No more 'quota system' for state-owned unis

Pikichu
post Nov 3 2024, 10:36 AM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Nov 2 2024, 08:08 PM)
abam pikichu panggil indian kukubird gagak. ayam sad
you said black first, not me. now you pretend to be ayam.

QUOTE(differ @ Nov 2 2024, 08:19 PM)
Article is about removing race-based quota from those 5 state universities. Which is a good thing.

The rest you just conveniently drag into the discussion, for what reason nobody knows.
yet so many agree with me.

QUOTE(focusrite @ Nov 2 2024, 08:33 PM)
Or you can just give based on needs
Some of you will do anything to defend racist policies
yes you can provide based on needs but the announcement is a reform into meritocracy, which would leave out slow learners.
my first line is congrats in the decision to switch to meritocracy, so where did you read my statement that I support racist policy?

QUOTE(exclus1ve @ Nov 2 2024, 08:34 PM)
Bro, have u been to sarawak b4? There's actually uitm here. Not necessary have to go over to malaya.
And when u say orang asli, there's lots of tribes. Nowadays lots of them is doing quite ok, if not well off.
but will Malays admit Org Asli? bcos the last GE 49% of vote by party went to PAS.
why are you discriminating them by tribe, are you racist?
they are doing okay then its good that Sarawak lead the way to reforms.

QUOTE(grumpydrive @ Nov 2 2024, 10:55 PM)
My kid still in elementary, lambat kahwin lambat anak..by the time they go uni we'd be in doddering age.
INB4 I don't agree with quota system, it's a stupid and education should be free..oh wai!! Anyhoo, if T15 kids have good grades and they want to attend local Public Uni why not man, they should get same treatment as everyone is my thinking.
Congrats you got kid.
My first comment congrats is the announcement to roll out meritocracy, then I question will slow learners be left out.
MY edu is stupid evident by B40 continue to vote by race and religion after 67 years, rich became madey kids and poor blame DAP. So merit based is 1 step towards reform. Yes if T15 kids got good grades, I would welcome them into public uni.
RT8081
post Nov 3 2024, 10:37 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Nov 3 2024, 10:36 AM)
you said black first, not me. now you pretend to be ayam.
yes you can provide based on needs but the announcement is a reform into meritocracy, which would leave out slow learners.
my first line is congrats in the decision to switch to meritocracy, so where did you read my statement that I support racist policy?
but will Malays admit Org Asli? bcos the last GE 49% of vote by party went to PAS.
why are you discriminating them by tribe, are you racist?
they are doing okay then its good that Sarawak lead the way to reforms.
Congrats you got kid.
My first comment congrats is the announcement to roll out meritocracy, then I question will slow learners be left out.
MY edu is stupid evident by B40 continue to vote by race and religion after 67 years, rich became madey kids and poor blame DAP. So merit based is 1 step towards reform. Yes if T15 kids got good grades, I would welcome them into public uni.
so you are implying gagak is white la ke, wei ? dont la cakap berbelit belit lol
Pikichu
post Nov 3 2024, 10:38 AM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(PATAR @ Nov 3 2024, 05:56 AM)
Quotas based on income > quotas based on race
Yes but a single deciding factor is insufficient.

QUOTE(Irzani @ Nov 3 2024, 06:03 AM)
kata equality ... only the best student (academic + Active) get the seat la regardless of races.
That's what Sarawak is announced and I said Congrats to reform to meritrocracy.
Pikichu
post Nov 3 2024, 10:39 AM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Nov 3 2024, 10:37 AM)
so you are implying gagak is white la ke, wei ? dont la cakap berbelit belit lol
you identify your bebird as black so the common black bird is crow.
RT8081
post Nov 3 2024, 10:52 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Nov 3 2024, 10:39 AM)
you identify your bebird as black so the common black bird is crow.
so u wanna say but dont dont dare to admit la tu. lol
pikichu is yellow, gagak is hitam

This post has been edited by RT8081: Nov 3 2024, 10:53 AM
Pikichu
post Nov 3 2024, 10:53 AM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Nov 3 2024, 10:52 AM)
so u wanna say but dont dont dare to admit la tu. lol
you are the one who wanted to show your gagak in public.
i warn you to refrain from showing disgusting bebird.
billylks
post Nov 3 2024, 11:33 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 3 2024, 06:49 AM)
We are merit based. But we are also limited in places.

