Singapore company PIP, MAXIS CASE COMPARE

TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 02:35 PM, updated 12 months ago

1,836 posts

PETALING JAYA: A project manager specialist in a leading telecommunications company was awarded RM703,664 in compensation after the Industrial Court ruled his dismissal for poor performance was without just cause or excuse.

In an award dated July 16, the Kuala Lumpur Industrial Court noted that Ng Keng Seng’s performance had never been appraised as “unsatisfactory” throughout his 25-year stint with the firm.

Court chairman Zulbahrin Zainuddin instead found that between 2017 and 2019, Ng’s employer, Maxis Broadband Sdn Bhd, had said his performance “partially meets expectations” (PME).

The court also noted that Ng’s annual evaluation reports over the three years neither provided reasons for the PME rating nor listed weaknesses in the performance of duties to warrant a dismissal.

Instead, Zulbahrin said that despite being rated PME, the company had in the three reports recorded its thanks to Ng for his “contribution” and “commitment”. The court also noted that Ng had received RM26,132 as a “token of appreciation” for his efforts.

According to evidence led in court, Ng was placed on a three-month ad-hoc performance improvement plan (PIP) on Sept 1, 2020 following his three consecutive “PME” ratings.

However, Zulbahrin found that this requirement was only implemented in January 2021. Prior to that, only those appraised as “unsatisfactory” would be placed in the PIP programme, he said.

“The court took note that there was no attention to detail or uniformity on the part of management in its application of the correct PIP policy to the claimant (Ng), which had confused and impacted him greatly as the company’s error resulted in his termination without just cause or excuse,” the award read.

According to Zulbahrin, Ng’s immediate superior, Macy Ho, testified that the decision to place him under the PIP programme was made by the company’s human resources department although it had no direct dealings with him on work matters.

Under the terms of the PIP, Ng was given 12 deliverables to accomplish over and above his core duties. The company said this was aimed at improving his performance.

Zulbahrin, however, noted that Ng had written to management questioning the timing of the PIP.

Ng had said that 2020 was a challenging year, and that the Covid-19 pandemic required various changes to be made to existing work processes.

The court noted that Ng also expressed concern about his workload, especially with his department introducing a new core network to add capacity and partnering with a new vendor.

Ng had also expressed concern that the PIP programme had been imposed on him during the busiest period of the year, Zulbahrin added.

“The unclear PIP programme caused Ng hardship and affected his concentration when carrying out his daily duties. It also impeded the performance of his essential duties,” the award read.

As a result, Ng failed all three appraisals and was told that his services would be terminated with effect from Feb 28 the following year.

However, Zubahrin found that the PIP deliverables had obstructed Ng’s discharge of his core duties and was not designed to improve his performance.

“On the contrary, it had the tendency to burden the claimant, causing him to fail, and providing the company with an avenue to terminate his services,” the award said.

Ng joined the company as network management control system operator in 1995, drawing a monthly basic salary of RM2,400. He eventually assumed his current post, earning RM15,920 per month when his services were terminated in 2021.

Ng was awarded 24 months’ back wages, which after a 20% deduction for post-dismissal earnings, amounted to RM305,664. He was also given one month’s pay for each of his 25 years of service, totalling RM398,000, as compensation in lieu of reinstatement.

Patrick Tan appeared for Ng, while Maxis was represented by Janice Anne Leo, Adrienne Sena and Gurjeevan Singh Sachdev.

Dear [Colleague's Name],

Your support and collaboration during my time at [Company Name] have been truly invaluable.
Working with you has been a pleasure, and I deeply appreciate all the guidance, help, and knowledge you've shared with me.

It would be wonderful to stay in touch, and I wish you all the best in your future pursuits.
Some of my colleagues frequently speak badly about me.

But I think I'll just send this message to all known colleagues through WhatsApp...

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Jan 6 2025, 02:06 AM
ZerOne01
post Aug 30 2024, 02:37 PM

124 posts

Why so many space. Cannot enter once only issit
fourzee
post Aug 30 2024, 02:50 PM

388 posts

in simple term -- Big Brother is watching you -- Kim Bang Non style
keyibukeyi
post Aug 30 2024, 02:53 PM

150 posts

yes, my daughter also skip step 2, from step 1 terus step 3
matrix88
post Aug 30 2024, 02:57 PM

2,236 posts

usually dont need warning to go into PIP
and very often when people get PIP, they are almost sure to be terminated, many will start looking for job and leave even before PIP is complete.
rarely people come out of PIP scratchless, unless it is for wayang type, where there is a certain percentage of people that needs to go thru (bell curve) thing.
DarkAeon
post Aug 30 2024, 02:58 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 30 2024, 02:57 PM)
and very often when people get PIP, they are almost sure to be terminated, many will start looking for job and leave even before PIP is complete.
rarely people come out of PIP scratchless, unless it is for wayang type, where there is a certain percentage of people that needs to go thru (bell curve) thing.
pip itself is usually the warning already
brkli

592 posts

kesian TS..
vaksin

689 posts

but if already in PIP... standby to be kicked out sooner or later...
andrewhtf
post Aug 30 2024, 03:06 PM

1,583 posts

PIP is only an excuse and documentation proof for your future dismissal. So that they have bullets to shoot you with you unable to countersue or lodge complaint for unfair dismissal.

Sure some people do complete their PIP supposedly unscathed and continue working but those are more exception than norm. Chances are they already have the target board on their backs and is placed in fridge for any consideration for BIP.

If you really intended to climb up further in your career, then it's time to make a jump if you kena PIP. Even if you like the company/culture/environment or whatever benefits, you jump out first. Go a few other companies and build your value then you can go back to that company with a different role or position. But chances are once you're out, you won't want to go back there because the grass is always greener on the other side.

diffyhelman2
post Aug 30 2024, 03:10 PM

863 posts

Eh isn’t tS always posting about sg PR? take note if you kena pecat need to find a new job asap or it will negatively affect your future PR renewal
@@@@@@@@@@
post Aug 30 2024, 03:18 PM

u spent too much time in /k.
loserguy
post Aug 30 2024, 03:20 PM

500 posts

Usually once kena PIP, better to spend the time looking for a new job. Simply put, even if because of the bell curve, it means that the person is the lowest on the totem pole.
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 03:34 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(keyibukeyi @ Aug 30 2024, 02:53 PM)
yes, my daughter also skip step 2, from step 1 terus step 3
Company do not have step 2 or just your daugther kene skip step 2?
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 03:35 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Aug 30 2024, 03:10 PM)
Eh isn’t tS always posting about sg PR? take note if you kena pecat need to find a new job asap or it will negatively affect your future PR renewal
PR renew 5 years later......
buysellaccount
post Aug 30 2024, 03:35 PM

127 posts

Any severance paid after failing PIP?

Or that's what mnc do to fire staffs without compensation?
7up
post Aug 30 2024, 03:36 PM

129 posts

Whatever PPIP it's time find a new job
Cannabis
post Aug 30 2024, 03:37 PM

61 posts

/k so many underperforming staff but still spend so much time on /k laugh.gif
wong_86
post Aug 30 2024, 03:39 PM

DUDE
565 posts

standard SOP to goreng staff.
Chrix
post Aug 30 2024, 03:39 PM

1,188 posts

its not a good thing buddy
lkyoong
post Aug 30 2024, 03:42 PM

188 posts

From my exp when kena PIP means they already target you. Just a matter of time.

Normally when PIP happens, they hope you will just resign then management happy. No need pay compensation.

Better start looking for new job because even if PIP pass, they will still find fault from somewhere else.
ry8128
post Aug 30 2024, 03:44 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,645 posts

Pip = sure win method to kick u out without legal consequences.
matrix88
post Aug 30 2024, 03:57 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(buysellaccount @ Aug 30 2024, 03:35 PM)

no severance package, they will just serve you notice to terminate you, either pay you the notice period in liu or force you to work till last day, handling over etc.
life will be difficult like hell for you.

management will be damn happy because you are not able to sue them for unjust dismissal, unless you can proof the PIP is done in unjust method.
many of the PIP targets set on you, they will ask you to sign and accept in black and white, very difficult to dispute.

This post has been edited by matrix88: Aug 30 2024, 03:59 PM
myc2d
post Aug 30 2024, 04:04 PM

14 posts

usually PIP mean you already f*ck up.
rooney723
post Aug 30 2024, 04:13 PM

596 posts

find new job liao, usually only like 5% of ppl will survive PIP, because the management will make it impossibly hard to complete the PIP

if u kena PIP, means your company already want to fire u ledi, they already 'given up' on you
ixaRA
post Aug 30 2024, 04:23 PM

91 posts

I never kena PIP. But my year end KPI very low. So end up im resigned and now im join gov. Salary not high but secure with pencen
potatolala
post Aug 30 2024, 04:30 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(ixaRA @ Aug 30 2024, 04:23 PM)
I never kena PIP. But my year end KPI very low. So end up im resigned and now im join gov. Salary not high but secure with pencen
I thought ppl say now no more pencen.
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 04:41 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 30 2024, 04:13 PM)
find new job liao, usually only like 5% of ppl will survive PIP, because the management will make it impossibly hard to complete the PIP

if u kena PIP, means your company already want to fire u ledi, they already 'given up' on you
The survivor 5 percent can pass the target set by management?
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 04:42 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 30 2024, 03:57 PM)
no severance package, they will just serve you notice to terminate you, either pay you the notice period in liu or force you to work till last day, handling over etc.
life will be difficult like hell for you.

management will be damn happy because you are not able to sue them for unjust dismissal, unless you can proof the PIP is done in unjust method.
many of the PIP targets set on you, they will ask you to sign and accept in black and white, very difficult to dispute.
Now no need to sign one.

They thought they are banking industry......

You received bank letter before then you will know

Management will just send it to your email inbox, and you will be considered to have acknowledged it even if you do not click to open and read it.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 30 2024, 06:22 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 04:50 PM

1,836 posts

Now no need to sign the PIP?

Now They thought they are banking industry......

