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 7 2007, 12:56 AM)
Err... the connectors that are provided with the 50ft Acoustic Research 12awg speaker cable are not the standard 4mm "banana" connectors.  They are much smaller... more like 2mm and the are called "pin" connectors.  These pin connectors are usually used to connect the speaker cables to the amp's speaker terminals.  The reason they use the 2mm connector is because of the limited space at the rear of the amp... if you have seen how cramp the backside of an AV receiver, you'd understand what I mean.

Actually I vote for bare wire connection.  If done properly bare wire connection can be very neat and will definitely provide a superior electrical connection compared to pins and bananas....

Jason
mysghooi... OK... Will keep you in mind... May be we can do a bulk here and make some moola.
But before that, we wait and see what Jason gets and whether he needs to pay for tax and duty. Actually, USD40 for the delivery is considered dirt cheap.
hedfi
post Dec 8 2007, 01:49 PM

649 posts

if you get checked by coustoms, the duty is 25% and sales tax 10% ie. 37.5%!!!!!! but normally for small qty can kaotim
mysghooi
post Dec 8 2007, 05:43 PM

254 posts

Ok, timothyy just keep me inform. cause I also need the cable to set up my real speaker. Hi jasonlky do let us know the situation regarding the tax issue. Thanks
TSjasonlky
post Dec 8 2007, 11:20 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Dec 8 2007, 05:43 PM)
Ok, timothyy just keep me inform. cause I also need the cable to set up my real speaker. Hi jasonlky do let us know the situation regarding the tax issue. Thanks
Roger that. I received the traking number a couple of days ago. Hoping to receive it by the end of next week.

Jason biggrin.gif
timothyy
post Dec 9 2007, 06:26 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 8 2007, 11:20 PM)
Roger that.  I received the traking number a couple of days ago.  Hoping to receive it by the end of next week.

Jason biggrin.gif
Thanks pal.

Ah gooi ah, once get confirmation from jason, I will proceed to order but I will need you bank in oh. OK?
mysghooi
post Dec 10 2007, 12:46 AM

254 posts

Is it Ok, I bank half to you then the other half I pay it to you when I COD with you.
timothyy
post Dec 10 2007, 05:29 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Dec 10 2007, 12:46 AM)
Is it Ok, I bank half to you then the other half I pay it to you when I COD with you.
Kakaka, cannot la as I won't be making money from you and smore you buy more than me.
mysghooi
post Dec 10 2007, 08:13 PM

254 posts

ah, Ok lah after you confirm the amount let me know then I will bank in to you.

Added on December 10, 2007, 8:27 pmHi, timothyy where you stay?
If difficult for me to get from you, I will try to proceed to order online myself.

This post has been edited by mysghooi: Dec 10 2007, 08:27 PM
timothyy
post Dec 11 2007, 07:28 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Dec 10 2007, 08:13 PM)
ah, Ok lah after you confirm the amount let me know then I will bank in to you.

Added on December 10, 2007, 8:27 pmHi, timothyy where you stay?
If difficult for me to get from you, I will try to proceed to order online myself.
I am in Shah Alam. If you order, then I tumpang loh
TSjasonlky
post Dec 13 2007, 10:19 AM

451 posts

Updates

Well, the screen material that I ordered through ebay is here. On my initial inspection it looks good, just like any of the megabucks screens that I have had to chance to view. But I'd need to really install it and view it with my projector to assess its performance. I will mount it on the frame and put it up over the weekend. If I can get the neutrik connectors in time, I'll post pictures of the projected picture.

On another note of interest, the speaker cables should be arriving anytime now, but I have some bad news for mysghooi and timothyy. MCMINONE originally quoted shipping as US$40 for all 3 reels, they subsequently charged me US$96 for shipping!! So I asked them to honour the original quote, which they subsequently did. To mysghooi & timothyy, please take note of this if you are ordering. The combined weight of the shipment is 17lbs, I did a quick check on USPS and the shipping came up to US$90.

Jason biggrin.gif
mysghooi
post Dec 13 2007, 02:59 PM

254 posts

Hi timothyy, are you stay in kota kemuning?

Hi jasonlky, to you mean 3 reels the total weight is 17lbs?

timothyy
post Dec 13 2007, 03:10 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 13 2007, 10:19 AM)
Updates

Well, the screen material that I ordered through ebay is here.  On my initial inspection it looks good, just like any of the megabucks screens that I have had to chance to view.  But I'd need to really install it and view it with my projector to assess its performance.  I will mount it on the frame and put it up over the weekend.  If I can get the neutrik connectors in time, I'll post pictures of the projected picture.

On another note of interest, the speaker cables should be arriving anytime now, but I have some bad news for mysghooi and timothyy.  MCMINONE originally quoted shipping as US$40 for all 3 reels, they subsequently charged me US$96 for shipping!!  So I asked them to honour the original quote, which they subsequently did.  To mysghooi & timothyy, please take note of this if you are ordering.  The combined weight of the shipment is 17lbs, I did a quick check on USPS and the shipping came up to US$90.

Jason biggrin.gif
Alamak... really missed the chance. So, in this case, if you are kind enough, do spare me some. Just need it for my rear speakers.... which is around 1 reel. Kekekeke.... TOlong.

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Dec 13 2007, 02:59 PM)
Hi timothyy, are you stay in kota kemuning?

Hi jasonlky, to you mean 3 reels the total weight is 17lbs?
gooi, I am in Bukit Jelutong, Shah Alam.
mysghooi
post Dec 13 2007, 04:02 PM

254 posts

ah, don't know how to go bukit jelutong. Then I might try myself lah.
Hi jasonlky to you have any tax incurred ah?
TSjasonlky
post Dec 13 2007, 05:03 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(mysghooi @ Dec 13 2007, 04:02 PM)
ah, don't know how to go bukit jelutong. Then I might try myself lah.
Hi jasonlky to you have any tax incurred ah?
I dunno about the tax yet. I have a feeling that it will get stuck at KLIA customs and I'll have to pay tax... how much I don't know yet. I just checked with USPS online tracking and its still on its way.

17lbs is the combined weight for 3 reels.

Jason biggrin.gif
timothyy
post Dec 13 2007, 06:05 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 13 2007, 05:03 PM)
I dunno about the tax yet.  I have a feeling that it will get stuck at KLIA customs and I'll have to pay tax... how much I don't know yet.  I just checked with USPS online tracking and its still on its way. 

17lbs is the combined weight for 3 reels.

Jason biggrin.gif
Uncle... can spare me 1 reel or not? brows.gif brows.gif
TSjasonlky
post Dec 14 2007, 12:57 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Dec 13 2007, 06:05 PM)
Uncle... can spare me 1 reel or not?  brows.gif  brows.gif
Let me wire up my AV Room firstlah. If I can spare a reel, sure I sell to you. I should finish everything before the new year.... Can wait?

Just to let u know I have the following speaker setup: 2 fronts, 2 center, 4 rear and of course 1 sub as I am using a 7.1 setup. Why 2 center... one on top of the screen and the other below so that the sound of the dialogue some from the center of the screen and not from the bottom.

BTW, when did I become ur uncle....

Jason biggrin.gif
timothyy
post Dec 14 2007, 01:27 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 14 2007, 12:57 AM)
Let me wire up my AV Room firstlah.  If I can spare a reel, sure I sell to you.  I should finish everything before the new year.... Can wait?

Just to let u know I have the following speaker setup: 2 fronts, 2 center, 4 rear and of course 1 sub as I am using a 7.1 setup.  Why 2 center... one on top of the screen and the other below so that the sound of the dialogue some from the center of the screen and not from the bottom.

BTW, when did I become ur uncle....

Jason biggrin.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
We Malaysian call any old people uncle. Kekekeke... (as if I am younger than u)...

Anyway...
I surely can wait. My house reno should only start after new year and plaster ceiling should only start later on.
So, yeah yeah... please please.
TSjasonlky
post Dec 17 2007, 10:27 AM

451 posts

The BIG SCREEN is installed

Pictures still in my camera. I will post up as soon as I download into my computer. I haven't done up the cabling for the projector yet. So I still cannot access the performance. But on close inspection, the screen has a "silvery" finish to it, so the gain is definitly more than 1.

On abother note, if I don't receive my cables today, then I fear that the shipment "Ditahan" by our boys at KLIA Customs..... cry.gif

Jason biggrin.gif

apisgogo
post Dec 17 2007, 10:34 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

mr TS,

if not so much trouble, can you list down your audio set-up? receivers and speakers.

Thanks smile.gif
iman_210
post Dec 17 2007, 10:35 AM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 17 2007, 10:27 AM)

Pictures still in my camera.  I will post up as soon as I download into my computer.  I haven't done up the cabling for the projector yet. So I still cannot access the performance.  But on close inspection, the screen has a "silvery" finish to it, so the gain is definitly more than 1.

On abother note, if I don't receive my cables today, then I fear that the shipment "Ditahan" by our boys at KLIA Customs..... cry.gif

Jason biggrin.gif
jason not too bad...love the trap door u design to go up onto ur av room...its like a secret room minus the stairs though...

how i wish i have a semi-d with an additional 3rd floor to all myself...
TSjasonlky
post Dec 17 2007, 05:01 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Dec 17 2007, 10:34 AM)
mr TS,

if not so much trouble, can you list down your audio set-up? receivers and speakers.

Thanks smile.gif
I used to have it in my sig, but the administrators complained it was too long and deleted it, I'll try to recall all the model numbers.....

Receiver: Yamaha RX-V657
Front and Rear Speakers: Yamaha NS-50
Center and Rear surround: Yamaha NS-P70
Subwoofer: DIY Rythmik Audio TC12 Sealed Servo Sub (Which I also use with my Hi-Fi setup)

Jason biggrin.gif
apisgogo
post Dec 17 2007, 07:27 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 17 2007, 05:01 PM)
I used to have it in my sig, but the administrators complained it was too long and deleted it, I'll try to recall all the model numbers.....

Receiver: Yamaha RX-V657
Front and Rear Speakers: Yamaha NS-50
Center and Rear surround: Yamaha NS-P70
Subwoofer: DIY Rythmik Audio TC12 Sealed Servo Sub (Which I also use with my Hi-Fi setup)

Jason biggrin.gif
Many thanks! smile.gif

and good luck on your theater build.. u gonna have a great time soon! smile.gif
timothyy
post Dec 17 2007, 10:50 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 17 2007, 10:27 AM)

Pictures still in my camera.  I will post up as soon as I download into my computer.  I haven't done up the cabling for the projector yet. So I still cannot access the performance.  But on close inspection, the screen has a "silvery" finish to it, so the gain is definitly more than 1.

Jason biggrin.gif
Wowowow... pictures pls...

cry.gif cry.gif I am hoping that I will get to get the 3rd reel from u... cry.gif cry.gif
TSjasonlky
post Dec 18 2007, 09:00 AM

451 posts

Wah you remind me with every post.... I will sell to you if have extra. I just check the package and it has been released and should be on its way to my house rclxm9.gif

Label/Receipt Number: CP00 0181 xxxU S

Your item cleared customs in MALAYSIA at 2:42 PM on December 17, 2007. Information, if available, is updated every evening. Please check again later.

Santa is on his way tongue.gif

Jason biggrin.gif
billyngcam
post Dec 18 2007, 08:30 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 13 2007, 10:19 AM)
Updates

Well, the screen material that I ordered through ebay is here.  On my initial inspection it looks good, just like any of the megabucks screens that I have had to chance to view.  But I'd need to really install it and view it with my projector to assess its performance.  I will mount it on the frame and put it up over the weekend.  If I can get the neutrik connectors in time, I'll post pictures of the projected picture.

On another note of interest, the speaker cables should be arriving anytime now, but I have some bad news for mysghooi and timothyy.  MCMINONE originally quoted shipping as US$40 for all 3 reels, they subsequently charged me US$96 for shipping!!  So I asked them to honour the original quote, which they subsequently did.  To mysghooi & timothyy, please take note of this if you are ordering.  The combined weight of the shipment is 17lbs, I did a quick check on USPS and the shipping came up to US$90.

Jason biggrin.gif
Hi ,

mind to share what type of screen you've ordered through ebay? Cost? DIY type?

timothyy
post Dec 18 2007, 09:40 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 18 2007, 09:00 AM)
Wah you remind me with every post.... I will sell to you if have extra.  I just check the package and it has been released and should be on its way to my house rclxm9.gif
Santa is on his way tongue.gif

Jason biggrin.gif
He! He! So... do remember me... wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Dec 18 2007, 08:30 PM)
Hi ,

We all ordered DIY from Ebay. So called cheap unless yo have jalan to find BOC here in Malaysia. If got, let us know where to get also.

SSF selling 3 layered BOC white blck white at around RM58 per me. The width is around 58". So, after framing, you might only get around 54 or less.

Max screen size you can go with that is around 110"
billyngcam
post Dec 19 2007, 08:48 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Dec 18 2007, 09:40 PM)
He! He! So... do remember me...  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
We all ordered DIY from Ebay. So called cheap unless yo have jalan to find BOC here in Malaysia. If got, let us know where to get also.

SSF selling 3 layered BOC white blck white at around RM58 per me. The width is around 58". So, after framing, you might only get around 54 or less.

Max screen size you can go with that is around 110"
How's the quality of the DIY from Ebay? Because sometime cheap DIY thing do come with good quality rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I've read through the Ebay , and fond that their DIY screen material is matte white. However, most of the screen I've seen in the Hi-Fi shop are light grey color. What's the main different between grey and white screen?

Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by billyngcam: Dec 19 2007, 09:01 AM
TSjasonlky
post Dec 19 2007, 10:34 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Dec 18 2007, 08:30 PM)
Hi ,

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Dec 19 2007, 08:48 AM)
How's the quality of the DIY from Ebay? Because sometime cheap DIY thing do come with good quality rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I've read through the Ebay , and fond that their DIY screen material is matte white. However, most of the screen I've seen in the Hi-Fi shop are light grey color. What's the main different between grey and white screen?

