9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Civic FE RS to Mazda 3 Liftback Ignite

TSSasuKopa P
post Aug 8 2024, 02:50 PM, updated 2y ago

Probation
30 posts

Dear FnF sifus, I've been a silent reader all these while and finally registered and need opinions about cars.

I'm currently driving a civic RS 2022 and i've been having issues with my steering racks up till today.
Total claimed 3 times and now the sticky/tuk sound is back.. doh.gif

Recently went to have a look at the mazda 3 and kinda interested on the liftback ignite.
I'm thinking to just pull the trigger because of ulang alik Honda SC, and i dont think the steering rack issue will solve anytime soon seeing the complaints on FB
Space is not much of an issue as my wife is driving a Veloz, and i have another Estima at home.

How's Mazda 3? any well known issue for the current version? Just want a fun car to drive and less to zero headaches at least for 5 years.

Aaron212
post Aug 8 2024, 03:06 PM

1,773 posts

when does the sound appear?

during slow speed turning etc?

or everytime u turn the wheel?
Quazacolt
post Aug 8 2024, 03:16 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 8 2024, 02:50 PM)
How's Mazda 3? any well known issue for the current version? Just want a fun car to drive and less to zero headaches at least for 5 years.
i've posted a review on the Mazda 3 thread (in car clubs sub forum)
i personally think the CBU tax is not worth it, and the car overall is overhyped.

the dynamics is just not there and i prefer the CVT way more than the 6 speed slosh box. if i need to work on a car to reap the rewards of fun and engaging drive, i have a far better 3 pedal manual actual sports car.

that said, if you are not happy with the Civic, then you don't exactly have much choices between the Altis and the Mazda 3.
lordgamer3
post Aug 8 2024, 03:23 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 8 2024, 02:50 PM)
Dear FnF sifus, I've been a silent reader all these while and finally registered and need opinions about cars.
I'm currently driving a civic RS 2022 and i've been having issues with my steering racks up till today.
Total claimed 3 times and now the sticky/tuk sound is back..  doh.gif
Recently went to have a look at the mazda 3 and kinda interested on the liftback ignite.
I'm thinking to just pull the trigger because of ulang alik Honda SC, and i dont think the steering rack issue will solve anytime soon seeing the complaints on FB
Space is not much of an issue as my wife is driving a Veloz, and i have another Estima at home.

My mech mentioned FC model got see blown engine granted they push but Honta is not as reliable as it was with FD or what not. Anyone convincing you about CVT is crack cz rate of failure is higher then that of traditional torque convertor. That said Mazda isn't cheap to maintain but it isn't a lemon. Personally lean on Mazda as Honda can experience torque steer during shift and slightly aggressive throttle.
matrix88
post Aug 8 2024, 03:23 PM

2,236 posts

have you test driven the Mazda?
can you accept the power first because you are coming from a more powerful car.
Quazacolt
post Aug 8 2024, 03:26 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 8 2024, 03:23 PM)
not just that, on D auto and tall gearing 6 speed, it'll tend to sit on higher gears and that elevates the lack of power issue.

comparatively, the CVT is constantly trying to keep in optimal power band under full boost max torque. so the end result is day and night difference when it comes to power and driving dynamics.

then that traditional shock absorbers and rear torsion beam. ugh. lol. the global model Civic FE is just leagues ahead. you only even look at the Mazda if you cannot Civic and/or CVT or steering rack.
TSSasuKopa P
post Aug 8 2024, 03:35 PM

Probation
30 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 8 2024, 03:23 PM)
test driven the cx30 because there's no mazda 3 test drive car.

ok la acceptable as im just living in a small town, and occasionally highway drives only
TSSasuKopa P
post Aug 8 2024, 03:39 PM

Probation
30 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 8 2024, 03:16 PM)
i've posted a review on the Mazda 3 thread (in car clubs sub forum)
i personally think the CBU tax is not worth it, and the car overall is overhyped.

the dynamics is just not there and i prefer the CVT way more than the 6 speed slosh box. if i need to work on a car to reap the rewards of fun and engaging drive, i have a far better 3 pedal manual actual sports car.

that said, if you are not happy with the Civic, then you don't exactly have much choices between the Altis and the Mazda 3.
true.. my max budget would be aroud 200k..

some friends asked me to have a look at china cars/ EVs, any recommendations?