You received bank letter before then you will know....

Management will just send it to your email inbox, and you will be considered to have acknowledged it even if you do not click to open and read it.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 30 2024, 06:22 PM
deepan84
post Aug 30 2024, 06:16 PM

White Rider
2,200 posts

QUOTE(ixaRA @ Aug 30 2024, 04:23 PM)
In gov, goyang kaki?
faridr
post Aug 30 2024, 06:19 PM

214 posts

My manager had his PIP redacted after he fought back with local HR.

His KPI is above average each year, good client review, no official warning was ever given, and its more toward new management personal beef with the previous management team member.

All the reasoning to get him into PIP were not related to his job scope.

Just dont sign the PIP if you think its not justifiable.

TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 06:21 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(faridr @ Aug 30 2024, 06:19 PM)
My manager had his PIP redacted after he fought back with local HR.

His KPI is above average each year, good client review, no official warning was ever given, and its more toward new management personal beef with the previous management team member.

All the reasoning to get him into PIP were not related to his job scope.

Just dont sign the PIP if you think its not justifiable.
Now some MNC management thought they are banking industry......

supsupsui
post Aug 30 2024, 06:34 PM

77 posts

PIP = company wants to legally terminate an employee
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 06:35 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(supsupsui @ Aug 30 2024, 06:34 PM)
PIP = company wants to legally terminate an employee
No people will be survive in the company after 3 months?

ixaRA
post Aug 30 2024, 06:37 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(potatolala @ Aug 30 2024, 04:30 PM)
I thought ppl say now no more pencen.
Yes. For new intake no more pencen. Only kwsp option
supsupsui
post Aug 30 2024, 06:39 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 30 2024, 06:35 PM)
No people will be survive in the company after 3 months?
Can. Show him improvemens/ good results.. Show boss u can be valuable to him/ company.
ixaRA
post Aug 30 2024, 06:40 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(deepan84 @ Aug 30 2024, 06:16 PM)
In gov, goyang kaki?
Not goyang kaki bro. But secure job and more benefit.
deepan84
post Aug 30 2024, 08:25 PM

White Rider
2,200 posts

QUOTE(ixaRA @ Aug 30 2024, 06:40 PM)
Not goyang kaki bro. But secure job and more benefit.
Well I was wonder why would anyone downgrade their salary to work in gov albeit the stability.
taitianhin
post Aug 30 2024, 08:30 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

QUOTE(7up @ Aug 30 2024, 03:36 PM)
True
It is just a polite way of saying
This job not fit you, you are too lazy to work, you are just lazy, you are sux in so many level and you just wouldn't admit it
Apply any one of it. Go find new job

No free meail, no iron bowl. Work hard and keep learning new things

This post has been edited by taitianhin: Aug 30 2024, 08:31 PM
faridr
post Aug 30 2024, 08:47 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 30 2024, 06:21 PM)
Now some MNC management thought they are banking industry......

Well, you will still need to sign it, without your signature, they cant put you under PIP. But only applicable to MNC.
amboi_asamboi
post Aug 30 2024, 08:55 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 30 2024, 04:13 PM)

What do they ask u to do in PIP?

But if the boss memang jahat wanna kenakan the employee, how?

TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 08:56 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(faridr @ Aug 30 2024, 08:47 PM)
Well, you will still need to sign it, without your signature, they cant put you under PIP. But only applicable to MNC.
Is Singapore different in style?

My email from management just ended with this sentence:

'We appreciate your acknowledgment.'

I have not signed anything at all.

No physical letter has been issued to me.

I just received an email from the company.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 30 2024, 09:10 PM
Doomsday
post Aug 30 2024, 09:02 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(amboi_asamboi @ Aug 30 2024, 08:55 PM)

Manager have to justify to HR why this staff kena pip.

Lots of paperwork and justification. Not just because boss is jahat.
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 09:07 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Aug 30 2024, 09:02 PM)
Manager have to justify to HR why this staff kena pip.

Lots of paperwork and justification. Not just because boss is jahat.
HR will only listen to the manager. They're all in cahoots.
rooney723
post Aug 30 2024, 09:18 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 30 2024, 04:41 PM)
The survivor 5 percent can pass the target set by management?
5% that kena PIP actually made it through i guess, and sometimes its not because your performance meet the crazy target that they set, but because they kesian u and decide to give u another chance
rooney723
post Aug 30 2024, 09:22 PM

596 posts

they have written black and white documents with targets that u need to meet during the PIP, and even if u meet them, they still can fire u off actually and say u didnt meet the target, PIP is just a formality and to protect the company in case the employee sue the company for unfair dismissal

and yes its one of the ways for the bosses to kenakan employees that they dont like or have beef with, last time my ex company 1 staff kena, he was star performer in his team for many quarters and even won award in the company as a star performer, then one day his team change manager and the new manager didnt like him, and put him in PIP to force him out, end up he resigned also
suikod3n
post Aug 30 2024, 09:44 PM

34 posts

To trigger stage 3, aka start of PIP.

Your supervisor/manager should already gave repetitive performance warning/reminder which you never heed.

This is the 'evidences' whether in past email/reviews/chat to remind you that certain things can't do or must deliver which you failed to meet.

So yeah, people who get PIP already getting warned by supervisor about their low performance. Just they don't listen and the tidak apa attitude as long my salary come in monthly.

Start look for job, there's no cap for number of PIP. you miraculously pass 1 pip (like 5-10% chance). few months down the road there can be another one. Also PIP are low performer which may not entitle to bonus/increment. bleak future in the company.

2 outcomes, pass and you stay. failed and you're out.
kamfoo
post Aug 30 2024, 10:06 PM

847 posts

Throw letter
fantasy1989
post Aug 30 2024, 10:16 PM

4,707 posts

Define performance metric within 1 or 2 quarter

Like picking up specific skillet or deliverable within certain period of time

If that boss really target you .in the description he can add some vague and arguable expectation to hailat you

HR usually will side manager..unless HR feel like manager action might lead to potential legal issue

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Aug 30 2024, 10:18 PM
eddystorm
post Aug 30 2024, 10:30 PM

84 posts

Start looking for new job lo. PIP means telling you to resign in a polite way.
kesvani
post Aug 30 2024, 10:31 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(7up @ Aug 30 2024, 03:36 PM)
lol.gif lol.gif You make think of PPAP song only

SUSrtk74
post Aug 30 2024, 10:35 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 30 2024, 09:22 PM)
they have written black and white documents with targets that u need to meet during the PIP, and even if u meet them, they still can fire u off actually and say u didnt meet the target, PIP is just a formality and to protect the company in case the employee sue the company for unfair dismissal

and yes its one of the ways for the bosses to kenakan employees that they dont like or have beef with, last time my ex company 1 staff kena, he was star performer in his team for many quarters and even won award in the company as a star performer, then one day his team change manager and the new manager didnt like him, and put him in PIP to force him out, end up he resigned also
Management didn't do anything meh?
Not question why suddenly new manager and get one of the "best" performer with PIP
Sha91
post Aug 30 2024, 10:41 PM

236 posts

My first time hearing PIP was from k/. But if I remember correctly, someone did survive after PIP.
degraw19
post Aug 30 2024, 10:44 PM

345 posts

QUOTE(Cannabis @ Aug 30 2024, 03:37 PM)
/k so many underperforming staff but still spend so much time on /k laugh.gif
u just summed up /k in nutshell deswai got so mani experts here with big celeri left right hand

lel

laugh.gif laugh.gif
rooney723
post Aug 30 2024, 10:47 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Aug 30 2024, 10:35 PM)
Management didn't do anything meh?
Not question why suddenly new manager and get one of the "best" performer with PIP
in the end management sided with the new manager iirc, and he resigned himself, im not really sure of the full details because he is in another team but i did see his name in the company star performer award a few times during townhall meetings, and one day he suddenly resigned just like that, many ppl were shocked, then i go kepoh from other colleagues what happened, and all i heard is the team change to new manager for a few months, and PIP
SUSrtk74
post Aug 30 2024, 10:48 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 30 2024, 10:47 PM)
in the end management sided with the new manager iirc, and he resigned himself, im not really sure of the full details because he is in another team but i did see his name in the company star performer award a few times during townhall meetings, and one day he suddenly resigned just like that, many ppl were shocked, then i go kepoh from other colleagues what happened, and all i heard is the team change to new manager for a few months, and PIP
How's the new manager's team/department?

Yeah..... Some bosses will throw out people that won't "assimilate" with their old cultures

Had it before, jump before it simmered though
tungfunglaw
post Aug 30 2024, 10:49 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Aug 30 2024, 03:06 PM)
PIP is only an excuse and documentation proof for your future dismissal. So that they have bullets to shoot you with you unable to countersue or lodge complaint for unfair dismissal.

is PIP a new thang in corporate world?

i've left corporate life since 2010 lol..

KitZhai
post Aug 30 2024, 10:53 PM

382 posts

I tell U, if U wanted to remove a worker due to his/her bad performance even if U did full stages of PIP also, she can sue U back from labor law.

Just happened last year in a fmcg company. The lady executive level has serves more than 10 years. Bad performance. Done PIP and paid her 1 month in advance to ask her leave.

She bohsong go labor law, company then pay back I forget 24 months or 28 months. True story because the lady company is our principal meanwhile we are the distributor
rooney723
post Aug 30 2024, 10:57 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Aug 30 2024, 10:48 PM)
How's the new manager's team/department?

Yeah..... Some bosses will throw out people that won't "assimilate" with their old cultures

Had it before, jump before it simmered though
the team only he 1 person kena iirc, others are safe, i also not sure what happened between him and his new manager, didnt go kepoh much and just minding my business haha, but that incident also reminded me that no matter how well u perform in a company, also useless punya, because in MNC everyone is replaceable, the company can easily hire new staff to replace the old ones

and also maintain a good relationship with your manager/supervisor, he/she is the one who will be deciding to put u into PIP, and the HR will not question their decision because there are too many teams and impossible they go check each team punya PIP decision lol,
if u always ular but always kiss your manager's ass then he/she will not put u into PIP and put another person in your team into PIP, but if u work very hard and perform very well but not ngam with your manager always argue then he/she will put u into PIP to get rid of u lol
viktorherald
post Aug 30 2024, 11:01 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(KitZhai @ Aug 30 2024, 10:53 PM)
I tell U, if U wanted to remove a worker due to his/her bad performance even if U did full stages of PIP also, she can sue U back from labor law.