Thanks. smile.gif
I ordered a "Matte White" Projection Screen Material from ebay. Its basically a synthetic material that is coated with a "Rubberised" material on the backside. The description of the item is NOT accurate, it is NOT Matt White" and it is NOT canvas. The synthetic cloth has a very slight silvery finish giving it a gain of more than 1. My screen size is 110" 16:9, that measures 54" x 96". Cost... check ebaylah, I bought material size of 60" x 112". I then DIYed a frame and installed the screen material myself. Very simple, the whole process takes less than half a day. For the material itself and the ease of installation, I have no complains. The material is easy to stretch and install to get a totally flat screen without any folds visible. Looks really professional if I do say so myself.

I cannot report on the quality of the porjected image on this screen yet, as I have not connected my projector. But pics from bro Tims setup shows that there is very slight hot spotting, but to be fair this may only be visible when photographed..... I'll post a review and pics later once everything is properly setup and calibrated.

The reason why hifi shops prefer grey screens..... Coz it helps them sell projectors laugh.gif

1. See, the viewing rooms in the shops usually cannot go totally dark. And if there are other light sources in the room, it will be reflected off the screen and then customer can see it, it becomes very distracting. With a grey screen the reflection is not so visible.

2. Another point is that the grey screen helps darken the blacks and also improve the colour contrast from the projector. So a not so good projector may perform better on a grey screen and persuade the buyer to part with his cash.

So if your room is not totally light controlled and if your projector needs help with the blacks and contrast then I suggest that u find a grey screen which has a gain of 1 or less than 1. But I prefer white screens coz the colour of white and true colour fidelity is equally important to me. Have you seen the colour of white on a grey screen..... well here's a hint...... its not white anymore.

Hope this helps.

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Dec 19 2007, 10:41 AM
mpyw
post Dec 19 2007, 10:44 AM

3,603 posts

wah....can I visit your theater when it's done ar....really hope that I can do it at my house also....but if so, I have to do it in the living room...and at least need to wait another 2-3 years for my kids to able to appreciate movies....
billyngcam
post Dec 19 2007, 12:19 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Dec 19 2007, 10:34 AM)
I ordered a "Matte White" Projection Screen Material from ebay. Its basically a synthetic material that is coated with a "Rubberised" material on the backside.  The description of the item is NOT accurate, it is NOT Matt White" and it is NOT canvas.  The synthetic cloth has a very slight silvery finish giving it a gain of more than 1.  My screen size is 110" 16:9, that measures 54" x 96". Cost... check ebaylah, I bought material size of 60" x 112".  I then DIYed a frame and installed the screen material myself.  Very simple, the whole process takes less than half a day.  For the material itself and the ease of installation, I have no complains.  The material is easy to stretch and install to get a totally flat screen without any folds visible.  Looks really professional if I do say so myself.

I cannot report on the quality of the porjected image on this screen yet, as I have not connected my projector.  But pics from bro Tims setup shows that there is very slight hot spotting, but to be fair this may only be visible when photographed..... I'll post a review and pics later once everything is properly setup and calibrated.

The reason why hifi shops prefer grey screens.....  Coz it helps them sell projectors laugh.gif

1. See, the viewing rooms in the shops usually cannot go totally dark.  And if there are other light sources in the room, it will be reflected off the screen and then customer can see it, it becomes very distracting.  With a grey screen the reflection is not so visible.

2. Another point is that the grey screen helps darken the blacks and also improve the colour contrast from the projector.  So a not so good projector may perform better on a grey screen and persuade the buyer to part with his cash.

So if your room is not totally light controlled and if your projector needs help with the blacks and contrast then I suggest that u find a grey screen which has a gain of 1 or less than 1.  But I prefer white screens coz the colour of white and true colour fidelity is equally important to me.  Have you seen the colour of white on a grey screen..... well here's a hint...... its not white anymore.

Hope this helps.

Jason biggrin.gif
Thank you so much for your detail explaination icon_rolleyes.gif thumbup.gif
So, now, I'll wait some more for your test result ! smile.gif
kancheong
post Dec 31 2007, 12:02 PM

154 posts

Yo Jason all done up ? Any pics for us to drool ? ;-)
timothyy
post Dec 31 2007, 12:08 PM

4,504 posts

Jason taiko... my reno started loh. Paster ceiling haven't start. So, any news on the cable ah?
TSjasonlky
post Jan 7 2008, 02:58 PM

451 posts

The AV ROOM is now completed except for the sofa which will be arriving on Tuesday afternoon (8-01-2008). rclxms.gif

I actually completed the room....
.... screen on the 16-12-2007
.... cabling on the 26-12-2007...

I have been lazy to post the results as I was ..... "encumbered" by the heavy eating and sleeping brought about by the festive season laugh.gif Here are summore pics showing the room. Firstly I populated the empty shelves.... I thought I had lots of space.... alas its not enuf!!

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Jan 7 2008, 03:14 PM
TSjasonlky
post Jan 7 2008, 03:13 PM

451 posts

Screen installation.....

The frame of the screen waiting for installation.

The package from US containing the Screen material.

This shows the rear of the screen its a ruberrised material quite thick and heavy. Even though the material is folded when laid out and lightly stretched, no folds ot creases are visible. Good stuff

Finallym this is the viewing side of the material. The pic is a bit dart, but there is a silvery finish to the material.

Jason biggrin.gif
TSjasonlky
post Jan 7 2008, 03:29 PM

451 posts

Here are some tools you will need for the screen materials installation... Upholstery stapler gun, screw driver and measuring tape.

Although my screen frame was origininally a solid piece of ply wood, I decided to cut out the centers to reduce the weight of the whole contraption. It will make it easier to hang it up and take it down in the future.

So what I did now was to lay out the screen material on the floor, using a large piece of cloth to protect it from the dust on the floor. Viewing side wodn, rear side facing up. The I lay the frame on top of the screen.

I start on the short side... just hold one of the sides down with ur hand and weights/remote controls....

And start stapling, no stretching yet...

Next go to the opposite end. Now I start stretching and stapling. The strecthing done here will remove any folds and creases.

Continue this process for the long sides and you will get a completed screen. Then entire process took me no more than 2 hrs. Would have been faster with another pair of hands.

A closer look at one of the corners...

Jason biggrin.gif

TSjasonlky
post Jan 7 2008, 03:43 PM

451 posts

And now to the cabling....

First Off, Bro Tim, I did not have very much left over, You are welcome to it if you think you can use it. I estimate that I have less than 10 feet left.

For my setup, I will admit that cabling is the most tedious and tiring part of the build. Why u ask?.... Since I wanted everything hidden, I had to pull the cabling thru, behind, under, between the walls and cabinets. Lets count:
- receiver to projector composite video x 3 DIYed using RG6/U and Neutrik shielded rca
- surround back left and right x 2 using cables supplied by manufacturer
- surround left and right x 2 using Accoustic Research 12awg
- surround front left and right x 2 using Accoustic Research 12awg
- center top and bottom x 2 using 14awg common speaker able
- subwoofer x 1 DIYed using RG6/U and Neutrik shielded rca
- interconnects between DVD and Receiver x 6 (3 composite, 2 analog L & R sound, 1 S/PDIF

Thats a total of 18 cables that had to be cut, spliced, soldered fed thru cubby holes..... Tokk me about 18hrs work to do this.... I kid you not!!

Just a note, the 12AWG and 14AWG cables are THICK. And its a real hassle working with THICK cables. So if you are not anal about thes things go with a 16/18AWG cable. I made allowances for hidden cabling, but in some spots the space just was not enough for 6 sets of thick cables to go thru.
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Here are the Neutrik Shielded RCA Interconnects from Mouser. You'll have to take my word for it since you can't see it clearly thru the packaging.

Seriosly damaged packaging containing the 3 reels of Accoustic Research 12 AWG speaker cables.

Postage cost the sender US95.05, but I was only charged US48.00 icon_rolleyes.gif

Suprisingly the cables were not damaged on bit.... see not even a scratch.

Comes with the connector pins.... that I did not use...

Leftover Accoustic Research Cables...

Cabling hidden behind specially designed recesses just below the screen...

I will take the final pics of the competed room once the sofa is in place. I did not visit Harvey Norman as I found other alternatives for my furniture requirements...

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Jan 7 2008, 04:03 PM
apisgogo
post Jan 7 2008, 03:48 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

whoa,

everything looks good! smile.gif

As for sofas, Harvey Norman now sells those HT sofas (Lazy Boy, Recliner) stuffs at Discounted rate.

Check out @ Ikano Power Center.
St.Daring
post Jan 7 2008, 04:33 PM

339 posts

Wow...how a simply room can become an AV room...

Now i have something to achieve this year 2008 rclxms.gif
timothyy
post Jan 7 2008, 04:44 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jan 7 2008, 03:43 PM)
And now to the cabling....

First Off, Bro Tim, I did not have very much left over, You are welcome to it if you think you can use it.  I estimate that I have less than 10 feet left.

For my setup, I will admit that cabling is the most tedious and tiring part of the build.  Why u ask?.... Since I wanted everything hidden, I had to pull the cabling thru, behind, under, between the walls and cabinets.  Lets count:
- receiver to projector composite video x 3 DIYed using RG6/U and Neutrik shielded rca
- surround back left and right x 2 using cables supplied by manufacturer
- surround left and right x 2 using Accoustic Research 12awg
- surround front left and right x 2 using Accoustic Research 12awg
- center top and bottom x 2 using 14awg common speaker able
- subwoofer x 1 DIYed using RG6/U and Neutrik shielded rca
- interconnects between DVD and Receiver x 6 (3 composite, 2 analog L & R sound, 1 S/PDIF

Thats a total of 18 cables that had to be cut, spliced, soldered fed thru cubby holes.....  Tokk me about 18hrs work to do this.... I kid you not!!

Just a note, the 12AWG and 14AWG cables are THICK.  And its a real hassle working with THICK cables.  So if you are not anal about thes things go with a 16/18AWG cable.  I made allowances for hidden cabling, but in some spots the space just was not enough for 6 sets of thick cables to go thru.
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

I will take the final pics of the competed room once the sofa is in place.  I did not visit Harvey Norman as I found other alternatives for my furniture requirements...

Jason biggrin.gif
cry.gif cry.gif Means I got to find my own source now. Haiz...

How much was it again? Gimme the link pls.

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jan 7 2008, 03:48 PM)
whoa,

everything looks good! smile.gif

As for sofas, Harvey Norman now sells those HT sofas (Lazy Boy, Recliner) stuffs at Discounted rate.

Check out @ Ikano Power Center.
Ha! Ha! Lazy Boy is damn nice if you the highest end. But the price... my my... For a dedicated room, its worth it but if for the lving room, it looks a bit odd.
QUOTE(St.Daring @ Jan 7 2008, 04:33 PM)
Wow...how a simply room can become an AV room...

Now i have something to achieve this year 2008  rclxms.gif
Not simply. Lotsa work to be done. It looks easy only but not easy.
For Jason, he got a dedicated room that he can do without making lotsa problem to the rest. First of all, do you have an extra room to start with?
JonC
post Jan 7 2008, 07:25 PM

1,612 posts

notworthy.gif thumbup.gif Congrats Jason! Finally kautim the whole project and your collection of robotic toys is scary. brows.gif
TSjasonlky
post Jan 7 2008, 09:39 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 7 2008, 04:44 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif Means I got to find my own source now. Haiz...
How much was it again? Gimme the link pls.
You can get the cables at MCMINONE.COM. The shipping is by weight, each reel is about 7lbs, so u gotto check with USPS. The list price is US14.95, but if you put in a source/discount code "EMC021", the the price is US$12.00 each, hope its still applicable.

QUOTE(JonC @ Jan 7 2008, 07:25 PM)
notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif Congrats Jason! Finally kautim the whole project and your collection of robotic toys is scary.  brows.gif
The spaceships and robots are a passion of mine since childhood. I love those olde Sci Fi TV series from the 60s, 70s and 80s. Thanks for the congrats.

Jason biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Jan 7 2008, 11:27 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Nice work, Jason. Me a tad lazy. Ordered the Draper Luma (16:9) 92" screen. Now, waiting for the HDMI cable to arrive, which I bought online for a good price.
jchong
post Jan 8 2008, 11:05 PM

5,989 posts

Hi Jason,

Just saw this thread and I was quite eager to read your experiences since I'm planning to do the same thing later this year. Congrats on finishing the room... a good start to 2008 huh? I can see you put in quite a lot of time, effort and money into this project - a totally worthwhile endeavor.

So, any chance of us coming by to sample and admire your handiwork? Plus get some tips and advice.
jchong
post Jan 8 2008, 11:06 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 7 2008, 11:27 PM)
Nice work, Jason. Me a tad lazy. Ordered the Draper Luma (16:9) 92" screen. Now, waiting for the HDMI cable to arrive, which I bought online for a good price.
I suspect I'll take the easy way out and order a screen as well. Where did you get the Draper Luma screen and how much was it?
billyngcam
post Jan 8 2008, 11:16 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 7 2008, 11:27 PM)
Hi htkaki,

Mind to share which website did you get your "good price" HDMI cable? 1.3 compatible? I'm going to get the HD 65 from you soon.

For the HDMI cable, might need around 25' from A/V Amp to Projector... It might cost a bomb in Hi-Fi shop in Malaysia, right?
timothyy
post Jan 8 2008, 11:30 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jan 7 2008, 09:39 PM)
You can get the cables at MCMINONE.COM.  The shipping is by weight, each reel is about 7lbs, so u gotto check with USPS.  The list price is US14.95, but if you put in a source/discount code "EMC021", the the price is US$12.00 each, hope its still applicable.
The spaceships and robots are a passion of mine since childhood.  I love those olde Sci Fi TV series from the 60s, 70s and 80s.  Thanks for the congrats.

Jason biggrin.gif
Thanks.... I will try now.
QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 8 2008, 11:05 PM)
Hi Jason,

Just saw this thread and I was quite eager to read your experiences since I'm planning to do the same thing later this year. Congrats on finishing the room... a good start to 2008 huh? I can see you put in quite a lot of time, effort and money into this project - a totally worthwhile endeavor.

