How to earn more & invest the very lil money u had, at least can become M40 lar

TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 09:03 AM, updated 3 months ago

1,788 posts

Unker wants to change my current situation so now unker ady quit wasting time watching drama, instead using the time to learn figma thanks to kidmad and masboleh's suggestion. Unker want to ask ktards sekalian how do you earn more or invest when you were still B40? I believe nobody starts at T20 unless you born in rich family.

So far unker only put money in TNG for daily interest only, unker dunno how to grow more money so hope ktard sifus can advise how to manage own financial. I believe this can help other B40 ktards too. Sila advise and bincangkan, tenkiu

Strictly no gambling advice (previously 90% gambling troll in /k so close and open it in serious /k)

This post has been edited by heinlein: Aug 21 2025, 09:07 AM
MegaCanonF
post Aug 21 2025, 09:20 AM

861 posts

I know this is easier said than done, but .

to earn more - upgrade your skillset, certs, 2nd jobs, etc . tiktok/ editing video skills is good too .

be frugal and cut spending

avoid MLM/ get rich quick scheme . invest in relatively safe n low risk if you are still learning . anything promise >11-15% annual return yearly is a scam .

Gold- publicgold / kwsp /EPF / asb / TH

skip those high risk /medium risk first if you don't know what you are doing like stock market /etc . those can be learned with time. Even stuff like public mutual, avoid it since the agent commision fee is too high . learn to trade yourself .

avoid property investment like a plague. very hard to get it right .

Hope the best for you .

This post has been edited by MegaCanonF: Aug 21 2025, 09:23 AM
WongTheThief
post Aug 21 2025, 09:22 AM

215 posts

I don't know much about figma and web design with how much time you will be spending per day -

if you are willing to go for side hustles with extra time you have
Capt. Marble
post Aug 21 2025, 09:23 AM

220 posts

If you are around 20-30+, you can actually start putting self contribution into EPF to locked the money away. Sometimes it helps to discipline yourself on money management when you force the money to be locked away. Even as little as it is, you can still see it grow. Once you get the habit of doing it, it's always a win for you.
ListenToTheWind
post Aug 21 2025, 09:27 AM

453 posts

1. Spend lesser than income

2. Invest the excess cash

3. Don't touch the money investment no matter what

Rinse and repeat
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 09:34 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 21 2025, 09:20 AM)
I know this is easier said than done, but .

to earn more - upgrade your skillset, certs, 2nd jobs, etc . tiktok/ editing video skills is good too .

be frugal and cut spending

avoid MLM/ get rich quick scheme  . invest in relatively safe n low risk if you are still learning  . anything promise >11-15% annual return yearly is a scam . 

Gold- publicgold / kwsp /EPF / asb / TH

skip those high risk /medium risk first if you don't know what you are doing like stock market /etc . those can be learned with time. Even stuff like public mutual, avoid it since the agent commision fee is too high . learn to trade yourself .

avoid property investment like a plague. very hard to get it right .

Hope the best for you .
Currently is doing the figma learning after work, have to rewatch it cuz first time I follow it blindly, rewatch to understand the logic behind it. Video editing is super stagnant like graphic design, too many designers too little demand.

I dun even know how to invest in low risk investment in tng. Btw, what is publicgold and TH? My cousin last time do public mutual and my mum super supportive promote non stop til all the siblings bought it. Few years later, i tok about it to my lil sister, she sigh and say dun talk about it liao in disappointment. Didnt want to tell me but the reaction, I stay away from it.

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Aug 21 2025, 09:22 AM)
I don't know much about figma and web design with how much time you will be spending per day -

if you are willing to go for side hustles with extra time you have
I only can learn after work until I totally exhaust, I cant say Im learning fast and need to rewatch it a few times and making notes.

QUOTE(Capt. Marble @ Aug 21 2025, 09:23 AM)
If you are around 20-30+, you can actually start putting self contribution into EPF to locked the money away. Sometimes it helps to discipline yourself on money management when you force the money to be locked away. Even as little as it is, you can still see it grow. Once you get the habit of doing it, it's always a win for you.
Now already 40s+, I'm consider to self contribute epf although it kind of late now, I was thinking to put RM100 every month apart from those contributed by work salary
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 09:35 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Aug 21 2025, 09:27 AM)
1. Spend lesser than income

2. Invest the excess cash

3. Don't touch the money investment no matter what

Rinse and repeat
The invest part is the knowledge I lack of, only know tng Go+, FD and EPF
mariberbaikbaik P
post Aug 21 2025, 09:39 AM

Probation

Step by step

1. Start with RM1000 saving (in bank enough)
2. Then go with 6month net salary saving (save somewhere like asb, fd, tabung haji, make sure you can still make withdrawal)

If you manage pass step 2, most probably you already in m40 class.

3. Start saving in somewhere when can get tax refund (SSPN, PRS)
4. Then start learning medium risk investment. Personally recommend Public gold.

Further than that, no advise as i not yet pass the step 4.

ListenToTheWind
post Aug 21 2025, 09:39 AM

453 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 09:35 AM)
Currently I just put some $ in EPF & S&P500 (You can learn all about throwing money into S&P500 here)
galkelly
post Aug 21 2025, 09:43 AM

751 posts

My retired uncle told me why he gamble ..
He say after deduct everything he left about 500-700.
500-600 can do what ?! Lama lama jadi bukit ah ??
So he take it to gamble in Genting..
Sometime lucky win few k...if not lose all 500...

Capt. Marble
post Aug 21 2025, 09:43 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 09:34 AM)
Now already 40s+, I'm consider to self contribute epf although it kind of late now, I was thinking to put RM100 every month apart from those contributed by work salary
Still not too late actually. Remember every RM 100 you put in your can actually take out RM 10 as it goes to flexible account, so it's not 100% locked. But the good thing is you currently still get the same dividend rate as the other accounts. At 40++, you just need to treat it as a long FD as the funds will be assessible when you reach retirement.
Remember you can offset your income tax with these.

This post has been edited by Capt. Marble: Aug 21 2025, 09:45 AM
MegaCanonF
post Aug 21 2025, 09:54 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 09:34 AM)
Currently is doing the figma learning after work, have to rewatch it cuz first time I follow it blindly, rewatch to understand the logic behind it. Video editing is super stagnant like graphic design, too many designers too little demand.

I dun even know how to invest in low risk investment in tng. Btw, what is publicgold and TH? My cousin last time do public mutual and my mum super supportive promote non stop til all the siblings bought it. Few years later, i tok about it to my lil sister, she sigh and say dun talk about it liao in disappointment. Didnt want to tell me but the reaction, I stay away from it.
I only can learn after work until I totally exhaust, I cant say Im learning fast and need to rewatch it a few times and making notes.
publicgold - gold saving n buying account . had it since 2015, just park money there, they have GAP (gold accumulation program), can buy slowly the gold.

just consistent every month and let the money be there .

TH is tabung haji

TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 10:14 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(mariberbaikbaik @ Aug 21 2025, 09:39 AM)
Step by step

1. Start with RM1000 saving (in bank enough)
2. Then go with 6month net salary saving (save somewhere like asb, fd, tabung haji, make sure you can still make withdrawal)

If you manage pass step 2, most probably you already in m40 class.

3. Start saving in somewhere when can get tax refund (SSPN, PRS)
4. Then start learning medium risk investment. Personally recommend Public gold.

Further than that, no advise as i not yet pass the step 4.
The only safest I can redraw prolly is FD, I keep my expenses minimum and save as much as I can to meet the target, and also self contribute extra for my epf too. Never know what gonna happen when Im getting old

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Aug 21 2025, 09:39 AM)
Currently I just put some $ in EPF & S&P500 (You can learn all about throwing money into S&P500 here)
I give a good read at S&P500, really appreciate your advice

QUOTE(galkelly @ Aug 21 2025, 09:43 AM)
To me gamble is 95% lose so I not touching that. Too dangerous and risky

QUOTE(Capt. Marble @ Aug 21 2025, 09:43 AM)
Still not too late actually. Remember every RM 100 you put in your can actually take out RM 10 as it goes to flexible account, so it's not 100% locked. But the good thing is you currently still get the same dividend rate as the other accounts.  At 40++, you just need to treat it as a long FD as the funds will be assessible when you reach retirement.
Remember you can offset your income tax with these.
I wonder how to retrieve the money when Im retired, do you have any idea? I think my dad go to counter to retrieve it?

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 21 2025, 09:54 AM)
publicgold - gold saving n buying account . had it since 2015, just park money there, they have GAP (gold accumulation program), can buy slowly the gold.

just consistent every month and let the money be there .

TH is tabung haji
Tabung Haji is for type M only right? If so, this option is not valid for me sad.gif I need to look into public gold, unker really live under the rock for too long
Le Don
post Aug 21 2025, 10:18 AM

354 posts

Open fundsupermart account, invest in S&P 500 ETF through RSP (minimum rm100 per month)
mini orchard
post Aug 21 2025, 10:48 AM

14,511 posts

Don't leave large amount of money in savings account. It generate no or little interest.

For a start, transfer to fd. It gives something better than savings. Just leave some for emergency.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: Aug 21 2025, 10:49 AM
galkelly
post Aug 21 2025, 10:49 AM

751 posts

Worst part getting old is not having a roof over your head and getting squeeze by landlord. Money little nvm, as long body healthy, eat less quality still can survive.
T.Alvin
post Aug 21 2025, 10:56 AM

125 posts

Invest in stock market,
S&P500 for growth,
Maybank or other banking stock for dividend
Medium risk, Tech stock , Nvidia, Apple etc
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 11:10 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Le Don @ Aug 21 2025, 10:18 AM)
Open fundsupermart account, invest in S&P 500 ETF through RSP (minimum rm100 per month)
Any video to learn the basic, unker really dunno anything about this

QUOTE(mini orchard @ Aug 21 2025, 10:48 AM)
Don't leave large amount of money in savings account. It generate no or little interest.