Just happened last year in a fmcg company. The lady executive level has serves more than 10 years. Bad performance. Done PIP and paid her 1 month in advance to ask her leave.

She bohsong go labor law, company then pay back I forget 24 months or 28 months. True story because the lady company is our principal meanwhile we are the distributor
https://dnh.com.my/case-spotlight-performan...n-pip-pitfalls/

this?
amboi_asamboi
post Aug 30 2024, 11:04 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Aug 30 2024, 09:22 PM)

👍🏻

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Aug 30 2024, 10:16 PM)
Define performance metric within 1 or 2 quarter

Like picking up specific skillet or deliverable within certain period of time

If that boss really target you .in the description he can add some vague and arguable expectation to hailat you

HR usually will side manager..unless HR feel like manager action might lead to potential legal issue
👍🏻
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 11:09 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Aug 30 2024, 10:49 PM)
is PIP a new thang in corporate world?

i've left corporate life since 2010 lol..
You retired since 2010 or become boss?
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 30 2024, 11:11 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

TS, if you PIP means they gonna get rid of you.

Start looking for another job.
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 30 2024, 11:13 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Aug 30 2024, 11:11 PM)
TS, if you PIP means they gonna get rid of you.

Start looking for another job.
Do all MNCs Performance Improvement Plan have these three outcomes?

1) Terminate the employee

2) Extend the PIP

3) Discontinue the program (meaning the employee has passed and their performance has improved)

Third outcome cannot happen?
KitZhai
post Aug 30 2024, 11:30 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Aug 31 2024, 12:01 AM)
Cool finding but not this. Sorry I don't wanna expose company name
tungfunglaw
post Aug 30 2024, 11:34 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 30 2024, 11:09 PM)
You retired since 2010 or become boss?
not retired nor become boss.

build own business.

drug5
post Aug 30 2024, 11:40 PM

107 posts

TS u step on ur boss tail ka? Or u go atur his girlfriend???
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 30 2024, 11:48 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 30 2024, 11:13 PM)

2) Extend the PIP

3) Discontinue the program (meaning the employee has passed and their performance has improved)
Third outcome cannot happen?
Can, but very few gets out.

PIP is generally last resort, for company to terminate an employee while not risk any constructive dismissal, they have to show the person has really failed to perform.

If you screw up one time or whatnot, your boss usually will just talk to you and sort it out right. PIP comes in when all has failed and they want to get rid, so they will come up with a really hard target to meet (but not impossible) and likelihood if the person can't do their normal job well, they won't perform this harder target.
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 12:51 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Aug 30 2024, 11:48 PM)
Can, but very few gets out.

PIP is generally last resort, for company to terminate an employee while not risk any constructive dismissal, they have to show the person has really failed to perform.

If you screw up one time or whatnot, your boss usually will just talk to you and sort it out right. PIP comes in when all has failed and they want to get rid, so they will come up with a really hard target to meet (but not impossible) and likelihood if the person can't do their normal job well, they won't perform this harder target.
What if the staff just learns slowly because there isn’t enough manpower?

He never do anything wrong....

What if the staff is learning slowly due to insufficient manpower, and upper management hasn't hired additional personnel, having only hired one new person last week?

After the new staff join company ,the old staff is put on a Performance Improvement Plan (PIP).....

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 12:53 AM
yehlai
post Aug 31 2024, 06:22 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

a bit out topic
but just to give another prospective

You think most ppl in corporate are capable or qualified for their job?

Leaving corporate is the best decision I ever made
(although left the 5 fig paycheck behind)

I'm lucky as I explored
wht I interested to do
wht I good at
wht I capable to do

years before I left the company
and never looked back

This post has been edited by yehlai: Aug 31 2024, 06:31 AM
Starbucki
post Aug 31 2024, 07:35 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Aug 31 2024, 06:22 AM)
a bit out topic

I'm lucky as I explored
wht I interested to do
wht I good at
wht I capable to do

and never looked back
Wad u doing after you left?
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 08:01 AM

1,836 posts

a bit out topic

I'm lucky as I explored
wht I interested to do
wht I good at
wht I capable to do

and never looked back
Same sector?

SUSrtk74
post Aug 31 2024, 08:09 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

a bit out topic

I'm lucky as I explored
wht I interested to do
wht I good at
wht I capable to do

and never looked back
Short answer... Nope.
ayamxxx
post Aug 31 2024, 08:20 AM

4,061 posts

In summary better find another job. Those PIP are just tools to make sure u resign
WinkyJr
post Aug 31 2024, 08:24 AM

433 posts

3 stage, 3 substage for each

Stage X
- substage 1 - set improvement plan
- substage 2 - monitoring
- substage 3 - evaluation - continue with next stage (still problematic) or exit the system (improved)

each stage last for 3 months, so employee have 9 months to improve

in last stage, Stage 3, if still problematic, the employee will received surat dinasihatkan berhenti

This post has been edited by WinkyJr: Aug 31 2024, 08:25 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 08:28 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Aug 31 2024, 08:24 AM)
3 stage, 3 substage for each

Stage X
- substage 1 - set improvement plan
- substage 2 - monitoring
- substage 3 - evaluation - continue with next stage (still problematic) or exit the system (improved)

each stage last for 3 months, so employee have 9 months to improve

in last stage, Stage 3, if still problematic, the employee will received surat dinasihatkan berhenti
No counseling stage first?

Many companies only have Stage 1 for 3 months.
Stage 2 happens at the same time as Stage 1.

I think Stage 3 is just 1 day, which is 3 months later.

If the company issues a letter advising the employee to resign, I believe this act constitutes a violation of labor law.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 08:30 AM
ry8128
post Aug 31 2024, 08:58 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,645 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 08:28 AM)

If the company issues a letter advising the employee to resign, I believe this act constitutes a violation of labor law.
When there is pip, there is no violation of law.

And for me there is no counseling stage. If I want to get an idiot out of my team, I just issue him pip and for sure he will be gone. No way he can meet the expectations I set. Been there, done that. That's the power of pip.
yehlai
post Aug 31 2024, 09:02 AM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 08:01 AM)
Same sector?
Different 🙂
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 09:05 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Aug 31 2024, 08:58 AM)
When there is pip, there is no violation of law.

And for me there is no counseling stage. If I want to get an idiot out of my team, I just issue him pip and for sure he will be gone. No way he can meet the expectations I set. Been there, done that. That's the power of pip.
You are manager in your company?

Now I will just stay 3 months exactly ,see what is the outcome....

My PIP do not write any possible outcome.

2) Extend the PIP

And your company email will not state these 3 outcomes right?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 09:12 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 09:11 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Aug 31 2024, 09:02 AM)
Different 🙂
Brave and bold decision!

May I ask at what age you decided to change sectors?
suikod3n
post Aug 31 2024, 09:52 AM

34 posts

bro wake up, manager will have sufficient 'evidences' before trigger the PIP which is a formality process to terminate you.

End of PIP, failed will result in termination. Literally you're fired, get out.

don't be delusional, no such thing as letter advice you to resign if failed PIP. laugh.gif

3 months to resign gracefully and get a new job or failed the PIP, get terminated and leave a bad record. laugh.gif easy choice.
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 31 2024, 10:56 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 12:51 AM)
What if the staff just learns slowly because there isn’t enough manpower?
He never do anything wrong....
What if the staff is learning slowly due to insufficient manpower, and upper management hasn't hired additional personnel, having only hired one new person last week?
After the new staff join company ,the old staff is put on a Performance Improvement Plan (PIP).....
Sounds like k/ poster. All not their fault but only they kena PIP.

Insaf la.
ayamxxx
post Aug 31 2024, 11:11 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(suikod3n @ Aug 31 2024, 09:52 AM)
bro wake up, manager will have sufficient 'evidences' before trigger the PIP which is a formality process to terminate you.

don't be delusional, no such thing as letter advice you to resign if failed PIP.  laugh.gif

3 months to resign gracefully and get a new job or failed the PIP, get terminated and leave a bad record. laugh.gif easy choice.
last time 2017 when every Oil & Gas company letting go people buy lazy to give MSS/VSS first, this are their tools to discriminate workers, to lets them resigned on own. so TS, if ur permanent, just stay until get MSS/VSS. Else take linkedin to find new job
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 11:12 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(suikod3n @ Aug 31 2024, 09:52 AM)

don't be delusional, no such thing as letter advice you to resign if failed PIP.  laugh.gif

But the new company won’t know if you have a bad record with the old company, right?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 11:18 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 11:13 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 31 2024, 11:11 AM)
last time 2017 when every Oil & Gas company letting go people buy lazy to give MSS/VSS first, this are their tools to discriminate workers, to lets them resigned on own. so TS, if ur permanent, just stay until get MSS/VSS. Else take linkedin to find new job
They have already given this PIP letter.

Will they still offer MSS/VSS?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 11:17 AM
SUSfuzzy
post Aug 31 2024, 11:18 AM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 31 2024, 11:11 AM)
Those under PIP generally won't be offered this. There is a payment associated with MSS/VSS.

PIP I can get rid of them at no cost.

People usually resign before end of PIP, because it goes into permanent record so if your new employer calls HR to ask why you resigned, they can officially say you failed PIP, thus telling your potential new employer you failed to perform.
ayamxxx
post Aug 31 2024, 11:22 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 11:12 AM)
But the new company won’t know if you have a bad record with the old company, right?
nope usually new company not to rajin to call previous company for this hassle pip thing. Unless ur selected for IV, mean they already verbally accept u r the suitable candidates.

