"Taking MCs is my right" - says a Gen Z employee, (And when no promotion or confirm....)

TSZeroSOFInfinity
post Dec 3 2025, 09:10 PM, updated 3d ago

3,703 posts

A Gen Z worker has drawn attention online after proudly posting a screenshot of his leave summary, showing he had fully used all 14 days of his entitled medical leave (MC) for the year.

The post, uploaded to Threads, showed that the employee had also used up all of his annual leave, carry forward leave, and family care leave.

Only hospitalization leave remained untouched, with a balance of 46 days.

The caption, written in a cheeky tone, read: “Gen Z present, MC is a worker’s right hahaha.”

His post has sparked thousands of reactions, with many divided on whether fully using medical leave was acceptable or not.

Some users defended him, saying that leave entitlements are meant to be used and no one should be judged for taking time off, especially when unwell.

One comment read, “It’s his entitlement. Why are people so bothered about someone using their own leave?”

Another added, “MC is a worker’s right. As long as he’s genuinely sick, there’s no issue.”

On the flip side, some felt that taking the full 14 days of MC might reflect negatively, especially if the leave was not strictly due to illness.

One user wrote, “Sick leave is for recovery, not to avoid work. Misusing it affects the team.”

Another sarcastically said, “Then later ask the boss why there’s no increment,” suggesting a link between frequent leave and poor performance reviews.

Several replies took on a humorous tone. A viral comment joked, “Still got hospitalization leave. If your office has stairs, you can try falling there,” earning thousands of likes.

Another said, “Only someone delusional would think taking all 14 MC days is an achievement. Health is wealth, bro.”

In Malaysia, medical leave is protected under the Employment Act 1955. However, employees who are found faking illness or misusing MC can face disciplinary action.

This may include written warnings, salary deductions, suspension, or even dismissal depending on company policy and the severity of the misconduct.

Employers also have the right to request a medical certificate (MC) and investigate if there are reasonable doubts about its legitimacy.

A peek into workplace expectations

The post has opened a wider conversation about employee rights and workplace culture, especially among younger workers.

While some believe in using every benefit they’re entitled to, others stress the importance of balancing personal needs with team responsibility.

This post has been edited by ZeroSOFInfinity: Dec 3 2025, 09:16 PM
acbc
post Dec 3 2025, 09:12 PM

9,043 posts

Firing and sacking is also the management's right.
marfccy
post Dec 3 2025, 09:13 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

wow even used hospitalisation leave
ameliorate
post Dec 3 2025, 09:13 PM

369 posts

If he really sick, why not.

zerorating
post Dec 3 2025, 09:15 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

he is correct (if he is ultra sick)
but subjected to kena denied from promotion, pay raise or being the first in line to kena buang.
desmond2020

906 posts

once kantoi tipu MC can pack up and leave company in 24 hours
DarkAeon

774 posts

how come no use hospitalisation?

shud max it out too
desmond2020
post Dec 3 2025, 09:16 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Dec 3 2025, 09:15 PM)

shud max it out too
got compassionate leave too mah

use that up too
party
post Dec 3 2025, 09:16 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Dec 3 2025, 09:13 PM)
wow even used hospitalisation leave
quoted for failed reading
Wedchar2912
post Dec 3 2025, 09:17 PM

3,616 posts

legally, he is absolutely correct. But he still have to follow procedures and provide MC... medical certs...

TSZeroSOFInfinity
post Dec 3 2025, 09:17 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Dec 3 2025, 09:15 PM)

shud max it out too
Its harder to get MCs for hospitalisation, as they dont give out MCs easily.
TSZeroSOFInfinity
post Dec 3 2025, 09:19 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Dec 3 2025, 09:16 PM)

use that up too
Farder, Marder, Bloder, Sisder, Unker, Aundie, Grandpa, Grandma.... 8 times can use... oh wait.
twilight_fever
post Dec 3 2025, 09:19 PM

660 posts

My gen Z col , on month of november..only work 5days for the whole month..

