Arranged marriage? Shouldnt you know bout her personality during pak toh time?
Saving for the Future vs Making My Wife Happy
Jan 23 2025, 01:45 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
340 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Arranged marriage? Shouldnt you know bout her personality during pak toh time?
Jan 23 2025, 01:49 PM
4,254 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 23 2025, 01:14 PM) Amazing how ppl think being frugal = miserable. this is fine too since you dont need to keep up with the jones, but the thing is some people's frugal level are extremely subjectiveSome people feel happy coz they are able to buy something or use something. You might be happy while driving the brand new car. Some, like me in cases, feel happy just with the knowledge of knowing we can afford it with money still in bank. We don’t need to own it or use it. And we are happy with it 24 hours a day with that knowledge like for example, just because i eat chicken rice every meal during my lunch time im called "too frugal" by some ex-colleagues. for me i considered it alright cause i get my daily required nutrients in a meal plus its <RM10 per meal. while ive seen before some people level of frugal where they skimp on everything, because they think it is good savings. an example would be something like skimping on proper meals because they think breakfast is a waste of money etc is it worth it in the long run? i dunno, to each their own. but breakfast is important to start the day IMO cempedaklife and MegaCanonF liked this post
Jan 23 2025, 03:24 PM
1,138 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(skyblack4492 @ Jan 23 2025, 12:54 PM) Poor type C .. haha .. ok la not too bad skyblack4492 liked this post
Jan 23 2025, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 23 2025, 01:49 PM) this is fine too since you dont need to keep up with the jones, but the thing is some people's frugal level are extremely subjective I would say some save up to buy things, some save up to for future, some save up to enjoy life. Neither right nor wrong. Everyone has different priority.like for example, just because i eat chicken rice every meal during my lunch time im called "too frugal" by some ex-colleagues. for me i considered it alright cause i get my daily required nutrients in a meal plus its <RM10 per meal. while ive seen before some people level of frugal where they skimp on everything, because they think it is good savings. an example would be something like skimping on proper meals because they think breakfast is a waste of money etc is it worth it in the long run? i dunno, to each their own. but breakfast is important to start the day IMO I spend most of my earnings on eating with my wife. When I'm alone I'll just eat simple food. Save up a little to buy things that last, hardly skimp on quality, yet not the most expensive. Travel? Occasionally if my wife asks but prefer to stay at home. Lol MegaCanonF, wawasan2200, and 1 other liked this post
Jan 23 2025, 03:39 PM
3,664 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Not saying being frugal is not good but a balanced life is better.
Plan for the future but live for the moment. |
Jan 23 2025, 03:42 PM
1,229 posts Joined: Nov 2017 |
Your finance you own. Have a joint account she has access to. Its like budgeting how much you can afford to allocate to keep her happy. NinG and cempedaklife liked this post
Jan 23 2025, 03:44 PM
4,254 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(malz89 @ Jan 23 2025, 03:34 PM) I would say some save up to buy things, some save up to for future, some save up to enjoy life. Neither right nor wrong. Everyone has different priority. yeah thats why its up to each other, i have a friend who also personally sees travelling as waste of money, while for me i like to travel since its nice to explore new thingsI spend most of my earnings on eating with my wife. When I'm alone I'll just eat simple food. Save up a little to buy things that last, hardly skimp on quality, yet not the most expensive. Travel? Occasionally if my wife asks but prefer to stay at home. Lol |
Jan 23 2025, 03:59 PM
4,357 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: KL |
QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 23 2025, 01:49 PM) this is fine too since you dont need to keep up with the jones, but the thing is some people's frugal level are extremely subjective I'm with you on this. like for example, just because i eat chicken rice every meal during my lunch time im called "too frugal" by some ex-colleagues. for me i considered it alright cause i get my daily required nutrients in a meal plus its <RM10 per meal. while ive seen before some people level of frugal where they skimp on everything, because they think it is good savings. an example would be something like skimping on proper meals because they think breakfast is a waste of money etc is it worth it in the long run? i dunno, to each their own. but breakfast is important to start the day IMO wawasan2200 liked this post
Jan 23 2025, 04:08 PM
394 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
Sometimes also need to think.. we can't live forever and if we kick the bucket tomorrow, what would you or your wife regret not doing?