So, any chance of us coming by to sample and admire your handiwork? Plus get some tips and advice.
When I first stepped in his room, it was still a mess. Imagine like you just moved in to a new house. And that was almost a year ago. So... that's how much effort he put.

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 8 2008, 11:06 PM)
I suspect I'll take the easy way out and order a screen as well. Where did you get the Draper Luma screen and how much was it?
Got money, sure buy la... But for home theater... don't buy scrolling screen.
QUOTE(billyngcam @ Jan 8 2008, 11:16 PM)
Hi htkaki,

Mind to share which website did you get your "good price" HDMI cable? 1.3 compatible? I'm going to get the HD 65 from you soon.

For the HDMI cable, might need around 25' from A/V Amp to Projector... It might cost a bomb in Hi-Fi shop in Malaysia, right?
Wah... how you know htkaki sell HD65?
billyngcam
post Jan 8 2008, 11:35 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 8 2008, 11:30 PM)
Wah... how you know htkaki sell HD65?
ops! is this suppose to be a secret? sweat.gif

TSjasonlky
post Jan 9 2008, 09:44 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 8 2008, 11:05 PM)
Hi Jason,

If you or anyone is gonna be in my neck of the woods, drop me a PM/email and I'll try to accomodate you.

Jason
htkaki
post Jan 9 2008, 09:25 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Jan 8 2008, 11:16 PM)
Hi htkaki,

Hi! It is impossible to get cheap HDMI cable for that kind of length in Malaysia. I have given up hope searching one. So, I ended up buying it online for myself from Singapore. It's a 5M long HDMI cable which just cost me less than RM100. It sld reach here soon. smile.gif

It's ok to disclose here as I will be posting a thread to sell HD65 soon.

jchong
post Jan 9 2008, 10:22 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jan 9 2008, 09:44 AM)
If you or anyone is gonna be in my neck of the woods, drop me a PM/email and I'll try to accomodate you.

Jason
Will do. Thanks for the kind offer.

htkaki
post Jan 12 2008, 11:02 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 8 2008, 11:06 PM)

Actually I knew the dealer, so it is easy for me to buy tongue.gif Price is RM710 for this High Contrast Grey with a gain of 0.8

My HDMI cable yet to arrive. Disappointed. Hopefully, it will be here by early next week.

Added on January 18, 2008, 11:19 pmBro timothyy, jasonlky, and ar188, I finally tk the plunge. Bout myself HD65 projector to join u all

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jan 18 2008, 11:19 PM
TSjasonlky
post Jan 23 2008, 12:47 AM

451 posts

So after a couple of weeks, I have settled into my new AV room. Unfortunately I cannot find enough time to really use as often as I would like. Still some areas left unfinised, like painting the exposed walls and ceiling to a more cinema friendly dark blue and some unfinijed wall panelling... I have watched several movies in there plus spent many hours listening to my HIFI. I have found that its really comfortable, fell asleep on the sofa more than a few times while listening to my ESLs.

Here are some pictures to whet your appetite.

Front View of the screen

Another Front View

Speaker arrangement. I have my large ESLs for music standing right in front. Behind them are the Cinema speakers that are recessed into the cabinets. For center channel I have 1 speaker on top of the screen and another one below. i have not yet manufactured the bracket for the bottom one so currently it sits on top of the subwoofer.

The rear of the room. The sofa is a budget affair, its a sofa bed from Ikea. No funds to splurge on cinema seats. But trutfully, with some throw pilloes, its just as comfortable. I have fallen asleep on them many times already. The surround speakers are similarly recessed into the cabinets. I have 2 more "rear" surround speakers flanking the projector.

Jason biggrin.gif
mpyw
post Jan 23 2008, 08:13 AM

3,603 posts

... wow...congrats....
TSjasonlky
post Jan 23 2008, 10:34 AM

451 posts

I remember someone asking about the screen that I purchased. I think its a good value for money material, for a 110" diagonal screen I paid about RM150. From my recollection, my screen performs on par with the branded screens that I have auditioned in various shops before. The colours are much nicer and accurate compared to grey screens. Blacks are good, but then again, the Epson TW700 was already a good performer to start with. So my take on this screen is that it allows your projector to perform at its best without adding or subtracting any of its qualities. So if you have a good projector that does everything well, then I have no qualms in recommending this screen. However if your projector or room needs some help then shop around for the gain and screen tyoe that suits your environment.

DVD - Pioneer 555K or something like dat
AV Receiver - Yamaha RX-V657
Projector - Epson TW700 Calibrated using Avia. All connections via component.
Screen - DIY (ask me if you wanna know)
Hotspotting - none
Gain - stated at 1.3, but I think its closer to 1. Did not seem brighter
compared to my matt white wall (Maybe coz my matt white wall also has a gain of 1.3)
Viewing cone - >45 degrees on either side
Seating distance - 1.2-1.3 screen length
Pictures taken with Canon Ixus 700 3072 x 2304, then resized to 800x600

Here are some screenshots from the SWIII: Revenge of ths Sith.

Opening Screen

Our first look at General Grievous. I really like this charater, too bad his back story is not fleshed out in the movies.

Coruscant, the busy city planet.

Yoda and Anakin having a heart to heart tok. Black performance is good, details are all visible. The camera does not show the details, but its all there.

The Jedi Temple, notice the dark skies, foreboding difficult times ahead for Yoda and friends!!

Anakin confiding in Padme, hinting of his journey towards the Dark Side!!! Its dissapointing that Padme had such a minor role in this movie... after her superwoman provess in Episodes I and II.

Opening scenes from the Battle of Kashyyk.

Planet Utapau. Obi Wan Kenobi comes to this planet to kick some bio-mechanical butt aka General Grievous

Emperor Palpatine aka Darth Sidious, planning the takeover of the Galaxy. You can just make out the outlines of the Death Star....

Mace Windu and friends arrive to put an end to all these Dark Side nonsense. Mace is probably the most accomplished fighter the Jedi has... if anakin didn't show up, we probably would have Episodes IV, V and VI...

And the contract with the devil is sealed. Anakin the Jedi is transformed into Darth Vader the Sith Lord. This is such a poignant scene which I felt was let down by poor acting and an inadequate script. The whole premise of the original trilogy really stems from this scene. Leaves a lot to be desired....

Order 66 is issued to Comander Cody on Utapau, and so the empire turns on the Jedi.

The Jedi Temple is razed, every Jedi is killed. Its a sad day.

Yoda proceeds to confront Darth Sidious. Darth Sidious picks a fight and gives Yoda a taste of Force Lightning.

Yoda does not expect this and is thrown right across the room...

While Yoda and Sidious are duking it out, Obi Wan Kenobi and Vader battles it out on the Volcano planet of Mustafa.

Obi Wan Kenobi and Vader fighting on a river of lava. I like this elaborate fight scene. Fitting for these 2 great warriors.

Back to the Yoda vs Sidious fight, really menacing look of Sidious. The transformation from Palpatine to Sidious is so ..."creepy"... tabik to Ian McDiarmid and the make up team.

Yoda trying his best to kill Sidious, alas he is not as powerful as Mace Windu.

Well we know that in the end Vader lost to Obi Wan Kenobi, got his legs cut off and burnt to a crisp on Mustafa. Sidious rescues his protege and give him the necessary prosthetics to function normally again.

Can you hear me Lord Vader? the master calls to the apprentice

Hope you find these pictures useful if not then at least fun

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Jan 23 2008, 12:21 PM
grimdevil
post Jan 23 2008, 03:54 PM

132 posts

i have to say.. Great Job man.. congrats.
htkaki
post Jan 23 2008, 05:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

a very good job done. Breathtaking. How I wish I have enough budget to splurge.

Bro mpyw, when is your turn?
asciii
post Jan 23 2008, 10:22 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

anyone know how much does an automated white screen cost? I need some price estimation
fevercrash
post Jan 24 2008, 07:15 AM

671 posts

very cool home theatre!!!!! hope someday I will the budget to set up one like yours..
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 24 2008, 07:46 AM

247 posts

Great job man.. congrats. hope i've a genie to fulfill my wish to have a HT room like yours.
mpyw
post Jan 24 2008, 08:49 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 23 2008, 05:12 PM)
a very good job done. Breathtaking. How I wish I have enough budget to splurge.

Bro mpyw, when is your turn?
u sell me the Pannny Ae2000 for RM5k then we talk.... drool.gif brows.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 24 2008, 11:10 AM

727 posts

hohoho glod class
TSjasonlky
post Jan 24 2008, 12:09 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Jan 24 2008, 11:10 AM)
hohoho glod class
This is one of the most accurate description of a Home Theatre. Actually I feel its 1 level above Gold class since you get all the benefits of Gold class plus the freedom to do whatever else that tickles ur fancy.... like substitute popcorn for char kuay teow with extra chilli and kerang, cendol and ABC for coke/sprite. Pause to go to the toilet, replay scenes in case u missed ahem ... brows.gif"important dialogue":hehe:. That is if u don't mind waiting for movies to get on to DVDs.

I really enjoy the time spent with the family while indulging in one of mankind's great escapes. I have come to appreciate that this is another activity that a father and son can do together without interruption from mothers, sisters or grand parents... just father and son. I watch the Lion King or Finding Nemo with my son every weekend... priceless!

Thanks all for ur compliments. Don't just think about building an AV Room/Home Theatre, do it.

Jason biggrin.gif
mpyw
post Jan 24 2008, 12:55 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jan 24 2008, 12:09 PM)
Don't just think about building an AV Room/Home Theatre, do it.

Jason biggrin.gif
no money...no talk...
got money, no space, no talk
got space but wife say cannot also no talk

blush.gif tongue.gif
JonC
post Jan 24 2008, 05:09 PM

1,612 posts

The images from the projector and screen looks great mate! thumbup.gif Make me want to invest in a projector even more!!! Summore poison myself by hooking up my office's infocus portable pj to watch movie from my notebook doh.gif . brows.gif Although the image quality is so so, still nothing beat the image scale of the pj. sweat.gif

Maybe will save up more to get myself those Optoma 720p projectors.

This post has been edited by JonC: Jan 24 2008, 05:12 PM
htkaki
post Jan 25 2008, 11:52 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Jan 23 2008, 10:22 PM)
anyone know how much does an automated white screen cost? I need some price estimation

Depending on the size and material (HCG or MW).

u sell me the Pannny Ae2000 for RM5k then we talk.... 
Can, no porblemo. Let me order first and used it got abt 2 yrs, then sell to you at RM5K. Anjua?

no money...no talk...
got money, no space, no talk
got space but wife say cannot also no talk

HM again sad.gif susah ler if that's the case

pierreye
post Jan 25 2008, 04:46 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Jan 23 2008, 10:22 PM)
I currently own a Da-lite 72' screen width (84" diagonal for 16:9) motorized screen with HCMW (High Contrast Matte White) material. Purchase around RM 4k and I wish to let go at around RM 2k. Reason is I'm moving to new house and going for fixed screen format (most likely will get the Carada screen at 118').

This post has been edited by pierreye: Jan 25 2008, 04:51 PM
mys_terious
post Jan 26 2008, 11:03 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jan 25 2008, 04:46 PM)
I currently own a Da-lite 72' screen width (84" diagonal for 16:9) motorized screen with HCMW (High Contrast Matte White) material. Purchase around RM 4k and I wish to let go at around RM 2k. Reason is I'm moving to new house and going for fixed screen format (most likely will get the Carada screen at 118').
i guess the carada fixed screencosts a bomb.. does it?
asciii
post Jan 26 2008, 02:16 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jan 25 2008, 04:46 PM)

I am still trying to figure out what my screen size should be. Basically the seating will be around 8 feet from the screen. Could someone recommend me a screen size and projector distance itself from the screen?

Thanx
htkaki
post Jan 26 2008, 05:07 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

8ft from the screen is quite near. I dunno whether you have any space behind your seating area. What is the size of the room? If have, you could possibly ceiling mount it at the back.

I have attached a useful link for you to calculate :

http://www.projectorcentral.com/projection...culator-pro.cfm

The motorised screen in HDTV format (16:9) from Draper would easily cost above RM1,550 for a 73" HCG. A 92" would be about RM1,800

Both Da-Lite and Carada are good screens. Hence, it comes with a slightly premium price tag.

asciii
post Jan 26 2008, 07:33 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 26 2008, 05:07 PM)
8ft from the screen is quite near. I dunno whether you have any space behind your seating area. What is the size of the room? If have, you could possibly ceiling mount it at the back.

The motorised screen in HDTV format (16:9) from Draper would easily cost above RM1,550 for a 73" HCG. A 92" would be about RM1,800

Both Da-Lite and Carada are good screens. Hence, it comes with a slightly premium price tag.

I am attaching the floor plan of my house. I am planning to put the screen at the red line

So, based on that could you guys recommend the screen size?
billyngcam
post Jan 26 2008, 08:34 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Jan 26 2008, 07:33 PM)

I am attaching the floor plan of my house. I am planning to put the screen at the red line

So, based on that could you guys recommend the screen size?
Based on the ProjectorCentrl.com estimation, for a seating distance of 8 feet, you maximum recommended screen size would be around 80 ~ 90 inches.

asciii
post Jan 26 2008, 08:49 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

so, there shouldnt be a problem for me to put the screen at the area considering the seating distance?

jasonlky,

How far is your seating area from the screen? and how far is your projector mounted from the screen?

This post has been edited by asciii: Jan 27 2008, 11:36 AM
htkaki
post Jan 27 2008, 04:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

You need a short throw pj which is able to give big screen size at short length.

pierreye
post Jan 27 2008, 05:13 PM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Jan 26 2008, 11:03 AM)
i guess the carada fixed screencosts a bomb.. does it?
Yeah. Quoted around USD 800 for 118" screen. If include shipping + tax should be more than RM 4k.
asciii
post Jan 27 2008, 05:49 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 27 2008, 04:06 PM)
You need a short throw pj which is able to give big screen size at short length.
will either HD65/HD70 do the job?
TSjasonlky
post Jan 28 2008, 01:37 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Jan 26 2008, 08:49 PM)
jasonlky,

How far is your seating area from the screen? and how far is your projector mounted from the screen?
My seating distance is about 1.3 times screen width. Screen is 110" diagonal, 16:9.