Other is weekend + MC + clearing up AL

Purpose do 9 the whole now.. laugh.gif
desmond2020
post Dec 3 2025, 09:21 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Dec 3 2025, 09:19 PM)
Farder, Marder, Bloder, Sisder, Unker, Aundie, Grandpa, Grandma.... 8 times can use... oh wait.
hey, you can have more than one father you know

ohwait
statikinetic
post Dec 3 2025, 09:23 PM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Discuss whatever you want to discuss. This is dumb.

If you are really sick all those days, posting on social media does you no favours.
If you are taking advantage to utilise all your MCs, posting publicly on social media for all to see is also stupid. Just keep low, continue to utilise and you'll never be questioned.

This person is an idiot looking for attention.

Jasonist
post Dec 3 2025, 09:25 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

no increment or bonus is company right
fantasy1989
post Dec 3 2025, 09:25 PM

4,706 posts

if he really sick ..then show the proper hospitalized report

not just gen z la ..earlier i got share ..when he young time he took hospitalized leave due to dengue and go vacation with gf at singapore

somehow his relative work at GH or whatever ..able to give him the report
teehk_tee
post Dec 3 2025, 09:32 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

It's your right, but increments and promotions based on merit, employee offtime/downtime is the prerogative of the company
Fantasia
post Dec 3 2025, 09:39 PM

5,480 posts

My friend had a colleague who have a simple procedure but managed to get 2 month mc to use 60 hospitalisation leave. Mana tau her GM met her in Bangkok the second week of her hospitalisation leave. She was indirectly asked to leave short after coming back from leave.
Edit: typo

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Dec 3 2025, 09:43 PM
Satan Fallen One
post Dec 3 2025, 09:41 PM

14 posts

I would never want to take medical leave it possible.

The year I take all medical leave is because I suffer from vertigo causing me to sprain and miss steps on stairs.

What follows is multiple hospital visits and tests to find whether I have a brain tumor that is causing the vertigo.

It is even more stress than me just working.
desmond2020
post Dec 3 2025, 09:42 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Dec 3 2025, 09:39 PM)
My friend had a colleague who have a simple procedure but managed to get 2 month mc to use 60 hospitalisation leave. Mana tau her GM met her in Bangkok the second week of her hospitalisation leave. She was indirectly asked to leave shirt after coming back from leave.
what is leave shirt?
Fantasia
post Dec 3 2025, 09:43 PM

5,480 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Dec 3 2025, 09:42 PM)
what is leave shirt?
Sorry, typo, it was supposed to be "short"
marfccy
post Dec 3 2025, 09:45 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(party @ Dec 3 2025, 09:16 PM)
quoted for failed reading
sad.gif okay ayam need visit optometrist
zerorating
post Dec 3 2025, 09:46 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Dec 3 2025, 09:39 PM)
My friend had a colleague who have a simple procedure but managed to get 2 month mc to use 60 hospitalisation leave. Mana tau her GM met her in Bangkok the second week of her hospitalisation leave. She was indirectly asked to leave short after coming back from leave.
Edit: typo
hospitalization doesnt mean must stay at hospital, recovery at home considered hospitalization also what. in fact it is better to recover at home as lesser probability to kena infection.

but if go holiday here and there memang melampau la. i guess this is what people call 'healing' laugh.gif
desmond2020
post Dec 3 2025, 09:49 PM

906 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Dec 3 2025, 09:46 PM)
hospitalization doesnt mean must stay at hospital, recovery at home considered hospitalization also what.  in fact it is better to recover at home as lesser probability to kena infection.

but if go holiday here and there memang melampau la. i guess this is what people call 'healing'  laugh.gif
unless the MC and hospitalization leave is issued by a shrink

in that case, company have ground to fire him due to mental issue
dogbert_chew
post Dec 3 2025, 09:51 PM

1,563 posts

The employee will behave in a manner which he is measured and recognised.

Set clear and achievable targets instead of just attendance and link performance to remuneration.

If cannot means the organisation has weak HR. Don't blame the employee.
zerorating
post Dec 3 2025, 09:52 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Dec 3 2025, 09:49 PM)
unless the MC and hospitalization leave is issued by a shrink

in that case, company have ground to fire him due to mental issue
kesian kompeni zalim, the kompeni i work give benefit(special allocation) for mental health issue. people with depression, anxiety still remains.
yhtan
post Dec 3 2025, 09:56 PM

8,652 posts

year end review sure gg, company has right to give him 0 bonus
xCM
post Dec 3 2025, 10:05 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Dec 3 2025, 09:19 PM)
then change new company rinse and repeat again?
icon_idea.gif
Kelefeh
post Dec 3 2025, 10:08 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(twilight_fever @ Dec 3 2025, 09:19 PM)
My gen Z col , on month of november..only work 5days for the whole month..

