American Express® Cards, Membership Rewards™

MilesAndMore
post Aug 15 2009, 01:23 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 15 2009, 12:58 AM)
Basiclly AMEX points cant redeem MB stuffs and vice versa right?

No. AMEX Membership Rewards points can't be used to redeem anything from Maybank Treatpoints catalogue vv.

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 15 2009, 12:58 AM)
How is AMEX points redemption? the things need high AMEX points?
One of the best out there actually. Points required to redeem for shopping vouchers are some of the lowest in the market. For example, you need only 35,000MR points to redeem for a RM200 Borders voucher. It means that you need to spend only RM17500 and you will get RM200 back from AMEX. That's around 1.14% cash back for every Ringgit charged. The percentage of the cash back would be higher if you are using AMEX Gold credit card that gives you 5x MR points at selected places.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 15 2009, 08:34 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Aug 15 2009, 04:19 PM)
Membership Reward point actually is a good thing, it actually can count as point and also use for cash rebate, if i not mistaken last time got informed that 200 MR = RM 1 rebate, so it is flexible for those who don't want to struggle what thing to redeem when they have lots of points.
Yes. You are right. Mom just got RM400 rebate to her last month's bill. That is equal to 80,000MR points. You need to call their customer service to convert your MR points into cash rebate.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 16 2009, 11:40 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 16 2009, 08:26 PM)
Guys, do you notice Amex has increased the points required for gift redemption? For cash rebate conversion, it is now RM1 = 200MR compared to 190MR last time. Further, RM50 voucher = 11000MR.

If we compare the value of RM50 between cash rebate and voucher, it is definitely better to redeem cash rebate @10000MR as opposed to voucher @11000MR.
Alternatively, you can redeem Borders RM200 vouchers which require only 35,000MR points smile.gif
MilesAndMore
post Aug 17 2009, 01:12 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Aug 17 2009, 01:04 AM)
1) how long does the MR points valid?

It is valid as long as your AMEX Gold credit card account is active.

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Aug 17 2009, 01:04 AM)
2) for those 5X pts ... do we hafta pay a fee to enrol such as the turbo programme?
Absolutely FREE for AMEX Gold credit card. Below is the list of merchants that give 5MR points for every RM1 charged to the card.
- Carrefour
- Cold Storage
- Choice Supermarket
- Cosmart
- Everise Supermarket
- Galaxy Supermarket
- Giant
- Hero Pasaraya
- Isetan Supermarket
- Jusco Supermarket
- Makro
- Mercato de Market Place (Pavillion)
- KL Sogo Supermarket
- Tesco
- TMC Bangsar
- Village Grocer
- Borders
- Kinokuniya
- MPH
- Times
- Celcom
- Digi
- Maxis
- Telekom Malaysia Berhad

MilesAndMore
post Aug 17 2009, 05:12 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Aug 17 2009, 04:35 PM)
walao ... i called customer service ... they say NO submission  mad.gif  ... wat r mbb doing le?already 1 week not even submit the form  shakehead.gif
That's very typical of Maybank laugh.gif

MilesAndMore
post Aug 17 2009, 08:29 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 17 2009, 05:44 PM)
I can’t figure out why Amex/MBB takes so long to calculate the missing points. It is just a simple mathematics.
Agreed ! Should have credited into our account straight from the day we charged to our AMEX. Less problematic this way. They are not efficient at all ! shakehead.gif

MilesAndMore
post Aug 17 2009, 11:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 17 2009, 09:23 PM)
I submitted the application through the branch at MV, one of the biggest MBB branches in M'sia.
Have you seen the Maybank branch in Pavillion ? A friend of mine told me there is one Maybank branch in Pavillion Level 2 but i've never seen it. Is it big ? My friend told me that branch opens 7-day a week.

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Aug 17 2009, 10:21 PM)
No, the new gold CC shows TP as well. I'm concerned about this. Many say that it's actually MR but if we don't rectify this, they might say that it's our own fault. Can someone confirm?
It will show as TP in your Maybank2u.com.my but actually it is MR. When you want to redeem for shopping vouchers or any other stuff, you have to refer to the MR catalogue.

Several AMEX Platinum credit card holders (Tinkerbel, Reventon, GHz) have confirmed this a while back.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 18 2009, 01:35 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Aug 18 2009, 12:11 AM)
If Amex Gold CC are using MR, why I cant register at Amex MY website just like other Amex Cards?
Because only AMEX Charge Card can be registered at www.americanexpress.com.my

MilesAndMore
post Aug 19 2009, 12:29 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Aug 18 2009, 11:54 PM)
and any promotion like free gifts available upon sucessful application?
Only for AMEX Charge Card. They will free you a laptop backpack. Quality is quite good. Not sure if the promotion is still ongoing though.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 19 2009, 01:56 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 19 2009, 01:39 AM)
If Amex cc approved, can see the account number at maybank is it?

Supposedly so.

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 19 2009, 01:39 AM)
Mine dunno whether approve or not..hopefully approve...:|
I think you need to be patience. This is after all, Maybank that we're talking about laugh.gif

MilesAndMore
post Aug 19 2009, 02:53 PM

9,301 posts

@Santaclaus,

You do have another option. You can fill up another application form and fax it in, along with all your supporting documents.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 19 2009, 08:18 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(mengfui @ Aug 19 2009, 08:12 PM)
How can I link my amex charge card with maybank2u.com?
No. You can't. You may however, add it into your list of favorite payee so you can pay for the card directly from your Maybank savings/current account.

