American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

MilesAndMore
post May 2 2009, 01:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ May 2 2009, 01:26 AM)
What you guys gonna do with the rewards points earned? For me, i would only transfer to frequent flyer program and redeem free ticket for travel smile.gif
Can't transfer to my FFP as there is no Malaysian credit card/charge card that allows points conversion to Lufthansa German Airlines Miles & More frequent flyer program. I always redeem for Jaya Jusco shopping vouchers.

MilesAndMore
post May 2 2009, 06:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ May 2 2009, 06:43 PM)
Execuse me for off topic... but may i know whats make you love this airlines so much? haha...
Actually i use Lufthsansa German Airlines Miles & More FFP to earn miles when flying on Singapore Airlines and Thai Airways. Using their FFP doesn't necessary mean i fly with them often. Just that i prefer Miles & More over Krisflyer and Royal Orchid Plus.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: May 2 2009, 06:49 PM
MilesAndMore
post May 2 2009, 07:43 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(abarai @ May 2 2009, 07:05 PM)
the promotion to get 8x points by sms them. is it still on? any hidden catch?
No catch and it's on until July.

MilesAndMore
post May 3 2009, 12:52 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cesarmora @ May 3 2009, 02:04 AM)
just realisd that we had to call to activate it?
You have to send a SMS to be eligible for the contest but the contest is over now.

MilesAndMore
post May 5 2009, 06:33 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 5 2009, 12:12 PM)
@MilesAndMore,
Jusco vouchers?! Er.. there was no Jusco vouchers to redeem the last I checked !
I was using Maybank branded AMEX Gold credit card prior. I redeemed all my TP before i switched to AMEX Personal Charge Card in January and TP does offer Jusco Jaya vouchers. MR had Jaya Jusco RM100 voucher too last year but not anymore.

MilesAndMore
post May 6 2009, 06:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 6 2009, 06:07 PM)
@MilesAndMore,
AHHh.. that was before MBB streamlined MR and TP reward points.  With the new system (everything being MR points) we no longer have Jusco vouchers to redeem but we've got Parkson vouchers biggrin.gif

Yeah. No more Jaya Jusco. Parkson is so expensive ... They have some nice collections in Parkson Pavillion but Parkson simply is too expensive. Nothing much you can buy with a few hundred Ringgit sad.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 6 2009, 06:07 PM)
Eh.. anyone ever calculated to check if it's worth redeeming Enrich or KrisFlyer points for free travels?
No. Not at all. 6000 points for 500 miles is simply too expensive.

MilesAndMore
post May 17 2009, 02:51 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fahmi_10 @ May 17 2009, 12:44 AM)
How much SPG point needed for 1 nite?
Depends on the hotel category. Usually St. Regis and Westin are quite high, both which are Starwood properties, along with Sheraton, Le Meridien and a few more.

MilesAndMore
post May 19 2009, 12:10 AM

9,301 posts

For those who's interested, W Hotel is also a Starwood property and the points need for redemption is also usually quite high.
MilesAndMore
post May 19 2009, 05:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ May 19 2009, 02:44 PM)
W Hotels are fabulous and expensive. Not many cities have W Hotels. I think for SPG, you need like 10,000 points + $100. If you use your AMEX often, I guess won't have problem to checkin at W Hotels.
W Hotel is indeed something that set them apart from the rest. There is one W Hotel in Hong Kong. W Hotel will make its debut in Bangkok later this year or next year (i don't remember).

MilesAndMore
post May 21 2009, 03:40 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ May 21 2009, 02:38 PM)
Few months back, MBB called to offer me Amex Charge Card. No docs needed, since MBB has all my details as an existing a/c and CC. Forgot all about it, until recently received the MR points booklet. Called up MBB to enquire whether the offer is accepted/rejected.

They say already approved, and mailed to my home (Poslaju), but no one at home  hmm.gif  Well, I did not receive any postcard notification to collect from Poslaju.  doh.gif Asked them to send again, they say within 1 week will receive.

Yesterday afternoon 12pm call, this morning 10am receive from Poslaju.  smile.gif  Not yet read all the fine-prints.  sweat.gif
Is it AMEX Gold Charge Card ? You don't have to pay RM25/RM50 to earn MR if it is a Gold Charge Card.
MilesAndMore
post May 23 2009, 05:36 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ May 21 2009, 03:45 PM)
Gold. I browse at the back something RM25. Not yet read properly all the stuff & fine-prints.
Then you don't have to pay RM25 or RM50 every year to earn MR points.
MilesAndMore
post May 24 2009, 12:13 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ May 23 2009, 10:31 PM)
Anyone tried asking for a waiver for the regular green card? unsure.gif
You can get your Green Charge Card and Gold Charge Card waived. It won't be a problem as there are users here managed to do it.