Other is weekend + MC + clearing up AL

Purpose do 9 the whole now.. laugh.gif
ok la people MC plus take AL which mostly is Annual leave la i believe
My kolik more geng, HL + MC + AL + Unpaid Leave, whole month only worked 1 day thumbsup.gif
Fantasia
post Dec 3 2025, 10:10 PM

5,480 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Dec 3 2025, 09:46 PM)
hospitalization doesnt mean must stay at hospital, recovery at home considered hospitalization also what.  in fact it is better to recover at home as lesser probability to kena infection.

but if go holiday here and there memang melampau la. i guess this is what people call 'healing'  laugh.gif
It was a lap appendectomy. I understand complication can happen even from a simple surgery, but if want to exploit ur "right" also need to be reasonable shakehead.gif
God Grid
post Dec 3 2025, 10:10 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Dec 3 2025, 09:52 PM)
kesian kompeni zalim, the kompeni i work give benefit(special allocation) for mental health issue. people with depression, anxiety still remains.
Can see so many boomers here with chinaman mentality

My company fully wfh and we got 20 days AL, 5 days mental health leave, 5 rest days and ML without needing MC

Some people just stuck in the past
Taikor.Taikun
post Dec 3 2025, 10:15 PM

1,019 posts

How u treat the company n boss, the same way they will treat u
dest9116

495 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Dec 3 2025, 09:15 PM)
he is correct (if he is ultra sick)
but subjected to kena denied from promotion, pay raise or being the first in line to kena buang.
Well gen z realize hard work doesn't mean u get promoted le. It's all about who jilat and suck didi better
Dr Jan Itor

82 posts

What a bunch of weak losers. Back in my day I worked and ended my shift even while having a heart attack.

Truly strawberry these days

#kboomer
LeonTan
post Dec 3 2025, 10:17 PM

**SHINE**
2,157 posts

if really sick and got legit mc then is ok for me

I got a staff sick (during covid time), he cough and flu on and off so he took one whole month mc, I am ok with it

even after one month, I gave extra 1 week for him to recover, no deduct apa apa and gave him full salary too

I dont kira so much with my staff
zerorating
post Dec 3 2025, 10:19 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Dec 3 2025, 10:15 PM)
Well gen z realize hard work doesn't mean u get promoted le. It's all about who jilat and suck didi better
but the manager favorite could be the most dependable guy at that work place lel.
lorrydriverrocks
post Dec 3 2025, 10:22 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Dec 3 2025, 10:15 PM)
I din ask my macai to suck didi oso
pakmulau
post Dec 3 2025, 10:43 PM

589 posts

Last2 company pun malas mau layan. Selalu tak sihat je
hanzyms
post Dec 3 2025, 11:22 PM

68 posts

Not just gen z, gen y and gen x also the same unless you are the company owner or got company shares
Boy96
post Dec 3 2025, 11:31 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

I keep kena demam every month or so also.. maybe weak immunity
sadukarzz
post Dec 3 2025, 11:40 PM

782 posts

Living up to the "utilizing MC"

Hmmm, if he used the MC for real sickness its true that there is no issue, but man he has to be worried of his health rather than being proud of being sick

But if this MC utilization happening for a streak, he no longer have the leverage to claim that others get more than him if performance is the same level during performance review
Current Events guy
post Dec 3 2025, 11:42 PM

966 posts

I have been chased by boss and hr because not finishing my leave.

I say let the kids go on leave and leave the rest of us who rather work alone
LuckyBai
post Dec 3 2025, 11:46 PM

423 posts

why do employers want an unhealthy employee?
ornehx
post Dec 4 2025, 12:04 AM

40 posts

Fml I din use an mc tis year, wfh if sick a bit usually still work...
dest9116
post Dec 4 2025, 12:29 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Dec 3 2025, 10:19 PM)
but the manager favorite could be the most dependable guy at that work place lel.
Yes dependable, don't get promoted. U of course want to keep your best guy under you, why u wanna let him promote and maybe go to other department?

