just raise it to 62/63 first lah. less pushback that way.
Why Msian so against new 65 yr old retirement age?
Jun 5 2025, 10:28 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
110 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
just raise it to 62/63 first lah. less pushback that way.
Jun 5 2025, 10:31 AM
1,732 posts Joined: Jul 2016 From: tomato land |
Jun 5 2025, 10:48 AM
269 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jun 5 2025, 11:15 AM) 1st - the reply was to a comment saying many against it's due to coming from a MahalDaNi minister, but I would say that usually anything that coming out from the other side the MahalDahni minister leading the reformati will comment that it is a serious threat or cruelty towards the citizen. When Najib increase the retirement age to 60, it was the same lah2nd - Many are against it because it will make the already bloated civil service more bloated. There are people who supports it and there are people who are against it As for bloated civil service, you should consider how we calculate our civil service We include police officers, military personnel and teachers but most countries do not include them The biggest issue today is more towards unbalance distribution of civil service Look at government hospitals for examples. Why are nurses and doctors bogged down with doing administrative jobs? Fact is today, the pros of extending the retirement age is higher than maintaining it at 60 Why are there so many people especially youngsters are against it? Singapore retirement age is 64 and do you really think our people savings are more than Singaporeans when they retire? |
Jun 5 2025, 11:05 AM
328 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
We are going towards ageing society already, meaning population is growing older. Make sense to raise retirement age...
Jun 5 2025, 11:07 AM
328 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 5 2025, 10:48 AM) When Najib increase the retirement age to 60, it was the same lah The impression that I get from reading netizens reaction is that they just butthurt seeing how much old people earn. Lol. They want the money but don't want to put in the shift... Susah sikit at opis, terus tenderThere are people who supports it and there are people who are against it As for bloated civil service, you should consider how we calculate our civil service We include police officers, military personnel and teachers but most countries do not include them The biggest issue today is more towards unbalance distribution of civil service Look at government hospitals for examples. Why are nurses and doctors bogged down with doing administrative jobs? Fact is today, the pros of extending the retirement age is higher than maintaining it at 60 Why are there so many people especially youngsters are against it? Singapore retirement age is 64 and do you really think our people savings are more than Singaporeans when they retire? This post has been edited by dagnarus: Jun 5 2025, 11:08 AM |
Jun 5 2025, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(dagnarus @ Jun 5 2025, 12:07 PM) The impression that I get from reading netizens reaction is that they just butthurt seeing how much old people earn. Lol. They want the money but don't want to put in the shift... Susah sikit at opis, terus tender A lot of them think they can easily replace the boomers, and the boomers are just blocking their wayHowever, they forgot that there are plenty of youngsters reaching c suite level If they are not in those position today, it only means they are not there yet |
Jun 5 2025, 11:26 AM
305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jun 5 2025, 09:17 AM) I actually think it will be otherwise. Many issues are considered serious threat and cruelty to the citizen until Madani become government, suddenly become bright idea. Eg AES/AWAS. actually if you remember why many people are against AES was due to the fact that AES was operated by 2 private companies on profit sharing basis. I don't know about you, but I conlanfirm hate the idea of law enforcement by any private companies. Lots of movies about this topic and none of them has good outcome.In real life also this has happened in several countries, US allows private companies to enforce traffic light camera and speed camera, UK allows for enforcement of municipal by-laws, among others. THis create controversies mainly about conflict of interest. The enforcement of laws, justice vs profit , lack of accountability etc. Now, back to AES, some people claimed that two companies awarded the AES project were linked to some ehem ehem. That's why when gomen at that time finally decided to cancel that contract due to some internal and external pressure. Thats the rumors i heard so take that with a grain of salt. WHats confirmed was that gomen acquired the AES from the 2 companies by the tunes of hundreds millions. Using money from lembaga tabung angkatan tentera. That by itself created another controversy. You can google all this easily. If too lazy ask AI to summarize for you. Heck, I've googled this and google AI give me the summary. The bolded part i dont need to google. Those who actually know to read and digest info during that particular time (2012) already know that AES was initially privately run. |