Jason biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Jan 28 2008, 02:59 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Jan 27 2008, 05:49 PM)
will either HD65/HD70 do the job?

Difficult. Here's the link :

http://www.projectorcentral.com/Optoma-HD6...culator-pro.htm

pierreye
post Jan 28 2008, 07:00 PM

1,308 posts

recommended seating distance for 720p projector is 1.5x of your screen width. For 1080p you can go for 1x to 1.2x of your screen width. If you are looking for DLP 720p projector, I would advice better get the DarkChip3 version. The black level is quite low with higher contrast compare to darkchip2. I think some company is clearing the stock, you can try out Optoma HD73 or even the out of production HD79 if available (2 years ago retail for more than USD 5000)

This post has been edited by pierreye: Jan 28 2008, 07:06 PM
TSjasonlky
post Jan 29 2008, 01:55 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Jan 28 2008, 07:00 PM)
recommended seating distance for 720p projector is 1.5x of your screen width.  For 1080p you can go for 1x to 1.2x of your screen width.
1.5x is a bit too far, feel like watching a big TV oni. I sit between 1.2 to 1.3 for that immersive cinema feeling. Have no problems with screen door. Thumbs up to the Epson TW700, actually no screen door from 0.8x. But if you are really sensitive to screen door then I recommend Panasonic projectors, even at 0.3x cannot see the pixel. But ultimately its ur choicelah....

Jason biggrin.gif
asciii
post Jan 29 2008, 10:14 AM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 26 2008, 05:07 PM)

Bro,

What about the unmotorised wall mounted screen with the same specs? How much does it cost?

Also,

Could you pm me your shop address n contact number as I will most probably drop by your shop one of these days..Could you do the HD65 projector demo at that time so that I can measure the size of the display for my home and check whether the screen size is suitable for me or not.

Thx
elmer
post Jan 29 2008, 06:19 PM

219 posts

Hey Jason, I want to ask you about your speaker wires. I plan to get some as well for my home theater setup. Can you tell me where you bought it from and how much you paid for it? I have people quoting me RM 8 - 9 per meter for some cheap a$$ monster and belden cable.
TSjasonlky
post Jan 30 2008, 10:17 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(elmer @ Jan 29 2008, 06:19 PM)
Hey Jason, I want to ask you about your speaker wires. I plan to get some as well for my home theater setup. Can you tell me where you bought it from and how much you paid for it? I have people quoting me RM 8 - 9 per meter for some cheap a$$ monster and belden cable.
I bought it from US thru an online retailer. I posted the information here. Don't forget to add in shipping charges is u take this route.

When choosing the cable, look at the size of the conductor and not the insulation jacket. My final advise is not to go too thick, arbout 14-16AWG should do nicely. I used 12AWG and almost regretted is during installation coz theyr are just so hard to work with!!! Accoustic Research sells 14 and 16AWG cables at quite reasonable prices.

Btw, Belden are good cables, you can buy an entire reel from a wholesaler rather than getting a shop to sell by the meter. For the other cheap a$$ monster cable (I assume u are not referring to the US based Monster Cable Company), I would give that a miss unless u can get it real cheap.

Hope this was helpful.

Jason biggrin.gif
utellme
post Jan 30 2008, 11:19 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jan 29 2008, 01:55 AM)
1.5x is a bit too far, feel like watching a big TV oni.  I sit between 1.2 to 1.3 for that immersive cinema feeling.  Have no problems with screen door.  Thumbs up to the Epson TW700, actually no screen door from 0.8x.  But if you are really sensitive to screen door then I recommend Panasonic projectors, even at 0.3x cannot see the pixel.  But ultimately its ur choicelah....

Jason biggrin.gif
I reckon 1.2-1.3 is too near and you need more eye movement, 1.5x-1.6x will be good for 720p and 1.8x -2.1x for wga
TSjasonlky
post Jan 30 2008, 05:36 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Jan 30 2008, 11:19 AM)
I reckon 1.2-1.3 is too near and you need more eye movement, 1.5x-1.6x will be good for 720p and 1.8x -2.1x for wga
Your reasoning to sit at a given distance due to eye movement and projector resolution seems to be flawed.

Assuming the screen size is the same, whether you have a 720p, 1080p or WGA projector, the amount of "eye movement" is the same for a fixed seating distance. So for a 100" screen, if you sit 130" from the screen, your eye movement is the same for any projector resolution. When determining the seating distance, there are a 2 things to consider:

1. Keep a viewing cone of about 30degrees. More or less up to you, as long as you are comfortable. For me, I sit at about 1.3x screen width which works out to be a 40degree viewing cone.

2. If screen door bothers you, ie u don't like to see the pixels, then you will have to sit further back until you can't see it. The lower the resolution the further back u need to sit, ie 1080p can sit nearer, 480p may need to sit further back. This has nothing to do with eye movement.

So even if you decide that 1.3x is the best seating distance in terms of viewing cone, but because of screen door, you may need to sit at least 1.5x.

Hope this clears it up.

Jason biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Jan 31 2008, 05:17 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Jan 29 2008, 10:14 AM)
Bro,

What about the unmotorised wall mounted screen with the same specs? How much does it cost?
Also,

Could you pm me your shop address n contact number as I will most probably drop by your shop one of these days..Could you do the HD65 projector demo at that time so that I can measure the size of the display for my home and check whether the screen size is suitable for me or not.

Thx

Bro, the cost of normal screens depend whether it is a fixed screen or wall screen (roll).

bikz
post Jan 31 2008, 05:27 PM

386 posts

wow....i wish i stayed at ur home!! haha...
grandspy
post Jan 31 2008, 06:58 PM

The Mothership is here!
1,339 posts

Jasonlky,
First of all, congratulations for a project excellently executed!! It's absolutely marvelous.

I have a few questions though..

1) Your wall panels; what kind of material do you use? acoustically treated? fiberglass wools? How thick is it?
2) I'm thinking of using either curtains, wood panels or some other padded materials to cover the walls. Any advice?
3) Your floor; solid wood? wall-to-wall carpet?
4) The cabinet to house your electronics; build-in cabinets or purposely made hi-fi racks? materials?
5) Can I give you a visit? I need some ideas to do mine.

Thanks smile.gif
TSjasonlky
post Feb 2 2008, 02:50 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(bikz @ Jan 31 2008, 05:27 PM)
wow....i wish i stayed at ur home!! haha...
Sounded wierd the first time I read..... scarylah

QUOTE(grandspy @ Jan 31 2008, 06:58 PM)
Jasonlky,
First of all, congratulations for a project excellently executed!! It's absolutely marvelous.

I have a few questions though..

1) Your wall panels; what kind of material do you use? acoustically treated? fiberglass wools? How thick is it?
2) I'm thinking of using either curtains, wood panels or some other padded materials to cover the walls. Any advice?
3) Your floor; solid wood? wall-to-wall carpet?
4) The cabinet to house your electronics; build-in cabinets or purposely made hi-fi racks? materials?
5) Can I give you a visit? I need some ideas to do mine.
Thanks  smile.gif
Thank you for the compliment.

1) Wall Panels are made of 2inch foam glued to a ply wood backing. Then covered with fabric. All normal off the shelf stuff used, no special accoustically treated stuff.
2) What are you trying to achieve with the curtain/padded material? If you are trying to reduce reflection, then heavy curtains would do or something similar to mine would do just fine.
3) Floor is solid teak.
4) Normal MDF boards used for the cabinets, nothing special. This cabs are used to houe the Home theatre systems only. My audiophile stuff will be placed on the floor and special patforms just in front of screen near the ESL speakers.
5) I live in Bukit Rimau shah Alam. Drop me a PM if you are in my neighbourhood and I'll try to accomodate you.

Jason biggrin.gif
grandspy
post Feb 2 2008, 09:44 PM

The Mothership is here!
1,339 posts

Thanks Jason,

I don't quite like curtains.. would probably go for your approach.
Will definitely drop you a PM soon nod.gif
TSjasonlky
post Feb 4 2008, 10:33 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(grandspy @ Feb 2 2008, 09:44 PM)
Thanks Jason,

I don't quite like curtains.. would probably go for your approach.
Will definitely drop you a PM soon  nod.gif
Sure thing, look forward to it. I have been showing off the AV Room and my DIY projects every weekend since Begining of the year. Hope it will slow down a bit.

Jason biggrin.gif
ar188
post Feb 4 2008, 01:38 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jan 30 2008, 05:36 PM)
1. Keep a viewing cone of about 30degrees.  More or less up to you, as long as you are comfortable.  For me, I sit at about 1.3x screen width which works out to be a 40degree viewing cone.

good point about bringing up the viewing cone, I notice the discussion trend especially in AVS is that the wider is better, obviously that means, moving to 1080p at sitting nearer distances to the screen... i.e. using more elite equipment... biggrin.gif

Added on February 4, 2008, 1:52 pm
QUOTE(jasonlky @ Jan 29 2008, 01:55 AM)
1.5x is a bit too far, feel like watching a big TV oni.  I sit between 1.2 to 1.3 for that immersive cinema feeling.  Have no problems with screen door.  Thumbs up to the Epson TW700, actually no screen door from 0.8x.  But if you are really sensitive to screen door then I recommend Panasonic projectors, even at 0.3x cannot see the pixel.  But ultimately its ur choicelah....
yeah panny ones with smoothscreen have no SDE (screendooreffect) but at 720 (my AE900) if sit like 1x screen distance (diagonal)... you will start to notice the pixel structure instead of the main movie images...

This post has been edited by ar188: Feb 4 2008, 01:52 PM
TSjasonlky
post Feb 4 2008, 03:43 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 4 2008, 01:38 PM)
good point about bringing up the viewing cone, I notice the discussion trend especially in AVS is that the wider is better, obviously that means, moving to 1080p at sitting nearer distances to the screen... i.e. using more elite equipment...  biggrin.gif
Wide is better in most cases, coz fills your field of view and thus gives you a very immersive experience. However you want to avoid sitting too near when watching movies like "The Blair Witch Project" and "Cloverfield"... rclxub.gif. Halfway thru the show I could not take it, vomited and then slept immediately!!

Jason biggrin.gif
ar188
post Feb 4 2008, 05:02 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Feb 4 2008, 03:43 PM)
Wide is better in most cases, coz fills your field of view and thus gives you a very immersive experience.  However you want to avoid sitting too near when watching movies like "The Blair Witch Project" and "Cloverfield"... rclxub.gif.  Halfway thru the show I could not take it, vomited and then slept immediately!!

Jason biggrin.gif
those are "shaky hand home video camera" technique mah... different style of artistic camera work.. biggrin.gif

htkaki
post Feb 4 2008, 05:55 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I cldnt take it too. Too dizzy to watch
jchong
post Feb 5 2008, 04:57 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Feb 4 2008, 10:33 AM)
Sure thing, look forward to it.  I have been showing off the AV Room and my DIY projects every weekend since Begining of the year.  Hope it will slow down a bit. 

Jason biggrin.gif
You've been very kind to entertain the visitors. I've not even made an appointment to see your setup. smile.gif

In order not to inconvenience you too much, perhaps you should nominate a date so that those interested can show up. This way you can demo to several people at once (and also avoid repeating answering the same questions individually). Also helps you to know when people are coming (rather than surprise call on a weekend).

Cheers and Gong Xi Fa Cai to you!
TSjasonlky
post Feb 11 2008, 11:59 AM

451 posts

I am not so sure about organising such a day... I am happy to accomodate any visitors if I am free.

Jason biggrin.gif
apisgogo
post Feb 11 2008, 02:22 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

jason,

your wall panel. As u mentioned its a plywood then covered with fabric. Is it DIY? No acoustical treatments/certified right?

where u get it? price?

how does it perform? better insulation/absorptions?

me looking for a some kind of studio foam for my HT room. But quite hard to find lah.
TSjasonlky
post Feb 11 2008, 07:24 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Feb 11 2008, 02:22 PM)
jason,

your wall panel. As u mentioned its a plywood then covered with fabric. Is it DIY? No acoustical treatments/certified right?

where u get it? price?

how does it perform? better insulation/absorptions?

me looking for a some kind of studio foam for my HT room. But quite hard to find lah.
My wall panels are made of ply wood backing with 2 inch foam covered with fabric.

I am sure that you have your reasons for needing studio foam. I have been in a recording studio before and it is not a condusive environment for listening to music, recording yes, but not listening. Music tend to sound dead and unappealing.

Before any renovation, my room was accoustically ok. Even with the new glass cabinets, I find no untoward sound reflections or vibrations. The panels are made by the contractor that built the entire room for me, no acoustical treatments.

As I mentioned my room was accoustically fine before the renovation, with the wall panels, some of the high frequency reflection/prominence has been reduced. Mids and lows remain unchanged.

I have no way to compare my wall panels to commercially available insulation/absorption materials. So I cannot tell how it performs. If you are having trouble finding studio foam, try Ebay.

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Feb 11 2008, 07:28 PM
DigitalKL
post Feb 12 2008, 11:02 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 4 2008, 05:02 PM)
those are "shaky hand home video camera" technique mah... different style of artistic camera work..  biggrin.gif
ya like that Bourne Ultimatum also like that. This movie is good enuff la, no need to use shaky hand technique, making ppl dizzy only. and shoot behind ppls head, got one big blur bob on the screen..... doh.gif

Added on February 12, 2008, 11:04 am
QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 24 2008, 08:49 AM)
u sell me the Pannny Ae2000 for RM5k then we talk.... drool.gif  brows.gif
if got this price, wah pun mau.... brows.gif

Added on February 12, 2008, 11:10 amjasonlky, excellent job on your AV room

btw you got so many glass display shelves at the back, no problem with interfering with the sound?

btw any idea where i can get those nice plastic conduit to hide my ugly wires running on the floor? i know can get those electrician type.....squarish ones but looking for those like "speed bumps" (round edges) for running along the floor as seen in dept shops.