Also, we can't stay young forever. I have for example, already tried glacier hiking in iceland, dog sledding in svalbard and viewing the northern lights in Tromsø , all of this which is more difficult to do when older in sub-zero temperatures outdoors for long amount of time Not saying that's what you should do, but need to balance affordability, and happiness (not just yours but your family) |
Jan 23 2025, 04:43 PM
4,357 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: KL |
QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Jan 23 2025, 04:08 PM) Sometimes also need to think.. we can't live forever and if we kick the bucket tomorrow, what would you or your wife regret not doing? i agree with what you said, on another spectrum. Also, we can't stay young forever. I have for example, already tried glacier hiking in iceland, dog sledding in svalbard and viewing the northern lights in Tromsø , all of this which is more difficult to do when older in sub-zero temperatures outdoors for long amount of time Not saying that's what you should do, but need to balance affordability, and happiness (not just yours but your family) i done nothing on your list, I've never been to Europe. but if i die tomorrow, i have no regrets. apart from being sad that i can't provide more and be there for my family. but I'm already dead then, what's being sad or regret going to matter? |
Jan 23 2025, 05:42 PM
565 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
I've heard of so many unhappy marriages. These issues are very common, but many people are not outspoken about it, they just try to live with it or suffer in silence as they fear of being perceived weak, incapable or due to ego. Financial planning is very important. I believe TS is doing the right thing. He is the sole bread winner and he is concerned about the future of his kids and retirement. I do not think he is overly frugal and I believe he also indulges in the occasional luxuries and treats to make his wife happy but unfortunately given the limited resources (salary) and lack of understanding (from his wife), what he has done is still perceived to be not enough. Hope you find light at the end of the tunnel man. MegaCanonF, wawasan2200, and 2 others liked this post
Jan 23 2025, 06:28 PM
QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 23 2025, 04:43 PM) i agree with what you said, on another spectrum. I think Europe is a bucket list for most of us. I managed to go once and literally wiped 45k out of my saving. Would go again if I could in the future. Haha .. but was it worth it? I have no idea lol.i done nothing on your list, I've never been to Europe. but if i die tomorrow, i have no regrets. apart from being sad that i can't provide more and be there for my family. but I'm already dead then, what's being sad or regret going to matter? cempedaklife liked this post
Jan 24 2025, 04:29 AM
394 posts Joined: Mar 2016 |
QUOTE(abhipraaya @ Jan 23 2025, 05:42 PM) I had 1 ex-classmate, lived a frugal life although he was rich (but stingy as hell). heard his wife was unhappy that never go holiday or spend any money on her and she eventually divorced him and got half of all his assetsNow his ex-wife very happy can go holiday in many places lock_82 and cempedaklife liked this post
Jan 24 2025, 07:38 AM
189 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
same situation with me, thanks in advance to all sifus if can help me
just that i facing extra issue which is housing, i dont know to buy or to rent, i prefer rent because buy might cause limited job opportunities in future, she thinks rent is waste money, helping landlord to pay housing loan we are working 50 km ++ from KL, if buy house near current office later if change job we might need to work in kl to get a similar paycheck then the travelling distance will be a nightmare to me we have been working 5 and 7 years in respective companies currently we are staying 5-10 km from office, within this range have a lot of over supply landed properties i am considering a highrise which is 25km away from current workplace and 25km away from KL, the MRT station is just opposite the highrise |
Jan 24 2025, 07:40 AM
10,476 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Jan 23 2025, 04:08 PM) Sometimes also need to think.. we can't live forever and if we kick the bucket tomorrow, what would you or your wife regret not doing? I have poor memory. I can do the hiking and aurora thing, but after 1 year, I will forget all of these. what is the point of spending so much money on these activities when I don't remember anything? this is why I rather buy something physical that I can see everyday.Also, we can't stay young forever. I have for example, already tried glacier hiking in iceland, dog sledding in svalbard and viewing the northern lights in Tromsø , all of this which is more difficult to do when older in sub-zero temperatures outdoors for long amount of time Not saying that's what you should do, but need to balance affordability, and happiness (not just yours but your family) |
