7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

How school van driver earn money?

TShoonanoo
post Oct 13 2025, 09:28 AM, updated 2 months ago

1,782 posts

I estimate one urvan van can take up to 10 kids max.

I think for B40, must at least earn 4k max. So maybe they charge RM 500 per student for a month?

So revenue = 5,000
less van loan instalment = 1000
less fuel cost = 1500
Profit = 2500

Damn how to survive? one month only earn 2500 in 2025 ?

Also how does van school driver find their passengers? do they like register with the school then ask school to find students want to use their service?

I saw some school vans put up cell phone number advertise on their van.

pysh
post Oct 13 2025, 09:40 AM

382 posts

i doubt they charge RM500 too expensive per month..
and do remember they fetch 2 rounds minimum for morning and noon class..
they can also cater for other schools for more rounds with different timing planned.. so they are not poor..

as for customer finding - they have their ways la.. word of mouth pass-on, advertising, daycares, etc

This post has been edited by pysh: Oct 13 2025, 09:40 AM
dexeric
post Oct 13 2025, 09:40 AM

118 posts

Maybe the van is not a new van. Then installment will not be that high. Usually second hand van is half the price.
TShoonanoo
post Oct 13 2025, 09:45 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(pysh @ Oct 13 2025, 09:40 AM)
i doubt they charge RM500 too expensive per month..
and do remember they fetch 2 rounds minimum for morning and noon class..
they can also cater for other schools for more rounds with different timing planned.. so they are not poor..

as for customer finding - they have their ways la.. word of mouth pass-on, advertising, daycares, etc
They have to charge high, otherwise they can't pass the minimum wage, then no longer feasible to operate a van.

Let say 7am they fetch kids to school, then 12noon they pick up kids from school. They need at least 2 hours to drop off 10 kids.

how are they going to make it to pick up kids for afternoon school ? they will miss the boat.

I am not sure if a van can take more than 10 kids. For eg, put 3, 3, 3, 4 = 13 students. But so far I saw arrangements 2, 2, 2, 3 = 9 students. But can pack 1 or 2 more in front sit with driver.

pysh
post Oct 13 2025, 10:01 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 13 2025, 09:45 AM)
They have to charge high, otherwise they can't pass the minimum wage, then no longer feasible to operate a van.

Let say 7am they fetch kids to school, then 12noon they pick up kids from school. They need at least 2 hours to drop off 10 kids.

how are they going to make it to pick up kids for afternoon school ? they will miss the boat.

I am not sure if a van can take more than 10 kids. For eg, put 3, 3, 3, 4 = 13 students. But so far I saw arrangements 2, 2, 2, 3 = 9 students. But can pack 1 or 2 more in front sit with driver.
no.1, minimum wage is only for employer to employ workers..
no.2, minimum wage is RM1.7k not RM4k.. where u get your facts from la?
no.3, you're not a parent i guess.. bus/van goes as early as 6am to start fetching and dropping so that they can cover more areas/students.. even if school ends at 1pm for example, you're not guaranteed that your kids will be fetched at 1pm.. some will be delayed like half an hour as an example.. so as long they plan it right, they can make it.. noon class starts at 1pm doesnt mean they drop u at 1pm, they can drop your kids at 12pm..
some van definitely can pick up more than 10, depends what vehicle you have..

backspace66
post Oct 13 2025, 10:03 AM

2,139 posts

Two rounds, morning session and evening session
TShoonanoo
post Oct 13 2025, 10:38 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(pysh @ Oct 13 2025, 10:01 AM)
no.1, minimum wage is only for employer to employ workers..
no.2, minimum wage is RM1.7k not RM4k.. where u get your facts from la?
no.3, you're not a parent i guess.. bus/van goes as early as 6am to start fetching and dropping so that they can cover more areas/students.. even if school ends at 1pm for example, you're not guaranteed that your kids will be fetched at 1pm.. some will be delayed like half an hour as an example.. so as long they plan it right, they can make it.. noon class starts at 1pm doesnt mean they drop u at 1pm, they can drop your kids at 12pm..
some van definitely can pick up more than 10, depends what vehicle you have..
I so far drop off my kids to school and babysitter.

Look at my workings, 2.5k is slightly above 1.7k min wage

My expectations to be profitable to be van driver, must at least net earn 4k minimum from business.

So at most a van can take how many passengers?

Since you do drop your kids to school van, how much is average they charge per kid? RM 400 or 500 ?

Let say if RM 400 per kid, 12 kids per round X 2 (morning & afternoon session), so revenue 9600.

Ok I probably may can reset the calculations:-

fuel cost just anggar maybe 3000
loan 1500
repairs 500
Net = 4600.

silverhawk
post Oct 13 2025, 11:07 AM

Eyes on Target
4,955 posts

The van is a fixed cost, transporting the kids is only a small fraction of a day. The way to make it work is to use the van outside the kid fetching hours by doing other delivery/passenger work.

RM400-500 would be ridiculous for transportation fees anyway. Top up a bit more, and you can get daycare + homework tutoring for the kids already.