MilesAndMore
post May 24 2009, 08:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ May 24 2009, 12:17 AM)
Hmm it's already appeared in my "Recent charges", I should probably try getting it waived pretty soon right?
You better call right now smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 2 2009, 03:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jun 2 2009, 01:46 PM)
not so good if you travel to China. Even in Shanghai, not many merchants accept AMEX sad.gif
Not sure about Korea/Taiwan, but i think Japan and HK will be very convenient.
So long you are carrying one VISA and one Mastercard you don't have to worry anything tongue.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 17 2009, 12:18 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(guanteik @ Jun 16 2009, 09:44 PM)
anyone notice this? New AMEX gold card... and requirement is really low.

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards
I have been waiting for them to launch this card in Malaysia since like forever !!!!!!!!

QUOTE(zenquix @ Jun 16 2009, 11:38 PM)
Which points are more attractive? TP or MR?
Am thinking of applying an Amex during the treats fair next month.
MR is better actually. Less points needed to redeem shopping vouchers rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 17 2009, 12:30 AM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 17 2009, 02:19 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 17 2009, 10:03 AM)
@MilesAndMore,
I just noted this:-
5x Membership Rewards points for every Ringgit spent on groceries, petrol, bookstores - Kinokuniya, Borders, Times and MPH - and telco charges via Express Autopay - Celcom, Digi, Maxis and Telekom.

I believe it's a new benefit, right?!  And, do U know if it's been extended to the Amex Plat Card?!

I guess this perks is reserved only for the Gold credit card for now. Guess it will soon be extended to the Platinum credit card otherwise it will make the Platinum credit card look bad. The good thing about AMEX Gold credit card is that it is free for life strictly with no T&C attached rclxms.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 17 2009, 10:03 AM)
Hmm.. perhaps I should get this card instead of the Gold Charge Card now when I decide to downgrade my existing one.
Definitely. I am holding a Personal charge card now. The thing is that i am afraid the credit line given to the Gold credit card might be not enough. I once swiped RM12000 at one go to my Green Personal Charge Card with no problem as it has no preset spending limit.

And i am wondering if we can apply for this AMEX Gold Credit Card using other credit card ?

By the way, please note that they won't be sending out a printed statement for this particular credit card. But should you still want to receive the printed statement, you will have to pay RM5/month.

QUOTE(Dozz @ Jun 17 2009, 11:00 AM)
anyone notice the new gold card link is disappear in m2u web site already?
This new credit card is now on AMEX MALAYSIA

QUOTE(Dozz @ Jun 17 2009, 01:20 PM)
i just submitted this application for AMEX, they asked me where did i get the application form form. lol.... Anyway, i believe this card is not official launched yet.
LOL ! A newborn baby that many people still don't know its existence yet. Anyway, this card wasn't on AMEX Malaysia website last night.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 17 2009, 05:37 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jun 17 2009, 03:57 PM)
Yes, I'm alright with direct debit. My current Maxis is direct debit also.
LOL  laugh.gif  They take it down again !
Apparently they did. May be they haven't briefed their staff or sent out a memo regarding this new AMEX Gold credit card.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 18 2009, 05:28 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 18 2009, 12:32 PM)
With AMEX rewards getting more attractive, would it be a matter of time before they (MBB) "adjust" the rewards requirements as well ? Sorry guys, but I just couldn't see how can MBB make it sustainable.
You don't have to worry for Maybank tongue.gif All this 2xMR/TP is made possible with AMEX charging their merchants a higher merchant fee compared to VISA/Mastercard. In the US, the AMEX credit card issued by Bank of America is giving 1.25% cash back. For certain cash back credit cards issue by American Express US itself, the cash back is 1.5%. So giving us 2xMR/TP for every Ringgit swiped is a peanut for Maybank/AMEX Malaysia.

Guys, the AMEX Gold credit card issued by American Express is now up on American Express Malaysia website - AMERICAN EXPRESS GOLD CREDIT CARD

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 18 2009, 09:43 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 19 2009, 02:13 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 19 2009, 11:13 AM)
@jack2,
Yes it's not as well 'recognised' here but it's picking up.
Definitely ! biggrin.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 20 2009, 01:18 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 20 2009, 12:14 AM)
yes, you are right they will charge RM5 for printed statement. In the application form it is mentioned that statement will be email to cardholders. So no problems if no M2U.
And since this AMEX Gold Credit Card is issued by American Express, we can view the statement online via www.amexmalaysia.com.my. We do not have to depend on Maybank to email the montly statement to us or via www.maybank2u.com.my.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0435sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:47 PM