For a start, transfer to fd. It gives something better than savings. Just leave some for emergency.
Unker also thinking of FD after TNG and EPF

QUOTE(galkelly @ Aug 21 2025, 10:49 AM)
Worst part getting old is not having a roof over your head and getting squeeze by landlord. Money little nvm, as long body healthy, eat less quality still can survive.
Maybe ktards foreveralone can rent and live together to support one another

QUOTE(T.Alvin @ Aug 21 2025, 10:56 AM)
Invest in stock market,
S&P500 for growth,
Maybank or other banking stock for dividend
Medium risk, Tech stock , Nvidia, Apple etc
Any video to learn the basic, unker really dunno anything about this. what medium risk actually means? money invest lost?

This post has been edited by heinlein: Aug 21 2025, 11:17 AM
OrganicRepublic
post Aug 21 2025, 11:45 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 09:03 AM)
Unker wants to change my current situation so now unker ady quit wasting time watching drama, instead using the time to learn figma thanks to kidmad and masboleh's suggestion. Unker want to ask ktards sekalian how do you earn more or invest when you were still B40? I believe nobody starts at T20 unless you born in rich family.

So far unker only put money in TNG for daily interest only, unker dunno how to grow more money so hope ktard sifus can advise how to manage own financial. I believe this can help other B40 ktards too. Sila advise and bincangkan, tenkiu

Strictly no gambling advice (previously 90% gambling troll in /k so close and open it in serious /k)
What skills do you have? TnG daily interest is not meaningful just skip it.

This post has been edited by OrganicRepublic: Aug 21 2025, 11:46 AM
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 11:52 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(OrganicRepublic @ Aug 21 2025, 11:45 AM)
What skills do you have? TnG daily interest is not meaningful just skip it.
All design related skill as graphic designer, illustrator, photoshop and indesign, currently learning figma, also know some artificial intelligence but very limited to hardware (AMD GPU)
T.Alvin
post Aug 21 2025, 12:03 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 11:10 AM)
Any video to learn the basic, unker really dunno anything about this. what medium risk actually means? money invest lost?
it means higher volatility compare to ETF.
purplefellow
post Aug 21 2025, 12:03 PM

195 posts

Investing in stock market can be as risky as gambling. Make sure you have at least 6 months of emergency fund secured first. Then search for "Bogleheads" to learn about the long-term stock investment strategy.
Singh_Kalan
post Aug 21 2025, 12:29 PM

2,030 posts

The only way to make it big is crypto.
Buy very little at start (since its near peak) then increment for every 5% drop. Stick the top 3 crypto. Thanks me in 2035
Le Don
post Aug 21 2025, 01:02 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 11:10 AM)
https://www.fsmone.com.my/funds/research/ar...-details/327341
Autocountstick
post Aug 21 2025, 01:42 PM

654 posts

remember fat mau landlord want to increase the rent. I think should buy a condo/apart or apply for rumahwip.Once get older nobody want to rent to oldman.Learn is good, but i feel learn something related/similiar to your work industry even better for you to build up not only your career
hope fat mau can share more with me
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 01:44 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Autocountstick @ Aug 21 2025, 01:42 PM)
remember fat mau landlord want to increase the rent. I think should buy a condo/apart or apply for rumahwip.Once get older nobody want to rent to oldman.Learn is good, but i feel learn something related/similiar to your work industry even better for you to build up not only your career
hope fat mau can share more with me
Dunno go old folks home expensive or not when unker old
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 02:33 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(purplefellow @ Aug 21 2025, 12:03 PM)
Investing in stock market can be as risky as gambling. Make sure you have at least 6 months of emergency fund secured first. Then search for "Bogleheads" to learn about the long-term stock investment strategy.
I also sked the money kenot take out

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Aug 21 2025, 12:29 PM)
Buy very little at start (since its near peak) then increment for every 5% drop.  Stick the top 3 crypto.  Thanks me in 2035
Cyrpto very expensive right? unker dun think i hv the money to invest it also
Singh_Kalan
post Aug 21 2025, 02:39 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 02:33 PM)
I also sked the money kenot take out
Cyrpto very expensive right? unker dun think i hv the money to invest it also
Yes its near peak. Thats why its good to invest at interval (eg monthly) at a very small amount and increment it at certain % drop. Dont time the market and dont sell. Have a long term horizon.
You can start with any amount, RM10.

This post has been edited by Singh_Kalan: Aug 21 2025, 02:59 PM
dudester
post Aug 21 2025, 02:40 PM

1,222 posts

EPF if you are in the 5 0 club
Gather stocks that pays dividend, Bank stocks are safe bets
Your daily cash put in ewallet for daily interest
Many will disagree, but parking in BTC long term is medium risk with high or fast return
Dont spend on drinks
Use My50.

This post has been edited by dudester: Aug 21 2025, 02:41 PM
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 02:57 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Aug 21 2025, 02:39 PM)
You can start with any amount la.  Not ask to u buy 1 BTC
ok, dunno min is not 1 btc

QUOTE(dudester @ Aug 21 2025, 02:40 PM)
EPF if you are in the 5 0 club
Gather stocks that pays dividend, Bank stocks are safe bets
Your daily cash put in ewallet for daily interest
Many will disagree, but parking in BTC long term is medium risk with high or fast return
Dont spend on drinks
Use My50.
can let unker know example of bank stocks and where to buy them??
dudester
post Aug 21 2025, 03:03 PM

1,222 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 02:57 PM)
can let unker know example of bank stocks and where to buy them??
HOW
Autocountstick
post Aug 21 2025, 03:26 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 01:44 PM)
Dunno go old folks home expensive or not when unker old
you should go visit or do some charity home care elder and see the real situation
dont worry too much, focus to earn more money. keep watch drama for relaxing and ignore those unhealthy news brings you negative
ragk
post Aug 21 2025, 05:46 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

A proper investment in stock market require alot of study and understanding, u need to learn how to read the financial report, understanding the market trend, basic economy knowledge, and also strong mental quality (some people can't handle the stress when due to the volitation of stock market and make mistake).

I start investing into fund in my earlier 20's, but the return doesn't really convincing. When I've more capital and I'm more comfortable financially in my late 20's, i start investing into stock market. I'm now stably earning from stock market, but it took me about 5+- years to get me into this status, as what I mentioned above, it took alot of effort to understanding the market. If u think u have the time and motivation for what I mentioned above, u can slowly pickup.

If u think u just simply don't have the time, or mental quality to do it, I would suggest like what many already suggested here, just invest in S&P 500, or NASDAQ 100, create an account and chip in money every month. This is what i would suggest to my friend whoever that think they are not capable to deal with the stock market.

The logic is simple, buying S&P 500/NASDAQ 100 is buying the fortune of US, as long as US still the world's leading powerhouse, their economy will continue grow, we are just ridding the trend by participating. Ofcoz S&P 500/NASDAQ 100 can fall during bear market, but in long term, 10-20 years, it's always grow, unless one day US are no longer the leading powerhouse, then u should reconsider this investment plan.

This post has been edited by ragk: Aug 22 2025, 03:57 PM
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 05:51 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Aug 21 2025, 05:46 PM)
A proper investment in stock market require alot of study and understanding, u need to learn how to read the financial report, understanding the market trend, basic economy knowledge, and also strong mental quality (some people can't handle the stress when the violation of stock market and make mistake).

I start investing into fund in my earlier 20's, but the return doesn't really convincing. When I've more capital and I'm more comfortable financially in my late 20's, i start investing into stock market. I'm now stably earning from stock market, but it took me about 5+- years to get me into this status, as what I mentioned above, it took alot of effort to understanding the market. If u think u have the time and motivation for what I mentioned above, u can slowly pickup.

If u think u just simply don't have the time, or mental quality to do it, I would suggest like what many already suggested here, just invest in S&P 500, or NASDAQ 100, create an account and chip in money every month. This is what i would suggest to my friend whoever that think they are not capable to deal with the stock market.

The logic is simple, buying S&P 500/NASDAQ 100 is buying the fortune of US, as long as US still the world's leading powerhouse, their economy will continue grow, we are just ridding the trend by participating. Ofcoz S&P 500/NASDAQ 100 can fall during bear market, but in long term, 10-20 years, it's always grow, unless one day US are no longer the leading powerhouse, then u should reconsider this investment plan.
I always having trouble understanding stock market and financial stuff, so many things to learn, unker also 42 yo liao, really feel not easy study alone by myself.
vaksin
post Aug 21 2025, 06:00 PM

670 posts

B40, no invest, only work...
slowly hop job, until salary M40.
money only keep in epf & property...
foofoosasa
post Aug 21 2025, 06:03 PM

3,482 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 11:52 AM)
All design related skill as graphic designer, illustrator, photoshop and indesign, currently learning figma, also know some artificial intelligence but very limited to hardware (AMD GPU)
Bro u should utilise from here. Do more freelance/ small business.
if have enough money then Invest something easy like US etf, the main cryptos, gold etc.
Prudent personal finance .what else u need.

Without extra saving for investment there is no way u can climb from m40 to t20 through investment. The only way is set up your own business/ or have high position stable career or corporate job.

Even setup your own business have a thousand way like become YouTuber/ content creator etc .
Emily Ratajkowski
post Aug 21 2025, 06:07 PM

444 posts

Unker... If you don't know how to manage your money go find financial advisor help you. For a small fee they help you fix your life and show you the way.

At most cost you rm2k if your case very messy. Better than follow some ktards advice.

If you really srs one just pm me I give you a contact of someone I know.

This post has been edited by Emily Ratajkowski: Aug 21 2025, 06:09 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 21 2025, 07:17 PM

24,328 posts

You need money to make money. You need both high savings rate and high earnings to kick start your investment journey.

Live life like the strictest B40 where every Sen also count. No subscription. Astro, netflix auto-pay nothing. Buy and use the cheapest android phone you can afford. Don't be ashamed.

No mlm/direct selling, crypto, get rich quick investment scheme.