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 11:13 AM)

still eligible. should get 1 month salary x how many years u served the company. unless u resign ownself, then not eligible to get.
fantasy1989
post Aug 31 2024, 11:46 AM

4,707 posts

counseling should be in your regular 1:1

then once your boss tell you ..i feel like your performance is not up to speed.. PIP might be given if you continue behave like that

consider stage 2 verbal warning
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 11:47 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 31 2024, 11:22 AM)
nope usually new company not to rajin to call previous company for this hassle pip thing. Unless ur selected for IV, mean they already verbally accept u r the suitable candidates.
still eligible. should get 1 month salary x how many years u served the company. unless u resign ownself, then not eligible to get.
Or company can ask you work for 1 more month like serve the notice period?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 11:48 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 11:49 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Aug 31 2024, 11:46 AM)
counseling should be in your regular 1:1

then once your boss tell you ..i feel like your performance is not up to speed.. PIP might be given if you continue behave like that

consider stage 2 verbal warning
My company management didn’t provide any counseling.

The 1-to-1 meeting with me and the management was just a casual chat about some work issues.

The next day, a PIP letter was sent to me.

Damn, this company.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 11:50 AM
fantasy1989
post Aug 31 2024, 12:01 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 11:49 AM)
The 1-to-1 meeting with me and the management was just a casual chat about some work issues.

Damn, this company.
u should ask him regularly on his opinion on your performance or got any concern or not

if he diam diam say ok ok ok then last min PIP ; u can challenge him
vapanel
post Aug 31 2024, 12:03 PM

1,075 posts

Or in another word, the company don't really like you and probably think they hired wrong person
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 12:03 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Aug 31 2024, 12:01 PM)
u should ask him regularly on his opinion on your performance or got any concern or not

if he diam diam say ok ok ok then last min PIP ; u can challenge him
If HR colludes with management, how can we challenge them?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 12:04 PM
vapanel
post Aug 31 2024, 12:04 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 12:03 PM)
If HR pakat with Management , how we can challenge him?
The question is why you want to stay in a company that hates you?
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 12:07 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Aug 31 2024, 12:04 PM)
The question is why you want to stay in a company that hates you?
Just a few people backstabbed me, but my new leader is good.

Is it a good time to find a new job now?

Many people haven't received their bonuses yet.

Normally, bonuses are collected and then people resign, right?

Jan or February is best time.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 12:07 PM
fantasy1989
post Aug 31 2024, 12:08 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 12:03 PM)
If HR colludes with management, how can we challenge them?
u need to do your part la ..like occasionally ask his opinion ..are we on track or any improvement needed

challenging him is just a additional measure from preventing you getting "bad record" when you exit the company

because when u interview new job ..if big mnc company ..your new company HR will call back to check ..your hiring manager might know your current boss if you stay within the same field

if you exit with written bad record..especially COC related ...your future employer call to ask then you can bye bye with your career

just like last year i go interbiu 1 job ; my hiring mangaer also ask ..who is my manager in inhell ..in the end all know 1 ..lol

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Aug 31 2024, 12:09 PM
jojolicia
post Aug 31 2024, 12:10 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 11:49 AM)

Damn, this company.
Seriously bro! You been in this co more than >5 years, right?

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 31 2024, 12:10 PM
ayamxxx
post Aug 31 2024, 12:23 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 11:47 AM)
Or company can ask you work for 1 more month like serve the notice period?
Lets say u work there for 5 years, u should entitled minimum like 5 months + (X) months notice period. Some company just ask u to leave after pay u MSS/VSS of 5 months + notice period (usually 3 months) on that day, some company will pay the 5 months after u finished the notice period
jojolicia
post Aug 31 2024, 12:23 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 11:13 AM)

If not about head count not down sizing, not shut down a dept.. mss/vss not in the picture
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 12:27 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Aug 31 2024, 12:10 PM)
Seriously bro! You been in this co more than >5 years, right?
Almost 2 years only.......

"I wonder if they are doing this crazy thing because they need to pay my CPF contributions. My basic salary is quite high compared to those other staff with work permits from Malaysia/other nations in the same company.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 12:29 PM
SUSifourtos
post Aug 31 2024, 12:29 PM

2,256 posts

Naive n strawberries

U nvr heard those startup DTI plan

Do the impossible

Improvement is childplay
RGRaj
post Aug 31 2024, 12:29 PM

560 posts

Years ago my manager without leadership skills put me under PIP with a view to kick me out. None of my colleagues wanted to take over my unfavorable jobs. So I was tacitly & quietly removed from the PIP.
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 12:35 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Aug 31 2024, 12:29 PM)
Naive n strawberries

Do the impossible

Improvement is childplay
May you explain more ?
SUSifourtos
post Aug 31 2024, 12:38 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 12:35 PM)
May you explain more ?
Improvement is based on personal scale
Do better compare last year

DtI

Do something no1 achieved b4
jojolicia
post Aug 31 2024, 12:46 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 12:27 PM)

"I wonder if they are doing this crazy thing because they need to pay my CPF contributions. My basic salary is quite high compared to those other staff with work permits from Malaysia/other nations in the same company.
I doubt cpf being the reason la.

Are you being seen as a non team player or a road block or you seen giving bad influence to others in the team by someone above in your line of work?

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 31 2024, 12:47 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 12:56 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 31 2024, 12:23 PM)
Lets say u work there for 5 years, u should entitled minimum like 5 months + (X) months notice period. Some company just ask u to leave after pay u MSS/VSS of 5 months + notice period (usually 3 months) on that day, some company will pay the 5 months after u finished the notice period
This notice period is not only for staff who want to resign but also for the termination notice period, which requires staff to stay longer ?
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 12:59 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Aug 31 2024, 12:46 PM)

Are you being seen as a non team player or a road block or you seen giving bad influence to others in the team by someone above in your line of work?
So, has your company or have you heard from friends that people might receive a PIP letter from company after getting Singapore PR status?

I’m ok in my shift team.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 26 2024, 10:26 PM
jojolicia
post Aug 31 2024, 01:27 PM

1,923 posts

DP

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 31 2024, 01:28 PM
jojolicia
post Aug 31 2024, 01:28 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 12:59 PM)
So, has your company or have you heard from friends that people might receive a PIP letter from company after getting Singapore PR status?

No, never heard of. Myself 2+ decades of work so far I only applied PIP for reasons I mentioned in my earlier post. One now currently under warning for timeline issue.
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 01:47 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Aug 31 2024, 01:28 PM)
No, never heard of. Myself 2+ decades of work so far I only applied PIP for reasons I mentioned in my earlier post. One now currently under warning for timeline issue.
Do Your company Performance Improvement Plan have these three outcomes?

2) Extend the PIP

And the email will not state these 3 outcomes right?

Recently my company cut cost,control OT,.....

jojolicia
post Aug 31 2024, 01:56 PM

1,923 posts

Dp

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Aug 31 2024, 01:57 PM
jojolicia
post Aug 31 2024, 01:57 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 01:47 PM)
Do Your company Performance Improvement Plan have these three outcomes?

2) Extend the PIP

Recently my company cut cost,control OT,.....
Both resigned upon enrollment of program. 1st on  month 1, 2nd on  month 2

HumanExtinction
post Aug 31 2024, 02:11 PM

364 posts

Some PIP is for show, i have a couple useless members in my team, doing nothing, make mistakes and waiting ppl to wipe their ass

my team lead tell me he did everything he can, complaint to hr, complaint to big boss, put them pip but in the end ntg changes
team lead even told me the only thing he didnt do is fired them, u want me to fired them? he told me, useless lead POS

This post has been edited by HumanExtinction: Aug 31 2024, 02:13 PM
vapanel
post Aug 31 2024, 03:15 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 12:27 PM)

Oh then you are in deep shit bro since you are Malaysian in Singapore. They probably want to reduce staff from Malaysian already
TSplouffle0789
post Aug 31 2024, 03:49 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Aug 31 2024, 03:15 PM)
Oh then you are in deep shit bro since you are Malaysian in Singapore. They probably want to reduce staff from Malaysian already
They make such a big deal out of that little bit of CPF contribution... Isn't it just a small amount of money?

You work at sg also?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Aug 31 2024, 03:51 PM
vapanel
post Aug 31 2024, 03:52 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 31 2024, 03:49 PM)
They make such a big deal out of that little bit of CPF contribution... Isn't it just a small amount of money?
You work at sg also?
Nope unfortunately
TSplouffle0789
post Sep 1 2024, 02:49 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(fourzee @ Aug 30 2024, 02:50 PM)
in simple term -- Big Brother is watching you -- Kim Bang Non style
Has any staff successfully passed the 3-month PIP period?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Sep 1 2024, 02:50 PM
Jingle91
post Sep 2 2024, 12:58 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Aug 30 2024, 02:35 PM)
Performance Improvement Plan
One more word - " monitoring " will cause different meaning......................
My company only have 1 stage of Performance Improvement Plan (PIP).

Sent email straightaway.

No stage 1 (counselling) and stage 2(verbal warning).

Stage 3: Send the email from [start date] to [end date].

2) Extend the PIP

Some company do not write this into their their handbook?

I have not signed anything at all.No physical letter has been issued to me.I just received an email from the company.
Direct to the point,
1) what happened btw you and and manager or senior manager
2) what was your yearly appraisal/performance rating in pass 3 years? Meet expectation/below expectation?

If consistently below expectation then can understand why they send you this.

I am not sure about Singapore, but in Malaysia banking line now, Is better to maintain good relationship with current management unless you are very sure that you won't be staying in this line. For high position, new employer needs to get "some feedback" from corrent employer before they can give you offer.

Like now for sure in the email they have explained and given you the targets that they want you to achiet, usually is wuantitative targets for evaluation purposes, if you still can't meet after the PIP then they can do necessary after the period.