You can do the maths:

20 public universities, 100 places each, but 4000 candidates with 3.80 and above.

Half of those wouldn't get their first choice. And by the time they get to their 2nd choice, it'll already be filled by 1st choicers. Then 3rd, and 4th and so on.
Sounds good, but don't hold water

If there is any full As students complaining cannot get a place, and if it is merit based, those less performing students should be kick out and find another places. Surely you don't assume the last place in any course also got all full As?

It is not merit based if the best students cannot get places.
kopiride
post Nov 3 2024, 12:03 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Nov 2 2024, 07:38 PM)
Yes, parents is crucial. Yet if parents push kids, without professional help (tuition). The kids compared to those tuitioned ones.... who will be left out in meritocracy. When they are left behind, do you think they will join PAS or DAP?

Tertiary education is a tool, but you see it as feeding, why?
Article is about a new system, which is impossible without political will, democracy and grass root support. So I am in topic, but you are stuck in a 3R mentality. 67 years later, we see today B40 become B85, bcos you are arguing and not looking at the bigger picture and facts.
U keep giving excuses over excuses. Education is a tool. Yes. But like a said, it's a tool if only the person wants to study. That is why I said, provide the poor with the tools, books to study and I am sure if they want to study they will succeed. Don't give excuses that without tuition they can't succeed. Merits based will push the parents and kids to study. This is something u won't be able to understand. Similarly, if u give fish, they will never learn to catch themselves
ceras
post Nov 3 2024, 12:08 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Nov 2 2024, 02:56 PM)
Congrats!
Org Asli kid did not do well in school won't have chance to enter university.
Rich kids got lots of tuition can enjoy state university

Rich gets rich, poor gets tax and debt.
We are happy to remain in 3rd world tongkat mentality. And blame everyone else when we do not make it and keep requesting for more tongkats.

Meanwhile in 15 to 20 years, Sarawak will have the most elite and progressive workforce powering their state forward.

This post has been edited by ceras: Nov 3 2024, 12:14 PM
Pikichu
post Nov 3 2024, 12:17 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(kopiride @ Nov 3 2024, 12:03 PM)
U keep giving excuses over excuses. Education is a tool. Yes. But like a said, it's a tool if only the person wants to study. That is why I said, provide the poor with the tools, books to study and I am sure if they want to study they will succeed. Don't give excuses that without tuition they can't succeed. Merits based will push the parents and kids to study. This is something u won't be able to understand. Similarly, if u give fish, they will never learn to catch themselves
You cannot address my comments means my comments are facts, not excuses.
They study can succeed but merit-based + limited university seats means they will likely be left behind compared against tuitioned grads.
Also the fact there are slow learners, where meritocracy will not include them, hence a need for inclusive policy, eg. slow in STEM then intro TVET.

Another fact is capitalism increase wealth gap, more people have to do 2 jobs to survive today compared to the past. So even if kids may want to study but parents cannot afford, so they will drop out in meritocracy. In 67 years, today is evident that capitalism > democracy, hence gov't intervention is necessary. In fact I recomment to tax the T1 to help the B40.

QUOTE(ceras @ Nov 3 2024, 12:08 PM)
We are happy to remain in 3rd world tongkat mentality. And blame everyone else when we do not make it and keep requesting for more tongkats.
Congrats is a praise to Sarawak reform into meritocracy.

The parents maybe bad apples but should you stereotype parents into children?
Does the crime of the parents be punished on the children?

azarimy
post Nov 3 2024, 12:19 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Nov 3 2024, 11:33 AM)
Sounds good, but don't hold water

If there is any full As students complaining cannot get a place, and if it is merit based, those less performing students should be kick out and find another places. Surely you don't assume the last place in any course also got all full As?