Use the savings above to invest in S&P500 or QQQ or IUIT (UK version of QQQ) every single month. Come.back after min of 10 years. Market red or green, keep buying. If red, buy the f*****g dip even if it's a multiple dip.
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 08:27 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(vaksin @ Aug 21 2025, 06:00 PM)
B40, no invest, only work...
slowly hop job, until salary M40.
money only keep in epf & property...
At least you have property, should proud of yourself, unker bo property yet and dun hv money to downpayment oso, never have experience buying property nor the knowledge how it is done

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Aug 21 2025, 06:03 PM)
Bro u should utilise from here. Do more freelance/ small business.
if have enough money then Invest something easy like US etf, the main cryptos, gold etc.
Prudent personal finance .what else u need.

Without extra saving for investment there is no way u can climb from m40 to t20 through investment. The only way is set up your own business/ or have high position stable career or corporate job.

Even setup your own business have a thousand way like become YouTuber/ content creator etc .
Freelance is a hard job, unker try do own business freelance designing for a few years, connection is important, without it really eat dust, end up back to work even low salary. Unker also make youtube video, really not easy

QUOTE(Emily Ratajkowski @ Aug 21 2025, 06:07 PM)
Unker... If you don't know how to manage your money go find financial advisor help you. For a small fee they help you fix your life and show you the way.

At most cost you rm2k if your case very messy. Better than follow some ktards advice.

If you really srs one just pm me I give you a contact of someone I know.
Unfortunately unker dun hv luxury to pay someone to fix my financial sad.gif

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 21 2025, 07:17 PM)
You need money to make money. You need both high savings rate and high earnings to kick start your investment journey.

Live life like the strictest B40 where every Sen also count. No subscription. Astro, netflix auto-pay nothing. Buy and use the cheapest android phone you can afford. Don't be ashamed.

Use the savings above to invest in S&P500 or QQQ or IUIT (UK version of QQQ) every single month. Come.back after min of 10 years. Market red or green, keep buying. If red, buy the f*****g dip even if it's a multiple dip.
Unker no subscribe to anything except internet, and wont dive into mlm, have seen my mum crazy doing mlm and nv even get rich once. For now, unker only target to reach 20k savings first for tng and chip in a little extra to my epf also, so at least hope when old can afford myself a place at old folk home
Ramjade
post Aug 21 2025, 08:43 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 08:27 PM)
At least you have property, should proud of yourself, unker bo property yet and dun hv money to downpayment oso, never have experience buying property nor the knowledge how it is done
Freelance is a hard job, unker try do own business freelance designing for a few years, connection is important, without it really eat dust, end up back to work even low salary. Unker also make youtube video, really not easy
Unfortunately unker dun hv luxury to pay someone to fix my financial  sad.gif
Unker no subscribe to anything except internet, and wont dive into mlm, have seen my mum crazy doing mlm and nv even get rich once. For now, unker only target to reach 20k savings first for tng and chip in a little extra to my epf also, so at least hope when old can afford myself a place at old folk home
If you know how to design things, try fiverr or Upwork. Can earn some USD.

Internet also bare minimum.Like mine. I sub to the cheapest fibre package at RM89/month, phone bill only RM40. If you are at home most of the time just pay for long life plan around RM60/year.

Like I said watch where every sen goes. Personal finance is very easy. At the end of the day is money in must be always be more than money going out. No need to pay someone to manage your own finance. Learn to manage your own.

Learn to eat one meal a day. Do meal prep. Eating 1 meal a day help your health and money in the long run.

Have at least RM50k in emergency savings. Make use of stuff such as KDI save (4% for first RM50k), KAF digital bank (5% for first RM2k), Ryt bank (4% for first RM20k until 30/11/2025). I would forget about Tng as returns are low Vs the above mentioned. Yes few sensible difference. But now you need to max even that few sens difference.

Once you collect your RM50k, come back here then we talk.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 21 2025, 08:46 PM
westernkl
post Aug 21 2025, 09:12 PM

552 posts

QUOTE(ragk @ Aug 21 2025, 05:46 PM)
A proper investment in stock market require alot of study and understanding, u need to learn how to read the financial report, understanding the market trend, basic economy knowledge, and also strong mental quality (some people can't handle the stress when the violation of stock market and make mistake).

But buying S&P 500/Nasdaq 100 have US Withholding Tax 30%.

How to waive the 30% US Withholding Tax?

I am interested to learn bro, pls teach thanks.
Ramjade
post Aug 21 2025, 09:19 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(westernkl @ Aug 21 2025, 09:12 PM)
But buying S&P 500/Nasdaq 100 have US Withholding Tax 30%.

How to waive the 30% US Withholding Tax?

I am interested to learn bro, pls teach thanks.
You cannot waive it. You can only offset it partially by buying UK Etf that track US stock reducing it to 15%.

The tax is on the dividend. Not the whole gain. Capital gains is not tax for international investor.
westernkl
post Aug 21 2025, 10:08 PM

552 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 21 2025, 09:19 PM)
You cannot waive it. You can only offset it partially by buying UK Etf that track US stock reducing it to 15%.

The tax is on the dividend. Not the whole gain. Capital gains is not tax for international investor.
Ok, how to/where to buy UK based ETF?

Pls teach me sifu, thanks.
Bkboy
post Aug 21 2025, 10:31 PM

79 posts

There is no short cut. Stock? Crypto? Unit trust? Stop hearing this…If no people go in….they can’t earn money….with the little money…forget it…..

Money is earn from the People.
Either u invest in what you good at or
By now..should have friends…tak akan no friend….ask your surrounding successful friend ….see can join or help.

westernkl
post Aug 21 2025, 10:33 PM

552 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Aug 21 2025, 12:29 PM)
Buy very little at start (since its near peak) then increment for every 5% drop.  Stick the top 3 crypto.  Thanks me in 2035
Which top 3 crypto u recommend?
westernkl
post Aug 21 2025, 10:34 PM

552 posts

QUOTE(Le Don @ Aug 21 2025, 01:02 PM)
westernkl
post Aug 21 2025, 10:37 PM

552 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 21 2025, 07:17 PM)

Ok use what platform to buy?
Ramjade
post Aug 21 2025, 10:43 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(westernkl @ Aug 21 2025, 10:08 PM)
Ok, how to/where to buy UK based ETF?

Pls teach me sifu, thanks.
Are you trying to troll? I will give you the benefit of doubt.
1. Open sg bank account
2. Open sunway money /& moneymatch
3. Open interactive broker (IBKR)
4. Use number 2 to transfer money to your sg bank account (RM -> SGD). Do not use Malaysian banks to send money. Ever. You lose 2-3% with Malaysian bank per transaction.
5. Use the sg bank account to transfer SGD to IBKR using FAST transfer (sg version of Duitnow) - free
6. Convert the SGD into USD or GBP inside IBKR depending on what you want to buy and what currency they ae in.
7. Use number 6 and buy the UK listed ETF

QUOTE(westernkl @ Aug 21 2025, 10:34 PM)
Do not use fsm. It is more expensive than IBKR over long term (>10y)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 21 2025, 10:50 PM
M2020
post Aug 21 2025, 10:46 PM

78 posts

After whole day work, no time no energy to learn investment. Sifu2, please recommend uneducated B40 old and slow uncle which is safer investment.
If can only choose 1, crypto or ETF? Thanks.

TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 10:52 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Bkboy @ Aug 21 2025, 10:31 PM)
There is no short cut. Stock? Crypto? Unit trust? Stop hearing this…If no people go in….they can’t earn money….with the little money…forget it…..

Money is earn from the People.
Either u invest in what you good at or
By now..should have friends…tak akan no friend….ask your surrounding successful friend ….see can join or help.
honestly, friends will leave when they see me being less successful, that is fact, I only can depend on myself to catch up sad.gif
westernkl
post Aug 21 2025, 11:01 PM

552 posts

QUOTE(M2020 @ Aug 21 2025, 10:46 PM)
After whole day work, no time no energy to learn investment. Sifu2, please recommend uneducated B40 old and slow uncle which is safer investment.
Crypto for fast reward + high risk.
ETF for slow reward + low risk.

Depends on your risk appetite bro.
Bkboy
post Aug 21 2025, 11:03 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 10:52 PM)
honestly, friends will leave when they see me being less successful, that is fact, I only can depend on myself to catch up sad.gif
That is not friend. Is hi and bye friend. These friend got or not also never mind. Have a strong inner self.

Real friend is connected by your energy. Real friend won’t leave when they see you less successful.
TSheinlein
post Aug 21 2025, 11:11 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Bkboy @ Aug 21 2025, 11:03 PM)
That is not friend. Is hi and bye friend. These friend got or not also never mind. Have a strong inner self.

Real friend is connected by your energy. Real friend won’t leave when they see you less successful.
I guess I only hv 1 real friend at hometown, we both arent successful too but he always update me with useful info
Ayambetul
post Aug 21 2025, 11:28 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 09:35 AM)
This is a good start.