This post has been edited by Jingle91: Sep 2 2024, 01:00 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Sep 11 2024, 10:34 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Sep 2 2024, 12:58 PM)
Direct to the point,
1) what happened btw you and and manager or senior manager
2) what was your yearly appraisal/performance rating in pass 3 years? Meet expectation/below expectation?

If consistently below expectation then can understand why they send you this.

I am not sure about Singapore,  but in Malaysia banking line now, Is better to maintain good relationship with current management unless you are very sure that you won't be staying in this line. For high position, new employer needs to get "some feedback" from corrent employer before they can give you offer.

Like now for sure in the email they have explained and given you the targets that they want you to achiet, usually is wuantitative targets for evaluation purposes, if you still can't meet after the PIP then they can do necessary after the period.
Only thing I know is just wait......

TSplouffle0789
post Sep 12 2024, 08:35 PM

1,836 posts

Difficulty sleeping and low mood can be quite challenging. Sometimes, it helps to identify possible causes of stress, anxiety, or lifestyle changes that may be affecting your sleep.

Here are a few suggestions to help manage your mood and improve sleep:

Sleep Routine: Try setting a consistent bedtime and wake-up time, even if it feels difficult at first.

Relaxation Techniques: Consider mindfulness, meditation, or breathing exercises to calm your mind before sleep.

Avoid Stimulants: Cut down on caffeine and screen time before bed.

Physical Activity: Light exercise during the day may help improve your mood and make it easier to fall asleep.

Talking to Someone: If you're comfortable, talking to a friend or seeking professional help may offer some relief.
Feel free to share more if you’d like to talk about what’s on your mind!

I'm really sorry you're going through this, especially if you feel like you're being unfairly targeted and unsupported by your colleagues. Feeling betrayed and isolated can make the situation even more challenging.

Here are a few things you might consider:

Focus on What You Can Control:

While it’s hard to change others' behavior, focusing on your own work and improvements can help.

By doing so, you can ensure you’re doing everything possible to meet the expectations set for you.

Avoid Confrontation:

It’s tempting to confront colleagues if you feel betrayed, but staying calm and professional will serve you better in the long run.
Engaging in office drama might worsen the situation.

Document Everything:

Keep track of your work and any communication, especially if you're asked to meet certain targets.

Having a clear record of your progress can protect you if you need to defend your performance.

Black and white work instruction?

Talk to a Trusted Superior:

If you feel comfortable, share your concerns with a manager or HR department. Explain the situation calmly and focus on how it's affecting your performance and mental well-being.

Consider Professional Support:

Sometimes, talking to someone outside of work, such as a counselor or mentor, can help you work through your feelings of frustration and betrayal.

Remember, being the only one to receive the letter doesn’t always mean you’re the only one under scrutiny. The focus should be on how to improve and move forward positively. It’s tough, but try to maintain your professionalism and focus on your goals.

Receiving a performance improvement letter can be stressful, and it's understandable that it's affecting your mood and sleep. It's important to approach this situation with a clear mind, even though it feels overwhelming. Here are some steps that might help:

Understand the Feedback: Carefully review the areas mentioned in the letter. Understand what is expected of you and where you need to improve.

Set Clear Goals: Break down the required improvements into smaller, manageable steps. Set specific goals for each week to track your progress.

Ask for Support: If you’re unclear about certain expectations, reach out to your supervisor for clarification. You can also ask for feedback along the way to ensure you're on the right track.

****** Self-Care: Take care of your mental health during this time. Sleep, exercise, and breaks are essential to keep your mind fresh and focused on improvement. *********

***** Positive Mindset: Try to view this as an opportunity for growth. Performance improvement plans can sometimes lead to positive changes in your work habits and skills. *****

Self-Care During Rest Days

Use your rest days to recharge fully, both mentally and physically. Doing something you enjoy, such as

a hobby, exercise, or spending time with friends, visit some meseum,hiking,visit some national park,Upper Peirce Reservoir

Route 6 (TreeTop Walk): Moderate to difficult, 7km

Explore the Treetop Walk with this looping trail that starts from Windsor Nature Park.

MacRitchie trails

Opening hours for the TreeTop walk

Mondays (except public holidays): Closed

Tuesdays to Fridays:
9am to 5pm (last entry at 4:45pm)

Weekends and public holidays:
8:30am to 5pm (last entry at 4:45pm)

can help reset your mood.

Consider Venting Safely

Talk to someone: If possible, vent your frustrations to a trusted friend or family member outside of work. Sometimes just expressing those feelings in a safe space can help release tension.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Sep 12 2024, 08:45 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Sep 13 2024, 08:22 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(lkyoong @ Aug 30 2024, 03:42 PM)

Normally when PIP happens, they hope you will just resign then management happy. No need pay compensation.

Better start looking for new job because even if PIP pass, they will still find fault from somewhere else.
Now I pass...

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 26 2024, 07:57 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Sep 13 2024, 08:23 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Aug 31 2024, 12:29 PM)
Naive n strawberries

Do the impossible

Improvement is childplay
What you means DTI?

So some people really pass the PIP ?
SUSifourtos
post Sep 13 2024, 10:31 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Sep 13 2024, 08:23 PM)
What you means DTI?

So some people really pass the PIP ?
if keep failling = zaplap.
TSplouffle0789
post Sep 13 2024, 10:41 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Sep 13 2024, 10:31 PM)
if keep failling = zaplap.
Means 3 months after maybe extend 3 months again?
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 26 2024, 07:55 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Aug 30 2024, 03:39 PM)
standard SOP to goreng staff.
It has already been 3 months, but my upper management has not informed me whether I passed or failed the IPP.

Do you think they just want to "put on a show" for others?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 26 2024, 07:56 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 26 2024, 07:58 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Aug 31 2024, 02:11 PM)
Some PIP is for show, i have a couple useless members in my team, doing nothing, make mistakes and waiting ppl to wipe their ass

my team lead tell me he did everything he can, complaint to hr, complaint to big boss, put them pip but in the end ntg changes
team lead even told me the only thing he didnt do is fired them, u want me to fired them? he told me, useless lead POS
It has already been 3 months, but my upper management has not informed me whether I passed or failed the IPP.

TSplouffle0789
post Nov 26 2024, 08:02 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(drug5 @ Aug 30 2024, 11:40 PM)
TS u step on ur boss tail ka? Or u go atur his girlfriend???

Some of my colleagues frequently speak badly about me

TSplouffle0789
post Nov 27 2024, 06:22 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Aug 31 2024, 12:46 PM)

saigetsu
post Nov 27 2024, 06:53 AM

707 posts

Is your company is merging?
Mr.Robert
post Nov 27 2024, 07:01 AM

293 posts

Don’t be sad.

Sometimes, you don’t fit in culture.
Outcast likely targeted.

Just take the year end 13th bonus and look for new job.
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 27 2024, 07:47 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(saigetsu @ Nov 27 2024, 06:53 AM)
Is your company is merging?
No
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 27 2024, 07:49 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Robert @ Nov 27 2024, 07:01 AM)
Don’t be sad.

Sometimes, you don’t fit in culture.
Outcast likely targeted.

Just take the year end 13th bonus and look for new job.
My team is still okay.

Previously, there was one strange person in my team.

But he has already transferred to another team.

I’m 90% sure he complained about me or talked bad about me behind my back.

I feel like there’s no issue for me now since 3 months have passed.

The PIP has ended.

But I still feel a bit uneasy in my heart.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 27 2024, 07:53 AM
IamBlind
post Nov 27 2024, 08:09 AM

20 posts

In cooperate world its very normal to use PIP to kick ppl out or "volunteer" to leave the company.
tapi

if someone agreed to take on the challenge of PIP if do better what the company do?
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 27 2024, 09:06 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(IamBlind @ Nov 27 2024, 08:09 AM)
In cooperate world its very normal to use PIP to kick ppl out or "volunteer" to leave the company.
tapi

if someone agreed to take on the challenge of PIP if do better what the company do?

The PIP has ended.

Like my case?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 27 2024, 09:06 AM
IamBlind
post Nov 27 2024, 12:50 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 27 2024, 09:06 AM)

The PIP has ended.

Like my case?
If they no call you in for meeting, meaning you did ok and you get to keep your current job, if they extend its a clear sign they want you to leave on your own. Now you may have the boasting rights, you sit in PIP and beat the PIP.
Pain4UrsinZ
post Nov 27 2024, 12:51 PM

1,861 posts

PIP you won't get increment and bonus right?
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 27 2024, 01:26 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Nov 27 2024, 12:51 PM)
PIP you won't get increment and bonus right?
not sure

HR never said
RGRaj
post Nov 27 2024, 01:30 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(ZerOne01 @ Aug 30 2024, 02:37 PM)
Why so many space. Cannot enter once only issit
TS is in dire need of a k\ PIP.

vaksin
post Nov 27 2024, 01:39 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 27 2024, 01:26 PM)
not sure

HR never said
Stay only until get the letter.
meantime can email them asking about the PIP status.
politely write if no update, consider you passed and no further issues.
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 27 2024, 01:44 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(vaksin @ Nov 27 2024, 01:39 PM)
Stay only until get the letter.
meantime can email them asking about the PIP status.
politely write if no update, consider you passed and no further issues.
Like this can?

"

Subject: Follow-Up on Performance Improvement Plan Status

Dear [HR Representative's Name],

I hope this email finds you well.

I am writing to kindly follow up regarding the status of my Performance Improvement Plan (PIP). I understand that these processes take time, but I wanted to check if there have been any updates or further steps I should be aware of.

Please let me know if there is anything else I can do to assist or if additional information is required from my side. I truly appreciate your guidance and support.

Thank you for your time, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
[Your Full Name]
[Your Employee ID, if applicable]

"

Or this

Subject: Follow-Up on Performance Improvement Plan (PIP) Status

I am writing to kindly follow up regarding the status of my Performance Improvement Plan (PIP). Since receiving the initial letter and starting the process, I have been committed to addressing the areas outlined and meeting the expectations set forth. As some time has passed, I wanted to check if there are any updates, feedback, or additional steps I should be aware of at this stage.