Quazacolt
post Aug 8 2024, 03:44 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 8 2024, 03:39 PM)
true.. my max budget would be aroud 200k..

some friends asked me to have a look at china cars/ EVs, any recommendations?
not really, because i am biased against EV.

That said, Honda EHEV is fairly interesting. and touch wood, not sure if its because the new VGR steering, it doesn't share the same issue with Civic / City etc steering rack issue.

maybe used BMW 3 series? seem to fit the budget
contagiouseddie
post Aug 8 2024, 03:51 PM

305 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 8 2024, 03:44 PM)
not really, because i am biased against EV.

That said, Honda EHEV is fairly interesting. and touch wood, not sure if its because the new VGR steering, it doesn't share the same issue with Civic / City etc steering rack issue.

maybe used BMW 3 series? seem to fit the budget
The rack issue has been long around on their entire catalogue of cars those build around after 2016. I'm on a 2nd steering rack on HRV. Just avoid this rubbish brand.
littlefire
post Aug 8 2024, 04:04 PM

2,736 posts

If you think steering rack issue only for Honda, your gonna be wrong. All electrical type steering rack if driven harsh also will encounter issue, just google and go read in forums, Mazda, Toyota electric type steering rack been piling with claims and repair also.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Aug 8 2024, 04:04 PM
e-lite
post Aug 8 2024, 04:05 PM

692 posts

just get gr86
squareballs
post Aug 8 2024, 04:18 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 8 2024, 04:04 PM)
If you think steering rack issue only for Honda, your gonna be wrong. All electrical type steering rack if driven harsh also will encounter issue, just google and go read in forums, Mazda, Toyota electric type steering rack been piling with claims and repair also.
but is it as frequent as Honda civic's rack?
My FE only 20k mileage, going soon for my 4th claim.. Even product recall rack by Honda, just changed in April now defect again
Quazacolt
post Aug 8 2024, 05:09 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Aug 8 2024, 03:51 PM)
The rack issue has been long around on their entire catalogue of cars those build around after 2016. I'm on a 2nd steering rack on HRV. Just avoid this rubbish brand.
i'm co owning the Current latest HRV EHEV

no steering rack issue (yet) nod.gif smile.gif
littlefire
post Aug 8 2024, 05:21 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Aug 8 2024, 05:18 PM)
but is it as frequent as Honda civic's rack?
My FE only 20k mileage, going soon for my 4th claim.. Even product recall rack by Honda, just changed in April now defect again
I have heard & seen a lot of people think that modern cars with EPS is light, easy to turn and abuse it. Just google about "Dry Steering" even tho it is electric motor assist major components like gear, shalf, seals still similar with other power steering. Daily seen people turn max steering while idling, went thru corners & bad road condition at high speed and worse with those big heavy sport rims. doh.gif Last time many cars use small sport rims, tire is thicker. So even use old hydraulic type power steering the thick tire and soft suspension settings can help absorb a lot of impact from bad road condition. Nowadays modern car all terbalik and expect more lasting. hmm.gif
squareballs
post Aug 8 2024, 06:04 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 8 2024, 05:21 PM)
I have heard & seen a lot of people think that modern cars with EPS is light, easy to turn and abuse it. Just google about "Dry Steering" even tho it is electric motor assist major components like gear, shalf, seals still similar with other power steering. Daily seen people turn max steering while idling, went thru corners & bad road condition at high speed and worse with those big heavy sport rims.  doh.gif Last time many cars use small sport rims, tire is thicker. So even use old hydraulic type power steering the thick tire and soft suspension settings can help absorb a lot of impact from bad road condition. Nowadays modern car all terbalik and expect more lastinghmm.gif
I don’t expect my civic steering rack in 20k change 3 racks to be more lasting. And I never turn max my steering until the end.