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Feb 12 2008, 11:10 AM
htkaki
post Feb 12 2008, 02:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

If RM5K for AE2000 hor, I will be the first one to buy. Then, ar188 followed by mpyw and digitalkl. rx330? Intentionally left him out since he said his obsecenely huge crib aint got space for it
DigitalKL
post Feb 12 2008, 04:09 PM

1,360 posts

give it two three years i think can drop to 5k wan
rx330
post Feb 12 2008, 04:19 PM

11,811 posts

woi, wen i say i got huge crib wor??????
htkaki
post Feb 12 2008, 04:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taikor, at least to me lah when compare to your crib.
TSjasonlky
post Feb 12 2008, 05:03 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Feb 12 2008, 11:02 AM)
ya like that Bourne Ultimatum also like that. This movie is good enuff la, no need to use shaky hand technique, making ppl dizzy only. and shoot behind ppls head, got one big blur bob on the screen..... doh.gif

jasonlky, excellent job on your AV room

btw you got so many glass display shelves at the back, no problem with interfering with the sound?

btw any idea where i can get those nice plastic conduit to hide my ugly wires running on the floor? i know can get those electrician type.....squarish ones but looking for those like "speed bumps" (round edges) for running along the floor as seen in dept shops.
Bourne Ultimatum is still OK coz the shaky camera action is only for selected scenes and not like cloverfield where it is used for the entire movie.

Btw thanks for the compliments, surprisingly the hinged glass doors which are directly behind the sitting area do not pose any problems, no untoward reflections or vibrations. However I have some sliding glass doors to my left, and these vibrate a bit from the LFE. When listening to music no problems at all, unless it is some bass heavy track.

I would venture that ACE HW should have the conduit/trunking that you are referring to you. Else shoparound at our local hardware shops.

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Feb 12 2008, 05:07 PM
DigitalKL
post Feb 12 2008, 05:18 PM

1,360 posts

I just moved into this new place and slowly setting up my AV room. now 7788 already. today just put up some movie posters. somehow my sound a bit cacat liao....dunno why. havent figure it out yet.

have a look -

billyngcam
post Feb 12 2008, 05:37 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Feb 12 2008, 05:18 PM)
I just moved into this new place and slowly setting up my AV room. now 7788 already. today just put up some movie posters. somehow my sound a bit cacat liao....dunno why. havent figure it out yet.

have a look -

bro,

nice poster you've there drool.gif
where to get those poster hah? hmm.gif
TSjasonlky
post Feb 12 2008, 07:48 PM

451 posts

have a look -

Yah nice posters, I was interested in putting up posters too.... but then I thought of another solution, I'd put movie related merchandise in my display cabinets instead. Now all my toys and collectibles are just stuffed into the cabinets... they look more like storage cabinets than display cabinets.

Jason biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Feb 13 2008, 08:50 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Nice comfy sofa. Bro, what did you put on the AE-200?
TSjasonlky
post Feb 13 2008, 08:59 AM

451 posts

Not sure what u mean by "sound a bit cacat". Try pulling your seapkers out of the corners. Should not be equi distant to either walls. E.g. 3 ft from the rear and 1 ft from the side or something like that. What spearker are those anyways?

Jason biggrin.gif
DigitalKL
post Feb 13 2008, 10:52 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 13 2008, 08:50 AM)
Nice comfy sofa. Bro, what did you put on the AE-200?
first off, I want to apologize to jasonlky if I'm intruding onto his thread. sorry sorry... sweat.gif

the ae200, what is on it? thats a mouse I think. i rest the whole thing on this metal tray which i bought from Ikea (not shown in pics below). My wife says she bought it at the kitchen section. I went to Ikea on Monday and coulnt find it anymore so I curi my wife's one....kekeke.

here is a better view -

I think I will have to move my receiver to the rear as well because I dun want to spend on a 8 meter long toslink cable to hook up a PS3. I have extra length speaker cables.

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Feb 13 2008, 08:59 AM)
Not sure what u mean by "sound a bit cacat". Try pulling your seapkers out of the corners. Should not be equi distant to either walls. E.g. 3 ft from the rear and 1 ft from the side or something like that. What spearker are those anyways?

Jason biggrin.gif
now my sound is like boxy a bit. sorry i dunno how to describe it better. my room small i guess and the ceiling is low so maybe gives an enclosed sound.

my speakers is not equal as you can see in the pic. so what do i need? cry.gif

my setup is like this -

pj = panny ae200
rx = yamaha RX-V795
speakers = Energy Take 5
sub = paradigm PDR12
dvd player = foc philips from UOB kekeke..... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Feb 13 2008, 10:54 AM
kancheong
post Feb 13 2008, 11:46 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Feb 13 2008, 10:52 AM)

now my sound is like boxy a bit. sorry i dunno how to describe it better. my room small i guess and the ceiling is low so maybe gives an enclosed sound.

my speakers is not equal as you can see in the pic. so what do i need?  cry.gif

my setup is like this -

pj = panny ae200
rx = yamaha RX-V795
speakers = Energy Take 5
sub = paradigm PDR12
You may want to put some curtains at the windows, that may help, ceiling to floor
TSjasonlky
post Feb 13 2008, 12:46 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Feb 13 2008, 10:52 AM)
first off, I want to apologize to jasonlky if I'm intruding onto his thread. sorry sorry... sweat.gif

my speakers is not equal as you can see in the pic. so what do i need?  cry.gif

my setup is like this -

pj = panny ae200
rx = yamaha RX-V795
speakers = Energy Take 5
sub = paradigm PDR12
Don't worry about intruding in this thread.

I have not heard the Energy Take 5, but I have never liked satelite speakers. I would say the boxy sound is caused by in adequate crossover between the satelites and the subwoofer. This inadequate crossover causes a dip in the mid to low bass frequencies and thus the boxy sound. Try moving up the crossover frequency and see what happens. Also move your speakers out from the wall a bit.

Good idea to move the AV receiver coz dun think its a goo thing to leave it on the sub doh.gif

Jason biggrin.gif
mpyw
post Feb 13 2008, 03:40 PM

3,603 posts

demn nice setup u all have...make me jealous only...

anyone can get this pj for me ar? USD1399 for a 1080p pj ...

http://www.electronichouse.com/article/dea...utm_medium=side

rx330
post Feb 13 2008, 04:25 PM

11,811 posts

nice.... me also envy...
htkaki
post Feb 13 2008, 05:13 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 13 2008, 04:25 PM)
nice.... me also envy...

No need to envy. It's a matter of you want it or not only

rx330
post Feb 14 2008, 10:53 AM

11,811 posts

i want it, but cant afford it, tats why i envy sad.gif
kena pijak once again
TSjasonlky
post Feb 18 2008, 01:44 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 14 2008, 10:53 AM)
i want it, but cant afford it, tats why i envy sad.gif
kena pijak once again
No pijak allowed in my thread.... biggrin.gif

Since u know what you want oledi, I guess its a matter of working towards it. You'll have to start with a financial plan and a budget...

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 18 2008, 08:59 AM

11,811 posts

ah jason gor gor... how much it cost u to make the projector screen ar? blush.gif
and u mind telling avthin abt the screen? (the pictorial with the stretching i aredi went thru )
TSjasonlky
post Feb 18 2008, 10:35 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2008, 08:59 AM)
ah jason gor gor... how much it cost u to make the projector screen ar? blush.gif
and u mind telling avthin abt the screen? (the pictorial with the stretching i aredi went thru )
Dun call me like datlah, paiseh. Here are the components:

1. 2 frames, 1 for the blackout cloth the will border the screen and the other for the main viewing screen. Cost of each frame about RM200-300, labor plus materials. The frame for the blackout border is optional but looks nicer when mounted on a frame.

2. A length of blackout cloth, I chose a black velvety material that is non shiny. About RM2.50per meter. If u buy specialist blackout material then it will cost a bit more for no additional benefits.

3. The projector screen material, can be obtained from local AV shop (expensive), local computer shop (cheap but quality may not be good). For me I bought it thru ebay, RM180 shipped to my door step, quality as good as the branded ones... seriously!

4. Time and effort to install the blackout cloth and screen to the frames. I used glue to wrap the blackout cloth around its frame. I used a staple gun to install the screen to its frame.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 18 2008, 10:46 AM

11,811 posts

wooo, kamxia

ok, lets see.... so its 2 different parts, one is just the frame, and the other one is the centre, so both parts are individually hang to the wall?

shud the thickness of both parts be the same, or the frame make it thicker? and out of curiousity, why dun u paint the frame black instead of warrping it?
TSjasonlky
post Feb 18 2008, 03:22 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2008, 10:46 AM)
wooo, kamxia

ok, lets see.... so its 2 different parts, one is just the frame, and the other one is the centre, so both parts are individually hang to the wall?

shud the thickness of both parts be the same, or the frame make it thicker? and out of curiousity, why dun u paint the frame black instead of warrping it?
the blackout frame is nailed/glued to the wooden backing (no wall). The the screen is just "slotted" into the blackout frame. So I can pull it out easily in the future.

I don't think the thinkness of either really matters. You could paint it you want, just find non reflective matt black paint. If you are mounting your screen on the wall, then by all means paint the wall instead. Save money on the frame.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 18 2008, 03:31 PM

11,811 posts

just slotted in? wont tat thing fall of or anything? !!!!!!!!!

ask ur advice, 68" worth getting projector ornot?
htkaki
post Feb 18 2008, 04:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I guess it is not that heavy. So, it should hold.

68"? I guess that the max screen size you could get out it, right?
rx330
post Feb 18 2008, 04:24 PM

11,811 posts

yeah lor.. no space... but my distance btwn the projector and hte wall would be abt 5-6 metres....
TSjasonlky
post Feb 18 2008, 04:50 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2008, 03:31 PM)
just slotted in? wont tat thing fall of or anything? !!!!!!!!!

ask ur advice, 68" worth getting projector ornot?
Its a "perfect" fit so it won't fall off.

68" issue I already reply in the HT discussion thread, go and read therelah, dun want to repeat again here. smile.gif

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 18 2008, 04:53 PM

11,811 posts

wah seh, perfect slot...
so if i built the frame, the inner part of the ply wood for the screen, do excatly the same size as the empty part will do lar?
even after stapling the screen, i guess the thickness will still be minimal rite?
TSjasonlky
post Feb 18 2008, 05:06 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2008, 04:53 PM)
wah seh, perfect slot...
so if i built the frame, the inner part of the ply wood for the screen, do excatly the same size as the empty part will do lar?
even after stapling the screen, i guess the thickness will still be minimal rite?
I asked my contractor to have to allow for the thickness of the blackout cloth and the screen material, the inner frame is smaller by 0.5mm.

If you used a solid piece of plywood, it would be very heavy. It would be better to build a frame... just like a picture frame and then use a brace in the middle to strengthen the long sides..

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 18 2008, 07:21 PM

11,811 posts

yeah... tats wat i need to know... ok, 0.5mm allowance

will follow ur example of frame, but wat u mean by using a brace in the middle to strenghten?
TSjasonlky
post Feb 18 2008, 08:19 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2008, 07:21 PM)
yeah... tats wat i need to know... ok, 0.5mm allowance

will follow ur example of frame, but wat u mean by using a brace in the middle to strenghten?
I mean 0.5cm or 5mm. Best to get all the materials and then make a proper estimation for the allowance then.

A Brace is the center piece of wood that supports the long sides of the frame. If u are building a 68" frame, u may not need the brace, just the frame is enuf. I hope the picture below helps....

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Feb 18 2008, 08:31 PM
rx330
post Feb 18 2008, 10:36 PM

11,811 posts

yeah... i saw this pic many times liao... i dreamt of it even... blush.gif

so basiclally the middle set of ply wood has only the puter frame for support, with no nails or anything, only the outer frame is nailed to the wall

just now did a comparison for size... 42 to 68..... massive....

btw, must the projector point @ the centre of the projection screen? or no need?
TSjasonlky
post Feb 19 2008, 09:47 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2008, 10:36 PM)
yeah... i saw this pic many times liao... i dreamt of it even... blush.gif

so basiclally the middle set of ply wood has only the puter frame for support, with no nails or anything, only the outer frame is nailed to the wall

just now did a comparison for size... 42 to 68..... massive....

btw, must the projector point @ the centre of the projection screen? or no need?
To tell u the truth, initially I intended to secure the middle set with a clip, but because it fit so nicely to the outer frame, I did not bother. I think u need to prepare to use additional support incase the fit is not good. If the fitt is secure, then no need any additional support.

The projector does not need to point at the center of the screen. How much off center can you place the projector? That depends on the availability of the vertical and horizontal lens shift function on the projector as some can do more and others less. Zoom is another important factor when it comes to placement, it determines how near or far back you can place the projector. Read about projector flexibility here. After that read the whole section about buying guide.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 19 2008, 10:30 AM

11,811 posts

tenkiu bery muchie
yesterday was brwosing thru some setups
i notice they have this 16:9 screen which can transform to a 2.35:1 size,
but an anamorphic lense is needed rite? i heard its very epensip?

Added on February 19, 2008, 10:41 amread abt flexibility liao...
but the hd65 and aw 10 also not really tat flexible sad.gif

This post has been edited by rx330: Feb 19 2008, 10:41 AM
TSjasonlky
post Feb 19 2008, 11:38 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 19 2008, 10:30 AM)
tenkiu bery muchie
yesterday was brwosing thru some setups
i notice they have this 16:9 screen which can transform to a 2.35:1 size,
but an anamorphic lense is needed rite? i heard its very epensip?

Added on February 19, 2008, 10:41 amread abt flexibility liao...
but the hd65 and aw 10 also not really tat flexible sad.gif
Anamorphic conversion lense can cost as much as a new projector rclxub.gif. My Epson TW700 cannot does not have the vertical stretch so I have no use for this, not that I have spare cash to spend on this....