I understand that these matters require careful consideration, and I truly appreciate the support and guidance I’ve received so far. If there are any new developments, or if there is further input required from me, please do let me know. My intention remains to work diligently toward achieving the goals outlined in the plan.

Once again, I would like to express my gratitude for your time and assistance throughout this process. I value the opportunity to improve and contribute positively to the team.

Please feel free to let me know if there is a convenient time for a meeting or discussion, should that be necessary. I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Thank you for your understanding and support.

Best regards,
[Your Full Name]

I think they haven’t forgotten about this matter, but my friends advised me not to ask them directly.

Since this is Singapore, I believe they wouldn’t take any unexpected actions in December or early next year.

Moreover, I’ve already completed the PIP and am still working here without receiving any official letter or email stating that I failed the PIP.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 27 2024, 01:48 PM
nelson969
post Nov 27 2024, 01:51 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Aug 30 2024, 03:06 PM)

Sure some people do complete their PIP supposedly unscathed and continue working but those are more  exception than norm. Chances are they already have the target board on their backs and is placed in fridge for any consideration for BIP.

If you really intended to climb up further in your career, then it's time to make a jump if you kena PIP.  Even if you like the company/culture/environment or whatever benefits, you jump out first. Go a few other companies and build your value then you can go back to that company with a different role or position. But chances are once you're out, you won't want to go back there because the grass is always greener on the other side.
vaksin
post Nov 28 2024, 08:59 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 27 2024, 01:44 PM)
Like this can?
"

Subject: Follow-Up on Performance Improvement Plan Status

I am writing to kindly follow up regarding the status of my Performance Improvement Plan (PIP). I understand that these processes take time, but I wanted to check if there have been any updates or further steps I should be aware of.

Please let me know if there is anything else I can do to assist or if additional information is required from my side. I truly appreciate your guidance and support.

Thank you for your time, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
[Your Full Name]

"

Or this
I think they haven’t forgotten about this matter, but my friends advised me not to ask them directly.

Since this is Singapore, I believe they wouldn’t take any unexpected actions in December or early next year.

Moreover, I’ve already completed the PIP and am still working here without receiving any official letter or email stating that I failed the PIP.
I think it looks good, it is better to email to ask about it.
3 possible outcomes.
1. they give you a direct reply pass/ fail.
2. If it doesn't work, please ask to appeal for re-pip.
3. they don't reply or reply with not final yet

ayamxxx
post Nov 28 2024, 09:12 AM

4,061 posts

if it me ts, I rather find myself at another company, fresh start than when my name already tarnished (even not your fault)
TheEvilMan
post Nov 28 2024, 09:28 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

Tot discussion abt ts bed performance, haiyaa
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 23 2024, 12:21 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Nov 28 2024, 09:12 AM)
if it me ts, I rather find myself at another company, fresh start than when my name already tarnished (even not your fault)
Now I feel this company management team is xxxxx...

Until now, there has been no decision from the company regarding the offset of my annual leave until my last day.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 23 2024, 12:21 PM
ayamxxx
post Dec 23 2024, 12:59 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 23 2024, 12:21 PM)

Until now, there has been no decision from the company regarding the offset of my annual leave until my last day.
January, try sending CV and jump for a fresh start
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 23 2024, 01:26 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 23 2024, 12:59 PM)
January, try sending CV and jump for a fresh start
Now already can send.....

Just I not yet prepared the interview....

Luckily I have many annual leaves

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 23 2024, 01:42 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 23 2024, 08:26 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(vaksin @ Nov 28 2024, 08:59 AM)
I think it looks good, it is better to email to ask about it.
3 possible outcomes.
1. they give you a direct reply pass/ fail.
2. If it doesn't work, please ask to appeal for re-pip.
3. they don't reply or reply with not final yet
Now, I need to accumulate all work materials and notes to pass the next interview and secure a good job.

I received an improvement performance plan, but it's not an issue. I have a lot of savings, and I am a PR.

I should not feel sad. It's the political work culture, and I cannot let myself feel sad.

Being sad and angry will not help with these issues.

It sounds like you're going through a challenging situation, but it's great that you have a strong mindset to overcome it.

It's normal to feel a bit down when faced with setbacks, but as you've rightly pointed out, negative emotions like sadness and anger won't help you move forward.

Instead, focusing on what you can control, like preparing for the interview and building on your strengths, will be more productive.

A few strategies to help:

Stay Goal-Oriented: Keep your eyes on the bigger picture—securing a good job. This will help you stay motivated and remind you of your long-term goals.

Use Your Strengths:

You’ve mentioned having a lot of savings and being a PR, which are strengths.

Leverage these advantages when evaluating opportunities, and consider how they can help you make a fresh start if needed.

Focus on Preparation:

Take your time to accumulate work materials and notes for the interview.

Being prepared and feeling confident in your abilities can help reduce anxiety.

Balance Emotional Health:

It's important to acknowledge your feelings but not let them control your actions. Take time for activities that make you feel good—whether it's exercise, hobbies, or spending time with loved ones.

Learn from the Situation:

If the performance improvement plan feels daunting, try to identify areas where you can grow.

This will not only improve your chances of passing future performance reviews but also enhance your professional development.

Ultimately, remember that setbacks are often temporary.

With your savings and PR status, you have the foundation to move forward confidently.

Keep pushing toward your goals, and you'll be well on your way to success!

I think I will recover in 3 days......

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 23 2024, 08:29 PM
SUSfuzzy
post Dec 23 2024, 10:11 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 23 2024, 12:21 PM)

Just move on la sis.
vaksin
post Dec 24 2024, 08:05 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Dec 23 2024, 10:11 PM)
Just move on la sis.
common dilemma.
want move on but no offer.
stay but company no use.
best is to stand with it while looking for new job offer.
if not lucky, will get terminated first.
quartre88
post Dec 24 2024, 08:26 AM

251 posts

yg kena PIP usually mangsa bell curve
no jilat then wait byebye
Jigoku
post Dec 24 2024, 08:53 AM

288 posts

Sis ini company throwing you away liao. Don't look back already

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 10:19 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Dec 24 2024, 08:53 AM)
Sis ini company throwing you away liao. Don't look back already
I am bro.

Too many politics company also not worth me to stay....

CPF is also an issue for them....

Kisiao company management
Jigoku
post Dec 24 2024, 12:13 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 24 2024, 10:19 AM)
I am bro.

Too many politics company also not worth me to stay....

CPF is also an issue for them....

Kisiao company management
Then bro find other grass liao, I also went through what you kena except my boss belum start PIP.

Day in day out keep telling me I will fail my probation, keep give me task that impossible for me.

Once I feel kena this, I sudah start looking for job. Not much can do just accept roll wrong dice this time. Learn something from this problem ba

This post has been edited by Jigoku: Dec 24 2024, 12:14 PM
bereev
post Dec 24 2024, 12:18 PM

257 posts

Sent email straightaway.

2) Extend the PIP

I have not signed anything at all.No physical letter has been issued to me.I just received an email from the company.
--------------------------------------------------------------

This kind of things is to let employee feel they are respected and they feel fear withe the black and and white , if company want to get rid some one they has signature prove black and white, while bonus or increments don't really related to this kinda of aprrisal so no need spend more effort or time on filling in all this.

whphon
post Dec 24 2024, 12:22 PM

166 posts

Your PIP is align with your job scope
Malaysia labor law is not able to protect you if documentation is not proper
When company issue PIP, you better consult profesional and not in here.
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 12:45 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(whphon @ Dec 24 2024, 12:22 PM)
Your PIP is align with your job scope
Malaysia labor law is not able to protect you if documentation is not proper
When company issue PIP, you better consult profesional and not in here.
I work in sg
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 12:46 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Jigoku @ Dec 24 2024, 12:13 PM)
Then bro find other grass liao, I also went through what you kena except my boss belum start PIP.

Day in day out keep telling me I will fail my probation, keep give me task that impossible for me.

Once I feel kena this, I sudah start looking for job. Not much can do just accept roll wrong dice this time. Learn something from this problem ba
Just politics issue at here.

Never mind,I will roll correct dice this time....

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 28 2024, 09:20 PM
NinG
post Dec 24 2024, 12:51 PM

Vroomm
403 posts

I've been through. Also straight email for PIP punishment.

If nobody tell you anything, I guess you're safe, sometimes for show only.

Still need to follow up get a confirmation you no longer under PIP.

This post has been edited by NinG: Dec 24 2024, 12:52 PM
NinG
post Dec 24 2024, 12:54 PM

Vroomm
403 posts

I wont write so much in emailer. Just date when you start the PIP, end date. The latest status, thats it.

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 01:42 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(NinG @ Dec 24 2024, 12:51 PM)

I've been through. Also straight email for PIP punishment.

If nobody tell you anything, I guess you're safe, sometimes for show only.

Still need to follow up get a confirmation you no longer under PIP.
It’s already been 3 weeks since the last day of my PIP, and now the higher-ups are saying I didn’t meet their expectations.

Bad people will face retribution... Good people will be rewarded.

I won’t bother with them anymore...

What a completely messed-up company.

Does that mean you actually passed your PIP?

Did they put you on PIP because of office politics?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 24 2024, 01:52 PM
xavi5567
post Dec 24 2024, 01:51 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

Sent email straightaway.

2) Extend the PIP

--------------------------------------------------------------

If u kena pip mean u are in the list to be dispose .. company wanna get rid of u d .. tau tau la

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 01:53 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Dec 24 2024, 01:51 PM)
If u kena pip mean u are in the list to be dispose .. company wanna get rid of u d .. tau tau la
It’s already been 3 weeks since the last day of my PIP, and now the higher-ups are saying I didn’t meet their expectations.

why they drag so late to told me the result?

vaksin
post Dec 24 2024, 02:00 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 24 2024, 01:53 PM)
just wait for the termination letter, then don't sign.
or sign with a remark protest.
after that go find a lawyer to fight this case for you if can...
you can get up to 24 months' compensation if unlawful termination.
singapore more less the same.
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 02:05 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(vaksin @ Dec 24 2024, 02:00 PM)
They gave me a PIP letter through email 4 months ago...