If you'd like to keep track of your spending, you need to register it at American Express Malaysia

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 19 2009, 08:19 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 20 2009, 11:57 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Aug 20 2009, 10:24 PM)
2. It costs less than RM8k. You need to buy other things else.
She can buy the MacBook Pro 15-inch 2.66GHz. Buy an iWork for a single user, Apple MagSafe Airline Power Adapter, Apple Remote and Microsoft Office Home & Student together with the system. Then She will have to pay RM8565 icon_rolleyes.gif

MilesAndMore
post Aug 22 2009, 08:23 PM

9,301 posts

Get well soon, Tinkerbel icon_rolleyes.gif
MilesAndMore
post Aug 26 2009, 11:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 26 2009, 08:48 PM)
@santaclaus,
Perhaps no one answered ur question because this thread is meant to discuss American Express Cards and not Visa/Mastercard? tongue.gif 
He previously asked in the "credit card thread" but one answered him. I guess simply because no one has made a comparison yet.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 27 2009, 09:36 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 27 2009, 08:17 AM)
1. Does Malaysian AMEX belongs to Maybank?

Maybank is the franchisee of American Express Malaysia. It basically controls everything related to American Express now in Malaysia and that includes to promote AMEX and to make AMEX more widely accepted.

2. On payment. I do not bank with Maybank. But I read on AMEX website saying you pay your pure AMEX at Maybank but don't seems to see it mentioning other bank. I do not want the hassle of sending check by post.

You can pay for your AMEX charge card/credit card over the counter at any Maybank branch nationwide. You can also pay for your Maybankard/Maybank Ikhwan branded AMEX credit cards via any Maybank ATMs. You may also pay for any of your AMEX or Maybankard/Maybank Ikhwan using cheque.

Please note that for AMEX issued by AMEX (without any Maybank logo on the cards), you can only do the payment over the counter at Maybank branch, via MAYBANK2U, standing instruction with Maybank/Public Bank/RHB Bank or by cheque only.

3. I notice you can get pure AMEX CC, Maybank AMEX and others. Which would you people advise getting?

If you're a big spender then i'd suggest you to get the charge card, even the Green Charge Card would suffice. I managed to charge RM12500 at one swipe to the card 2 months ago at ISETAN KLCC with no problem sweat.gif

Else, the AMEX Gold Credit Card (issued by AMEX, the one without any Maybank logo on it) is good enough. Or may be you could apply for both AMEX Gold credit card and AMEX charge card. Please bear in mind that the AMEX charge card is only free for the first 3 years and you need to call in once a year to get the annual fee waived thereafter. As for the AMEX Gold credit card, it is free for life with absolute no string attached but i guess you are aware of that already.

4. How is AMEX's (not Maybank) customer service? Any good? Do they only work office hours like Alliance?
Mom called them twice. So far so good. Do not know if they work 24 hours a day but last time my mom called them it was around 10pm if my memory serves me correctly.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 27 2009, 04:59 PM
MilesAndMore
post Aug 27 2009, 05:01 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 27 2009, 10:12 AM)
On the 5 x reward point system on petrol and telco. I do not see any expire date on AMEX website so I presume it will be ongoing forever?
It is a permanent feature of AMEX Gold Credit Card smile.gif
MilesAndMore
post Aug 28 2009, 04:38 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 28 2009, 01:57 PM)
its been arrived at the branch, but no 1 informing me about the arrival.
They normally will send you a notice informing you to collect the card right ? Probably Poslaju is at fault here sweat.gif

MilesAndMore
post Aug 28 2009, 05:34 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Aug 28 2009, 05:12 PM)
I tot amex is via courier (poslaju)? unless u mentioned wanto collect at branch
Yes. vin_ann chose to collect his AMEX at his chosen Maybank branch.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 29 2009, 05:27 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 29 2009, 04:06 PM)
So which should I go for? American Express Gold CC or the Maybank version (how come it is not free)? And why?
I'd say American Express Gold credit card. NO DOUBT ! tongue.gif

There is one free Maybank AMEX, called Maybank Ikhwan. It is an Islamic AMEX.

QUOTE(arsenal @ Aug 29 2009, 04:15 PM)
Arsenal, that is not a Maybank AMEX lah. That is a 100% AMEX. There are only two Maybank AMEX, one is Maybankard AMEX and another one Maybank Ikhwan AMEX. Both with Maybank logo printed on top.

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 29 2009, 04:21 PM)
From the picture on Maybank's website, there don't seems to be any Maybank logo on the AMEX card. Is that right?

Yes. Because that is 100% AMEX. Just like those charge cards and the white color AMEX Platinum credit card.

It  mentioned payment of Maxis by Express Autopay qualifies for 5 x membership rewards. Does Auto Debit also qualifies for 5 x rewards?

I believe the 5x MR only apply to AMEX Gold credit card, the one without any ugly Maybank logo. And you need to enroll in auto debit to qualify for the 5x MR. But as some users have mentioned, there is something wrong with the Maxis system and they can't register your AMEX for the auto debit for the time being.

And if I have a non-MBB AMEX Gold CC and I make payment by cheque at MBB branch, are there any additional out-station cheque charges?
The cheque should be made payable to Maybankard centre. So if your cheque is issued by some banks in KL and you pay it in KL, there shouldn't be any additional charges.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0435sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:03 AM