Jun 5 2025, 11:36 AM
333 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: 夢の国 |
QUOTE(dagnarus @ Jun 5 2025, 11:05 AM) We are going towards ageing society already, meaning population is growing older. Make sense to raise retirement age... No we are not, our population is still young and brain drain of young talents are real. sos : https://www.populationpyramid.net/malaysia/2024/ older people have lower productivity and bloated salary is also a fact - must be addressed. Extending these people retirement age only does not help, dismiss them from their existing authorities and important positions to become teacher to nurture the young ones ? Yes please - question is nobody is going to do it that's why we have retarded teachers. if you are type C then yes then this race is going extinct in Malaysia in the future but truth is for Malaysian, we have a lot of Kelantan and Terengganu babies coming to KL work |
Jun 5 2025, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(stinger @ Jun 5 2025, 12:36 PM) No we are not, our population is still young and brain drain of young talents are real. Malaysia is projected to become an aged country by 2030, with 15.3% of the population aged 60 and over. This is a result of increasing life expectancy and declining fertility rates. The percentage of those aged 60 and over is expected to increase from 7.9% in 2010 to 15.3% in 2030.sos : https://www.populationpyramid.net/malaysia/2024/ older people have lower productivity and bloated salary is also a fact - must be addressed. Extending these people retirement age only does not help, dismiss them from their existing authorities and important positions to become teacher to nurture the young ones ? Yes please - question is nobody is going to do it that's why we have retarded teachers. if you are type C then yes then this race is going extinct in Malaysia in the future but truth is for Malaysian, we have a lot of Kelantan and Terengganu babies coming to KL work |
Jun 5 2025, 11:59 AM
1,072 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 5 2025, 10:56 AM) Raising retirement age has been discussed since Najib time lah Why need to raise to 65. Najib was the one who raise it to 60 We need to revisit this issue today because it's genuinely a problem which we must tackle I don't know why there are people who against it If you want to retire early, no one is forcing you to retire at 65 This option is for those who still need to work as they can't afford to retire early As for EPF, if people rely only on EPF as their only source of fundings after retirement, it means that you really should retire at 65 As for not allowing people to withdraw everything, just look at Singapore and the reason why they are doing it lah Because there is problem with wealth generation down the economy. Raising retirement age doesnt mean will solve "afford to retire" the pool of wealth fund in EPF is dwindling very fast and the feed to the system is low. even increases retirement age, doesnt mean it will contribute towards replacing funds that is departing. Catch 22 problem. |
Jun 5 2025, 12:02 PM
333 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: 夢の国 |
QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 5 2025, 11:51 AM) Malaysia is projected to become an aged country by 2030, with 15.3% of the population aged 60 and over. This is a result of increasing life expectancy and declining fertility rates. The percentage of those aged 60 and over is expected to increase from 7.9% in 2010 to 15.3% in 2030. yes the keyword is projected - yes they can do it in 2030 but not nowLook at chart on 2024 and tell me, which age is the majority now? is the onion not obvious enough? ![]() |
Jun 5 2025, 12:04 PM
198 posts Joined: Jan 2019 From: Praia Espiñeirido/Kuala Lumpur |
my god people so goddam stupid
government are not your friend, they are all stupid people and they have stolen your tax money over the past 70-80 years increase the retirement age ? increase to 100 lo I telling you la, majority of people are a frog in a boil water, slow cooking to death A.I and Automation are coming to replace alot of people I tell you these clowns will in 10 years time, increase the retirement age to 70 |
Jun 5 2025, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Jun 5 2025, 12:59 PM) Why need to raise to 65. Fact 1. Malaysian population is aging populationBecause there is problem with wealth generation down the economy. Raising retirement age doesnt mean will solve "afford to retire" the pool of wealth fund in EPF is dwindling very fast and the feed to the system is low. even increases retirement age, doesnt mean it will contribute towards replacing funds that is departing. Catch 22 problem. Fact 2. Most Malaysian people don't have enough when they retire at 60 Fact 3. Some Malaysians used up all their retirement funds in just a few years after retiring Fact 4. Most successful countries in the world set their retirement age above 60 Fact 5. EPF sustainability will be a problem in the future if we continue with current set up There are tons of reasons why raising retirement age is a no brainer lah |