Should I just call MOM Singapore to ask if this crazy company is doing the right thing or acting unlawfully towards me?

I'm worried about having to pay a lot of lawyer fees.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 24 2024, 02:06 PM
vaksin
post Dec 24 2024, 02:17 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 24 2024, 02:05 PM)
They gave me a PIP letter through email 4 months ago...

Should I just call MOM Singapore to ask if this crazy company is doing the right thing or acting unlawfully towards me?

I'm worried about having to pay a lot of lawyer fees.
yes, that's good also.
listen what they can advise you.
in malaysia, labour office just say if got termination letter more easy to handle.
i think because, most companies simply terminate without following law procedure.
tifosi
post Dec 24 2024, 02:21 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

My company introduced bottom 20% (from 5%) of bell curve to be PIPed because it’s cheaper to downsize this way instead of doing a VSS/MSS retrenchment exercise.

This post has been edited by tifosi: Dec 24 2024, 02:23 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 02:28 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(tifosi @ Dec 24 2024, 02:21 PM)
My company introduced bottom 20% (from 5%) of bell curve to be PIPed because it’s cheaper to downsize this way instead of doing a VSS/MSS retrenchment exercise.
May I know what your sector is?

I think retail, trading, healthcare, transportation, and F&B sector do not operate PIP right?
NinG
post Dec 24 2024, 03:29 PM

Vroomm
403 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 24 2024, 01:42 PM)

I passed my PIP, overall it's not about the process of PIP but output. I'm in the PIP because of 1 month doesn't hit my KPI. A little funny actually.
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 03:30 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(NinG @ Dec 24 2024, 03:29 PM)
I passed my PIP, overall it's not about the process of PIP but output. I'm in the PIP because of 1 month doesn't hit my KPI. A little funny actually.

Not hit sales target?

I think retail, trading, healthcare, transportation, and F&B sector do not operate PIP right?
RGRaj
post Dec 24 2024, 03:38 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(vaksin @ Dec 24 2024, 08:05 AM)
common dilemma.
want move on but no offer.
stay but company no use.
best is to stand with it while looking for new job offer.
if not lucky, will get terminated first.
If got retrenched with benefits, can consider lucky.

NinG
post Dec 24 2024, 03:38 PM

Vroomm
403 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 24 2024, 01:42 PM)

Of course...I passed my PIP, overall it's not about the process of PIP but just do for show. I'm in the PIP because of 1 month doesn't hit my KPI. So long achieved, wont be in the PIP.

This post has been edited by NinG: Dec 24 2024, 03:45 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 03:59 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(RGRaj @ Dec 24 2024, 03:38 PM)
If got retrenched with benefits, can consider lucky.
they issue pip to staff means they want to avoid those benefits lah
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 04:00 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(NinG @ Dec 24 2024, 03:38 PM)
Of course...I passed my PIP, overall it's not about the process of PIP but just do for show. I'm in the PIP because of 1 month doesn't hit my KPI. So long achieved, wont be in the PIP.

NinG
post Dec 24 2024, 05:13 PM

Vroomm
403 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 24 2024, 04:00 PM)
Which sector are you in?
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 05:15 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(NinG @ Dec 24 2024, 05:13 PM)
Which sector are you in?
MANUFACTURING
NinG
post Dec 24 2024, 05:31 PM

Vroomm
403 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 24 2024, 05:15 PM)
MANUFACTURING

What's the reason they PIP you at the first place? 🤔

Anyway it's okay, passed liao uncle.. you just need to follow up. If nobody shits to reply u..means you're fine. Show saja..

This post has been edited by NinG: Dec 28 2024, 02:33 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 24 2024, 05:38 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(NinG @ Dec 24 2024, 05:31 PM)
Pharmaceutical

Anyway it's okay, passed liao uncle.. you just need to follow up. If nobody shits to reply u..means you're fine. Show saja..
no.Now they said I failed the pip.

I am not uncle.

mostly i feel is politics issue.

NinG
post Dec 24 2024, 06:19 PM

Vroomm
403 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 24 2024, 05:38 PM)
no.Now they said I failed the pip.

I am not uncle.

mostly i feel is politics issue.
So what's the reason you fail. P&C can pm
xavi5567
post Dec 25 2024, 06:42 AM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 24 2024, 01:53 PM)
Well u can ask lor what part not meet ?
Normally if they go through pip mean they already document everything , they set the conditions, if u don’t pass the condition Ofcos no pass lor and u don’t pass it .. hard for the judge to side to u and pay u in court on later date if u decide to sue .
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 25 2024, 07:39 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Dec 25 2024, 06:42 AM)
Normally if they go through pip mean they already document everything , they set the conditions, if u don’t pass the condition Ofcos no pass lor and u don’t pass it .. hard for the judge to side to u and pay u in court on later date if u decide to sue .
Aiya,all the IPP is just want to get rid of some staff only....

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 26 2024, 08:33 AM

1,836 posts

Now I have some colleagues who want to know the details of my next job. What should I tell them?

Where are you going?

Option 1 (General): "I’ve received a couple of offers and am finalizing my decision. It’s a better fit for my long-term goals.

Option 2 (Specific): "I’ve decided to go for a role with more stable hours/day shifts to better balance my personal life."

If you prefer not to disclose much:

"I’ll share more once everything is confirmed.

2. Will your next work be rotating or day shift?

If you’ve decided on day shifts: "It’s a day shift job, which suits my current lifestyle better."

If unsure or want to stay vague: "I’m still finalizing the details, but I’m prioritizing a role with a more balanced schedule.

3. Why are you resigning?

If they ask why you’re leaving or about family matters:

I need to spend some time back in my hometown to handle family commitments.

"This decision is a mix of career growth and personal priorities.

4. What’s your new salary?

This is a tricky one. You can reply politely:

Option 1: "I haven’t finalized the details yet; my focus is on finding a role that fits my career goals."

Option 2: "It’s a fair increase, but I’m more excited about the opportunities this role offers."

If you don’t want to share at all: "It’s private, but I’m happy with the decision I’ve made.

Like this can?
vaksin
post Dec 26 2024, 09:38 AM

689 posts

ya this is valid. sales target izzit?
what kpi do they set & how do you score?
is it measurable?
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 26 2024, 11:42 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(vaksin @ Dec 24 2024, 02:00 PM)

But I think I'll just send this message to all known colleagues through WhatsApp...

do you do this?

Dear [Colleague's Name],

I am truly grateful for your support and teamwork during my time at [Company Name]. It has been a pleasure collaborating with you, and I sincerely appreciate all the advice, assistance, and insights you've shared with me.

I would love to keep in contact, and I wish you continued success in all your future endeavors.
This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 26 2024, 11:43 PM
vaksin
post Dec 27 2024, 08:04 AM

689 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 26 2024, 11:42 PM)

do you do this?
Yes, just play nice.
don't make enemy.
unless they want to be your enemy.

some ppl like to look down on ppl, just to make them feel better.
ignore them, one day, karma will come to them.
IamBlind
post Dec 27 2024, 08:11 AM

20 posts

only the single ah moi
hoonanoo
post Dec 27 2024, 08:38 AM

1,782 posts

In life, there will always be doubters.

Just do your best. For me, my one boss is God. I do the best for him. He knows my performance and will reward my rezeki accordingly.

I am used to these doubters, at end of day, I am satisfied with my work.

Some ex colleague tried to headhunt me to other co.

it depends on the industry you work in.

For eg, my father, throughout his whole working life, never had to apply for jobs.

he was introduced by ex colleagues from one co to another.

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Dec 27 2024, 08:40 AM
Porkycorgi5588
post Dec 27 2024, 09:03 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(buysellaccount @ Aug 30 2024, 03:35 PM)

Claim ownself EIS only.

Severance package only if they want to fire you without going through PIP and usually it's "resignation"

This post has been edited by Porkycorgi5588: Dec 27 2024, 09:03 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 27 2024, 09:55 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ Dec 27 2024, 09:03 AM)
Claim ownself EIS only.

Severance package only if they want to fire you without going through PIP and usually it's "resignation"
If the company wants to let you go without going through the Performance Improvement Plan (PIP), they usually offer a severance package, but it's typically under the guise of a "resignation." As for claiming EIS (Employment Insurance System) yourself, it can only be done if you voluntarily resign.

malaysia have such things?

EIS (Employment Insurance System)

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 27 2024, 09:55 AM
titanz
post Dec 27 2024, 09:56 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(NinG @ Dec 24 2024, 05:31 PM)
Pharmaceutical

hi sis! mind to know or PM me which Pharmaceutical company is that?

I'm working in Pharmaceutical company too
Porkycorgi5588
post Dec 27 2024, 10:28 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 27 2024, 09:55 AM)
malaysia have such things?

EIS (Employment Insurance System)
check your payslip.

we've been paying EIS since at least 2016 If i recalled correctly
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 27 2024, 10:32 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ Dec 27 2024, 10:28 AM)
check your payslip.

we've been paying EIS since at least 2016 If i recalled correctly
actually I work at sg.

thanks for your advice...

NinG
post Dec 27 2024, 10:37 AM

Vroomm
403 posts

QUOTE(titanz @ Dec 27 2024, 09:56 AM)
hi sis! mind to know or PM me which Pharmaceutical company is that?

I'm working in Pharmaceutical company too
Hello.. thank you for your interest.. but I just wanna enjoy my nbtd time in /k... no job related.. We rotten the company name inside our tummy saja k.
shin gouki
post Dec 27 2024, 11:19 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 23 2024, 08:26 PM)
Now, I need to accumulate all work materials and notes to pass the next interview and secure a good job.

I received an improvement performance plan, but it's not an issue. I have a lot of savings, and I am a PR.

I should not feel sad. It's the political work culture, and I cannot let myself feel sad.