Avoid high risk investment if you not really pro at it, stable is the key for old age
Singh_Kalan
post Aug 21 2025, 11:40 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(M2020 @ Aug 21 2025, 10:46 PM)
Put 1% in crypto and 99% in ETF.

mystalyzer
post Aug 22 2025, 03:07 AM

394 posts

I was B40 before. I took metrobus to work in early 2000s

The best thing to do is to invest in yourself, and to invest in knowledge

Find what you like to do, what you are good at doing and what pays well for doing it

It took me a while, but I learned a new skill and became better with it until it was worth something

Investment with little money isn't going to give you a lot of returns, unless it is risky investments or gambling

I suggest you first take a step back and think what works best for you
TSheinlein
post Aug 22 2025, 08:16 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Aug 22 2025, 03:07 AM)
I was B40 before. I took metrobus to work in early 2000s

The best thing to do is to invest in yourself, and to invest in knowledge

Find what you like to do, what you are good at doing and what pays well for doing it

It took me a while, but I learned a new skill and became better with it until it was worth something

Investment with little money isn't going to give you a lot of returns, unless it is risky investments or gambling

I suggest you first take a step back and think what works best for you
I'm currently also investing myself with knowledge with the remaining time I have after work. Could you share your story what you learn and your process too? It would really helps a lot
vaksin
post Aug 22 2025, 08:21 AM

670 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 08:27 PM)
Unfortunately unker dun hv luxury to pay someone to fix my financial  sad.gif
property low cost also can buy, 50k-100k still can find...
just pay booking to agent, find lawyer & take 100% bank loan...
ez lh... the hard part, dont buy wrong property lh... rclxub.gif

unker now financially worry about what?
retire later stay with school friend lh if no family...
TSheinlein
post Aug 22 2025, 08:27 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(vaksin @ Aug 22 2025, 08:21 AM)
property low cost also can buy, 50k-100k still can find...
just pay booking to agent, find lawyer & take 100% bank loan...
ez lh... the hard part, dont buy wrong property lh... rclxub.gif

unker now financially worry about what?
retire later stay with school friend lh if no family...
Long time no contact with school friend ady, if can find a group of foreveralone ktards like unker willing rent and live together will be the most ideal, otherwise unker actually plan to secure myself a place at old folks home after 65yo. I dun think i will live pass 70yo oso actually. I had a fb friend's auntie live next door to her in her own house. Lately dunno is it kidney failure and rush to hospital (70 yo oso), after awhile she totally lost contact, dunno how is her auntie's condition
vaksin
post Aug 22 2025, 08:39 AM

670 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 08:27 AM)
Long time no contact with school friend ady, if can find a group of foreveralone ktards like unker willing rent and live together will be the most ideal, otherwise unker actually plan to secure myself a place at old folks home after 65yo. I dun think i will live pass 70yo oso actually. I had a fb friend's auntie live next door to her in her own house. Lately dunno is it kidney failure and rush to hospital (70 yo oso), after awhile she totally lost contact, dunno how is her auntie's condition
AI reply unker....

Thank you for clarifying — being around 60, without family support and while struggling financially, changes things a bit. At this stage, the priority is **security, dignity, and maintaining health**, while avoiding being overwhelmed.

Here’s a tailored approach for your situation:

---

## 🧩 1. Secure Basic Needs

* **Food Assistance**: In Malaysia, you can apply for *Bantuan Prihatin Rakyat (BPR)* or *Jabatan Kebajikan Masyarakat (JKM)* aid. Some mosques, temples, and NGOs run food banks (*bank makanan*).
* **Shelter/Housing**:

* If rent is a problem, look into *Rumah PPR (Program Perumahan Rakyat)* low-cost housing.
* Some NGOs and religious organizations help elderly individuals with temporary housing.

---

## 🧩 2. Financial Options for Seniors

* **Government Assistance**:

* *Bantuan Warga Emas* (JKM) gives RM500/month to elderly without steady income.
* *eKasih program* may provide cash and food aid if you are registered as low-income.
* **Part-Time Work (Light)**:

* Light jobs such as security guard, shop assistant, food delivery (if health allows), or even online tasks (teaching, translation, tutoring).
* Some NGOs also provide small livelihood projects for seniors.

---

## 🧩 3. Health & Wellbeing

* **Healthcare**: Government hospitals and clinics (*Klinik Kesihatan*) charge very minimal fees for seniors.
* **Daily Care**: Even small daily walks, stretching, or light gardening help keep mobility and mood better.
* **Mental Health**: Loneliness is real. Try:

* Joining local *surau/masjid activities, senior citizen clubs, or NGO volunteering*.
* Talking regularly with neighbours or community members.

---

## 🧩 4. Build a Social Safety Net (Without Family)

* **Community**: Being part of a mosque, church, temple, or NGO group can create a “chosen family” of support.
* **Volunteering**: Even if small, it brings meaning and connections — and sometimes support networks for emergencies.
* **Support Groups**: There are elderly community centres (*Pusat Aktiviti Warga Emas*) that provide activities and a social circle.

---

## 🧩 5. Protect Yourself

* Keep important documents (IC, medical records, bank info) safe and organized.
* If possible, talk to a social worker (JKM has them) who can help register you for multiple aid programs.
* Avoid scams — older people are often targeted.

---

👉 The key is: **use community + government support, maintain health, and find light ways to stay active and connected.** You don’t have to face everything alone, even without family.

---

OrganicRepublic
post Aug 22 2025, 08:59 AM

53 posts

Assuming you’re in your 40s/50s, average to low wage with not much savings and have no plans to leave your stable job.

1. Invest in low risk financial instruments, ETF, EPF etc, do not allocate a big portion of your asset to crypto and penny stocks as you can’t handle the risk at your age and income level. Be defensive and maintain a 20/80 10/90 ratio of high risk/low risk investments.

2. If you don’t have dependents, consider career change. If you do have dependents, consider upgrading yourself and look for a new job. At 6% return per year, you need 100k to earn 500 a month but 500 a month is just a job change away.

3. Network more, with quality people a level or two above you, no peers.

4. Do not waste time seeking advice from people who aren’t successful at making money themselves, no gurus.

5. Consider taking up part time or freelance job to increase your income. Invest the full amount you earn.

6. Change your habits.

This post has been edited by OrganicRepublic: Aug 22 2025, 09:05 AM
TSheinlein
post Aug 22 2025, 09:08 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(vaksin @ Aug 22 2025, 08:39 AM)
AI reply unker....

Thank you for clarifying — being around 60, without family support and while struggling financially, changes things a bit. At this stage, the priority is **security, dignity, and maintaining health**, while avoiding being overwhelmed.

Here’s a tailored approach for your situation:

---

## 🧩 1. Secure Basic Needs

* **Food Assistance**: In Malaysia, you can apply for *Bantuan Prihatin Rakyat (BPR)* or *Jabatan Kebajikan Masyarakat (JKM)* aid. Some mosques, temples, and NGOs run food banks (*bank makanan*).
* **Shelter/Housing**:

* If rent is a problem, look into *Rumah PPR (Program Perumahan Rakyat)* low-cost housing.
  * Some NGOs and religious organizations help elderly individuals with temporary housing.

---

## 🧩 2. Financial Options for Seniors

* **Government Assistance**:

* *Bantuan Warga Emas* (JKM) gives RM500/month to elderly without steady income.
  * *eKasih program* may provide cash and food aid if you are registered as low-income.
* **Part-Time Work (Light)**:

* Light jobs such as security guard, shop assistant, food delivery (if health allows), or even online tasks (teaching, translation, tutoring).
  * Some NGOs also provide small livelihood projects for seniors.

---

## 🧩 3. Health & Wellbeing

* **Healthcare**: Government hospitals and clinics (*Klinik Kesihatan*) charge very minimal fees for seniors.
* **Daily Care**: Even small daily walks, stretching, or light gardening help keep mobility and mood better.
* **Mental Health**: Loneliness is real. Try:

* Joining local *surau/masjid activities, senior citizen clubs, or NGO volunteering*.
  * Talking regularly with neighbours or community members.

---

## 🧩 4. Build a Social Safety Net (Without Family)

* **Community**: Being part of a mosque, church, temple, or NGO group can create a “chosen family” of support.
* **Volunteering**: Even if small, it brings meaning and connections — and sometimes support networks for emergencies.
* **Support Groups**: There are elderly community centres (*Pusat Aktiviti Warga Emas*) that provide activities and a social circle.

---

## 🧩 5. Protect Yourself

* Keep important documents (IC, medical records, bank info) safe and organized.
* If possible, talk to a social worker (JKM has them) who can help register you for multiple aid programs.
* Avoid scams — older people are often targeted.

---

👉 The key is: **use community + government support, maintain health, and find light ways to stay active and connected.** You don’t have to face everything alone, even without family.

---
Those are really great info to know, unker didnt know much of them. Thanks a lot

QUOTE(OrganicRepublic @ Aug 22 2025, 08:59 AM)
Assuming you’re in your 40s/50s, average to low wage with not much savings and have no plans to leave your stable job.

1. Invest in low risk financial instruments, ETF, EPF etc, do not allocate a big portion of your asset to crypto and penny stocks as you can’t handle the risk at your age and income level. Be defensive and maintain a 20/80 10/90 ratio of high risk/low risk investments.

2. If you don’t have dependents, consider career change. If you do have dependents, consider upgrading yourself and look for a new job. At 6% return per year, you need 100k to earn 500 a month but 500 a month is just a job change away.

3. Network more, with quality people a level or two above you, no peers.

4. Do not waste time seeking advice from people who aren’t successful at making money themselves, no gurus.
1. I guess Im gonna self contribute RM100 apart from work epf to insure myself financially
2. Unker is planning to change my career and at the same time learning new things too, although unker sometimes too tired till fall asleep while the light still on
3. Really didnt network with a lot ppl anymore, not even peers. Most of my peers are married and no longer available to come out like the old days also
4. Sometime unker sked those online gurus also, they seems like scammer themselves eg. vince tan
alexkos
post Aug 22 2025, 09:46 AM

2,275 posts

QUOTE(purplefellow @ Aug 21 2025, 12:03 PM)
hello, we have a dedicated bogleheads thread at lowyat yo

make sure you say hello there =)

and yes ts, many good advice here. Maybe i'll add in, but a more philosophical one.

take care of the downside, the upside will take care of itself.

being age 40+, means defensive d. If really want jump class b40 m40, you can use barrel strat

90% safe, 10% risk

10% is ultra high risk like 0dte spy (oh no i hope im not encouraging ppl here do all in their lifesavings on tjis). reddit wallstreetbets are examples how you see ppl lose daily. Sort 'loss' and read them. They pay real tuition fee, you learn lesson from them.

Contrary to many advices here which suggest more hustle, more work, i'd say just lazer focus on one niche

if you gooding in plumbing, perfect it. But too much physical, so need gear toward softer side (e.g., teach ppl plumbing etc).

AI era, too hard d. Job loss mounting in coming years. Blue collars super hardpress with daily whatsapp msg come in after work hour. You no perform you out. Many customer service now oursource AI je. Graphics design gg. Copywriter? Hello chatgpt. You see the reading on the wall. Get PRACTICAL skill.

Even flip roti canai is practical because AI can't take that yet at least for 5-10 years. Wait AI robotics come in, gone case semua job career.

OK getting long. Some of you getting my personal pm inquiring about your investing preference (for my academic research) hehe.