Jun 5 2025, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(Shanks747 @ Jun 5 2025, 01:04 PM) my god people so goddam stupid You do know that nobody can force you to not retire early, right?government are not your friend, they are all stupid people and they have stolen your tax money over the past 70-80 years increase the retirement age ? increase to 100 lo I telling you la, majority of people are a frog in a boil water, slow cooking to death A.I and Automation are coming to replace alot of people I tell you these clowns will in 10 years time, increase the retirement age to 70 |
Jun 5 2025, 12:16 PM
1,072 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 5 2025, 01:37 PM) Fact 1. Malaysian population is aging population is not about no brainer.Fact 2. Most Malaysian people don't have enough when they retire at 60 Fact 3. Some Malaysians used up all their retirement funds in just a few years after retiring Fact 4. Most successful countries in the world set their retirement age above 60 Fact 5. EPF sustainability will be a problem in the future if we continue with current set up There are tons of reasons why raising retirement age is a no brainer lah It is about solving the problem. No matter you aged long, if there is no skillset necessary for economic productivity and adequately allows you to live within your means. it is catch 22. Your Facts is not denied, but the larger question is what is sustainable for individual minus EPF system. |
Jun 5 2025, 12:21 PM
3,563 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Shenzhen Bahru |
QUOTE(stinger @ Jun 5 2025, 11:36 AM) No we are not, our population is still young and brain drain of young talents are real. The Older-Worker Productivity Drain Is (Mostly) a Myth: Studysos : https://www.populationpyramid.net/malaysia/2024/ older people have lower productivity and bloated salary is also a fact - must be addressed. Extending these people retirement age only does not help, dismiss them from their existing authorities and important positions to become teacher to nurture the young ones ? Yes please - question is nobody is going to do it that's why we have retarded teachers. if you are type C then yes then this race is going extinct in Malaysia in the future but truth is for Malaysian, we have a lot of Kelantan and Terengganu babies coming to KL work https://www.thinkadvisor.com/2023/11/27/the...y-a-myth-study/ |
Jun 5 2025, 12:21 PM
303 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 5 2025, 04:32 AM) instead of retire, what happening in singapore for my related who is senior in SIA, once reaching retirement age, he just rotate his job to junior position, he just want pass time. Very chill now, follows junior culture, go yumcha once reach tea time. |
Jun 5 2025, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 5 2025, 10:48 AM) When Najib increase the retirement age to 60, it was the same lah What should be the proper way of calculating number of civil servants?There are people who supports it and there are people who are against it As for bloated civil service, you should consider how we calculate our civil service We include police officers, military personnel and teachers but most countries do not include them The biggest issue today is more towards unbalance distribution of civil service Look at government hospitals for examples. Why are nurses and doctors bogged down with doing administrative jobs? Fact is today, the pros of extending the retirement age is higher than maintaining it at 60 Why are there so many people especially youngsters are against it? Singapore retirement age is 64 and do you really think our people savings are more than Singaporeans when they retire? |
Jun 5 2025, 12:30 PM
275 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 5 2025, 12:07 PM) Fact 1. Malaysian population is aging population Fact 2. Most Malaysian people don't have enough when they retire at 60 Fact 3. Some Malaysians used up all their retirement funds in just a few years after retiring Fact 4. Most successful countries in the world set their retirement age above 60 Fact 5. EPF sustainability will be a problem in the future if we continue with current set up There are tons of reasons why raising retirement age is a no brainer lah QUOTE(30624770 @ Jun 5 2025, 12:07 PM) No issue with raising retirement age, provided epf withdrawal remains at 55/60I want to have the freedom to choose whether to continue working or relaxing in my later years but i can't agree to my epf funds being locked away like singapore |
Jun 5 2025, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(bigwolf @ Jun 5 2025, 12:30 PM) No issue with raising retirement age, provided epf withdrawal remains at 55/60 Why Singaporean continue to vote PAP despite having evil gov locking their CPF?I want to have the freedom to choose whether to continue working or relaxing in my later years but i can't agree to my epf funds being locked away like singapore |
| Change to: | 0.0145sec
5 queries
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:36 PM |