How to earn more & invest the very lil money u had, at least can become M40 lar

Ramjade
post Aug 21 2025, 07:17 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 09:03 AM)
Unker wants to change my current situation so now unker ady quit wasting time watching drama, instead using the time to learn figma thanks to kidmad and masboleh's suggestion. Unker want to ask ktards sekalian how do you earn more or invest when you were still B40? I believe nobody starts at T20 unless you born in rich family.

So far unker only put money in TNG for daily interest only, unker dunno how to grow more money so hope ktard sifus can advise how to manage own financial. I believe this can help other B40 ktards too. Sila advise and bincangkan, tenkiu

Strictly no gambling advice (previously 90% gambling troll in /k so close and open it in serious /k)
You need money to make money. You need both high savings rate and high earnings to kick start your investment journey.

Live life like the strictest B40 where every Sen also count. No subscription. Astro, netflix auto-pay nothing. Buy and use the cheapest android phone you can afford. Don't be ashamed.

No mlm/direct selling, crypto, get rich quick investment scheme.

Use the savings above to invest in S&P500 or QQQ or IUIT (UK version of QQQ) every single month. Come.back after min of 10 years. Market red or green, keep buying. If red, buy the f*****g dip even if it's a multiple dip.
Ramjade
post Aug 21 2025, 08:43 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 21 2025, 08:27 PM)
At least you have property, should proud of yourself, unker bo property yet and dun hv money to downpayment oso, never have experience buying property nor the knowledge how it is done
Freelance is a hard job, unker try do own business freelance designing for a few years, connection is important, without it really eat dust, end up back to work even low salary. Unker also make youtube video, really not easy
Unfortunately unker dun hv luxury to pay someone to fix my financial  sad.gif
Unker no subscribe to anything except internet, and wont dive into mlm, have seen my mum crazy doing mlm and nv even get rich once. For now, unker only target to reach 20k savings first for tng and chip in a little extra to my epf also, so at least hope when old can afford myself a place at old folk home
If you know how to design things, try fiverr or Upwork. Can earn some USD.

Internet also bare minimum.Like mine. I sub to the cheapest fibre package at RM89/month, phone bill only RM40. If you are at home most of the time just pay for long life plan around RM60/year.

Like I said watch where every sen goes. Personal finance is very easy. At the end of the day is money in must be always be more than money going out. No need to pay someone to manage your own finance. Learn to manage your own.

Learn to eat one meal a day. Do meal prep. Eating 1 meal a day help your health and money in the long run.

Have at least RM50k in emergency savings. Make use of stuff such as KDI save (4% for first RM50k), KAF digital bank (5% for first RM2k), Ryt bank (4% for first RM20k until 30/11/2025). I would forget about Tng as returns are low Vs the above mentioned. Yes few sensible difference. But now you need to max even that few sens difference.

Once you collect your RM50k, come back here then we talk.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 21 2025, 08:46 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 21 2025, 09:19 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(westernkl @ Aug 21 2025, 09:12 PM)
But buying S&P 500/Nasdaq 100 have US Withholding Tax 30%.

How to waive the 30% US Withholding Tax?

I am interested to learn bro, pls teach thanks.
You cannot waive it. You can only offset it partially by buying UK Etf that track US stock reducing it to 15%.

The tax is on the dividend. Not the whole gain. Capital gains is not tax for international investor.
Ramjade
post Aug 21 2025, 10:43 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(westernkl @ Aug 21 2025, 10:08 PM)
Ok, how to/where to buy UK based ETF?

Pls teach me sifu, thanks.
Are you trying to troll? I will give you the benefit of doubt.
1. Open sg bank account
2. Open sunway money /& moneymatch
3. Open interactive broker (IBKR)
4. Use number 2 to transfer money to your sg bank account (RM -> SGD). Do not use Malaysian banks to send money. Ever. You lose 2-3% with Malaysian bank per transaction.
5. Use the sg bank account to transfer SGD to IBKR using FAST transfer (sg version of Duitnow) - free
6. Convert the SGD into USD or GBP inside IBKR depending on what you want to buy and what currency they ae in.
7. Use number 6 and buy the UK listed ETF

QUOTE(westernkl @ Aug 21 2025, 10:34 PM)
Do not use fsm. It is more expensive than IBKR over long term (>10y)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 21 2025, 10:50 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2025, 01:36 PM

24,328 posts

heinlein since you aim RM20k and I assumed you got long runway like 20-30 years until you want to use the money, take a look at both links below. Pic speak louder than words.

RM100/month into EPF assuming you have RM10k already for next 20 years at 5%p.a

RM100/month to buy QQQ assuming you have RM10k already for next 20 years at 12% p.a
Key in initial amount

https://www.investor.gov/financial-tools-ca...rest-calculator

Collect your RM20k first then only start to focus on investing.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 22 2025, 02:06 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2025, 02:31 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Aug 22 2025, 02:05 PM)
Yes, but I fear the whole American stock market gonna be another bubble like what happen in the 2000 dot com bubble

During 2000, the bubble pops and it only recover back to the same level after 15 years.
Don't get me wrong, I also got large position there but I fear history will repeat itself once again considering we are now at the all time high level, the US debt are unprecedented level.
If the US default on their debt payment, the stock market gonna get very ugly.
Crash will come. Embrace it. Welcome it. Be prepared for it. Crash is the time to build wealth.
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2025, 10:50 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 08:46 PM)
Im reading the links that ktards send me, so not sure why you are stating that I deny everything, I might not react and act fast since Im not some genius that instantly master anything in a glance since I need to work in day time. Or I suddenly can get a huge amount of money out of nowhere to invest instantly too. Do you seriously think i can become rich overnight with advice alone without given time to execute it?
I will give you a motivation. I know a close friend earning like RM2-3k a month. Retired at 55 years old with around RM500k net worth. Person did nothing but dump into FD and only.