Thats why a lot hard working dependable workers wonder why they never get promoted
Slowpokeking
post Dec 4 2025, 12:39 AM

19 posts

Nothing wrong with utilizing all the MCs.

I’m sure HR has all the record. Maybe add another policy whereby employees that sick more than 10 days every year need to undergo physical check up.

Some MNCs have this policy.
RGRaj
post Dec 4 2025, 01:34 AM

560 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Dec 3 2025, 09:12 PM)
Firing and sacking is also the management's right.
And if done without due process, HR will be in deep s*it. My company was forced to compensate many ex-employees out of court because they brought their case to the labour dept.

ry8128
post Dec 4 2025, 02:00 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,639 posts

Lol, my subordinate who use all MC will know what type of performance review they are getting. Con9lan7firm lowest grade without any increment.

There is once an employee beh syok and complain to hr. Hr no balls against employee and want be good guy, so hr kacau me. I go tembak the hr face to face and send an official email to the hr and cc hr vp from hq, saying I have an unfit employee due to frequent mc and not fit in my team. End up hr need to transfer the joker out from my team and need to find a place for him. Ayam get a new hire which can work.

Since that day the whole hr department know not to mess with me. Knn, lapsap no balls department wan mess with me? Now they know.
g5sim
post Dec 4 2025, 02:28 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Dec 3 2025, 09:15 PM)
once kantoi tipu MC can pack up and leave company in 24 hours
N being tagged as not rehireable. When your next company does an employment cyeck, will get the red flag. I have not taken a single Mc for more than 2 decades. Boomers are stronger.
littlegamer
post Dec 4 2025, 02:29 AM

664 posts

Salary stuck at 2.5k punya gang.
kamfoo
post Dec 4 2025, 02:46 AM

845 posts

support
PerfectZero
post Dec 4 2025, 03:16 AM

35 posts

Peasant. I already utilized 30 days of MC in my 1st year of working
amgh
post Dec 4 2025, 04:00 AM

What a sick, worthless piece of ....

Boasting for all the wrong reasons.
brkli
post Dec 4 2025, 04:14 AM

592 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Dec 3 2025, 09:21 PM)
hey, you can have more than one father you know
ohwait
mother may have 4 also.. legally your father's wife.
Pain4UrsinZ
post Dec 4 2025, 07:33 AM

1,856 posts

Some MNC allow up to 1 years paid leave for psychology and mental illness, second years 50%
fufu_80
post Dec 4 2025, 08:33 AM

88 posts

all this Gen Z mindset... parents to be blame... pampered gila gila....
giftfre
post Dec 4 2025, 08:42 AM

Control Macho
682 posts

QUOTE(ZeroSOFInfinity @ Dec 3 2025, 09:10 PM)

A Gen Z worker has drawn attention online after proudly posting a screenshot of his leave summary, showing he had fully used all 14 days of his entitled medical leave (MC) for the year.

The post, uploaded to Threads, showed that the employee had also used up all of his annual leave, carry forward leave, and family care leave.

Only hospitalization leave remained untouched, with a balance of 46 days.

The caption, written in a cheeky tone, read: “Gen Z present, MC is a worker’s right hahaha.”

His post has sparked thousands of reactions, with many divided on whether fully using medical leave was acceptable or not.

Some users defended him, saying that leave entitlements are meant to be used and no one should be judged for taking time off, especially when unwell.

One comment read, “It’s his entitlement. Why are people so bothered about someone using their own leave?”

Another added, “MC is a worker’s right. As long as he’s genuinely sick, there’s no issue.”

On the flip side, some felt that taking the full 14 days of MC might reflect negatively, especially if the leave was not strictly due to illness.

One user wrote, “Sick leave is for recovery, not to avoid work. Misusing it affects the team.”

Another sarcastically said, “Then later ask the boss why there’s no increment,” suggesting a link between frequent leave and poor performance reviews.

Several replies took on a humorous tone. A viral comment joked, “Still got hospitalization leave. If your office has stairs, you can try falling there,” earning thousands of likes.