TLDR ayam half bucket only so blow water here.
purplefellow
post Aug 22 2025, 10:40 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Aug 22 2025, 09:46 AM)

Yeah, I'm aware. But Bogleheads strat is so simple there's really nothing to talk about haha. I mainly just VT and chill. Not interested in min-maxing the fees and WHT. As long as it's returning higher than EPF I'm good!
darkmusses
post Aug 22 2025, 11:04 AM

595 posts

My PERSONAL view / goal :

1. Learn and "go-all-out" like crazy when young (age 26-40) .. be it getting extra qualification, shit learn lesson from working etc. Why I put age 26 onwards because that's when I graduated with my sister because I'm rich to have such lifestyle to not graduate young .. so don't ask me why.

2. My focus is getting my 1st MILLION in EPF, I know others have different thought, other option I also have is ASN (stop contributing aleady except for fun when feels like it) .. I did not put into FD as I feel my high interest saving account is better ..

3. Stop spending uncessary like I do (i.e shop every weekend, minimize going to restaurant for meal during lunch time by changing to cheaper lunch partner sometime, and do not start expensive hobby like MTG or even buy expensive unessary "shit" then keep in storeroom)
TSheinlein
post Aug 22 2025, 11:11 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Aug 22 2025, 09:46 AM)

and yes ts, many good advice here. Maybe i'll add in, but a more philosophical one.

take care of the downside, the upside will take care of itself.

being age 40+, means defensive d. If really want jump class b40 m40, you can use barrel strat

90% safe, 10% risk

10% is ultra high risk like 0dte spy (oh no i hope im not encouraging ppl here do all in their lifesavings on tjis). reddit wallstreetbets are examples how you see ppl lose daily. Sort 'loss' and read them. They pay real tuition fee, you learn lesson from them.

Contrary to many advices here which suggest more hustle, more work, i'd say just lazer focus on one niche

if you gooding in plumbing, perfect it. But too much physical, so need gear toward softer side (e.g., teach ppl plumbing etc).

AI era, too hard d. Job loss mounting in coming years. Blue collars super hardpress with daily whatsapp msg come in after work hour. You no perform you out. Many customer service now oursource AI je. Graphics design gg. Copywriter? Hello chatgpt. You see the reading on the wall. Get PRACTICAL skill.

Even flip roti canai is practical because AI can't take that yet at least for 5-10 years. Wait AI robotics come in, gone case semua job career.

OK getting long. Some of you getting my personal pm inquiring about your investing preference (for my academic research) hehe.

TLDR ayam half bucket only so blow water here.
Unker know nothing about investment so kind of scare also, later the little money I had also lost then really can suicide liao. I only can say Im pretty jack of many trades, mostly learn to save money from hiring people to do the job. Sometimes I do feel plumber earn better than graphic designer cuz many graphic designers also throw price like nothing ruin the market

QUOTE(darkmusses @ Aug 22 2025, 11:04 AM)
My PERSONAL view / goal :

1. Learn and "go-all-out" like crazy when young (age 26-40) .. be it getting extra qualification, shit learn lesson from working etc. Why I put age 26 onwards because that's when I graduated with my sister because I'm rich to have such lifestyle to not graduate young .. so don't ask me why.

2. My focus is getting my 1st MILLION in EPF, I know others have different thought, other option I also have is ASN (stop contributing aleady except for fun when feels like it) .. I did not put into FD as I feel my high interest saving account is better ..

3. Stop spending uncessary like I do (i.e shop every weekend, minimize  going to restaurant for meal during lunch time by changing to cheaper lunch partner sometime, and do not start expensive hobby like MTG or even buy expensive unessary "shit" then keep in storeroom)
I dun think i can get 1million in epf, as long enough for unker to secure a place in old folks home and eat ok ady. Unker only eat during lunch on work time, other time all shop and cook myself de, unker no partner, ady accept b40 no deserve to get love also, no hobby la, now only play a little f2p game and remaining time use to learn figma le
OrganicRepublic
post Aug 22 2025, 12:10 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 09:08 AM)
1. I guess Im gonna self contribute RM100 apart from work epf to insure myself financially
2. Unker is planning to change my career and at the same time learning new things too, although unker sometimes too tired till fall asleep while the light still on
3. Really didnt network with a lot ppl anymore, not even peers. Most of my peers are married and no longer available to come out like the old days also
4. Sometime unker sked those online gurus also, they seems like scammer themselves eg. vince tan
Don’t network with peers it’s pointless.
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2025, 01:36 PM

24,328 posts

heinlein since you aim RM20k and I assumed you got long runway like 20-30 years until you want to use the money, take a look at both links below. Pic speak louder than words.

RM100/month into EPF assuming you have RM10k already for next 20 years at 5%p.a

RM100/month to buy QQQ assuming you have RM10k already for next 20 years at 12% p.a
Key in initial amount

https://www.investor.gov/financial-tools-ca...rest-calculator

Collect your RM20k first then only start to focus on investing.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 22 2025, 02:06 PM
ListenToTheWind
post Aug 22 2025, 02:05 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 22 2025, 01:36 PM)
heinlein since you aim RM20k and I assumed you got long runway like 20-30 years until you want to use the money, take a look at both links below. Pic speak louder than words.

RM100/month to buy QQQ assuming you have RM10k already for next 20 years at 12% p.a
Key in initial amount

Yes, but I fear the whole American stock market gonna be another bubble like what happen in the 2000 dot com bubble

During 2000, the bubble pops and it only recover back to the same level after 15 years.
Don't get me wrong, I also got large position there but I fear history will repeat itself once again considering we are now at the all time high level, the US debt are unprecedented level.
If the US default on their debt payment, the stock market gonna get very ugly.
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2025, 02:31 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Aug 22 2025, 02:05 PM)
Yes, but I fear the whole American stock market gonna be another bubble like what happen in the 2000 dot com bubble

During 2000, the bubble pops and it only recover back to the same level after 15 years.
Don't get me wrong, I also got large position there but I fear history will repeat itself once again considering we are now at the all time high level, the US debt are unprecedented level.
If the US default on their debt payment, the stock market gonna get very ugly.
Crash will come. Embrace it. Welcome it. Be prepared for it. Crash is the time to build wealth.
Virlution
post Aug 22 2025, 03:17 PM

481 posts

crypto is speculation investment/betting, only go in what you can afford to lose all

got kawan go in 100k, double it as went when it was 50k to 110~120k now, but I already convert to stable coin at 60k, only profit 1k.

if you have RM1k to spend, then you buy whatever % of the crypto that is worth 1k. I only spend on the popular coins.

Another friend buy all the junk crypto, waiting for them to double or 10x jump. or it might just drop all value become junk.

mystalyzer
post Aug 22 2025, 04:15 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 08:16 AM)
I'm currently also investing myself with knowledge with the remaining time I have after work. Could you share your story what you learn and your process too? It would really helps a lot
I read a few self-help books, authored by Marcus Buckingham. The thing about reading books is that it is very generic. It's only powerful when you are able to apply the knowledge

For example:
I can't cook, don't like to talk to people much, like to sit in front of my computer whole day.
I like to do puzzles, figure out algorithm and to fix software bugs
I had an IT degree but was working in IT support answering calls, and I decided a software developer was the best career for me
I check the vacancies market, there was a demand of Java developers at that time. I then learned how to do programming myself with some online resources
Managed to switch jobs, accepted low pay in a small company to start with so I can get some real experience
Fast forward 5 years, salary doubled and 10 years later working in UK now

Only you yourself can determine what works best for you. Maybe you are an excellent cook, or a salesperson or a mechanic. Maybe you are not there yet but can be good at it but you are just doing the wrong thing.
Being near the top in every industry normally pays well. Top footballer, top sales person, top cook.

What works for me might not work for you because we are just different people. People told me back then doing sales can make a lot of money, but I'm not a people person. By comparison, by university course mate did do sales, but he was a very introvert guy so that did kindof shock me but he eventually quit because it just didn't suit him well. Not everyone is cut out to be a salesperson, cook, footballer, software developer

So you just need to find the right balance of:
1. What you like to do
2. What you are good at doing
3. What people would pay you good money for doing
TSheinlein
post Aug 22 2025, 04:19 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Aug 22 2025, 04:15 PM)
I read a few self-help books, authored by Marcus Buckingham. The thing about reading books is that it is very generic. It's only powerful when you are able to apply the knowledge

For example:
I can't cook, don't like to talk to people much, like to sit in front of my computer whole day.
I like to do puzzles, figure out algorithm and to fix software bugs
I had an IT degree but was working in IT support answering calls, and I decided a software developer was the best career for me
I check the vacancies market, there was a demand of Java developers at that time. I then learned how to do programming myself with some online resources
Managed to switch jobs, accepted low pay in a small company to start with so I can get some real experience
Fast forward 5 years, salary doubled and 10 years later working in UK now

Only you yourself can determine what works best for you. Maybe you are an excellent cook, or a salesperson or a mechanic. Maybe you are not there yet but can be good at it but you are just doing the wrong thing.
Being near the top in every industry normally pays well. Top footballer, top sales person, top cook.

What works for me might not work for you because we are just different people. People told me back then doing sales can make a lot of money, but I'm not a people person. By comparison, by university course mate did do sales, but he was a very introvert guy so that did kindof shock me but he eventually quit because it just didn't suit him well. Not everyone is cut out to be a salesperson, cook, footballer, software developer

So you just need to find the right balance of:
1. What you like to do
2. What you are good at doing
3. What people would pay you good money for doing
Unfortunately, what I good at didnt let me make a lot of money, that the sad life about me. I only can force to change field and learn new things even ayam 42yo now. I dunno if I will even succeed
Emily Ratajkowski
post Aug 22 2025, 08:00 PM

444 posts

Ts I think you not sincere la. Everyone give you suggestions and show you solutions. But every single point also you can deny.

You want to change or not one?
TSheinlein
post Aug 22 2025, 08:46 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Emily Ratajkowski @ Aug 22 2025, 08:00 PM)
Ts I think you not sincere la. Everyone give you suggestions and show you solutions. But every single point also you can deny.