Jan 24 2025, 07:44 AM
10,476 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Jan 24 2025, 04:29 AM) I had 1 ex-classmate, lived a frugal life although he was rich (but stingy as hell). heard his wife was unhappy that never go holiday or spend any money on her and she eventually divorced him and got half of all his assets https://www.reddit.com/r/therewasanattempt/.../to_be_logical/Now his ex-wife very happy can go holiday in many places I share the video above to all my online dating match. if she says her money is her money, then we are not compatible. it's that easy. |
Jan 24 2025, 07:50 AM
118 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(Lonelybird @ Jan 21 2025, 06:44 PM) As a 37-year-old earning RM8k per month, I've only managed to save RM100k in my savings which i know is insufficient. To ramp up my savings, I've adopted a frugal lifestyle. Give her monthly salary and bonus. Just like in a company for her time effort and body. However, this has led to tension with my wife, who feels we should enjoy life more and want to take control over our finance. As a housewife, she is good at taking care our childrens but not in managing finance. i'm hesitant to hand over our finance to her due to her limited experience. Should i prioritize making my wife happy and risk compromising our financial stability or find alternative solutions to address her concerns? I'm torn between securing our financial future and maintaining a happy marriage. Any advice would be appreciated. Edit : My main question is should i let my wife happy and control our finances, even if it compromises our financial stability? If you where to choose now, wife say, let's divorce then it is 50-50 of your harta sepencarian. Means for you to raise to a stable carrier she helps you to attend to your kids and household. She should have part of the income. NinG liked this post
Jan 24 2025, 08:00 AM
189 posts Joined: Sep 2019 |
QUOTE(Lonelybird @ Jan 22 2025, 12:11 AM) I once reminded my wife to appreciate what we have, pointing out that we're fortunate to have a roof over our heads and food on the table. will you feel lonely as your partner cant understand your POV?I mentioned that many people struggle to survive with much less. However, my words fell flat, and she gave me the cold shoulder for days. The tension at home affected not just me, but also our kids' happiness." I will never tell her this anymore. |
Jan 24 2025, 08:38 AM
53 posts Joined: Oct 2012 From: United States |
QUOTE(Lonelybird @ Jan 21 2025, 06:44 PM) As a 37-year-old earning RM8k per month, I've only managed to save RM100k in my savings which i know is insufficient. To ramp up my savings, I've adopted a frugal lifestyle. 3rd optionHowever, this has led to tension with my wife, who feels we should enjoy life more and want to take control over our finance. As a housewife, she is good at taking care our childrens but not in managing finance. i'm hesitant to hand over our finance to her due to her limited experience. Should i prioritize making my wife happy and risk compromising our financial stability or find alternative solutions to address her concerns? I'm torn between securing our financial future and maintaining a happy marriage. Any advice would be appreciated. Edit : My main question is should i let my wife happy and control our finances, even if it compromises our financial stability? Make more than 8k, it’s a legit answer |
Jan 24 2025, 09:58 AM
3,834 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Have you ever lay out all the numbers in front of her and explain in details on how you budget, why you allocate such and such money, what's your plan for the future etc etc? Have a discussion with her, listen to her pov, but make sure she understand your reasons as well. Perhaps find a middle ground like increase the "entertainment/enjoyment" budget.
Sometimes housewives don't see the big picture. They just do some calculation in their head hey the husband earn 8k, pay loan 3k food 2k, still got 3k mah why can't we spend on something nice to enjoy life... Don't be carry away by emotion just to make her "happy". There's no happy family when the finance is screwed up. This post has been edited by poweredbydiscuz: Jan 24 2025, 10:02 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0327sec
5 queries
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:24 PM |