Another said, “Only someone delusional would think taking all 14 MC days is an achievement. Health is wealth, bro.”

In Malaysia, medical leave is protected under the Employment Act 1955. However, employees who are found faking illness or misusing MC can face disciplinary action.

This may include written warnings, salary deductions, suspension, or even dismissal depending on company policy and the severity of the misconduct.

Employers also have the right to request a medical certificate (MC) and investigate if there are reasonable doubts about its legitimacy.

A peek into workplace expectations

The post has opened a wider conversation about employee rights and workplace culture, especially among younger workers.

While some believe in using every benefit they’re entitled to, others stress the importance of balancing personal needs with team responsibility.
Project masa mula-mula kick off tu Sgt Critical. Masa tu la ramai nak apply AL. Mcm la project less priority dari tanggungjawab diri sendiri.
Apa benda la logic.
ts1
post Dec 4 2025, 09:11 AM

3,784 posts

bonus is also discretionary
post Dec 4 2025, 09:16 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Didn't use paternity leave ah?

Aiyaaaa wasted ler....

Zot
post Dec 4 2025, 09:20 AM

7,938 posts

Management can just say you are not suitable for job because always sick.
trendey222
post Dec 4 2025, 09:22 AM

It's very common especially in construction or technician jobs. Not only gen z. Even the kuli also like that. Once salary day, next day terus MC, most likely go drink alcohol with friends already
incubus_skj
post Dec 4 2025, 09:23 AM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

yeah it's their right, and it's also our right to give them the minimal salary increase and no promotions
PaperClip224
post Dec 4 2025, 09:23 AM

197 posts

it is within his right ...
but then again, when performance review come - sendiri susah only
alanyuppie
post Dec 4 2025, 09:24 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(ornehx @ Dec 4 2025, 01:04 AM)
Fml I din use an mc tis year, wfh if sick a bit usually still work...
Sounds like me as well. even before pandemic I also take only 1-2 MC each year (mostly due to food poisoning) . now WFH also feeling unwell but still continue work despite not as productive.

I only truly asked for about 2 day MC last year for Influenza A methinks coz it made me so damn weak and tired, just wanna lie on bed. Boss asked me to rest a few days more. LOL. He probably knew my track record of not MC unless absolutely necessary.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Dec 4 2025, 09:26 AM
ozak
post Dec 4 2025, 09:28 AM

17,018 posts

2 month ago, we had a management meeting among country branch. The GM complain to the India branch that their MC leave is high.

Now I only know that India is very common to use MC leave as annual leave if the annual leave is finish up. It is practice by all the India company. And there is nothing wrong about it. Explain by the India branch manager.

We tell them this is not right and it means abusing. That's why a company divides the leave into a few categories.

But the indian cannot understand why it's wrong. Culture problem. rclxub.gif

vince316
post Dec 4 2025, 09:31 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Dec 3 2025, 09:13 PM)
Honestly ... never heard of anyone fully utilizing MC and then brag about it online..
Usually low profile.
wong_86
post Dec 4 2025, 09:32 AM

DUDE
565 posts

company pay you for your service, you also given leaves as per law require, but not abuse it, bonus or increment based the company discretionary, if HR is firm and intergity, you long dead already..you are expendable.

This post has been edited by wong_86: Dec 4 2025, 09:32 AM
lordgamer3
post Dec 4 2025, 09:35 AM

847 posts

QUOTE(Satan Fallen One @ Dec 3 2025, 09:41 PM)
I would never want to take medical leave it possible.

The year I take all medical leave is because I suffer from vertigo causing me to sprain and miss steps on stairs.

What follows is multiple hospital visits and tests to find whether I have a brain tumor that is causing the vertigo.

It is even more stress than me just working.
Good man, i akso never sinply take medical unless real emergency. Theze days youbg sohais feel the world owes them.
LDP
post Dec 4 2025, 09:35 AM

626 posts

I still recalled when I first started working, I only take 1 day of sick leave for the first 4 years...1 day only....even my manager ask me, take more if u need to rest...

This post has been edited by LDP: Dec 4 2025, 09:35 AM
pandah
post Dec 4 2025, 09:40 AM

719 posts

1. You are really sick and not suitable to continue working

2. You are not sick and fake mc

Either way the next thing is to consider to dismiss you.