We pay an additional RM50 for transportation to the daycare for my son. Saves us the trouble of fighting with the traffic at school.
TShoonanoo
post Oct 13 2025, 11:17 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Oct 13 2025, 11:07 AM)
The van is a fixed cost, transporting the kids is only a small fraction of a day. The way to make it work is to use the van outside the kid fetching hours by doing other delivery/passenger work.

RM400-500 would be ridiculous for transportation fees anyway. Top up a bit more, and you can get daycare + homework tutoring for the kids already.

We pay an additional RM50 for transportation to the daycare for my son. Saves us the trouble of fighting with the traffic at school.
so really how much is school van bus driver per month per kid ?

Yours is different, is provided by the tution center or kindergarten van ? those of course partially covered costs.
jerm57
post Oct 13 2025, 11:39 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 13 2025, 10:38 AM)

My expectations to be profitable to be van driver, must at least net earn 4k minimum from business.

Since you do drop your kids to school van, how much is average they charge per kid? RM 400 or 500 ?

Let say if RM 400 per kid, 12 kids per round X 2 (morning & afternoon session), so revenue 9600.

loan 1500
repairs 500
Net = 4600.
Wah, you driving M1 Abrams tank meh? Fuel cost where got reach 3000? I drive 2.5L turbo diesel to fetch 11 kids a month plus toll only scratching 1000.
All those aunty and unker can afford to charge low price like rm200-400 a month usually have very old vehicles. Either already paid off or under 30-40k value.
Also, distance from students home to the school can make or break your earning. Too far is bad, too close is also bad.

This post has been edited by jerm57: Oct 13 2025, 11:42 AM
ornehx
post Oct 13 2025, 11:43 AM

34 posts

My kids van is 400 per month. I think fit around 10 per round. Also bear in mind they fetch not just this 10, in between schedules got other batches. And this taukehsoh has 3 other vans
TShoonanoo
post Oct 13 2025, 12:20 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Oct 13 2025, 11:39 AM)
Wah, you driving M1 Abrams tank meh? Fuel cost where got reach 3000? I drive 2.5L turbo diesel to fetch 11 kids a month plus toll only scratching 1000.
All those aunty and unker can afford to charge low price like rm200-400 a month usually have very old vehicles. Either already paid off or under 30-40k value.
Also, distance from students home to the school can make or break your earning. Too far is bad, too close is also bad.
So how much you usually charge per kid per month?
TShoonanoo
post Oct 13 2025, 12:21 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(ornehx @ Oct 13 2025, 11:43 AM)
My kids van is 400 per month. I think fit around 10 per round. Also bear in mind they fetch not just this 10, in between schedules got other batches. And this taukehsoh has 3 other vans
wah how they can do per round?

let say school starts at 745am.

So they do 2 rounds?

maybe they set pick up 6am
then next round 645 am ?
ornehx
post Oct 13 2025, 12:34 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 13 2025, 12:21 PM)
wah how they can do per round?

let say school starts at 745am.

So they do 2 rounds?

maybe they set pick up 6am
then next round 645 am ?
Yes correct. My son, the van comes at 550.

Also the go home time, many schools all got different finish timing. Eg private school vs kebangsaan.

And we got to know this service because the auntie was handing out pamphlets on school registration / orientation day.
sykz
post Oct 13 2025, 12:58 PM

339 posts

Last time bus auntie jual snacks inside bas/van.

When waiting jual, when jalan jual.
jerm57
post Oct 13 2025, 12:59 PM

405 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 13 2025, 12:20 PM)
So how much you usually charge per kid per month?
650-700 per student. Premium area.
GamersFamilia
post Oct 13 2025, 01:20 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,693 posts

A friend of mine, his dad doing this business, owned 3 vans and 2 mini buses, all of them bought good condition used, plus at the same time they doing food catering for wedding and big company around selangor and kl
pysh
post Oct 13 2025, 02:02 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 13 2025, 10:38 AM)

loan 1500
repairs 500
Net = 4600.
my kid school and daycare is just like 1km away.. so i only pay RM35 one way for a month.. and this is not combine to the daycare charges, its paid separately..
so i dont think its RM500 ridiculously so expensive unless the school is like 10-20km away..
Femsroot
post Oct 13 2025, 02:09 PM

295 posts

lol. this TS obviously wanna start this bisnes but fishing for info. my take is pls go do part time to some ppl first. learn the rope. u ask here all aso half past six then u wanna jump in meh. do bisnes where got so easy win all one. i own several bisnes, some make money alot some just salary. so is all depend how to navigate the bisnes. some bisnes already die pattern - no matter how creative also make extra abit only. some can really reach sky. depend u lo

This post has been edited by Femsroot: Oct 13 2025, 02:10 PM
TShoonanoo
post Oct 13 2025, 02:21 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(jerm57 @ Oct 13 2025, 12:59 PM)
650-700 per student. Premium area.
wow.

But how did you get your contacts? the school admin helped you?

you register with them, and parents ask about school bus, then refer to you?

So how many batch of students you pick up? Every round 10

so if morning-noon batch you go 2 rounds 650 X 10 X 2 = 13000

then noon-evening batch you go 2 rounds 650 X 10 X 2 = 13000

26,000 a month? wow good money

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0138sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:22 PM