Saving for the Future vs Making My Wife Happy

cempedaklife
post Jan 23 2025, 01:14 PM

Master Decoy
4,356 posts

Amazing how ppl think being frugal = miserable.

Some people feel happy coz they are able to buy something or use something. You might be happy while driving the brand new car.

Some, like me in cases, feel happy just with the knowledge of knowing we can afford it with money still in bank. We don’t need to own it or use it. And we are happy with it 24 hours a day with that knowledge
cempedaklife
post Jan 23 2025, 01:22 PM

Master Decoy
4,356 posts

QUOTE(Lonelybird @ Jan 21 2025, 10:13 PM)
Few months ago, my wife and i had a disagreement about buying a new car.

She wanted a new model of X50, while i preferred a more affordable Proton Saga.

The discussion turned into a heated argument because she think that better car have better quality and last longer.

The X50 installment could eating up my entire monthly saving, and i eventually dropped the idea of buying a new car, opting to continue driving my old livina instead.
Been following this thread for few days. Don’t want to comment much cos like so forummers said, we don’t know the whole truth.

But specifically for the car case.
If you need 2 cars how, make senses to buy smaller car and cheaper car since you already own a people carrier aka livina. And need to maintain two cars now. So saga make some sense.

But if you only need one car. Make sense to buy an suv or mpv since you are already driving one and I assume you need the space. So you need to take in consideration to sell the livina which will help your down payment.

If you decide to continue driving the livina. Like you did. Make sure you also do your part in keeping the car tip top and presentable so not to “malukan” your wife. Eg. keep car clean, make sure paint is good else go for repaint. Install entertainment system if you don’t have any and your wife or you desire it, change absorber suspension for comfort and less creaking. You need to be willing to spend 1 or 2 months of your supposingly monthly installment a year to upkeep it.
cempedaklife
post Jan 23 2025, 03:59 PM

Master Decoy
4,356 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Jan 23 2025, 01:49 PM)
this is fine too since you dont need to keep up with the jones, but the thing is some people's frugal level are extremely subjective

like for example, just because i eat chicken rice every meal during my lunch time im called "too frugal" by some ex-colleagues. for me i considered it alright cause i get my daily required nutrients in a meal plus its <RM10 per meal.

while ive seen before some people level of frugal where they skimp on everything, because they think it is good savings. an example would be something like skimping on proper meals because they think breakfast is a waste of money etc

is it worth it in the long run? i dunno, to each their own. but breakfast is important to start the day IMO
I'm with you on this. icon_rolleyes.gif
cempedaklife
post Jan 23 2025, 04:43 PM

Master Decoy
4,356 posts

QUOTE(mystalyzer @ Jan 23 2025, 04:08 PM)
Sometimes also need to think.. we can't live forever and if we kick the bucket tomorrow, what would you or your wife regret not doing?

Also, we can't stay young forever. I have for example, already tried glacier hiking in iceland, dog sledding in svalbard and viewing the northern lights in Tromsø , all of this which is more difficult to do when older in sub-zero temperatures outdoors for long amount of time

Not saying that's what you should do, but need to balance affordability, and happiness (not just yours but your family)
i agree with what you said, on another spectrum.
i done nothing on your list, I've never been to Europe.

but if i die tomorrow, i have no regrets. apart from being sad that i can't provide more and be there for my family.
but I'm already dead then, what's being sad or regret going to matter? laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
cempedaklife
post Jan 24 2025, 11:57 AM

Master Decoy
4,356 posts

QUOTE(wawasan2200 @ Jan 24 2025, 07:38 AM)
same situation with me, thanks in advance to all sifus if can help me

just that i facing extra issue which is housing, i dont know to buy or to rent, i prefer rent because buy might cause limited job opportunities in future, she thinks rent is waste money, helping landlord to pay housing loan

we are working 50 km ++ from KL, if buy house near current office later if change job we might need to work in kl to get a similar paycheck then the travelling distance will be a nightmare to me

we have been working 5 and 7 years in respective companies

currently we are staying 5-10 km from office, within this range have a lot of over supply landed properties

i am considering a highrise which is 25km away from current workplace and 25km away from KL, the MRT station is just opposite the highrise
it really depends on what's important for you.
i don't see a mention of kids so i assume you don't have any.

at this stage its only you and your wife and if you are worried and willingly move around, it might be best to rent, as the cost should be lower. of course it could be higher if you choose to rent high end dwelling but all in all, like above said its the renters market now. to put in context, one of my house, I'm paying 3.3k installment and I'm only renting out 1.3k ish.

having said that, your wife is not wrong as well.

for me, your stage you might think you want to move around so renting is better. but be smart about it, as in, even if you are renting, save and invest for your future home.

but when you have kids, since you need to think about their school, etc, it might be better to settle down and have your own house.
there is also a psychology edge to know you have a home at any stage of life, instead of renting.

all in all, there is nothing wrong with renting or owning a home.
you just need to live within your means.

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Jan 24 2025, 11:57 AM
cempedaklife
post Jan 25 2025, 08:11 PM

Master Decoy
4,356 posts

QUOTE(swanlover @ Jan 25 2025, 05:35 PM)
Have 100k at savings still treat wifey like a maid? And still need to skimp to the bone and think twice?

What’s wrong buying her some gifts (budget) and bringing her to holidays (can be well-budgeted)

When the wifey is happy the family is happy ..u balik eat home cook meal also happy….
lol. 100k usd ke?

0.0129sec    1.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:07 AM