9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Why Msian so against new 65 yr old retirement age?

TSknwong
post Jun 4 2025, 08:34 PM

3,563 posts

QUOTE(soul78 @ Jun 4 2025, 05:34 PM)
Bcoz raising retirement age is an indirect reflection of the failure of gomens to curb costs of living and inflation...

Instead of solving the issue , you're made to work longer to ensure you have adequate savings or if you still dont have enuff savings by that retirement age - you will definitely be nearly your last days. So you're just a temporary problem for them until your depopz...
Literally all government in this world, SG included. All are failing gomen
zenix
post Jun 4 2025, 08:37 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 4 2025, 01:42 PM)

more like seniors blocking earth from moving, making youngsters waste more time in smaller roles

QUOTE(iGamer @ Jun 4 2025, 01:45 PM)
higher official retirement age is less relevant to private staff as they can still retire early if they wanted to.
It's civil servants that are more affected, if they don't work until the set retirement age, they may get lower entitlement to their govt pension scheme.
on the other end of the scale the old boomers in higher positions don't want to retire early
so can suap more

DTorons
post Jun 4 2025, 08:37 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Jun 4 2025, 01:53 PM)
well you are denying youngster their employment post and their career growth because the oldfag still holding down the decision maker post. also productivity out of windows because this oldfag dont have energy to work for long and need to go for their routine treatment (e.g dialysis, physiotherapy, wound cleaning) due to their chronic illness.
So that the higher management position oldfag can continue to songlap.
ruffy_z
post Jun 4 2025, 08:44 PM

17 posts

Only if malaysia can become a science and tech strong economy with modern agriculture the next best industry then it can rely less on oil and gas and provide more jobs for young people
Enjoise
post Jun 4 2025, 08:50 PM

463 posts

60 cukup la let old dogs retire
tupai
post Jun 4 2025, 11:52 PM

305 posts

because one of madani minister suggested this. if bawang or abahkau or mr print money suggested this conlanfirm many will agree.
icemanfx
post Jun 5 2025, 04:30 AM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(ruffy_z @ Jun 4 2025, 08:44 PM)
Only if malaysia can become a science and tech strong economy with modern agriculture the next best industry then it can rely less on oil and gas and provide more jobs for young people
Have missed the train.

icemanfx
post Jun 5 2025, 04:32 AM

21,457 posts

If boomers don't retire, how to get promotion to senior position?

kaizoku30
post Jun 5 2025, 05:35 AM

86 posts

To solve what problem first?
If it’s about manpower, we already have bangla paki waiting to replace us

If it’s about epf, fark off
sam378
post Jun 5 2025, 09:13 AM

308 posts

Kerja sampai mampus
nelson969
post Jun 5 2025, 09:16 AM

321 posts

hedonism in someone culture and value over hard work till death.
jasontoh
post Jun 5 2025, 09:17 AM

8,446 posts

QUOTE(tupai @ Jun 4 2025, 11:52 PM)
because one of madani minister suggested this. if bawang or abahkau or mr print money suggested this conlanfirm many will agree.
I actually think it will be otherwise. Many issues are considered serious threat and cruelty to the citizen until Madani become government, suddenly become bright idea. Eg AES/AWAS.
post Jun 5 2025, 09:21 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 4 2025, 09:37 PM)
[/spoiler]

more like seniors blocking earth from moving, making youngsters waste more time in smaller roles
on the other end of the scale the old boomers in higher positions don't want to retire early
so can suap more
If youngsters are capable, they be able to overtake the boomers

There are plenty of C suite people who are young today

However, there are tons of youngsters who think they are better than boomers but in reality they are just dreaming laugh.gif
Zot
post Jun 5 2025, 09:26 AM

7,938 posts

Many people I talked to said that felt happy after retirement for few months and then don't know what to do with boredom
post Jun 5 2025, 09:26 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jun 5 2025, 10:17 AM)
I actually think it will be otherwise. Many issues are considered serious threat and cruelty to the citizen until Madani become government, suddenly become bright idea. Eg AES/AWAS.
Raising retirement age has been discussed since Najib time lah

Najib was the one who raise it to 60

We need to revisit this issue today because it's genuinely a problem which we must tackle

I don't know why there are people who against it

If you want to retire early, no one is forcing you to retire at 65

This option is for those who still need to work as they can't afford to retire early

As for EPF, if people rely only on EPF as their only source of fundings after retirement, it means that you really should retire at 65

As for not allowing people to withdraw everything, just look at Singapore and the reason why they are doing it lah
TSknwong
post Jun 5 2025, 09:33 AM

3,563 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 5 2025, 09:26 AM)
Many people I talked to said that felt happy after retirement for few months and then don't know what to do with boredom
A very good advise I received from a retiree friend who recently pass away

Just before you retire make sure take up hobby of interest so that you wake up with motivation to pursue it

That's why he pick up photography, computer repair, racket sports...

This post has been edited by knwong: Jun 5 2025, 09:33 AM
gundamsp01
post Jun 5 2025, 09:36 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

extending the option to work a longer time is a good thing, isn't it?
While those who are capable and tired of working can just stop working earlier.
COOLPINK
post Jun 5 2025, 09:40 AM

3,666 posts

You work in a shitty work environment aka chinaman 996 work culture and ciput salary you think you want to work until 65?

Those that are willing to work until 65 are those that are getting good salary and good working environment like WFH or 4 days work week.
Work until die also ok for these people......

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Jun 5 2025, 09:43 AM
littlefire
post Jun 5 2025, 09:50 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Jun 5 2025, 10:36 AM)
extending the option to work a longer time is a good thing, isn't it?
While those who are capable and tired of working can just stop working earlier.
Yes, all these while these are options. Not sure why so many hoo haa around here. If not mistaken age 55 already can take EPF.
If given choice i will work until 65, earn more money, more epf, more interest rolling. thumbsup.gif If i cannot use the money, at least i pass down to my family.

As per some feedback, i have seen quite a few example when people not working. If not plan well, if will just hurt more than benefits and also accelerate a lot of sickness especially Alzheimer's disease and dementia due to less function of brand activities. For me i know i sure will suffer as i need something to work on to avoid boredom.
jasontoh
post Jun 5 2025, 10:15 AM

8,446 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 5 2025, 09:26 AM)
Raising retirement age has been discussed since Najib time lah

Najib was the one who raise it to 60

We need to revisit this issue today because it's genuinely a problem which we must tackle

I don't know why there are people who against it

If you want to retire early, no one is forcing you to retire at 65

This option is for those who still need to work as they can't afford to retire early

As for EPF, if people rely only on EPF as their only source of fundings after retirement, it means that you really should retire at 65

As for not allowing people to withdraw everything, just look at Singapore and the reason why they are doing it lah
1st - the reply was to a comment saying many against it's due to coming from a MahalDaNi minister, but I would say that usually anything that coming out from the other side the MahalDahni minister leading the reformati will comment that it is a serious threat or cruelty towards the citizen.

2nd - Many are against it because it will make the already bloated civil service more bloated.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:16 AM