50 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

[Reference] LAPTOP GAMING Performance + Benchmarks, ~all thing gaming on laptop discussions~

jjsia
post Oct 14 2008, 12:46 AM

507 posts

Anybody tried using 256 MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3450 from dell studio 15 to play games b4? how is the performance n compared with 256MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600M GT, which 1 is better? thx
shawn-mode
post Oct 14 2008, 01:03 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(jjsia @ Oct 14 2008, 01:46 AM)
Anybody tried using 256 MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3450 from dell studio 15 to play games b4? how is the performance n compared with 256MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600M GT, which 1 is better? thx
8600 GT is better.
jjsia
post Oct 14 2008, 01:06 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Oct 14 2008, 01:03 AM)
8600 GT is better.
Reason? I heard tat geforce 8600m n 8400m have overheating problems oso. so is it advisable to go 4 geforce 8600m?
shawn-mode
post Oct 14 2008, 01:16 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(jjsia @ Oct 14 2008, 02:06 AM)
Reason? I heard tat geforce 8600m n 8400m have overheating problems oso. so is it advisable to go 4 geforce 8600m?
8600 is comparable to 3650. 3450 is comparable to 8400. more or less.
you can google down and find the difference or reviews.
yes there is some issue but i am not sure is 8600 is included.

This post has been edited by shawn-mode: Oct 14 2008, 01:16 AM
Cheesenium
post Oct 14 2008, 06:45 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(jjsia @ Oct 14 2008, 01:06 AM)
Not overheat.The GPU's material got problem that it will cause the GPU to die sooner or later.
normeck
post Oct 14 2008, 10:15 AM

3,158 posts

from my previous post...HD3450 was better GC for 2k++ lappy...
what about

GC = 9200GS 256MB
price = RM3100

i dont mind to add up if its worth it...

Attached image(s)
crapp0
post Oct 14 2008, 11:12 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Oct 14 2008, 10:15 AM)
from my previous post...HD3450 was better GC for 2k++ lappy...
what about

GC = 9200GS 256MB
price = RM3100

i dont mind to add up if its worth it...
Should go for 2GB ram rather then stick with 1 Gb, later will regret. A tip is not to go for the 3GB option since it will actually slow down your machine due to dual channel memory needs both ram to be of the same quantity, if not it will no perform that well.

Notebookreview has a few reviews which demo that a 2GB machine is faster then a 3GB machine.
normeck
post Oct 14 2008, 11:37 AM

3,158 posts

RAM i will get 2GB..
what about graphic card?...is it 9200GS > HD3450?
i want to play game with no lag at medium setting...
crapp0
post Oct 14 2008, 11:40 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Oct 14 2008, 11:37 AM)
RAM i will get 2GB..
what about graphic card?...is it 9200GS > HD3450?
i want to play game with no lag at medium setting...
The 3450 is better, by about 10-15% compared to the 9200GS.

Depending on what game also, crysis playing on med with 3450 will sure lag. Also have to see your screen resolution.
normeck
post Oct 14 2008, 11:44 AM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Oct 13 2008, 08:05 PM)
which one is the best for

1 - Silkroad Online
2 - Racing car game like NFS Carbon, NFS Undercover (coming soon)
3 - Football like Fifa, Winning Eleven
4 - some game like 3D shooter ( i dunno the term) but like Obilivion, Hitman....
this is the game that i want to play...
wahhh...HD3450 is better than 9200GS?... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by normeck: Oct 14 2008, 12:45 PM
crapp0
post Oct 14 2008, 02:25 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(normeck @ Oct 14 2008, 11:44 AM)
this is the game that i want to play...
wahhh...HD3450 is better than 9200GS?... hmm.gif
You can play those games, just not at full quality and resolution with the current graphics card which you have mentioned.

Fifa and silkroad no prob, the others like oblivion and NFS you wont be able to play at high, i think low-med would be ok.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Oct 14 2008, 02:26 PM
jjsia
post Oct 14 2008, 07:43 PM

507 posts

is ATI MOBILITY hd 3450 a good card 4 gaming compared with geforce 8600M? Wat about video option? which is better in term of full HD video viewing? thx

This post has been edited by jjsia: Oct 14 2008, 07:43 PM
astria
post Oct 14 2008, 07:47 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

8600M better in terms of gaming performance...

but like i always say, getting any GeForce 8M now is asking for trouble...

for videos conventionally ppl believe ATi is better as it gives better colour... and ATi can do 100% full CPU offload for HD videos as well..

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 14 2008, 07:48 PM
sacrethief
post Oct 14 2008, 11:53 PM

47 posts

how to read this benchmark rating? what is the full score & what is the acceptable score in order to determine the laptop strength?
astria
post Oct 15 2008, 12:09 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

there's no full score...

benchmarks shows the relative strength of the hardware compared to the others... but this can be biased... due to driver issues (optimization, etc)

usually ppl prefer to look at FPS (frames per second) while playing games... this gives a more realistic, though not totally unbiased, picture... generally speaking, 30fps is considered good...
jjsia
post Oct 15 2008, 12:27 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 14 2008, 07:47 PM)

for videos conventionally ppl believe ATi is better as it gives better colour... and ATi can do 100% full CPU offload for HD videos as well..
What do u mean by 100% full CPU offload for HD videos? care to xplain a bit? thx
KeV
post Oct 15 2008, 12:40 AM

www.kampar.net
6,758 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 14 2008, 07:47 PM)

not entirely true, ive seen a notebookreview article saying that the first batch of chips were flawed, that included in the benq laptops too.

i didnt know about the article when i bought my laptop, but it says revision a2 when i boot up gpu-z. the only affected chips are running on revision a1. it will run at 80C when normal too, which is shortening the life of the graphics card itself. a bios update was then available, to speed up the fan. whirling it like crazy. then again, if ur using revision A2, u would be fine. try and download gpu-z to see for urself

geforce 8600gt is a class 2 graphics card where as the 3450hd is a class 3. its comparable to the 8400gs graphics card
jjsia
post Oct 15 2008, 12:58 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ Oct 15 2008, 12:40 AM)
not entirely true, ive seen a notebookreview article saying that the first batch of chips were flawed, that included in the benq laptops too.

i didnt know about the article when i bought my laptop, but it says revision a2 when i boot up gpu-z. the only affected chips are running on revision a1. it will run at 80C when normal too, which is shortening the life of the graphics card itself. a bios update was then available, to speed up the fan. whirling it like crazy. then again, if ur using revision A2, u would be fine. try and download gpu-z to see for urself

geforce 8600gt is a class 2 graphics card where as the 3450hd is a class 3. its comparable to the 8400gs graphics card
what i m asking is about the definition of 100% full CPU offload for HD videos. Any1 care to clarify tis? thx
crapp0
post Oct 15 2008, 08:32 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(jjsia @ Oct 15 2008, 12:58 AM)
what i m asking is about the definition of 100% full CPU offload for HD videos. Any1 care to clarify tis? thx
Its nothing too important 2 worry about this. Unless you want 2 watch HD movies then your better off buying the new acer gemstone or HP HDX whose screens are designed perfectly for HD format and blue ray disc video format.
jjsia
post Oct 15 2008, 10:12 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 15 2008, 08:32 AM)
Its nothing too important 2 worry about this. Unless you want 2 watch HD movies then your better off buying the new acer gemstone or HP HDX whose screens are designed perfectly for HD format and blue ray disc video format.
i plann to use the lappy 4 watching hd video with my 42" plasma via hdmi. so does the graphic card has significant effect? or which graphic card would be better?

50 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:57 AM