7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

How school van driver earn money?

TShoonanoo
post Oct 20 2025, 04:21 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 20 2025, 03:38 PM)
Morning, noon and evening, can do 4 trips per day during weekdays
if the school is large enough can la

2 trips for morning
2trips for afternoon

but if small chinese school how can

GamersFamilia
post Oct 20 2025, 05:06 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,709 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 20 2025, 04:21 PM)
if the school is large enough can la

2 trips for morning
2trips for afternoon

but if small chinese school how can
Makes sense, yea it depends on the school itself, at my place so many large school, ive seen many school van fetching and sending the students
TShoonanoo
post Oct 20 2025, 05:47 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 20 2025, 05:06 PM)
Makes sense, yea it depends on the school itself, at my place so many large school, ive seen many school van fetching and sending the students
also depends on where you stay

if you are nons, usually M prefer M drivers?

dunno lah...

I could be wrong..

For me, those multinational SK would do well for a non driver.

dun get me wrong, I dun mind picking up others, but question is do they prefer another?
GamersFamilia
post Oct 20 2025, 08:47 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,709 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 20 2025, 05:47 PM)
also depends on where you stay

if you are nons, usually M prefer M drivers?

dunno lah...

I could be wrong..

For me, those multinational SK would do well for a non driver.

dun get me wrong, I dun mind picking up others, but question is do they prefer another?
At my place most of the school multinational and mixed race SK, from what ive seen there's indian school van even chinese school van picking up the students, a few malay school van do the same too..

Most parents didn't mind bout the race of the driver as long as the service good, already fine to them

Only some still prefer particular race to send and pick up their children, that's a small percentage only

Me im a malay myself, but both of my kids been send and pick up by this chinese uncle, his a great guy and love kids so much
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Oct 21 2025, 03:38 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 20 2025, 03:38 PM)
Morning, noon and evening, can do 4 trips per day during weekdays
Plus during school holidays, they ferry passengers to outstation trips & holidays. Some use their bus to ferry mourning customers during funeral ceremony
GamersFamilia
post Oct 21 2025, 04:10 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,709 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Oct 21 2025, 03:38 AM)
Plus during school holidays, they ferry passengers to outstation trips & holidays. Some use their bus to ferry mourning customers during funeral ceremony
Exactly yes, all depends on the driver and company itself
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Oct 21 2025, 05:11 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 21 2025, 04:10 AM)
Exactly yes, all depends on the driver and company itself
Some bas sekolah tauke even has bas persiaran. Big biznes man yo this people
TShoonanoo
post Oct 21 2025, 09:25 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 20 2025, 08:47 PM)
At my place most of the school multinational and mixed race SK, from what ive seen there's indian school van even chinese school van picking up the students, a few malay school van do the same too..

Most parents didn't mind bout the race of the driver as long as the service good, already fine to them

Only some still prefer particular race to send and pick up their children, that's a small percentage only

Me im a malay myself, but both of my kids been send and pick up by this chinese uncle, his a great guy and love kids so much
that is good news.

TShoonanoo
post Oct 21 2025, 09:25 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Oct 21 2025, 05:11 AM)
Some bas sekolah tauke even has bas persiaran. Big biznes man yo this people
dunno how much bus cost.

damn expensive
GamersFamilia
post Oct 21 2025, 10:19 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,709 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 21 2025, 09:25 AM)
that is good news.
New malaysia, we all together, no more racism issue, if so just a small percentage which doesn't contribute to anything, as long as we do things right, just go ahead
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Oct 21 2025, 10:22 AM

3,112 posts

dunno how much bus cost.

damn expensive
Most of the bus are second hand, that's why the tauke can buy dozens of them as persiaran & sekolah.
GamersFamilia
post Oct 21 2025, 10:55 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,709 posts

dunno how much bus cost.

damn expensive
It's expensive even though second hand.. Nowdays got huge size van which is bit long then standard van, suitable for school students, forgot which manufacturer is that but ive seen it few times, either toyota or china one..

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Oct 21 2025, 10:56 AM
pisces88
post Oct 21 2025, 12:13 PM

3,965 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Oct 14 2025, 12:29 PM)
Never overestimate the income. At 500 per student per month, 5 students should be able to let you cover your expenses and have some left over.

750 - Alza loan per month
300 - Petrol, average rm75 per week
200 - Toll if necessary
300 - Keep for maintenance, roadtax and misc.
Total expense about 1.5k

You'll have to be prepared to have none or little income for at least 2-3 months. Don't do this if you have no savings.

is this your retirement job or have been doing this many years? As you say you have family to take care..
TShoonanoo
post Oct 21 2025, 02:10 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 21 2025, 12:13 PM)
is this your retirement job or have been doing this many years? As you say you have family to take care..
I think for retirement, about 5k would suffice.

Of course, its palls in comparison to current pay but is ok enough to stabilize your pay without straining on your savings.

Thus to target for net 5k, one has to take at least 17 passengers to break even.

to earn 10k, has to take 24 passengers. If van can only take 10 at once, means do at least 2.5 trips x 2 = 5 trips drop off and pick up.

jerm57
post Oct 21 2025, 08:45 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Oct 21 2025, 12:13 PM)
Part time job and eventually a retirement gig.
Numbers seem small right now but when the vehicle is fully paid up, that adds to income as well.
jojolicia
post Oct 21 2025, 09:25 PM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Oct 21 2025, 08:45 PM)
Numbers seem small right now but when the vehicle is fully paid up, that adds to income as well.
Good thinking 💪
All the best

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Oct 21 2025, 09:26 PM
TShoonanoo
post Oct 22 2025, 08:41 AM

1,782 posts

its a good retirement gig.

better than stay at home shake leg.

better than working for grab that cut into ur margins.
TShoonanoo
post Oct 22 2025, 08:45 AM

1,782 posts

jerm57
post Oct 22 2025, 09:30 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 22 2025, 08:41 AM)

I recently found out, to rent the Grab Bezza costs rm1600 a month.
Means after paying for gas, you gotta earn at least 2k monthly just to break even.
And to earn a decent pay you gotta work at least 10 hours of driving per day with no holidays.
And even though Grab will pay for repairs, if the Bezza breaks down, you don't get a replacement vehicle while its in the workshop. Means even more missed earnings.
Whoever thought working Grab is a good sustainable job must be mental.
TShoonanoo
post Oct 22 2025, 10:55 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Oct 22 2025, 09:30 AM)
I recently found out, to rent the Grab Bezza costs rm1600 a month.
Means after paying for gas, you gotta earn at least 2k monthly just to break even.
And to earn a decent pay you gotta work at least 10 hours of driving per day with no holidays.
And even though Grab will pay for repairs, if the Bezza breaks down, you don't get a replacement vehicle while its in the workshop. Means even more missed earnings.
Whoever thought working Grab is a good sustainable job must be mental.
actually if you work for Grab head office as employee, of course good sustainable job lah.

because Grab is squeezing the margins out of their drivers.

I always thought that the old model of taxi business is more sustainable than Grab. Grab makes it cheaper for consumers by squeezing margins n making their drivers work like donkeys.

Hope Grab doesn't think of getting into the school bus business, else we are screwed.

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0181sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:38 PM