Civic FE RS to Mazda 3 Liftback Ignite

lee82gx
post Aug 8 2024, 07:34 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

My Grand Livina with 10 years of EPS is trouble free. Similarly my old Myvi from 2006 and EPS is trouble free too, its now 18 years.

So, nothing to do with EPS or road condition. Honda is fcuking up royally and they just don't seem to want to solve this. I know for sure there is no major OEM that wants to solve something like this cannot solve it from just plainly buying any 10 year old 2nd hand Toyota or Nissan and reverse engineering it. My Honda has very fat tyres, smaller rims.

Yes, I too am going to change my steering rack on my Civic for the 3rd time imminently - that's if the Honda service ang kongs in my service center got the right mood to accept the claim.

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Aug 8 2024, 07:35 PM
lee82gx
post Aug 9 2024, 09:18 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Aug 8 2024, 06:05 PM)
Will be interesting if someone has some statistics on the steering rack failure rate on Civic FE on both 215/55R16 and 235/40ZR18 tyre sizes.

The only one who can produce reliable statistics on this is actually HONDA and the EPS system vendor themselves. Not sure how you expect anyone else to do that.

Anecdotally the only other 215/55r16 user Quazacolt and myself (the only 2 E-spec Honda Civic I am aware) both have suffered steering rack failure already, so lets call it 100% in my book.

Everyone else attribute to V and RS. So all also kaput aje lah. Why bother trying to help Honda if they don't want to help themselves? They already have a mountain of failure parts in their inventory. What statistic also can come out liao.

QUOTE(squareballs @ Aug 8 2024, 07:56 PM)
Let’s say they let us change new rack for 3rd 4th time… after few months come back again

It’s just like husband curi makan with the same girl again and again after kena caught first time 😂

2 options
-Continue with the husband and close eye let him curi makan again and again, wife day day emo and geram
- divorce
Fool me once, fool me twice eh.
Anger is definitely one way of dealing with grief, I have moved on to acceptance - just drive it and shut up....every few months go and claim steering rack and make fuss on internet haha.

Although I cannot rule out divorce too. Its always in the options.

BTW, I stupidly asked the salesman how is the FE steering rack compared to FC before buying, have they fixed it yet he didn't even blink and told me yes confirm. Bodohnyer aku.

But only left with Corolla Altis and that is suchhh a slugggggggg.......Got my eye on a Corolla Cross do you guys know if the power steering supplier is same?

This post has been edited by lee82gx: Aug 9 2024, 09:19 AM
lee82gx
post Aug 10 2024, 06:49 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 10 2024, 10:55 AM)

But, SUV hahaha.
Maybe CC hybrid is decent? If my experience on Honda HRV EHEV is anything close to CC hybrid
I have test driven the hybrid CC and it is super for 0-50 and immediately stalls.
Very comfortable seats (compared to ehem the worst car seats I have ever sat on the FE E-spec) and is decent across a bump.

All in all I only regret the size a little at the back.

Dislike the footbrake but its been resolved on the mini update.

lee82gx
post Aug 11 2024, 01:42 PM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 11 2024, 01:23 PM)
Thanks for the feedback.. good to hear your civic has no steering issue..

so far there's no test drive car for mazda 3.. SA offer to test the cx30 instead.. will arrange time to test it..
I’ve driven Cx-30 for a short 30 minute drive. Engine lacked oomph, well no engine beats the l15t under myr 160k. Otherwise a normal 2.0L NA affair.
Super cramped at the back (I am used to seating at the rear for work lunch) only small kids will be ok. Leg room and hip room is poor. Mazda 3 I suppose will be similar engine wise so as long as you are ok with the space and price it’s a fine looking car. So fine.
lee82gx
post Aug 20 2024, 09:24 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(heihei2 @ Aug 20 2024, 09:11 AM)
whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
toyota is having the exact same issue with steering rack too
from vios , veloz , corolla, camry, corolla cross semua kena
best part is toyota dont let u claim cite no improveeement even change new  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Can you cite example please?
lee82gx
post Aug 21 2024, 08:13 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(heihei2 @ Aug 20 2024, 10:00 AM)
u can go veloz n corolla group
they more willing to talk this issue  whistling.gif
i didn't go to Veloz group, but Corolla group everywhere I can't find any problem as widespread as Civic.
lee82gx
post Aug 21 2024, 11:30 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 21 2024, 10:51 AM)
I honestly find it hard to believe.

No way Toyota will let that prolong and tarnish their legendary reliability reputation? laugh.gif

But, not as widespread maybe because much fewer owners?
And/or unker less likely to viral stuff and would attempt to resolve issue behind closed doors.
In the US, no unker is ashamed to report Toyota problems.
my main attempts are Toyota nation forum based on US, which is a very large group. It is still the best selling US car afterall. NHTSA also has open logs of issues you can search.

https://m.carcomplaints.com/Toyota/Corolla/2023/ vs https://m.carcomplaints.com/Honda/Civic/2023/ vs https://m.carcomplaints.com/Honda/Civic/2017/

The same search for Toyota corolla nets less than 100 over the last decade.

The first thing we want to establish is whether the design is defective (affects the whole supply chain everywhere) and the above links prove it.

Only on the 2nd stage we want to establish whether it is a localized issue (Thailand Toyota factory vs Melaka factory) such as process or supplier issue. But once design is bad, no need to go and blame the process. Professionally speaking I will find the design team and ask for the root cause here.

0.0205sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:43 AM