This feature is actually used by the lumen challenged but oh so expensive projectors like the Runco's,JVC's RS2/HD1 and Sony's VW series. After paying so much, the owner's would like to maximise the use of the projector. And watching a 2:35 movie with letter box is just not on, plus the light output is not maximised due to the letter boxing. The vertical stretch plus the anamorphic conversion lense then increases the light output to the projectors maximum.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 19 2008, 11:47 AM

11,811 posts

so ic... cuntclusion...
anamorphic lense not for peasants

read the buying guide aredi, only flexibnility issues
and hor... it seems tat its impossible to get 68" @ a 15 feet thrwoing distance.... sad.gif any ideas?
htkaki
post Feb 19 2008, 02:47 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, you opt for long-throw lens?
rx330
post Feb 19 2008, 02:53 PM

11,811 posts

wat u mean by tat? hd65 lor... i use the calculator...
spore no bring in, they say the 65 lousy kaler... i was heart broken....
TSjasonlky
post Feb 25 2008, 09:35 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 19 2008, 02:53 PM)
I am surprised that Singapore dun have....

Kennot say tat the HD65 is lousylah, its a budget entry from Optoma and is priced accordingly. Its like saying buy Bata shoes but not comfortable like Adidas/<insert favorite shoe brand>....

But one thing is for sure, the placement of the HD65 is not flexible, so u mut take not of that.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 25 2008, 10:12 AM

11,811 posts

yeah, no lens shift, so must exact projected screen centre point?

i was wondering, if i just do a frame, without the middle insert, and stretch the screen to the back of the frame , wat are the disadvantages?

btw, wats ur screen size diagonally and the frame panel width?
TSjasonlky
post Feb 25 2008, 11:59 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2008, 10:12 AM)
i was wondering, if i just do a frame, without the middle insert, and stretch the screen to the back of the frame , wat are the disadvantages?
I am not sure what u mean... so u just do 1 frame and install both the blackout cloth plus screen on 1 frame. I don't see any problmes with this. As long as your wood is hard and don't flex when you stretch the screen over it ... should be fine.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2008, 10:12 AM)
btw, wats ur screen size diagonally and the frame panel  width?
My screen size is a 16:9 110" diagonal, 96" x 54"

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 25 2008, 12:35 PM

11,811 posts

yea, tats wat i meant, so no problems eh? thanks biggrin.gif

sorry, i meant just the frame width, the one u wrap with black velvet one
TSjasonlky
post Feb 25 2008, 05:04 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2008, 12:35 PM)
yea, tats wat i meant, so no problems eh? thanks biggrin.gif

sorry, i meant just the frame width, the one u wrap with black velvet one
The blackout cloth is 6 inches wide, but you need to make sure that it is "in scale" with your screen. I.e. you should not use a 6inch border with a 68inch screen, so pls scale it accordingly if not it may look funny.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 25 2008, 06:47 PM

11,811 posts

yea.... tats wat im wondering, most prolly i will go up to 76" , any advice on the size i shud allocate the border? 3.5" ?
ar188
post Feb 25 2008, 07:01 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2008, 06:47 PM)
yea.... tats wat im wondering, most prolly i will go up to 76" , any advice on the size i shud allocate the border? 3.5" ?
finally going proj? rclxms.gif
TSjasonlky
post Feb 25 2008, 09:35 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2008, 06:47 PM)
This is what I did, I bought the projector first... then I experimented on the screen size and seating position before I built my theatre. May be u should do the same since u still not sure about these things. I mean u can prepare the materials just make sure u know what u want before you build it. A screen too big or too small = potong stim

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Feb 26 2008, 10:12 AM
htkaki
post Feb 26 2008, 09:34 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 19 2008, 02:53 PM)

Sporean is filthy rich. So, to them it is lousy stuff since they could afford more expensive pj.

finally going proj?  rclxms.gif

I guess he couldn't resist the cinematic temptation tongue.gif and all those poisoning

rx330
post Feb 26 2008, 10:25 PM

11,811 posts

yeah, need to get one myself then only work slowly,,,,
problem is,,,,, dlp or 3lcd blush.gif

sporean not many main projector, most stay in hdb nia biggrin.gif
many 32" users one
htkaki
post Feb 27 2008, 08:40 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

But, still cocky enough to say HD65 lousy even with limited space. LOL.

But, we can say too, "32" too small lah. This kind of size can out in my rather small bathroom; maybe abt 6' x 10' to watch news or MTV while I do my biz there." tongue.gif
mpyw
post Feb 27 2008, 08:43 AM

3,603 posts

htkaki memang elite...got 32" LCD TV in toilet to watch news... notworthy.gif
rx330
post Feb 27 2008, 09:08 AM

11,811 posts

kekekek... sporean lar...
bedroom wanna put 26" , knn... my bedroom i think my wife would only be satisfied if i get a 42 tongue.gif

htkaki.... er... how serious is the rainbow effeect on the opto?
htkaki
post Feb 27 2008, 09:29 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

depending on each individual's eyes. Mine aint that sensitive. So, not a problem for me. I felt it is way better than a DLP pj that I watched at a friend's home.
rx330
post Feb 27 2008, 10:49 AM

11,811 posts

hmmm, wokie so no rainbo issues
u seen the sony AW demo b4?
htkaki
post Feb 27 2008, 11:32 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Ruby, yes along wt ar188 and another taikor. But not AW10 and 15.
rx330
post Feb 27 2008, 11:39 AM

11,811 posts

me not up to ruby standard yet, ruby is 3lcd and 1080p rite?
is th pixel viewable?
mpyw
post Feb 27 2008, 11:50 AM

3,603 posts

AW10 or 15 out dated liao lar...get the AW60 or 100 lar...for rx's status....no problem
rx330
post Feb 27 2008, 11:58 AM

11,811 posts

tat one out of my budget, shudsuits u better

TSjasonlky
post Feb 27 2008, 04:44 PM

451 posts

Wah tok until Ruby blink.gif . Current King of the Hill is JVC's RS2... If strike lottery... I wil go and buy straight away...

Ihave seen the AW10 before, colours not nice, the pic abit dull.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 28 2008, 09:49 AM

11,811 posts

ah jason gor gor, urs is DLP based as well?

aw10 out then... i think aw 15 with more contrast couldnt help it either?
htkaki
post Feb 28 2008, 02:31 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 27 2008, 11:50 AM)
AW10 or 15 out dated liao lar...get the AW60 or 100 lar...for rx's status....no problem

Erm, I think you have got it wrong, bro. He would prefer Runco. tongue.gif

billeng
post Feb 28 2008, 04:08 PM

Hi Jason,

I just found this forum! May I know where you bought the screen? good? how much?

As for me, I have bought almost all the accessories for HT except screen.

I bought InFocus In74 from Singapore @ S$1600 last August 07
11 meters HDMI from bluejean cable @ RM300+
I have one marantz amp.; mission M31; Audio Pro Ego front and Sub;
Surround speaker stand from malaysia AV show
Logitech universal remote control from HK website
Pioneer DVD with 1080P upscaling
cable (can't remember the brand)

The total cost only less than RM11000/=

But I'm looking fixed screen - consider Draper cineperm or OS Screen Or local distributor for stationary shop!

My new house will be ready next 2 month, I will use the half floor for the HT.

Any Jason! nice work on your HT! Who is the carpenter? Reasonable price??

Bill
TSjasonlky
post Feb 28 2008, 05:25 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(billeng @ Feb 28 2008, 04:08 PM)
Hi Jason,

I just found this forum! May I know where you bought the screen? good? how much?

Bill
Impressive list of stuff u got there.... Good price for the IN74 too. WHere are u from?

My screen can be found on ebay, shipped to Malaysia, it cost me RM180 for a 110" diagonal screen. I would say that It is on par with the branded screens that you have mentioned. If you want to kno exactly where, send me a PM.

The carpenter that did my Theatre is my Uncle. His price are reasonable, workmanship is very good.

One more thing welcome to the forum/thread.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 28 2008, 05:27 PM

11,811 posts

jason, u mind posting the ebay seller's link ar?

and hor, u using white or grey screen?
htkaki
post Feb 28 2008, 05:50 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I think he is using matt white
ar188
post Feb 28 2008, 07:47 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(billeng @ Feb 28 2008, 04:08 PM)
Hi Jason,

As for me, I have bought almost all the accessories for HT except screen.

I bought InFocus In74 from Singapore @ S$1600 last August 07
11 meters HDMI from bluejean cable @ RM300+
I have one marantz amp.; mission M31; Audio Pro Ego front and Sub;
Surround speaker stand from malaysia AV show
Logitech universal remote control from HK website
Pioneer DVD with 1080P upscaling
cable (can't remember the brand)

The total cost only less than RM11000/=

But I'm looking fixed screen - consider Draper cineperm or OS Screen Or local distributor for stationary shop!

My new house will be ready next 2 month, I will use the half floor for the HT.

Bill
aiseh, spend 11k and no HD source? mana boleh???? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif it's like buying a porsche with a BLM saga engine and tires..... cry.gif tongue.gif

billeng
post Feb 28 2008, 09:15 PM

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 28 2008, 07:47 PM)
aiseh, spend 11k and no HD source? mana boleh????  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  it's like buying a porsche with a BLM saga engine and tires.....   cry.gif  tongue.gif
RM11000 consider as kancil only!! icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on February 28, 2008, 9:26 pm
QUOTE(jasonlky @ Feb 28 2008, 05:25 PM)
Impressive list of stuff u got there.... Good price for the IN74 too.  WHere are u from?

My screen can be found on ebay, shipped to Malaysia, it cost me RM180 for a 110" diagonal screen.  I would say that It is on par with the branded screens that you have mentioned.  If you want to kno exactly where, send me a PM.

The carpenter that did my Theatre is my Uncle.  His price are reasonable, workmanship is very good.

One more thing welcome to the forum/thread.

Jason biggrin.gif
Is S$1300 not S$1600. It's actually come with the InFocus 92' pull down screen but I can't manage to carry back and sold off through yahoo auction Singapore. The HDMI cable from Blue Jean is very good & clear picture and they even provide a very good services. Anyway, I'm fr Puchong! Do u put any soundproof? As for me, I plan for the thick curtain on the wall.

The projector is a duty free item in Malaysia and I don't know why the shop sell on RM5+++ during August 07!

Bill

This post has been edited by billeng: Feb 28 2008, 09:26 PM
htkaki
post Feb 29 2008, 09:13 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Actually, IMHO, IN74 is way overprice here for a SD pj. Or shall I say Infocus is expensive in Bolehland? S$1,300 is a good price though since it come with 92" screen.

TSjasonlky
post Feb 29 2008, 09:30 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 28 2008, 05:27 PM)
jason, u mind posting the ebay seller's link ar?

and hor, u using white or grey screen?
The seller is found in ebay, link here. The seller says its matt white, which is supposed to have a gain of 1. But then says that it has a gain of 1.3. Confusing. In reality its a white screen with a slight silvery sheen to the threads in the material. So I think the gain is around 1.1 or so.

I do not like grey screens because they cause the whites to be crushed.. ie come out of white/greyish. The other colours are also not accurate. Have to calibrate the colours to get it right.

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Feb 29 2008, 10:25 AM
rx330
post Feb 29 2008, 10:26 AM

11,811 posts

tahnks for the links jason
can someone advice me the screen i need to get and the gain?

http://www.projectorcentral.com/Sony-BRAVI...culator-pro.htm

my throw distance, 9 feet

This post has been edited by rx330: Feb 29 2008, 10:28 AM
TSjasonlky
post Feb 29 2008, 12:41 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 29 2008, 10:26 AM)
tahnks for the links jason
can someone advice me the screen i need to get and the gain?

http://www.projectorcentral.com/Sony-BRAVI...culator-pro.htm

my throw distance, 9 feet
My pleasure for the link...

Is ur room lighting fully controlled or got ambient light?

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 29 2008, 12:47 PM

11,811 posts

i dun think i can get 100% darkness , a little bit ambience light

and is it possible for daytime viewing?
TSjasonlky
post Feb 29 2008, 12:47 PM

451 posts

Using the calculator, you have no problems with image brightness. At a throw distance of 9' and at full 1.10 zoom, you have plenty of brightness for an 80" diagonal screen

So go get any screen with a gain of 1.0 or less. It will be perfect for daytime viewing... but with curtains drawn. I.e not totally dark. U are getting 42foot-Lamberts... Most cinemas like GSC and TGV only manage 8-12 foot-Lamberts.

In my setup, I only get 21 foot-lamberts which is plenty bright.

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Feb 29 2008, 12:52 PM
rx330
post Feb 29 2008, 12:53 PM

11,811 posts

0.8 but grey kaler one ok ar?
how to decide to go white or grey?
TSjasonlky
post Feb 29 2008, 02:25 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 29 2008, 12:53 PM)
Grey screen is to serve 3 main purpose:
1. Provide better colour contrast
2. Boost black levels
3. Reduce light reflections, especially when there is a light source shining directly at the screen.

But for me the grey screen makes the colours inaccurate and especially the white will become offwhite/grey. You will have to test the grey and white screens to decide for yourself.

Jason biggrin.gif
ar188
post Feb 29 2008, 02:42 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 29 2008, 12:53 PM)
brader, nowadays go white lor.. (using 90s era digital projector izzit? grey screen?) biggrin.gif
megatron007
post Feb 29 2008, 02:44 PM

4,000 posts

grey no giving more darkness ar??
ar188
post Feb 29 2008, 02:45 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Feb 29 2008, 02:44 PM)
grey doesn't give you white, simple as that... can't stand those white scenes that are greyish..
TSjasonlky
post Feb 29 2008, 03:00 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 29 2008, 02:42 PM)
brader, nowadays go white lor.. (using 90s era digital projector izzit? grey screen?)  biggrin.gif
Maybe he got some jalan to get grey screen at good price leh...

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Feb 29 2008, 02:44 PM)
gey screens adjusts the colours, most noticebly the whites... look off white/greyish.