Looking at the pattern it is most probably the 2nd type...

This post has been edited by pandah: Dec 4 2025, 09:41 AM
dman
post Dec 4 2025, 09:44 AM

540 posts

Those new gen is like that.

They will pretend to sakit this and that especially those on period when tak sakit oso said very sakit so doctor can give MC.

This kind of employee tak bagi bonus or increment also employer rights to do too.

XUTUX
post Dec 4 2025, 09:48 AM

When apply job do body check up semua ok all sihat no problem.

When start work already sini sakit sana sakit aiyaaa
anakkk
post Dec 4 2025, 09:51 AM

2,114 posts

if not cheating ok la, gen x gen y also a lot cheat MC one LOL

last time when I sick, wana get MC also cannot, doc say I dont look sick enough wtf
Satori 14118a
post Dec 4 2025, 09:52 AM

1,005 posts

It is your entitlement, sakit bukan memilih hari.

Kecuali kalau fake mc la
Avex
post Dec 4 2025, 09:52 AM

570 posts

QUOTE(incubus_skj @ Dec 4 2025, 09:23 AM)
yeah it's their right, and it's also our right to give them the minimal salary increase and no promotions
they already expected no promotion no increment and a dead end job. they just work like normal, like factory floors are one of it
eaglehelang
post Dec 4 2025, 09:55 AM

1,075 posts

Wait till Employers catch up with Western countries.
Younger Gen like to post anything everything on Social Media . Never think HR/Boss can read what you complain about the company

In US, one woman didn't get hired because the Employer looked at her Social Media. Then she go make a video on Tik Tok about it. Lol
Precisely the reason why Employer no want hire you 😂

This post has been edited by eaglehelang: Dec 4 2025, 09:57 AM
seather
post Dec 4 2025, 09:55 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

this has been happening since the creation of MC la..

just that soc med and internet allow idiots to show how bodoh they are
Capt. Marble
post Dec 4 2025, 09:56 AM

220 posts

Last time I damn malu if take MC. Wait until really sick only take.

This post has been edited by Capt. Marble: Dec 4 2025, 09:56 AM
Sichiri
post Dec 4 2025, 09:59 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Dec 4 2025, 09:20 AM)
Management can just say you are not suitable for job because always sick.
cannot link performance report to MCs taken. Not legal
if they want to fire you, but your performance report all passed, its their problem not yours
Autocountstick
post Dec 4 2025, 10:05 AM

668 posts

bonus and increment kpi balance of MC leave
Fantasia
post Dec 4 2025, 10:10 AM

5,480 posts

In my previous company, we expect colleagues will apply for medical leave if the next day will be a busy day. It is always those familiar faces laugh.gif
MishimaZ
post Dec 4 2025, 10:14 AM

269 posts

To be frank, while its his rights, utilize wisely la.

I don't take MC even if when I am slightly unwell, when I do, its usually when I am planning to leave the company already. At least use it to go interviews, then only back home sleep the day off la....

Silap hari MC go lepak mall kena kantoi with proof, that time whatever retrenchment benefits also can be overturned or heavily reduced.

karazure
post Dec 4 2025, 10:16 AM

70 posts

unker not surprise, wat u expect from Gen Z
desmond2020
post Dec 4 2025, 10:17 AM

906 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Dec 4 2025, 10:10 AM)
In my previous company, we expect colleagues will apply for medical leave if the next day will be a busy day. It is always those familiar faces laugh.gif
closing date of tender, familiar face will call in sick devil.gif
sihamsedap
post Dec 4 2025, 10:34 AM

93 posts

i haven use mc for god knows how many years

until today, i still have 25 days leave and i wfh most time

idk how to use my AL.. every year carry forward 10 and burn the rest

i'm mostly working 20-30hours per week so...
ShadowR1
post Dec 4 2025, 10:37 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,882 posts

Din falls sick for N years dy, how to Mc ?
cooldog_777
post Dec 4 2025, 10:42 AM

58 posts

he should utilize his compassionate leave as well.
arif85124
post Dec 4 2025, 10:46 AM