It is not merit based if the best students cannot get places.
Do the math. Take all matters into consideration, like popularity of the programme applied, number of applicants, applicant choices, performance and all that.

Remember, CHOICE is a major factor here. If 10,000 4.00 applicants apply for medicine (with 2,000 available places nationwide), do you remove all other applicants in dentistry, pharmacy, medical technology etc to prioritize the 4.00 medical applicants? Or should you offer them unpopular courses like forestry?
Lancer07
post Nov 3 2024, 12:21 PM

599 posts

A big slap to the entitled racists who keep crying the tongket

This post has been edited by Lancer07: Nov 3 2024, 12:22 PM
billylks
post Nov 3 2024, 02:08 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 3 2024, 12:19 PM)

Remember, CHOICE is a major factor here. If 10,000 4.00 applicants apply for medicine (with 2,000 available places nationwide), do you remove all other applicants in dentistry, pharmacy, medical technology etc to prioritize the 4.00 medical applicants? Or should you offer them unpopular courses like forestry?
I don't get you. Why do you want to remove students from dentistry, pharmacy etc when what people want is medicine? I say kick out students from medicine who is not better than full As, that is merit based.

Brilliant students full As wants to do dentistry? Kick out less brilliant students from dentistry.

Give priority to brilliant students. How difficult can it be? Give rewards for their willing to be the tops.

So far your mentioning about merit based by our IPTA? Singapore got most our brilliant students. It is just stupid that a neighbouring get our talents.
LDP
post Nov 3 2024, 02:17 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(KineticKill @ Nov 2 2024, 03:45 PM)
Let me rephrase it this way.

Which one is smarter and more deserving of a place in uni: a rich kid studying in aircond all day with tuitions on weekends or a poor kid in rural area who has to walk many miles to school in jungle, crossing river, studying in a semi-collapsed wooden school? Both got 7A1s.
No more A1 nowadays...A + ada lar....
differ
post Nov 4 2024, 04:59 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Nov 3 2024, 10:36 AM)
If that helps you sleep at night, then sure, I also agree with you.
abelyap
post Nov 4 2024, 05:08 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Nov 3 2024, 06:04 AM)
Itulah ... /k punya dendam .. sampai kiamat keep rasa teraniaya
It is 2001. The joker dunno the history

Also trying to equalize stpm difficulties to matriculation to protect maruah instead of man enough to acknowledge it is a backdoor like Mahathir did.
abelyap
post Nov 4 2024, 05:10 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Nov 3 2024, 06:49 AM)
We are merit based. But we are also limited in places.

You can do the maths:

20 public universities, 100 places each, but 4000 candidates with 3.80 and above.

Half of those wouldn't get their first choice. And by the time they get to their 2nd choice, it'll already be filled by 1st choicers. Then 3rd, and 4th and so on.
Merit with manipulation of race based pre U matriculation backdoor program.

If the meritrocracy system is really working, how come plenty of unemployment / underemployed type m graduate. It is open market in real world

Reality is harsh..... But it is what it is
Confirm 1st reason given is need mandarin speaker. Tongkat mentality is embedded in most

This post has been edited by abelyap: Nov 4 2024, 05:13 AM
brkli
post Nov 4 2024, 05:12 AM

592 posts

huh?? before this, private uni also got quota system???
DarkAeon
post Nov 4 2024, 05:29 AM

774 posts

my 2 cents is, we need to do what is good for the country in the long run.

the fact is, the country is lagging behind every year compared to our neighbours

we use to be top 1 or 2, then drop to top 5, now we are mid to bottom

clearly the current policies have failed us

Manuk1188
post Nov 4 2024, 06:18 AM

257 posts

Sarawak negeri Yang tercontoh....all work outside, will eventually back to the state and get higher paid for the state commitments, and build the state strength.

10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Top

0.0203sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:33 PM