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 29 2008, 02:45 PM)
grey doesn't give you white, simple as that... can't stand those white scenes that are greyish..
Totally agree.

Jason biggrin.gif

rx330
post Mar 1 2008, 10:44 AM

11,811 posts

no jalan lar....

just wanna learn nia

ok lor.. then i get white one blush.gif
mpyw
post Mar 1 2008, 11:07 AM

3,603 posts

all elite here...notworthy.gif
rx330
post Mar 1 2008, 11:22 AM

11,811 posts

get the cheapest item 1st lor.. then avday see the cloth until save enuff for projector....
htkaki
post Mar 1 2008, 03:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Mar 1 2008, 11:07 AM)
all elite here...notworthy.gif

Including you tongue.gif

mpyw
post Mar 1 2008, 03:54 PM

3,603 posts

me e-lek (read in Indian accent brows.gif) biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Mar 1 2008, 03:57 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

if someone going to have a 50" Full HD plasma is considered as non-elite, I dunno what criteria would be appropriate
mpyw
post Mar 1 2008, 04:01 PM

3,603 posts

not going to have...."THINKING" to have....blush.gif
htkaki
post Mar 1 2008, 04:11 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

at least, dare to think abt it. It didnt even cross my peasant's mind sweat.gif
rx330
post Mar 1 2008, 11:10 PM

11,811 posts

ya lor... 50 " 14k .....
htkaki
post Mar 2 2008, 05:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I cant afford it. But, I do not know abt you, rx330. Maybe you could.

Oh yes, ar188 told me that 4th gen 1080p pj might be out in end 2008.
TSjasonlky
post Mar 3 2008, 09:43 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 2 2008, 05:58 PM)
I cant afford it. But, I do not know abt you, rx330. Maybe you could.

Oh yes, ar188 told me that 4th gen 1080p pj might be out in end 2008.
More importantly the 4th Gen 1080p shud MORE affordable!!

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Mar 3 2008, 10:28 AM

11,811 posts

hmmm, might be only...
must experience only then know whther 1080p is better than 720p in both price and effect
megatron007
post Mar 3 2008, 11:17 AM

4,000 posts

yea

who view-ed WOW 1080p projector in action??

RAISE HAND biggrin.gif
TSjasonlky
post Mar 3 2008, 11:21 AM

451 posts

On such a large viewing screens that we are contemplating using projectors, 1080 will defintely be better. How better? To me the main benefit is less pixelisation. The 720's screen door on the Epson TW700 is annoying when visible.... especially when the movie is slow going.

In terms of pricing 1080s will most certainly always be relatively more expensive compared to the 720s. Just like 720s are always more expensive then then 480s.

The important factor is will the absolute price of the 1080s drop to a level where its benefits exceed the asking price...

Jason
rx330
post Mar 3 2008, 12:12 PM

11,811 posts

something like 42 " lCDs 1080 sellin @ 6999 now biggrin.gif

but for me, 720p has always been sufficient
mpyw
post Mar 3 2008, 12:16 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 3 2008, 12:12 PM)

U will never know.....1 day u change house and u have a huge wall of 200"....then U'll want 2160p liao laugh.gif
rx330
post Mar 3 2008, 12:24 PM

11,811 posts

by the time i change house, my potential hd65 ardi fully utilise liao biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Mar 6 2008, 05:47 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 3 2008, 12:24 PM)
by the time i change house, my potential hd65 ardi fully utilise liao biggrin.gif

To change a new house is not an easy task esp in JB. Tks to rocket high property price.

rx330 maybe right abt it biggrin.gif

ar188
post Mar 6 2008, 06:45 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Mar 3 2008, 09:43 AM)
More importantly the 4th Gen 1080p shud MORE affordable!!

Jason biggrin.gif
JA!

if not why bother with newer gen hor.. unless it's due to 25% price drop to replace mid end 720p market segment (maybe local pricing =5-7k segment) biggrin.gif

Added on March 6, 2008, 6:47 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 3 2008, 12:12 PM)

with smoothscreen technology from panny, "720p" so far has been adequate for me. if without that, 720p LCD projs from other makes would have quite awful chicken wire/screendoor effect at the distance I'm sitting (1.1-1.3x)

This post has been edited by ar188: Mar 6 2008, 06:47 PM
rx330
post Mar 6 2008, 11:44 PM

11,811 posts

3LCD sucks
megatron can vouch biggrin.gif

prices here go up becos of the IDR thingy nia, but hor, once u buy the house, it will only depreciate
u ca get a decent house here(not buy during launch) for maybe 20 % less of the retail price
megatron007
post Mar 7 2008, 12:24 AM

4,000 posts

buy bangalow

setup basement for HT usage la

SI BEH KENG

then u need THX certified projector 1080p liao
TSjasonlky
post Mar 7 2008, 09:53 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 6 2008, 06:45 PM)
JA!

if not why bother with newer gen hor.. unless it's due to 25% price drop to replace mid end 720p market segment (maybe local pricing =5-7k segment)  biggrin.gif

Added on March 6, 2008, 6:47 pm

with smoothscreen technology from panny, "720p" so far has been adequate for me. if without that, 720p LCD projs from other makes would have quite awful chicken wire/screendoor effect at the distance I'm sitting (1.1-1.3x)
D smoothscreen technology is not everyone's cup of tea. I kept trying to focus and refocus the Panny AX coz it was just a little bit out of focus. ut of course its not due to the focus, but the smooth screen tech. Well not all 720p LCD projectors are the same, some chicken wire are more visible than others.

Jason biggrin.gif
megatron007
post Mar 7 2008, 10:29 AM

4,000 posts

ciken wire yawn.gif
htkaki
post Mar 7 2008, 11:22 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

But, I must say that Panny does a job good in chicken wire effect issue via its smoothscreen tech.

When we (wt ar188) tested AE900, it was simply astonishing at that time
megatron007
post Mar 7 2008, 11:26 AM

4,000 posts

WoW

AE900 better than HD65?
TSjasonlky
post Mar 7 2008, 11:32 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 7 2008, 10:29 AM)
ciken wire yawn.gif

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 7 2008, 11:22 AM)
But, I must say that Panny does a job good in chicken wire effect issue via its smoothscreen tech.

When we (wt ar188) tested AE900, it was simply astonishing at that time
"at that time" meaning when moving from 480p to 720p?

That in itself would have been a great improvement. But no denying that smootscreen does work, if it was not just that little bit out of focus I would be all over it.
DIY Smooth screen.... works on every other projector... just unfocus ur projector.... home made smooth screen brows.gif

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Mar 7 2008, 11:34 AM
megatron007
post Mar 7 2008, 11:34 AM

4,000 posts

jason u no join BD fever ker?
htkaki
post Mar 7 2008, 11:59 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Jason, you are 1 funny guy wt the rebang ayam photo
DigitalKL
post Mar 7 2008, 12:23 PM

1,360 posts

its call the screendoor effect....here in malaysia ppl dun use screen doors. in the US, screen doors keep the insects out....

ya can off focus a bit to rid the screen door but smoothscreen works so much better imho. im very convince of the AE900 too

rx330
post Mar 7 2008, 01:17 PM

11,811 posts

hahhahaha, chicken wire biggrin.gif
megatron007
post Mar 7 2008, 01:51 PM

4,000 posts

DiDi

u still tahan with ur panny?? the bug never bite u every nite?? tongue.gif
ar188
post Mar 7 2008, 01:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 7 2008, 01:17 PM)
hahhahaha, chicken wire biggrin.gif
T1u, you go overseas forum, they refer to both terms la..
here where got screen door? mosquito net effect got la.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Mar 7 2008, 01:56 PM
rx330
post Mar 7 2008, 02:02 PM

11,811 posts

niamah.. u t1u me for wat wor sad.gif
laugh also kenot meh?

ar188
post Mar 7 2008, 02:07 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 7 2008, 02:02 PM)
niamah.. u t1u me for wat wor sad.gif
laugh also kenot meh?
t1u! we kawan kawan also you small gas? biggrin.gif
rx330
post Mar 7 2008, 02:11 PM

11,811 posts

took too much gassy food just now biggrin.gif
wah lan eh... i treat u as a brader, u dunno how i think one meh?
ar188
post Mar 7 2008, 02:18 PM

9,206 posts

dunno how you think wor.. after kena kaan like the honda logo how? scared mah..
rx330
post Mar 7 2008, 02:19 PM

11,811 posts

i tot u into those things? biggrin.gif
megatron007
post Mar 7 2008, 02:26 PM

4,000 posts

wauahah brows.gif
TSjasonlky
post Mar 8 2008, 04:50 AM

451 posts

woi... 1 full page of spam.

I will join BD, as soon as funds become available.... still recovering from CNY expenses.

Targeting an 80gb PS3. If anyone got good jalan... come and share share!!

Jason biggrin.gif
ar188
post Mar 8 2008, 09:51 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Mar 8 2008, 04:50 AM)
woi... 1 full page of spam.

I will join BD, as soon as funds become available.... still recovering from CNY expenses.

Targeting an 80gb PS3.  If anyone got good jalan... come and share share!!

Jason biggrin.gif
already so elite (got electro speakers) still need to "recover" ar? biggrin.gif
rx330
post Mar 8 2008, 11:08 AM

11,811 posts

jason, why preference on the 80gb ps3?
ar188
post Mar 8 2008, 01:15 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 8 2008, 11:08 AM)
people like highest range model mah..
htkaki
post Mar 8 2008, 04:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

If got good jalan for 80GB PS3, gua pun mau. RM1,250?
rx330
post Mar 9 2008, 01:15 AM

11,811 posts

1250 susah lar.... how to get?
htkaki
post Mar 9 2008, 09:31 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I am a peasant mah. So, hoping for peasant price nia
megatron007
post Mar 10 2008, 09:44 AM

4,000 posts

aiyo...PS3 wont cost u an arm or leg

just buy la since HD war is over

u got a damm NICE setup ma
TSjasonlky
post Mar 10 2008, 09:53 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 8 2008, 11:08 AM)
Actually I do not have a concrete preference, but I remember reading about some new features available in the 80gb version. But more importantly, its because 40Gb is a tad too small, 60Gb is out of production so that leaves us with the 80Gb model.

RM1250... we do a bulklah, can or not?

Jason biggrin.gif
Power to the People!!!

Monday Blues Rant

rx330
post Mar 10 2008, 10:00 AM

11,811 posts

becos we are jealous ppl blush.gif

jason, the HDD u change urself better, unless u goin for SACD and PS2 games, then only u buy the 80gb, if not, get the 40 one will do
TSjasonlky
post Mar 10 2008, 10:06 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 10 2008, 10:00 AM)
becos we are jealous ppl blush.gif

jason, the HDD u change urself better, unless u goin for SACD and PS2 games, then only u buy the 80gb, if not, get the 40 one will do
Thanks for the advise. Can explain a bit about IPTV?

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Mar 10 2008, 10:14 AM

11,811 posts

iptv only available in europe IINM
so it doesnt apply here
megatron007
post Mar 10 2008, 11:09 AM

4,000 posts

*poison JASON & HTKAKI* to BD brows.gif
htkaki
post Mar 10 2008, 02:12 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

taikor, no need to poison me. I have decided to buy. Just waiting for my meagre salary at end of month.

I think I shall go for either Onkyo 705 or Yammy 863. Not Denon this time around. Just want to feel the diffrence.
TSjasonlky
post Mar 10 2008, 02:34 PM

451 posts

Me too, no need to poisonlar. I am a staunch supporter of HD. Now waiting for funds and have to work up a strategy to bodek the wife.

Its not a question of IF I will buy, but more of WHEN... After BDP, next step is to move to a 1080p projector, this one is at least a year or 2 down the linelah.

Jason biggrin.gif
megatron007
post Mar 10 2008, 03:04 PM

4,000 posts

elite also take so long?

then peasant take light years to save sad.gif
TSjasonlky
post Mar 13 2008, 10:05 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Mar 10 2008, 03:04 PM)
elite also take so long?

then peasant take light years to save sad.gif
Beh tahan liow.....

This peasant/elite thinking is a self imposed restriction. And u know what, while it may seem harmless now, this thinking will confine and hamper your aspirations more than u know. Nobody here puts you down, so why do it to yourself. I never noticed such a caste system in LyN, everyone is on par in terms ofwhat they aspire to achieve. Just different timing only. So don't beat yourself up just because u expect the others to do it to u.

Stay positive and visualise what you want. Believe me, when you wnat it hard enuf, you will get it.

Jason biggrin.gif
ar188
post Mar 13 2008, 01:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Mar 13 2008, 10:05 AM)
Beh tahan liow.....

This peasant/elite thinking is a self imposed restriction.  And u know what, while it may seem harmless now, this thinking will confine and hamper your aspirations more than u know.  Nobody here puts you down, so why do it to yourself.  I never noticed such a caste system in LyN, everyone is on par in terms ofwhat they aspire to achieve.  Just different timing only.  So don't beat yourself up just because u expect the others to do it to u.

Stay positive and visualise what you want.  Believe me, when you wnat it hard enuf, you will get it.
LOL, don't listen to megatron's self pity la.. at least not from a 525 M-sport driver.. thumbup.gif support elite megatron! rclxms.gif
htkaki
post Mar 13 2008, 02:04 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

angkat tangan dan kaki menunjukkan sokongan
mpyw
post Mar 13 2008, 02:14 PM

3,603 posts

he should change his nick to

MegaElite liao thumbup.gif

htkaki....u want the die hard IV or not...I'm gonna click very soon....
TSjasonlky
post Mar 13 2008, 02:28 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 13 2008, 01:00 PM)
LOL, don't listen to megatron's self pity la.. at least not from a 525 M-sport driver..  thumbup.gif  support elite megatron! rclxms.gif
support, support, saya angkat tangan wave.gif

Jason biggrin.gif
megatron007
post Mar 13 2008, 03:06 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Mar 13 2008, 01:00 PM)
LOL, don't listen to megatron's self pity la.. at least not from a 525 M-sport driver..  thumbup.gif  support elite megatron! rclxms.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif shakehead.gif

Added on March 13, 2008, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(mpyw @ Mar 13 2008, 02:14 PM)
he should change his nick to

MegaElite liao thumbup.gif

htkaki....u want the die hard IV or not...I'm gonna click very soon....
icon_rolleyes.gif good newnick

can PM moderator to change ar?? rclxm9.gif

htkaki ..kecut liao... no PM also doh.gif

This post has been edited by megatron007: Mar 13 2008, 03:07 PM
htkaki
post Mar 13 2008, 05:43 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bz lah, taikor. I ve PMed taukeh BD. Waiting for his reply

Added on April 2, 2008, 4:27 pm
QUOTE(jasonlky @ Mar 10 2008, 02:34 PM)
Me too, no need to poisonlar.  I am a staunch supporter of HD.  Now waiting for funds and have to work up a strategy to bodek the wife.

