American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

MilesAndMore
post Jul 14 2009, 12:39 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 13 2009, 09:30 PM)
You should try Shangrila or Crowne Plaza, not far away from Concorde. As it's on company, you can earn more MR then. tongue.gif  Btw, I heard the newly refurbished Hardrock @ Concorde is very nice. I haven't had time to check it out yet.
Shangri-la interior is kind of worn out. Not recommended. Wait till they fully refurbish the hotel first.

QUOTE(ellimist @ Jul 13 2009, 11:18 PM)
Quick question. If you were to buy items from US online stores, would you use master/visa or amex? Think I recall that it's been mentioned that amex has high admin charges when using it abroad. Applicable to this as well?
Charged CIMB Mastercard, Public Bank VISA Electron and AMEX to Amazon before. The exchange rate was more or less the same and the difference is quite big for AMEX. A few Ringgit more than Mastercard/VISA.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 14 2009, 02:04 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 14 2009, 01:14 AM)
Eh Shangri-la's upgraded and refurbished rooms are quite nice lah.  Act, Concorde's rooms are old too - unless you go for the uhm.. Premier rooms whatever they call it.  Those are quite new (once upon a time) and it's rather spacious too!! biggrin.gif
Eh ? They have refurbished all their rooms ? Didn't know that biggrin.gif Anyways, it's hard to resist not to stay at Hilton KL Sentral laugh.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jul 14 2009, 11:34 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(vampbreak @ Jul 14 2009, 06:28 AM)
I'm thinking about to buying a car when coming back. And maybe using centurion for this. Well, at least for a down payment. brows.gif Anyone try their charge card buying something expensive? Addition to that, did a car dealer take charge card or cc for full purchase/down payment? hmm.gif
What kind of car ? BMW 5-series ? I don't think you can use Centurion for down payment at Toyota or Honda Malaysia.

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 14 2009, 08:32 AM)
Hey...when was the last time you visited Shangri La?  shocking.gif
The hotel has been undergoing a major renovation at different stages. You should check it out!  sweat.gif

A while ago biggrin.gif Anyway, did check out their deluxe room online. It doesn't look any different the last time i stayed there.

QUOTE(winner @ Jul 14 2009, 08:32 AM)
Although Le Meridian and KL Hilton are quite nice, the location at KL Sentral is a bit off.
I don't think Le Meridien is worth it. The room is smaller than Hilton and their price is almost the same. The room amenities in Hilton are better too.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 14 2009, 09:43 AM)
@MilesAndMore,
As much as KL Sentral is nice, it is also costlier ! tongue.gif  Not everyone can afford to stay there tongue.gif
Not really. Hilton KL is actually much cheaper than Shangri-la.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 14 2009, 11:35 AM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 24 2009, 01:34 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jul 23 2009, 11:04 PM)
had a strange episode where the cimb terminal cannot recognize the Amex Gold CC.

Even the cashier was puzzled.
Most probably that particular store you went to doesn't actually accept AMEX ?

**Wow, Tinkerbel is now a moderator eh ? CONGRATS rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 24 2009, 01:35 AM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 24 2009, 04:51 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 24 2009, 11:22 AM)
I just check AMEX website, the MR required for vouchers still the same. Example MJ & Parkson 20,000MR=RM100. For dinning RM100 voucher need less than 20,000MR. What's written in the booklet for vouchers?
Actually it used to be only 16,700MR to redeem a RM100 voucher for MJ, Parkson, Jaya Jusco etc until early this year. By the way, Jaya Jusco voucher is no longer available for redemption now using MR. Still available for those on Treatpoints though.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 28 2009, 12:47 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 28 2009, 11:07 AM)
Eh ? The HSBC Premier Mastercard doesn't exactly look ugly in the picture posted above. May be just that it's too plain in design eh ?

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 28 2009, 12:48 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 28 2009, 06:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 28 2009, 05:35 PM)
Tinkerbel, see you also got both Citi Clear and Plat and you talking about can't have 2 "different" cards from same issuer.
Judging from the emblem, The Citi Clear card is a Mastercard while the other Citi credit card is VISA. I guess this is why she can get both.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 29 2009, 08:29 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 29 2009, 06:38 PM)
But can we apply through Maybank2u.com? I am lazy to submit form again
Get an agent to be your runner.
MilesAndMore
post Jul 29 2009, 11:35 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 29 2009, 09:22 PM)
@Aeon_Clock,
I believe the Maybank American Express Credit Card (Gold & Classic) is the one with the fugly Maybankard logo at the top of the card.  That one gives U TP instead of MR.
Correct. I had that one. Used it for about a year. Now using the Green Charge Card instead.