You want to change or not one?
Im reading the links that ktards send me, so not sure why you are stating that I deny everything, I might not react and act fast since Im not some genius that instantly master anything in a glance since I need to work in day time. Or I suddenly can get a huge amount of money out of nowhere to invest instantly too. Do you seriously think i can become rich overnight with advice alone without given time to execute it?
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2025, 10:50 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 08:46 PM)
Im reading the links that ktards send me, so not sure why you are stating that I deny everything, I might not react and act fast since Im not some genius that instantly master anything in a glance since I need to work in day time. Or I suddenly can get a huge amount of money out of nowhere to invest instantly too. Do you seriously think i can become rich overnight with advice alone without given time to execute it?
I will give you a motivation. I know a close friend earning like RM2-3k a month. Retired at 55 years old with around RM500k net worth. Person did nothing but dump into FD and only.

The secret sauce live way below B40, cook everyday. But things when on sale. No expensive overseas trip. All second hand stuff.
TSheinlein
post Aug 22 2025, 11:05 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 22 2025, 10:50 PM)
I will give you a motivation. I know a close friend earning like RM2-3k a month. Retired at 55 years old with around RM500k net worth. Person did nothing but dump into FD and only.

The secret sauce live way below B40, cook everyday. But things when on sale. No expensive overseas trip. All second hand stuff.
I pretty much 80% like your close friend, cook whenever not working, only buy necessary food, no restaurant, no cinema, dump money into tng daily interest, plan to FD after had 20k in tng, will contribute extra rm100 to epf. i dun like going for trip
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2025, 11:36 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 11:05 PM)
I pretty much 80% like your close friend, cook whenever not working, only buy necessary food, no restaurant, no cinema, dump money into tng daily interest, plan to FD after had 20k in tng, will contribute extra rm100 to epf. i dun like going for trip
Good. That's the most foundation. After you reach that 20k up you to decide which route you want to go. For me personally I won't bother with EPF.
TSheinlein
post Aug 22 2025, 11:49 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 22 2025, 11:36 PM)
Good. That's the most foundation. After you reach that 20k up you to decide which route you want to go. For me personally I won't bother with EPF.
why? epf rate is highest
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2025, 11:53 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 11:49 PM)
why? epf rate is highest
You did not see the link I provided assuming you have like 20 years until you need to use your money.
TSheinlein
post Aug 22 2025, 11:56 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 22 2025, 11:53 PM)
You did not see the link I provided assuming you have like 20 years until you need to use your money.
I would want to save both, one for current and one for old age
Ramjade
post Aug 23 2025, 12:04 AM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 22 2025, 01:36 PM)

Key in initial amount

Collect your RM20k first then only start to focus on investing.
QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 11:56 PM)
I would want to save both, one for current and one for old age
See the above. Play with the number. You have to remember your capital is limited. You have very little money. So the only way to make it work is make your money work as hard and as efficiently as possible.
Both works for long term. Only difference is one will give you more money Vs the other.

You can always sell out everything and dump it into EPF to preserve the money.

Keep in mind by investing overseas
1. You protect yourself against the depreciation of ringgit. What this means is your hard earned money goes further Vs just holding ringgit. Ringgit depreciate at around 3%p.a Vs the SGD. So if you earned 5% in EPF, you are effectively only earning 2%p.a Vs if you put into something in SGD earning 5%p.a Yes such thing exist. That's why I use SGD as my EPF vs dumping into EPF.
By me opting for 5% p.a in Singapore, I am getting the true 5%
2. Your ringgit earns more. A 5% Vs 10%p.a double the returns. A 5% different matter over 20 years time period.

Yes returns not guaranteed but by picking EPF you are giving up opportunity cost (money grow faster and more efficiently than EPF) which means more money when you need it.

Do you need the money now Vs 20 years down the road. Ask yourself this question.

You can listen, you can ignore. I don't get anything either way. I was in your shoes before this. Focusing on just FD promos amanah saham cause scared to lose money. I realise early on I am losing more money by being safe.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 23 2025, 12:45 AM
TSheinlein
post Aug 23 2025, 10:42 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 23 2025, 12:04 AM)
See the above. Play with the number. You have to remember your capital is limited. You have very little money. So the only way to make it work is make your money work as hard and as efficiently as possible.
Both works for long term. Only difference is one will give you more money Vs the other.

You can always sell out everything and dump it into EPF to preserve the money.

Keep in mind by investing overseas
1. You protect yourself against the depreciation of ringgit. What this means is your hard earned money goes further Vs just holding ringgit. Ringgit depreciate at around 3%p.a Vs the SGD. So if you earned 5% in EPF, you are effectively only earning 2%p.a Vs if you put into something in SGD earning 5%p.a Yes such thing exist. That's why I use SGD as my EPF vs dumping into EPF.
By me opting for 5% p.a in Singapore, I am getting the true 5%
2. Your ringgit earns more. A 5% Vs 10%p.a double the returns. A 5% different matter over 20 years time period.

Yes returns not guaranteed but by picking EPF you are giving up opportunity cost (money grow faster and more efficiently than EPF) which means more money when you need it.

Do you need the money now Vs 20 years down the road. Ask yourself this question.

You can listen, you can ignore. I don't get anything either way. I was in your shoes before this. Focusing on just FD promos amanah saham cause scared to lose money. I realise early on I am losing more money by being safe.
If I were to invest in SGD, how should I do it? I check online there will be conversion fee back and forth and need a work permit to open a SG bank account. My question may sound stupid as I dun hv knowledge in this area
Ramjade
post Aug 23 2025, 11:41 AM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 23 2025, 10:42 AM)
If I were to invest in SGD, how should I do it? I check online there will be conversion fee back and forth and need a work permit to open a SG bank account. My question may sound stupid as I dun hv knowledge in this area
Not really. If you know how. Yes there will be feess if around 3% as banks want your money what. But there are ways to minimise the fees.

But when you invest overseas, you do not touch the money for 20-30 years until you need to use the money. Treat your money as one way ticket. Never been seen again for next 20 years. Yes that is what I did and still doing. If you itchy hand put money this month then bring money back next month or few months down the road, guaranteed way of losing money due to forex movement and you are removing your money tree too soon. Once it is overseas leave it.

My advise collect RM50k in Malaysia first for safety reason before decide your next action..

If you are 55 years old next year, don't bother with tnf and nonsense. Use EPF s you can withdraw money anytime at 55 years old. If you are still far away then you need to decide if you want to lock up your moeny into EPF and cannot touch them for 10y+ (you mentioned you are 40+)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 23 2025, 11:42 AM
TSheinlein
post Aug 23 2025, 12:09 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 23 2025, 11:41 AM)
Not really. If you know how. Yes there will be feess if around 3% as banks want your money what. But there are ways to minimise the fees.

But when you invest overseas, you do not touch the money for 20-30 years until you need to use the money. Treat your money as one way ticket. Never been seen again for next 20 years. Yes that is what I did and still doing. If you itchy hand put money this month then bring money back next month or few months down the road, guaranteed way of losing money due to forex movement and you are removing your money tree too soon. Once it is overseas leave it.

My advise collect RM50k in Malaysia first for safety reason before decide your next action..

If you are 55 years old next year, don't bother with tnf and nonsense. Use EPF s you can withdraw money anytime at 55 years old. If you are still far away then you need to decide if you want to lock up your moeny into EPF and cannot touch them for 10y+ (you mentioned you are 40+)
Im 42, will try to target 50k as you say first, try to save and earn after work and see how thing goes
Ramjade
post Aug 23 2025, 10:26 PM

24,328 posts

Spend as little as possible.
Try to do overtime where necessary.
Invest your money so they work as efficiently and as hard as possible.
TSheinlein
post Aug 23 2025, 11:03 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 23 2025, 10:26 PM)
Spend as little as possible.
Try to do overtime where necessary.
Invest your money so they work as efficiently and as hard as possible.
Now also looking for freelance do too
Capt. Marble
post Aug 24 2025, 09:05 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 10:14 AM)
I wonder how to retrieve the money when Im retired, do you have any idea? I think my dad go to counter to retrieve it?
Well there are several ways to do this... if you are already more than 55

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/member/life-stag...5-60-withdrawal

Else if you are 50-54

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/member/life-stag...e-50-withdrawal

The easiest is via i-Akaun. Just register and activate by visiting your local EPF center to be save. It can be done at home but if you / your dad often visit the counter best do it at the center to clear out any questions on how much he can withdraw and the limit for each withdrawal.

Once registered and activated, you can do the withdrawal anytime anywhere via online or via the app on your phone. The money will be transferred into the bank account (with the same name as the EPF account) usually within 3 days.

You can actually try now by withdrawing a little from your Flexible Acc 3 just to test the water on how to do it.

TSheinlein
post Aug 24 2025, 09:45 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Capt. Marble @ Aug 24 2025, 09:05 AM)
Well there are several ways to do this... if you are already more than 55

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/member/life-stag...5-60-withdrawal

Else if you are 50-54

https://www.kwsp.gov.my/en/member/life-stag...e-50-withdrawal

The easiest is via i-Akaun. Just register and activate by visiting your local EPF center to be save. It can be done at home but if you / your dad often visit the counter best do it at the center to clear out any questions on how much he can withdraw and the limit for each withdrawal.

Once registered and activated, you can do the withdrawal anytime anywhere via online or via the app on your phone. The money will be transferred into the bank account (with the same name as the EPF account) usually within 3 days.

You can actually try now by withdrawing a little from your Flexible Acc 3 just to test the water on how to do it.
I have the online acc for kwsp, not sure it's call i-akaun. Only view the amount currently available. Later I try to withdraw it Abit to test water. Your info is very useful. Thanks so much🙏
kelvinlym
post Aug 24 2025, 12:37 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

Not easy to summarise everything in a post. So I would say it’s really a mindset change.

Maximise your active income potential, then invest the extra money that you have after living expenses.