The secret sauce live way below B40, cook everyday. But things when on sale. No expensive overseas trip. All second hand stuff.
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2025, 11:36 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 11:05 PM)
I pretty much 80% like your close friend, cook whenever not working, only buy necessary food, no restaurant, no cinema, dump money into tng daily interest, plan to FD after had 20k in tng, will contribute extra rm100 to epf. i dun like going for trip
Good. That's the most foundation. After you reach that 20k up you to decide which route you want to go. For me personally I won't bother with EPF.
Ramjade
post Aug 22 2025, 11:53 PM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 11:49 PM)
why? epf rate is highest
You did not see the link I provided assuming you have like 20 years until you need to use your money.
Ramjade
post Aug 23 2025, 12:04 AM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 22 2025, 01:36 PM)
heinlein since you aim RM20k and I assumed you got long runway like 20-30 years until you want to use the money, take a look at both links below. Pic speak louder than words.

RM100/month into EPF assuming you have RM10k already for next 20 years at 5%p.a

RM100/month to buy QQQ assuming you have RM10k already for next 20 years at 12% p.a
Key in initial amount

https://www.investor.gov/financial-tools-ca...rest-calculator

Collect your RM20k first then only start to focus on investing.
QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 22 2025, 11:56 PM)
I would want to save both, one for current and one for old age
See the above. Play with the number. You have to remember your capital is limited. You have very little money. So the only way to make it work is make your money work as hard and as efficiently as possible.
Both works for long term. Only difference is one will give you more money Vs the other.

You can always sell out everything and dump it into EPF to preserve the money.

Keep in mind by investing overseas
1. You protect yourself against the depreciation of ringgit. What this means is your hard earned money goes further Vs just holding ringgit. Ringgit depreciate at around 3%p.a Vs the SGD. So if you earned 5% in EPF, you are effectively only earning 2%p.a Vs if you put into something in SGD earning 5%p.a Yes such thing exist. That's why I use SGD as my EPF vs dumping into EPF.
By me opting for 5% p.a in Singapore, I am getting the true 5%
2. Your ringgit earns more. A 5% Vs 10%p.a double the returns. A 5% different matter over 20 years time period.

Yes returns not guaranteed but by picking EPF you are giving up opportunity cost (money grow faster and more efficiently than EPF) which means more money when you need it.

Do you need the money now Vs 20 years down the road. Ask yourself this question.

You can listen, you can ignore. I don't get anything either way. I was in your shoes before this. Focusing on just FD promos amanah saham cause scared to lose money. I realise early on I am losing more money by being safe.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 23 2025, 12:45 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 23 2025, 11:41 AM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Aug 23 2025, 10:42 AM)
If I were to invest in SGD, how should I do it? I check online there will be conversion fee back and forth and need a work permit to open a SG bank account. My question may sound stupid as I dun hv knowledge in this area
Not really. If you know how. Yes there will be feess if around 3% as banks want your money what. But there are ways to minimise the fees.

But when you invest overseas, you do not touch the money for 20-30 years until you need to use the money. Treat your money as one way ticket. Never been seen again for next 20 years. Yes that is what I did and still doing. If you itchy hand put money this month then bring money back next month or few months down the road, guaranteed way of losing money due to forex movement and you are removing your money tree too soon. Once it is overseas leave it.

My advise collect RM50k in Malaysia first for safety reason before decide your next action..

If you are 55 years old next year, don't bother with tnf and nonsense. Use EPF s you can withdraw money anytime at 55 years old. If you are still far away then you need to decide if you want to lock up your moeny into EPF and cannot touch them for 10y+ (you mentioned you are 40+)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 23 2025, 11:42 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 23 2025, 10:26 PM

24,328 posts

Spend as little as possible.
Try to do overtime where necessary.
Invest your money so they work as efficiently and as hard as possible.
Ramjade
post Aug 27 2025, 12:26 AM

24,328 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Aug 25 2025, 02:19 PM)
Frankly, if you're B40 there's not much use in investing. You should focus on increasing your income which will leapfrog any earning you can make via savings/investment.

Assuming you have some skill/talent at the moment. You should focus on letting people know your talent. Do good work and get your reputation up.

The best way to do this is to network, join events, meet people, increase opportunity. If you have to do some free work, just do it first. Your name has to get out there and be synonymous with quality and reliability.

From there your income will grow naturally. Then you can easily put money aside for investments.
Jack of all trades, and master of none
but often times better, than the master of one

^ That's the full quote.

Unless you're going to be the 0.001% of specialisation, normally the jack of all trades approach gives you better adaptability.
Actually the fundamentals is how much you can keep.
If your earnings is capped like mine cannot do anything.
Also can't save yourself out to financial security. Still need to invest.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 27 2025, 01:49 AM

0.0151sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:28 PM