MilesAndMore
post Jul 30 2009, 12:23 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(air @ Jul 30 2009, 10:30 AM)
May I know that how you use your Green Charge Card in Malaysia? since they don accept AMEX for online transactions... Not many restaurant/shops actually accept AMEX...
I only use my CIMB Mastercard for online transaction. For example, when booking flight tickets on MAS or place orders for DVD on Amazon.com. I also use it to pay for my TM fixed line and TM Streamyx bills via www.tmonline.com.my.

My AMEX Green Charge Card is actually my primary card. The restaurants i frequent all accept AMEX. The major bookstores also accept AMEX (except Popular and Harris). I also use my AMEX Green Charge Card to pump fuel at SHELL. I rarely use my CIMB Mastercard now. Every month i have to pay a few hundred Ringgit only to CIMB and a few THOUSANDS Ringgit to AMEX laugh.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jul 30 2009, 11:50 AM)
Also, I don't quite get what U mean by "billings by CC based on servicing account" - MAS/FireFly does NOT accept Amex.
MAS do accept AMEX but only for international travel. What a stupid policy vmad.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jul 30 2009, 12:25 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jul 31 2009, 03:59 PM

9,301 posts

The promotion came in too late. I have swiped more than RM13000 to date and the promotion only starts tomorrow vmad.gif
MilesAndMore
post Aug 5 2009, 12:09 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Aug 4 2009, 11:37 PM)
By the way, may i know did the AMEX Gold CC have the hologram such as those Platinum Card? Saw a lady paying at Carrefour using AMEX, I'm sure it is either Platinum or Gold CC but just want to make sure... thanks
The Maybankard AMEX Classic and Gold have the hologram but my Green Charge Card doesn't have it.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 7 2009, 09:20 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(macpro2 @ Aug 7 2009, 08:13 PM)
AMEX card sucks why..cant be accepted in Mydin Subang Supermarket!!

MMB say they are already merchant but Mydin say system not ready.. DISAPPOINTED !!

SUCKS! but point system good
It's Mydin's system fault. Not AMEX.

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 7 2009, 08:26 PM)
I checked with Great Eastern CS today about auto debit. Too bad they don't accept Amex.
None of the insurance companies in Malaysia accept AMEX.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 7 2009, 10:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 7 2009, 10:26 PM)
tinkerbel, here are my latest cards.

A very nice collection you got there rclxms.gif

MilesAndMore
post Aug 12 2009, 12:28 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 11 2009, 08:50 PM)
Want to ask people....maybank and amex shared limit and it is 6.5K...if i want to spend 8k...can i put 1.5k first inside the cc account and swipe 8k straight? Thanks
Yes. You can. I have tried it before on Maybank AMEX Gold credit card (the old one with the ugly Maybankard logo on top).

MilesAndMore
post Aug 12 2009, 01:19 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Aug 12 2009, 10:21 AM)
Maybe next time got offer for cool gadgets like iPod and iPhone, then I'll find excuse to spend that much money early that month.
I rather buy one at Mid Valley with cold hard cash smile.gif

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 12 2009, 11:39 AM)
Don't get trapped by all those contests. Spend only when you really need to spend.
Very well said. It is all a trap rclxms.gif
MilesAndMore
post Aug 13 2009, 12:10 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 12 2009, 11:37 PM)
Something to share...We can get longiness watch if we pay online bill payment...smile.gif
Mate, the problem is that we cannot charge the bill to our AMEX online. TM doesn't accept it. Astro, TNB all also do not accept AMEX online.

By the way, if you don't mind me asking. May i know why are you so eager to win the Longines watch ? It is not really that good looking as its name suggests, just so you know.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 13 2009, 01:31 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 13 2009, 01:08 AM)
I saw the watch already..i admit it look quite simple...Maybe that is why I am thinking to get simpler watch...
Maybe you'd like to follow cute_boboi's advice and buy some DELL laptops/desktops/LCDs/LEDs online sweat.gif DELL Malaysia online, as far as i am concerned, is the only site that accept AMEX online smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post Aug 14 2009, 05:11 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 14 2009, 04:36 PM)
My Amex Gold Charge card is not shown in Maybank2u. But I have registered it in Amex website.

Wonder it can be shown in M2U?
AMEX charge card will not appear in Maybank2u.com.my. You can however, track your spending via www.amexmalaysia.com.my.

By the way, if you have a Maybank account, you can actually pay for your AMEX charge card directly from Maybank2u.com.my.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 14 2009, 05:12 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 15 2009, 12:38 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 15 2009, 12:27 AM)
Would like to ask..Is the AMEX points and MB treat points are the same? Thanks
It's different.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top