What kind of investment? You need to read some books first, then start to ask more specific questions.
hbm90
post Aug 24 2025, 01:21 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ Aug 22 2025, 03:17 PM)
crypto is speculation investment/betting, only go in what you can afford to lose all

got kawan go in 100k, double it as went when it was 50k to 110~120k now, but I already convert to stable coin at 60k, only profit 1k.

if you have RM1k to spend, then you buy whatever % of the crypto that is worth 1k. I only spend on the popular coins.

Another friend buy all the junk crypto, waiting for them to double or 10x jump. or it might just drop all value become junk.
Look into chainlink.
TSheinlein
post Aug 24 2025, 02:17 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Aug 24 2025, 12:37 PM)
Not easy to summarise everything in a post. So I would say it’s really a mindset change.

Maximise your active income potential, then invest the extra money that you have after living expenses.

What kind of investment? You need to read some books first, then start to ask more specific questions.
Ya, unker also thinking of increase my income too, tho it may be very tiring

QUOTE(hbm90 @ Aug 24 2025, 01:21 PM)
Look into chainlink.
Thanks for giving unker a direction to look into
poooky
post Aug 24 2025, 06:10 PM

824 posts

Unker here as well. grind hard to try earn money but feel useless. Even when make extra RM500 per month also barely make a difference. See ppl recommend etf, qqq, voo, BTC, Eth, angmoh ppl say they buy every two weeks every month few thousand USD, EUR, then see exchange rate walao RM500 is barely USD100 cant even buy 1 share. Like playing a game on hidden hard mode difficulty where your earnings divided by 4.3x.

Sometimes lose hope like no point. Unless you are in stem field or earning first world currencies or got gov pension the most you can do is to slow down the inevitable by buying few hundred ETF every year. Othe than that the other way is to sell scam products for commission. Otherwise, everyone else is just doomed to gov handouts and charity to survive. Sometimes just hope for quick n early death no need to deal with old body and failing health when broke.
TSheinlein
post Aug 24 2025, 06:28 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Aug 24 2025, 06:10 PM)
Unker here as well. grind hard to try earn money but feel useless. Even when make extra RM500 per month also barely make a difference. See ppl recommend etf, qqq, voo, BTC, Eth, angmoh ppl say they buy every two weeks every month few thousand USD, EUR, then see exchange rate walao RM500 is barely USD100 cant even buy 1 share. Like playing a game on hidden hard mode difficulty where your earnings divided by 4.3x.

Sometimes lose hope like no point. Unless you are in stem field or earning first world currencies or got gov pension the most you can do is to slow down the inevitable by buying few hundred ETF every year. Othe than that the other way is to sell scam products for commission. Otherwise, everyone else is just doomed to gov handouts and charity to survive. Sometimes just hope for quick n early death no need to deal with old body and failing health when broke.
The feeling is mutual, many things need a lot of money to earn and there is always risk, I also hope can die early or hope euthanasia is legalize in future when unker around 70s. Forever alone like no need a long life
Bkboy
post Aug 24 2025, 07:00 PM

79 posts

-

This post has been edited by Bkboy: Aug 24 2025, 07:07 PM
Icehart
post Aug 24 2025, 08:36 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Aug 24 2025, 06:10 PM)

You can always buy fractional shares — don’t underestimate how powerful this is over time.

My wife used to feel the same way as you: that RM500 or RM1,000 a month is “too little” compared to what others in the US or Europe can put in. But I encouraged her to stay consistent since the COVID days, investing RM1,000 every month without fail. Today, that amount has grown significantly, and she’s glad she didn’t give up.

The key isn’t how big you start, but that you start and stay consistent. Even small amounts, compounded over years, make a huge difference. It may feel like hard mode now, but your future self will thank you for not giving up. Stay the course — you’re planting seeds for tomorrow.
Hastebreak
post Aug 25 2025, 01:30 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 12:03 PM)

While others were joking around and flirting with women, what I did in my 20s was that I went mad into mastering industrial skillsets off working hours...

What people have it wrong is that they assumed they needed to be paid at work to attend training... what you should do is to go on your own and self-study outside to climb higher...

You need to be a know-how to be truly valuable anywhere... I paid the price of doing grime work at B40 in my younger days, staying under the radar until I was truly a master...

And in this current era, I probably possess one of the most rarest coding skillset that is common, but often under-utilized in the digital marketing, MarTech (Marketing Technology / data science) and frontend development world... This took me into the M40 group..

In the Australian MNC I work in currently, I am more skilled than any of the international peers I work with, and I am more technically-skilled than my own senior here, which she does find me very daunting and that I rendered her useless... biggrin.gif

Life

Talking about life, as how things would have it for me, I do not come from a wealthy family and worked full-time while waiting for my high school graduation... But the total experience led me to set everything in proper order and I was more matured and self-aware than my own peers...

Investing

You need to stabilize your income and character first before going into investing...

Service

Once you possess any form of skillset that can truly set apart yourself from the market, you are ready to sell yourself out for a service... I have done this routinely until now...
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Aug 25 2025, 06:46 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

There are 3 eras where you can make money.

The 90s property boom

The Y2K dotcom boom

The early Bitcoin bloom during the 2016.

If you missed it, please continue with your work or business
romuluz777
post Aug 25 2025, 07:41 AM

2,204 posts

QUOTE(galkelly @ Aug 21 2025, 10:43 AM)
In the long run, its a nett loss.
Banker always wins.
gashout
post Aug 25 2025, 07:50 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Look into chainlink.
very irresponsible advice.

TSheinlein
post Aug 25 2025, 08:10 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Hastebreak @ Aug 25 2025, 01:30 AM)
While others were joking around and flirting with women, what I did in my 20s was that I went mad into mastering industrial skillsets off working hours...

What people have it wrong is that they assumed they needed to be paid at work to attend training... what you should do is to go on your own and self-study outside to climb higher...

You need to be a know-how to be truly valuable anywhere... I paid the price of doing grime work at B40 in my younger days, staying under the radar until I was truly a master...

And in this current era, I probably possess one of the most rarest coding skillset that is common, but often under-utilized in the digital marketing, MarTech (Marketing Technology / data science) and frontend development world... This took me into the M40 group..

In the Australian MNC I work in currently, I am more skilled than any of the international peers I work with, and I am more technically-skilled than my own senior here, which she does find me very daunting and that I rendered her useless...  biggrin.gif 

Life

Talking about life, as how things would have it for me, I do not come from a wealthy family and worked full-time while waiting for my high school graduation... But the total experience led me to set everything in proper order and I was more matured and self-aware than my own peers...

Investing

You need to stabilize your income and character first before going into investing...

Service

Once you possess any form of skillset that can truly set apart yourself from the market, you are ready to sell yourself out for a service... I have done this routinely until now...
Thing is I dunno which skillset is highly sought, now currently learning figma hoping it would change my career path. I dunno if it is too late for me as im clinging at the end of the rope right now. I have triggered base depression, whenever it happens, i cant think straight anymore like i used to be anymore
Virlution
post Aug 25 2025, 08:46 AM

481 posts

Look into chainlink.
QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 24 2025, 02:17 PM)

Thanks for giving unker a direction to look into
QUOTE(gashout @ Aug 25 2025, 07:50 AM)
very irresponsible advice.
buy at the peak thumbsup.gif

hbm90
post Aug 25 2025, 08:48 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ Aug 25 2025, 08:46 AM)
buy at the peak  :thumbsup:

You think this is the pig?
Hastebreak
post Aug 25 2025, 11:09 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 25 2025, 11:10 AM)
Thing is I dunno which skillset is highly sought, now currently learning figma hoping it would change my career path. I dunno if it is too late for me as im clinging at the end of the rope right now. I have triggered base depression, whenever it happens, i cant think straight anymore like i used to be anymore
Master a field... only then you will get into technical, or even invention level... Bloom's taxanomy...

Without specialisation, you are a master of none...

And please exercise more... You need more physical activity and put that focus constantly on yourself, than on outside thoughts... Train your mind to do so...
TSheinlein
post Aug 25 2025, 11:11 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Hastebreak @ Aug 25 2025, 11:09 AM)
Master a field... only then you will get into technical, or even invention level... Bloom's taxanomy...

And please exercise more... You need more physical activity and put that focus constantly on yourself, than on outside thoughts... Train your mind to do so...
Unker will do my best to master a knowledge and get back to more exercise. Your advice is really helpful to unker
silverhawk
post Aug 25 2025, 02:19 PM

Eyes on Target
4,955 posts

Frankly, if you're B40 there's not much use in investing. You should focus on increasing your income which will leapfrog any earning you can make via savings/investment.

Assuming you have some skill/talent at the moment. You should focus on letting people know your talent. Do good work and get your reputation up.

The best way to do this is to network, join events, meet people, increase opportunity. If you have to do some free work, just do it first. Your name has to get out there and be synonymous with quality and reliability.

From there your income will grow naturally. Then you can easily put money aside for investments.

QUOTE(Hastebreak @ Aug 25 2025, 11:09 AM)
Jack of all trades, and master of none
but often times better, than the master of one

^ That's the full quote.

Unless you're going to be the 0.001% of specialisation, normally the jack of all trades approach gives you better adaptability.
TSheinlein
post Aug 25 2025, 02:47 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Aug 25 2025, 02:19 PM)
Frankly, if you're B40 there's not much use in investing. You should focus on increasing your income which will leapfrog any earning you can make via savings/investment.

Assuming you have some skill/talent at the moment. You should focus on letting people know your talent. Do good work and get your reputation up.

The best way to do this is to network, join events, meet people, increase opportunity. If you have to do some free work, just do it first. Your name has to get out there and be synonymous with quality and reliability.

From there your income will grow naturally. Then you can easily put money aside for investments.

^ That's the full quote.

Unless you're going to be the 0.001% of specialisation, normally the jack of all trades approach gives you better adaptability.
That's true, there is so much I can save with my current income but I still save for emergency funds, really not much to invest at the moment. I ady dunno wat to do sometimes, and want to do part time promoter at weekend for extra incomes
silverhawk
post Aug 25 2025, 03:44 PM

Eyes on Target
4,955 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 25 2025, 02:47 PM)
That's true, there is so much I can save with my current income but I still save for emergency funds, really not much to invest at the moment. I ady dunno wat to do sometimes, and want to do part time promoter at weekend for extra incomes
The emergency fund is important to have, its not an investment. Its a buffer for hard times, which you should try to avoid in the first place.