Its not a question of IF I will buy, but more of WHEN... After BDP, next step is to move to a 1080p projector, this one is at least a year or 2 down the linelah.

Jason biggrin.gif

Jason, my 'When' has finally arrived. Got my PS3 last Sat. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Apr 2 2008, 04:27 PM
TSjasonlky
post Apr 4 2008, 02:42 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 13 2008, 05:43 PM)
Jason, my 'When' has finally arrived. Got my PS3 last Sat.  thumbup.gif
Congratulations, eager to see pics of the PS3 thru ur HD. Hope you will u be posting pics!!

My "When?" has not been answered yet...

Jason biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Apr 4 2008, 04:18 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, I have posted some screenshots in my thread. Will post some more this weekend if free.
JiauBoy
post Apr 4 2008, 04:36 PM

727 posts

wow congrad. fast fast post
htkaki
post Apr 4 2008, 05:36 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Apr 4 2008, 04:36 PM)
wow congrad. fast fast post

Tks, bro smile.gif

Will surely psot over the weekend

rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 10:23 AM

11,811 posts

and the poison comes non stop....
htkaki
post Apr 5 2008, 01:25 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 5 2008, 10:23 AM)
and the poison comes non stop....

Mana ada tongue.gif 'Sharing is Caring' mah biggrin.gif

rx330
post Apr 5 2008, 04:09 PM

11,811 posts

i dun see u share ur $$ with me wor.... u no care abt me... only care abt ah jason gor gor
htkaki
post Apr 7 2008, 09:19 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taikor, jump into the pj badnwagon lah!
rx330
post Apr 7 2008, 09:53 AM

11,811 posts

the bandwagon costing very high....
htkaki
post Apr 7 2008, 02:53 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

sap sap sui for Elite like you ler
rx330
post Apr 7 2008, 03:24 PM

11,811 posts

aiyoh... im not elite lar, how many times i need to clarify?

psp _BOY
post Apr 7 2008, 03:49 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

Wah this theater macam kedai jual Collector's item. I love the use of wood on the screen wall and the little sconce above the screen is a nice touch. Furthermore, the ambience of the room is very homey. I can live in this theater. Congrats.

I feel like opening all those boxes and playing around with what's inside...
htkaki
post Apr 7 2008, 04:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

If opened, the value drops. Right? I must admit that it is a job well done
TSjasonlky
post Apr 8 2008, 09:42 AM

451 posts

You guys are too kind with your compliments. Btw I have a visitor coming for to my house to see the AV/HT setup this coming Saturday morning. I'd be happy to accomodate a couple more visitors. Please PM me if anyone here interested for a visit.

Jason biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Apr 8 2008, 11:19 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jasonlky @ Apr 8 2008, 09:42 AM)
You guys are too kind with your compliments.  Btw I have a visitor coming for to my house to see the AV/HT setup this coming Saturday morning.  I'd be happy to accomodate a couple more visitors.  Please PM me if anyone here interested for a visit.

Jason biggrin.gif

Aiseh... got something on this Sat sad.gif

rx330
post Apr 9 2008, 05:05 PM

11,811 posts

ah jason gor gor.... u got pics how u stick the black cloth to ur frame?
TSjasonlky
post Apr 9 2008, 09:09 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 9 2008, 05:05 PM)
ah jason gor gor.... u got pics how u stick the black cloth to ur frame?
Dun have picture of the installation process. Here is a "sort of" step by step:
1. Cut cloth to correct length and width.
2. Apply contact adhesive 2 foot at a time. After you apply the a very thin layer of adhesive let it dry for about 2-3 minutes.
3. Attach the cloth, slowly stretching it as you stick it on to the frame. Using a smooth pice of wood/plactic/ruler rub it against the cloth to ensure there is good contact with the adhesive

Hope this helps

Jason biggrin.gif

htkaki
post Apr 9 2008, 11:16 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taikor rx, you plan to DIY?
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 01:28 AM

11,811 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 9 2008, 11:16 PM)
Taikor rx, you plan to DIY?
abuthen? save $$ mar blush.gif

ah jason ar...
i went thru ur pics again, the frame is just the frame? cos i notice wood colour b4 u place ur screen, is tat the background of the frame?
TSjasonlky
post Apr 10 2008, 03:42 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 01:28 AM)
abuthen? save $$ mar blush.gif

ah jason ar...
i went thru ur pics again, the frame is just the frame? cos i notice wood colour b4 u place ur screen, is tat the background of the frame?
Err... lemme try to explain that entire section my AV room...

That entire area is a large piece of "wooden wall" that covers that entire wall from the floor to the ceiling, the nice part that will be visible is veneered. The screen part is not veneered as it will be covered by the screen, so it is left "naked". Since cannot see, no need to waste time and money to veneer it lah.

Now the frame for the blackout cloth is just the 4 planks of wood that is cut to the correct size and then nailed & glued to the "wooden wall".

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 10:18 AM

11,811 posts

ohhhhhhh, kekekek thanks

so u wrap the frame with black cloth 1st or the other way?
im not very good at this, as i was thiking, if u wrap ur frame 1st, how are u gonna nail it to the wall?

wat abt the cloth joining part btwn the short and long panels, 45 degree look?
megatron007
post Apr 10 2008, 11:08 AM

4,000 posts

DIY frame + cloth

KENG

I m lousi in DIY sad.gif
htkaki
post Apr 10 2008, 12:17 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I am lousy at DIY too, not to mention a tad lazy
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 01:49 PM

11,811 posts

yesterday DIY a shoe rack for my wife... sweat like raining... squatting on the floor , one hand holding the nail, the other holding the spanner and a ciggie clinging on my lips laugh.gif

today, another unit sad.gif

and the blardy instruction manual sucks
dirtrun
post Apr 10 2008, 03:06 PM

3,136 posts

Haha,

U all must be quite 'penyegan' wan woh... kekeke

Aiya I think bro tim got say how he did up his screen wat.. just use a reputable picture framer lo..

I used a carpenter n de results should be better than our amateurish attempts la.. may cost a tad more la but sum things not worth to diy la compared to how much we hv to lose.

2ct talkin
Dirtrun
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 03:10 PM

11,811 posts

how much it cos u dirtrun?
dirtrun
post Apr 10 2008, 03:16 PM

3,136 posts

I think it cost me RM500(sum time ago) but it dont include de cloth la..

And its not easy gettin it spot on de img of de proj too.. de 2 fellas who came oso sweat woh..

Cheers
Dirtrun
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 03:23 PM

11,811 posts

jialat...... ur one very big is it? mine only ard 80 " nia
dirtrun
post Apr 10 2008, 03:53 PM

3,136 posts

96 X 54 onlee..

Wan 112 X 63 one but wall not big enuff .. kekeke

I think bro tims one is tis size thou..

rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 03:56 PM

11,811 posts

almak, mine 66 X 37 nia blush.gif
dirtrun
post Apr 10 2008, 04:43 PM

3,136 posts

Normally in most dedicated rooms( brdrms in most mal homes la) u cant fit a 96 X 54 screen (living rooms r bigger thou') - uhm bro psp's is de exception n bro Jasons is a 3rd flr free space concept thingy design, I think.. anyway smaller means ur pj is closer so even brighter mah.. no right or wrong one la just go wif wat u are comfortable..
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 05:05 PM

11,811 posts

the nearer the brighter?
mine is on living hall, i can go abit bigger in the rooms, but not very practical and lots of implications sad.gif
TSjasonlky
post Apr 10 2008, 06:27 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 10:18 AM)
ohhhhhhh, kekekek thanks

so u wrap the frame with black cloth 1st or the other way?
im not very good at this, as i was thiking, if u wrap ur frame 1st, how are u gonna nail it to the wall?

wat abt the cloth joining part btwn the short and long panels, 45 degree look?
Well it depends...

If u wanna hang the frame on the wall then attach the cloth first.

If u wanna glue the frame to the wall, the install the frame first and then glue the cloth to the frame. THis is the way I did it.

It does not matter how u join the cloth coz its not really visible.

Jason biggrin.gif

ps- Ignore the guys that tell you not to DIY.. they are wimps!!!
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 07:15 PM

11,811 posts

wimps , hahhahahaah laugh.gif

i would prefer hanging, but how shud i hang? like hangin a picture?

last time shudnt have ponteng kemahiran hidup sad.gif
asciii
post Apr 10 2008, 09:04 PM

Why So Serious?
859 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 07:15 PM)

ponteng and go where?watch girls play bola jaring issit drool.gif
TSjasonlky
post Apr 10 2008, 09:16 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 07:15 PM)

Yes, exactly... just hang like a picture. But u gotto use heavy duty brackets and not just 1, but maybe 2 or 3. And u have to use at least 1.5-2 inch screws with wall plugs too.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 09:46 PM

11,811 posts

jason, kamxia very much

i just now while beraking tot of something to ask u, but forget liao blush.gif

but if hang with bracket, will it have some space in btwn the frame and hte wall?
the frame has to be virtually on the wall, so tat the inner screen will not fall off, rite?

ascii , u do tat always is it? laugh.gif
htkaki
post Apr 10 2008, 10:11 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Apr 10 2008, 03:53 PM)
96 X 54 onlee..

Wan 112 X 63 one but wall not big enuff .. kekeke

I think bro tims one is tis size thou..

Wah.... 100" oso consider small ah. Mine is 92" only blush.gif

TSjasonlky
post Apr 10 2008, 10:45 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 09:46 PM)
jason, kamxia very much

i just now while beraking tot of something to ask u, but forget liao blush.gif

but if hang with bracket, will it have some space in btwn the frame and hte wall?
the frame has to be virtually on the wall, so tat the inner screen will not fall off, rite?

ascii , u do tat always is it? laugh.gif
I am not sure what brackets u have in mind, but the brackets I am talking about will mount ur frame flush against the wall. Now about your inner frame if its not a perfect fit, then there is a risk that the inner frame will still call outwards, so you may still need to secure it to the inner frame using brackets

Have a look at ur harware shop and I am sure u can find the type of brackets I am talking about.

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Apr 10 2008, 11:30 PM

11,811 posts

got pics of the bracket ar? biggrin.gif
i am really bad at this....
but somehow, i think flush against the wall means, its backed up fully to the wall?
TSjasonlky
post Apr 11 2008, 10:09 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 11:30 PM)
got pics of the bracket ar? biggrin.gif
i am really bad at this....
but somehow, i think flush against the wall means, its backed up fully to the wall?
I am not at home so I can't take pictures of the brackets I have. I found this bracket from the internet. Its a bit small, you will need to find larger and thicker brackets, but this gives u an idea of what to look for. Come to think of it, you will need to secure the 3-4 brackets on both the top and bottom of the frame.

I also found this, removable system. Not sure if it can be found here, but I am sure that you can get it thru ebay. Its not flush against the wall but the gap is small and there is no chance for the inner frame to fall thru.
Attached ImageAttached Image

Jason biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Apr 11 2008, 10:12 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taikor rx, when you do this, remember to tk snapshots of the progress.
rx330
post Apr 11 2008, 10:21 AM

11,811 posts

tenkiu very veyr much
but the removable one seems nice...
will try ebay later

but the 1st pic u posted, sorry, my simple mind cant figure out how it works blush.gif

Added on April 11, 2008, 10:21 amht, im not a kamela person lar tongue.gif

This post has been edited by rx330: Apr 11 2008, 10:21 AM
TSjasonlky
post Apr 11 2008, 12:01 PM

451 posts

The 2 smaller holes screw to the back of ur frame. the big hole srew to the wall.... you may want to counter sink the bracket to be flush with the frame so that it looks neater.

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Apr 11 2008, 12:03 PM
rx330
post Apr 11 2008, 12:15 PM

11,811 posts

ic, paham laio
tat means thebig hole is actually protuding out of the fram rite?
TSjasonlky
post Apr 11 2008, 12:50 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 11 2008, 12:15 PM)
ic, paham laio
tat means thebig hole is actually protuding out of the fram rite?
rite

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Apr 11 2008, 01:34 PM

11,811 posts

alamak... the removable bracket got a name for it or not?
i check in ebay... hard to find... find the word bracket got 14k items...

Added on April 11, 2008, 2:01 pmhttp://cgi.ebay.com/WALL-HANGING-BRACKETS-LARGE-PICTURE-PAINTING-MIRROR_W0QQitemZ380014416263QQihZ025QQcategoryZ20089QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

found this nia

This post has been edited by rx330: Apr 11 2008, 02:01 PM
TSjasonlky
post Apr 11 2008, 02:40 PM

451 posts

i also not sure.... i guess use picture hanger as the keyword to search

Jason biggrin.gif
rx330
post Apr 17 2008, 09:53 AM

11,811 posts

dear jason, checked ith th efram guy, but the hooked he is fixing for me, will not make the frame flush against the wall sad.gif

is this available in local hardware shop? dem hard to find things in jaybee
megatron007
post Apr 17 2008, 11:17 AM

4,000 posts

interesting la .......... hmmmm
kamarul_ilhan
post Oct 31 2008, 03:55 PM

67 posts

nice.. smile.gif