43 posts

nowadays, me wfh if unwell.
incubus_skj
post Dec 4 2025, 11:13 AM

oh mai gotto
1,750 posts

QUOTE(Avex @ Dec 4 2025, 09:52 AM)
they already expected no promotion no increment and a dead end job. they just work like normal, like factory floors are one of it
and it's just a matter of time before they're replaced with machines icon_rolleyes.gif
seather
post Dec 4 2025, 11:24 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

there are 2 kinds of ppl in the office.

those who "utilize" MC to the max

and those who died died don take MC

helo.. u sick u stay home and get well ASAP.. don come in office, drag on your sickness.. make a mess of things and spread your germs.
there is nothing noble about "sacrificing" for the company in such way

no modern boss will appreciate that..
hanhanhan
post Dec 4 2025, 11:44 AM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,203 posts

millennial here and i used to have the same mindset.

already know the company have no room for promotion so utilize all MC & AL.
killbei
post Dec 4 2025, 11:49 AM

13 posts

My previous manager once asked me, what should I do if someone on the team is taking a lot of Hospital Leave and Medical Leave?

I told him, it is unfair to judge someone simply because they take leave. That is their right as per the law and company's own employee handbook. Who knows, in the future we might get very sick with e.g. cancer and need to take a lot of leave to go for treatment at hospital. Should we automatically be judged just because of that?

However, it is true that when this certain person is sick a lot, the rest of the team need to cover for him. For example, we covered for him in his meetings/ job assignments that involved other teams where we could not postpone/ cancel last minute. So it did create more work and hassle for the rest of us. Indirectly, going for a lot of unplanned leave will impact the team.

So yes, going for medical/ hospital leave is your right. But do not be shocked at end of year when your KPI is lower than the other people who were busy covering for your work.
netflix2019
post Dec 4 2025, 12:16 PM

413 posts

expectation vs reality la.

Actually the fault lies with the superiors also. Malaysia memang a lot of issue when it comes to guidance and education.

Gen-Z having such thoughts is kind of normal. They are different than our generations where a lot of things we blanket it with "understood one ma, faham2 la. aiyoo". Actually this kind of attitude is very toxic hence the reason why many sohai choose to keep quiet and do nothing, cos they always get blasted with dismissive remarks when they voice out their confusion.

For new hire minimum wage type or fresh graduate, i need to give crash course about common work etiques. When it comes to MC/unpaid leave, u really need to break it down from start to finish. Main thing to focus on is .
1) yes, u are right. MC are to be utilized and it's the employee rights.
2) yes, AL is also your rights.

BUT.
1) you need to understand working in a company involves a lot of team work and interpersonal relationship with your colleague. taking leave/MC nonchalantly affect the works of others. Whether u want to accept it or not, MORALE do get affected when someone in the office burn through AL/MC and gloat about it.
2) Humans are very unpredictable and mostly governed by emotions. When they tak syok about u, they have too many ways to make your life miserable. When shit hits the fan, goreng time, who do u think i going to goreng first?
3) being right doesnt mean u have to do it. You living in a society, u like it or not u going to have to care about others. Especially it's work place where u actually spend more time with colleague than your family members.
miromiro
post Dec 4 2025, 12:23 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Dec 3 2025, 09:13 PM)
If he really sick ya why not

Need self care more
ShadowR1
post Dec 4 2025, 12:29 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,882 posts

QUOTE(seather @ Dec 4 2025, 11:24 AM)
there are 2 kinds of ppl in the office.

those who "utilize" MC to the max

and those who died died don take MC

helo.. u sick u stay home and get well ASAP.. don come in office, drag on your sickness.. make a mess of things and spread your germs.
there is nothing noble about "sacrificing" for the company in such way

no modern boss will appreciate that..
There is another type - No sick at all type.
epsilon_chinwk86
post Dec 4 2025, 12:35 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Dec 3 2025, 09:16 PM)

use that up too
same nenek dieded 3 times
lawliet88
post Dec 4 2025, 12:50 PM

993 posts

Hr didnt validate the mc cert?
Redhunt
post Dec 4 2025, 12:52 PM

50 posts

this is the quality of news journalism in Malaysia

absolute shit.

zero stars out of 100.

it is AI click bait for views on page ads.

This post has been edited by Redhunt: Dec 4 2025, 12:53 PM

0.0331sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:13 AM