Being sad and angry will not help with these issues.
It sounds like you're going through a challenging situation, but it's great that you have a strong mindset to overcome it.
It's normal to feel a bit down when faced with setbacks, but as you've rightly pointed out, negative emotions like sadness and anger won't help you move forward.
Instead, focusing on what you can control, like preparing for the interview and building on your strengths, will be more productive.
A few strategies to help:

Stay Goal-Oriented: Keep your eyes on the bigger picture—securing a good job. This will help you stay motivated and remind you of your long-term goals.
Use Your Strengths:

You’ve mentioned having a lot of savings and being a PR, which are strengths.

Leverage these advantages when evaluating opportunities, and consider how they can help you make a fresh start if needed.
Focus on Preparation:

Take your time to accumulate work materials and notes for the interview.

Being prepared and feeling confident in your abilities can help reduce anxiety.
Balance Emotional Health:

It's important to acknowledge your feelings but not let them control your actions. Take time for activities that make you feel good—whether it's exercise, hobbies, or spending time with loved ones.
Learn from the Situation:
If the performance improvement plan feels daunting, try to identify areas where you can grow.

This will not only improve your chances of passing future performance reviews but also enhance your professional development.
Ultimately, remember that setbacks are often temporary.

With your savings and PR status, you have the foundation to move forward confidently.
Keep pushing toward your goals, and you'll be well on your way to success!
I think I will recover in 3 days......
y ts kena pip but offer advice to to self
ini soalan ke cadangan?
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 28 2024, 12:41 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(faridr @ Aug 30 2024, 08:47 PM)
This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 28 2024, 08:52 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 28 2024, 08:47 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(supsupsui @ Aug 30 2024, 06:39 PM)
Can. Show him improvemens/ good results.. Show boss u can be valuable to him/ company.
ABC Company serves as a contractor for a USA-based MNC.

If any issues arise, the USA-based MNC may insist on the resignation of ABC Company staff, as ABC Company heavily relies on this client for its livelihood.

Sacrificing its staff is considered a more acceptable option than jeopardizing the relationship with such a crucial client—the USA-based MNC.

ABC公司是一家为美国跨国公司(MNC)提供服务的承包商。

如果出现任何问题,美国跨国公司会要求ABC公司的员工辞职,因为ABC公司在很大程度上依赖这位大客户来维持生计。

相比冒着失去这个重要客户——美国跨国公司(MNC)的风险,ABC公司更倾向于牺牲自己的员工。

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 28 2024, 08:51 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 28 2024, 09:21 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(IamBlind @ Nov 27 2024, 12:50 PM)
If they no call you in for meeting, meaning you did ok and you get to keep your current job, if they extend its a clear sign they want you to leave on your own. Now you may have the boasting rights, you sit in PIP and beat the PIP.
but now they said I failed it......

crazy company...
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 28 2024, 09:40 PM

1,836 posts

The Performance Improvement Plan (PIP) 5-Step Process:

1)Assess and Identify Issues

Evaluate the employee's performance to identify specific areas of underperformance through data, assessments, and feedback.

2)Set Clear Improvement Goals

Establish clear, measurable, and achievable performance goals that align with company objectives.

3)Create an Improvement Plan and Provide Support

Develop a tailored improvement plan with the necessary resources, training, and support to help the employee meet the set goals.

4)Monitor and Evaluate Progress Regularly

Track the employee's progress toward the goals through regular check-ins and provide feedback as needed.

5)Final Evaluation and Conclusion

At the end of the PIP period, assess the employee’s performance to determine whether the goals have been achieved and decide on the next steps, such as role adjustments or termination.

Contrary to the company's intention of improving employee performance, more and more employees view PIP as the

"prelude to layoffs"

or a "nicer way of notifying them before termination.

my company skip step 3,and step 4

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 28 2024, 09:44 PM
IamBlind
post Dec 29 2024, 07:08 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 28 2024, 09:21 PM)
but now they said I failed it......

crazy company...
apa lagi after cny jump to new company. this company not worth your time.
redframelowyat
post Dec 29 2024, 10:03 AM

162 posts

from my own experience after i resign, the "friends" usually malas to layan you if you chat with them..
and that friend also the that keep racun you to resign actually stays happy go ucky in the company.
I just take it as a life lesson. True friends are the one that actually keep stopping you from resigning until your last day at job
Ayambetul
post Dec 29 2024, 10:14 AM

336 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 26 2024, 08:33 AM)
Now I have some colleagues who want to know the details of my next job. What should I tell them?
Like this can?
"Tell u moar when we meet again.

ADIOS MOTHERFKER!!!"

This post has been edited by Ayambetul: Dec 29 2024, 10:14 AM
wawasan2200
post Dec 29 2024, 10:38 AM

189 posts

when kena pip, is it common to nego for compensation and resign voluntarily?
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 29 2024, 12:02 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(wawasan2200 @ Dec 29 2024, 10:38 AM)
when kena pip, is it common to nego for compensation and resign voluntarily?
Should be no compensation....

A voluntary resignation is allowed.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 29 2024, 12:03 PM
xavi5567
post Dec 29 2024, 12:52 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 28 2024, 09:40 PM)
The Performance Improvement Plan (PIP) 5-Step Process:

1)Assess and Identify Issues

Evaluate the employee's performance to identify specific areas of underperformance through data, assessments, and feedback.

2)Set Clear Improvement Goals

Establish clear, measurable, and achievable performance goals that align with company objectives.

3)Create an Improvement Plan and Provide Support

Develop a tailored improvement plan with the necessary resources, training, and support to help the employee meet the set goals.

4)Monitor and Evaluate Progress Regularly

Track the employee's progress toward the goals through regular check-ins and provide feedback as needed.

5)Final Evaluation and Conclusion

At the end of the PIP period, assess the employee’s performance to determine whether the goals have been achieved and decide on the next steps, such as role adjustments or termination.
Contrary to the company's intention of improving employee performance, more and more employees view PIP as the

"prelude to layoffs"

or a "nicer way of notifying them before termination.

my company skip step 3,and step 4
If the goal not met by a big margin no point going to step 3-4
arif85124
post Dec 29 2024, 01:17 PM

43 posts

Peram dalam contact list
keyibukeyi
post Dec 29 2024, 01:20 PM

150 posts

Pro tips: Only keep who u find useful
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 29 2024, 01:34 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Dec 29 2024, 12:52 PM)
If the goal not met by a big margin no point going to step 3-4
They misuse this PIP as a tool for the exploitation of staff benefits.
TSplouffle0789
post Jan 6 2025, 02:07 AM

1,836 posts

Maxis forget put some reason
vexus
post Jan 6 2025, 03:14 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,660 posts

PIP is play out by toxic management. When your direct manager dislike you, they will rather rate your performance low till PIP.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 15 2025, 02:28 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

PETALING JAYA: A project manager specialist in a leading telecommunications company was awarded RM703,664 in compensation after the Industrial Court ruled his dismissal for poor performance was without just cause or excuse.

In an award dated July 16, the Kuala Lumpur Industrial Court noted that Ng Keng Seng’s performance had never been appraised as “unsatisfactory” throughout his 25-year stint with the firm.

Court chairman Zulbahrin Zainuddin instead found that between 2017 and 2019, Ng’s employer, Maxis Broadband Sdn Bhd, had said his performance “partially meets expectations” (PME).

The court also noted that Ng’s annual evaluation reports over the three years neither provided reasons for the PME rating nor listed weaknesses in the performance of duties to warrant a dismissal.
Instead, Zulbahrin said that despite being rated PME, the company had in the three reports recorded its thanks to Ng for his “contribution” and “commitment”. The court also noted that Ng had received RM26,132 as a “token of appreciation” for his efforts.

According to evidence led in court, Ng was placed on a three-month ad-hoc performance improvement plan (PIP) on Sept 1, 2020 following his three consecutive “PME” ratings.

However, Zulbahrin found that this requirement was only implemented in January 2021. Prior to that, only those appraised as “unsatisfactory” would be placed in the PIP programme, he said.

“The court took note that there was no attention to detail or uniformity on the part of management in its application of the correct PIP policy to the claimant (Ng), which had confused and impacted him greatly as the company’s error resulted in his termination without just cause or excuse,” the award read.

According to Zulbahrin, Ng’s immediate superior, Macy Ho, testified that the decision to place him under the PIP programme was made by the company’s human resources department although it had no direct dealings with him on work matters.

Under the terms of the PIP, Ng was given 12 deliverables to accomplish over and above his core duties. The company said this was aimed at improving his performance.

Zulbahrin, however, noted that Ng had written to management questioning the timing of the PIP.
Ng had said that 2020 was a challenging year, and that the Covid-19 pandemic required various changes to be made to existing work processes.

The court noted that Ng also expressed concern about his workload, especially with his department introducing a new core network to add capacity and partnering with a new vendor.

Ng had also expressed concern that the PIP programme had been imposed on him during the busiest period of the year, Zulbahrin added.

“The unclear PIP programme caused Ng hardship and affected his concentration when carrying out his daily duties. It also impeded the performance of his essential duties,” the award read.

As a result, Ng failed all three appraisals and was told that his services would be terminated with effect from Feb 28 the following year.

However, Zubahrin found that the PIP deliverables had obstructed Ng’s discharge of his core duties and was not designed to improve his performance.

“On the contrary, it had the tendency to burden the claimant, causing him to fail, and providing the company with an avenue to terminate his services,” the award said.

Ng joined the company as network management control system operator in 1995, drawing a monthly basic salary of RM2,400. He eventually assumed his current post, earning RM15,920 per month when his services were terminated in 2021.

Ng was awarded 24 months’ back wages, which after a 20% deduction for post-dismissal earnings, amounted to RM305,664. He was also given one month’s pay for each of his 25 years of service, totalling RM398,000, as compensation in lieu of reinstatement.

Patrick Tan appeared for Ng, while Maxis was represented by Janice Anne Leo, Adrienne Sena and Gurjeevan Singh Sachdev.

Sean is currently with Yellow Telco cool2.gif

0.0735sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:41 PM