Please, DO NOT CHASE MONEY. Chase the fulfilment and output of your work, let the money come as a by product of that.

You have to consider the opportunity costs of every action you take. Sure you could work part-time promoter for some extra income. Earn a bit more money, or; you could use that same time and join events and get to know people with money/projects to do.

In 1-5 years, which do you think will give you a better outcome?
TSheinlein
post Aug 25 2025, 04:13 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Aug 25 2025, 03:44 PM)
The emergency fund is important to have, its not an investment. Its a buffer for hard times, which you should try to avoid in the first place.

Please, DO NOT CHASE MONEY. Chase the fulfilment and output of your work, let the money come as a by product of that.

You have to consider the opportunity costs of every action you take. Sure you could work part-time promoter for some extra income. Earn a bit more money, or; you could use that same time and join events and get to know people with money/projects to do.

In 1-5 years, which do you think will give you a better outcome?
Did you join any of those event to know more ppl? I wish to know what kind of event I can join for a starter
silverhawk
post Aug 26 2025, 02:22 AM

Eyes on Target
4,955 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 25 2025, 04:13 PM)
Did you join any of those event to know more ppl? I wish to know what kind of event I can join for a starter
Yes I have, but most of my reputation was built during my college years. Then along the way I knew more people, worked with many more. So I always get opportunities.

The kind of events will differ based on your needs/skills/talents. Go explore these things yourself.
Ramjade
post Aug 27 2025, 12:26 AM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Aug 25 2025, 02:19 PM)

^ That's the full quote.

Actually the fundamentals is how much you can keep.
If your earnings is capped like mine cannot do anything.
Also can't save yourself out to financial security. Still need to invest.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 27 2025, 01:49 AM
silverhawk
post Aug 27 2025, 01:13 AM

Eyes on Target
4,955 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 27 2025, 12:26 AM)
Also can't save yourself our or financial security. Still need to invest.
If you're earning 2k/month, realistically how much can you save (if there's any money left after paying everything else) to invest? The time/effort is better used to increase your income.

Once you start earning more and can actually save (no lifestyle inflation), then investment becomes a viable option.

I'm not sure why you think your earning is capped, there's always ways to make/earn more. The only difference is where the diminishing returns start to happen. Going from 2k -> 4k is life changing. Going 10k-12k isn't that much difference. The former is also much easier to achieve.
Balanced
post Aug 27 2025, 03:16 AM

874 posts

Ts, i suggest u shut off social media and keep quiet for few days.

You are:
1) Overwhelmed. Calm down.
2) Negative thinking about yourself.

In these few days just treat yourself kindly. Make hot tea and sip it slowly in your balcony, garden, open area. Sleep early 10am, wake up early 5am.
No social media

Return back to your thoughts on finance once u are calm.

This post has been edited by Balanced: Aug 27 2025, 03:18 AM
TSheinlein
post Aug 27 2025, 08:23 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 27 2025, 12:26 AM)
QUOTE(silverhawk @ Aug 27 2025, 01:13 AM)
If you're earning 2k/month, realistically how much can you save (if there's any money left after paying everything else) to invest? The time/effort is better used to increase your income.

Once you start earning more and can actually save (no lifestyle inflation), then investment becomes a viable option.

I'm not sure why you think your earning is capped, there's always ways to make/earn more. The only difference is where the diminishing returns start to happen. Going from 2k -> 4k is life changing. Going 10k-12k isn't that much difference. The former is also much easier to achieve.
Both of you are right in some ways, I need to increase my earning capability and save at the same time, that is my thought

QUOTE(Balanced @ Aug 27 2025, 03:16 AM)
Ts, i suggest u shut off social media and keep quiet for few days.

You are:
1) Overwhelmed. Calm down.
2) Negative thinking about yourself.

In these few days just treat yourself kindly. Make hot tea and sip it slowly in your balcony, garden, open area. Sleep early 10am, wake up early 5am.
No social media

Return back to your thoughts on finance once u are calm.
Yea, my brain is overwhelmed recently that I cant reply instantly, I need to take some rest too, my body starting to give alert that is overloading, sometimes feel suffocate, right tapak kaki pain when walking, tooth pain comes and goes
silverhawk
post Aug 27 2025, 10:02 AM

Eyes on Target
4,955 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 27 2025, 08:23 AM)
Both of you are right in some ways, I need to increase my earning capability and save at the same time, that is my thought

Yes. Live within your means, and when you earn more... don't increase your spending. Just keep the same lifestyle as you were with your lower income.

Lets say you are earning 4k now. Maybe you can save RM400 at the end of the month. Good, just keep saving that RM400. Then work harder to increase your earning. Then once you earn 6k/month, your savings per month should have increased to ~RM2,400

With that much margin in saving, your emergency fund would be settled quick. Then you can easily use that RM2k+/month for investment.

Yea, my brain is overwhelmed recently that I cant reply instantly, I need to take some rest too, my body starting to give alert that is overloading, sometimes feel suffocate, right tapak kaki pain when walking, tooth pain comes and goes

Working hard is important, but taking care of health is even more important.

You either choose when you rest, or life will choose it for you. If you let life choose for you, the timing will never be at a good time.

Get your pain checked, the location of pain is often not the root cause.
TSheinlein
post Aug 27 2025, 10:06 AM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Aug 27 2025, 10:02 AM)
Yes. Live within your means, and when you earn more... don't increase your spending. Just keep the same lifestyle as you were with your lower income.

Lets say you are earning 4k now. Maybe you can save RM400 at the end of the month. Good, just keep saving that RM400. Then work harder to increase your earning. Then once you earn 6k/month, your savings per month should have increased to ~RM2,400

With that much margin in saving, your emergency fund would be settled quick. Then you can easily use that RM2k+/month for investment.
Working hard is important, but taking care of health is even more important.

You either choose when you rest, or life will choose it for you. If you let life choose for you, the timing will never be at a good time.

Get your pain checked, the location of pain is often not the root cause.
I always plan my expenses, and set a bar when it needs to stop before I overspend, I guess I take a good rest too in this upcoming holiday too. Tired body couple with learning after work really took its toll. Stamina werent great to begin with. Emergency fund is too important, I never know when shit happens, that y I kept them
purplefellow
post Aug 27 2025, 12:06 PM

195 posts

Here's a little tip. You need to set a more tangible goal to execute. Learning Figma in your free time while good, is just too general and very hard to gauge your progress to stay motivated.

Give yourself a one week challenge: Redesign the lowyat forum for mobile screen and in dark mode. Think and do UI/UX mockups, no need to be fully functional. At the end, you have an extra piece of work to show off in your portfolio.

The next week you can try implementing it in Figma and so on. Slowly build up your portfolio this way. In the creative field, a strong portfolio can get your further than just software skills.

Good luck, unker.
kesvani
post Aug 27 2025, 12:11 PM

951 posts

Different people have different B40 definition since its based on household.

How much your salary. If 3000++ net then ok already lar
Hastebreak
post Aug 27 2025, 02:03 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Aug 25 2025, 05:19 PM)

^ That's the full quote.

You need both width and depth... You need width to complement the depth that's needed to go further...

If you're learning to do Figma, you'd end up learning about A/B testing, and also marketing psychology, complementing frontend marketing (UX conversions, writing and big data implementation onto your design) if it's for servicing / eCommerce sites...

There's a little bit of everything involved (data science, colourisation, SEO web developers' guideline, or programming limitation - if any workaround is asked)... But to truly go further, you need specialisation...

You get to apprehend bullshit that's thrown at you in case of workplace manipulation...

This sets you apart from the average job hopper...

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 27 2025, 03:26 AM)
Follow what Ramjade says... Legit guy on investing...

Best of luck, OP...

submergedx
post Aug 27 2025, 08:11 PM

1,124 posts

Graphic design do part time can make up to RM20k per month. Start sourcing jobs from SME like annual report etc.
No AI can replace graphic design so far, still got a long way to develop.
TSheinlein
post Aug 27 2025, 08:18 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(purplefellow @ Aug 27 2025, 12:06 PM)
Here's a little tip. You need to set a more tangible goal to execute. Learning Figma in your free time while good, is just too general and very hard to gauge your progress to stay motivated.

Give yourself a one week challenge: Redesign the lowyat forum for mobile screen and in dark mode. Think and do UI/UX mockups, no need to be fully functional. At the end, you have an extra piece of work to show off in your portfolio.

The next week you can try implementing it in Figma and so on. Slowly build up your portfolio this way. In the creative field, a strong portfolio can get your further than just software skills.

Good luck, unker.
That is a good advice, I also tend to learn faster when Im actually doing the thing

QUOTE(kesvani @ Aug 27 2025, 12:11 PM)
Different people have different B40 definition since its based on household.

How much your salary. If 3000++ net then ok already lar
Less than that

QUOTE(Hastebreak @ Aug 27 2025, 02:03 PM)
You need both width and depth... You need width to complement the depth that's needed to go further...

If you're learning to do Figma, you'd end up learning about A/B testing, and also marketing psychology, complementing frontend marketing (UX conversions, writing and big data implementation onto your design) if it's for servicing / eCommerce sites...

There's a little bit of everything involved (data science, colourisation, SEO web developers' guideline, or programming limitation - if any workaround is asked)... But to truly go further, you need specialisation...

You get to apprehend bullshit that's thrown at you in case of workplace manipulation...

This sets you apart from the average job hopper...
Follow what Ramjade says... Legit guy on investing...

Best of luck, OP...
I still hv many things to learn from everyone here.

QUOTE(submergedx @ Aug 27 2025, 08:11 PM)
Graphic design do part time can make up to RM20k per month. Start sourcing jobs from SME like annual report etc.
No AI can replace graphic design so far, still got a long way to develop.
Very hard to get any job without connection bro

0.0306sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:17 PM