20k km with 3 faulty racks , I definitely expect it to be more lasting!
speedy3210
post Aug 8 2024, 06:05 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 8 2024, 05:21 PM)
I have heard & seen a lot of people think that modern cars with EPS is light, easy to turn and abuse it. Just google about "Dry Steering" even tho it is electric motor assist major components like gear, shalf, seals still similar with other power steering. Daily seen people turn max steering while idling, went thru corners & bad road condition at high speed and worse with those big heavy sport rims.  doh.gif Last time many cars use small sport rims, tire is thicker. So even use old hydraulic type power steering the thick tire and soft suspension settings can help absorb a lot of impact from bad road condition. Nowadays modern car all terbalik and expect more lasting.  hmm.gif
Will be interesting if someone has some statistics on the steering rack failure rate on Civic FE on both 215/55R16 and 235/40ZR18 tyre sizes.

off topic a bit. Used to test dry steering on 3 different tyre width on Iswara A/B with no power steering; 175, 185 and 195. 195 width is really almost impossible.to turn, need to have muscle to turn it. On 175, it is quite manageable. That's how much the extra stress on the power steering system with just extra 20mm tyre width.
lee82gx
post Aug 8 2024, 07:34 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

My Grand Livina with 10 years of EPS is trouble free. Similarly my old Myvi from 2006 and EPS is trouble free too, its now 18 years.

So, nothing to do with EPS or road condition. Honda is fcuking up royally and they just don't seem to want to solve this. I know for sure there is no major OEM that wants to solve something like this cannot solve it from just plainly buying any 10 year old 2nd hand Toyota or Nissan and reverse engineering it. My Honda has very fat tyres, smaller rims.

Yes, I too am going to change my steering rack on my Civic for the 3rd time imminently - that's if the Honda service ang kongs in my service center got the right mood to accept the claim.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Aug 8 2024, 07:35 PM
squareballs
post Aug 8 2024, 07:56 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Aug 8 2024, 07:34 PM)
My Grand Livina with 10 years of EPS is trouble free. Similarly my old Myvi from 2006 and EPS is trouble free too, its now 18 years.

So, nothing to do with EPS or road condition. Honda is fcuking up royally and they just don't seem to want to solve this. I know for sure there is no major OEM that wants to solve something like this cannot solve it from just plainly buying any 10 year old 2nd hand Toyota or Nissan and reverse engineering it.  My Honda has very fat tyres, smaller rims.

Yes, I too am going to change my steering rack on my Civic for the 3rd time imminently - that's if the Honda service ang kongs in my service center got the right mood to accept the claim.
Let’s say they let us change new rack for 3rd 4th time… after few months come back again

It’s just like husband curi makan with the same girl again and again after kena caught first time 😂

2 options
-Continue with the husband and close eye let him curi makan again and again, wife day day emo and geram
- divorce

This post has been edited by squareballs: Aug 8 2024, 07:57 PM
littlefire
post Aug 9 2024, 08:26 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Aug 8 2024, 07:05 PM)
Will be interesting if someone has some statistics on the steering rack failure rate on Civic FE on both 215/55R16 and 235/40ZR18 tyre sizes.

off topic a bit. Used to test dry steering on 3 different tyre width on Iswara A/B with no power steering; 175, 185 and 195. 195 width is really almost impossible.to turn, need to have muscle to turn it. On 175, it is quite manageable. That's how much the extra stress on the power steering system with just extra 20mm tyre width.
Yes, that why a lot of people think EPS is light then go turn here n there without care. If you driven cars without power steering you will know how stress the steering box with bigger, heavier sport rims and tire. Nowadays a lot of car manufacturer just want to get sales and go for outlook to trap those new owners, any issue they will use warranty to claim within the 5 years but after that your problem already. laugh.gif

I driven cars with no power steering like classic 71' VW beetle and also Kancil 660, like your experience. Original tire width only 165/80/R15 (VW), last time when i took over from my dad i pandai pandai go change 195/65/R15 due to some poor advice from tire shop, in the end i suffer for it. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by littlefire: Aug 9 2024, 08:39 AM

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:15 PM