Civic FE RS to Mazda 3 Liftback Ignite

Quazacolt
post Aug 8 2024, 03:16 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 8 2024, 02:50 PM)
How's Mazda 3? any well known issue for the current version? Just want a fun car to drive and less to zero headaches at least for 5 years.
i've posted a review on the Mazda 3 thread (in car clubs sub forum)
i personally think the CBU tax is not worth it, and the car overall is overhyped.

the dynamics is just not there and i prefer the CVT way more than the 6 speed slosh box. if i need to work on a car to reap the rewards of fun and engaging drive, i have a far better 3 pedal manual actual sports car.

that said, if you are not happy with the Civic, then you don't exactly have much choices between the Altis and the Mazda 3.
Quazacolt
post Aug 8 2024, 03:26 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Aug 8 2024, 03:23 PM)
have you test driven the Mazda?
can you accept the power first because you are coming from a more powerful car.
not just that, on D auto and tall gearing 6 speed, it'll tend to sit on higher gears and that elevates the lack of power issue.

comparatively, the CVT is constantly trying to keep in optimal power band under full boost max torque. so the end result is day and night difference when it comes to power and driving dynamics.

then that traditional shock absorbers and rear torsion beam. ugh. lol. the global model Civic FE is just leagues ahead. you only even look at the Mazda if you cannot Civic and/or CVT or steering rack.
Quazacolt
post Aug 8 2024, 03:44 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 8 2024, 03:39 PM)
true.. my max budget would be aroud 200k..

some friends asked me to have a look at china cars/ EVs, any recommendations?
not really, because i am biased against EV.

That said, Honda EHEV is fairly interesting. and touch wood, not sure if its because the new VGR steering, it doesn't share the same issue with Civic / City etc steering rack issue.

maybe used BMW 3 series? seem to fit the budget
Quazacolt
post Aug 8 2024, 05:09 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Aug 8 2024, 03:51 PM)
The rack issue has been long around on their entire catalogue of cars those build around after 2016. I'm on a 2nd steering rack on HRV. Just avoid this rubbish brand.
i'm co owning the Current latest HRV EHEV

no steering rack issue (yet) nod.gif smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 10 2024, 10:55 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Aug 9 2024, 09:18 AM)
But only left with Corolla Altis and that is suchhh a slugggggggg.......Got my eye on a Corolla Cross do you guys know if the power steering supplier is same?
Yeah I don't even have the motivation to even bother test driving the Altis lol
I don't buy into their (lackluster, mind I add) marketing lol

No idea on their power steering supplier, I assume different as never heard of CC faced issues.

But, SUV hahaha.
Maybe CC hybrid is decent? If my experience on Honda HRV EHEV is anything close to CC hybrid
Quazacolt
post Aug 13 2024, 11:09 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Aug 13 2024, 09:19 AM)
thank you for being honest my man. a lot of civic fe owners (especially in FB) try to deny this and hide under the carpet but in reality, the steering rack issue is widespread. on top of that, the seats are hard and uncomfortable.

i used to think what is the fuss about mazda (the current gen), but once I own one, i understood the hype. it just feels good and natural to drive, you'll forget about the power deficit. it may be a downgrade in term of power but upgrade in everything else.
i was a co owner, it was an issue but it only happened to me once, claim went smoothly, and even during the issue, it wasn't that big of an issue to me since i am pretty decent at adapting.

the seat was probably hard, but in comparison to my own car with semi buckets, it was pretty soft.
my wife generally will sit at rear seats and the rear of Civic was much better than the Mazda 3. but alas, the low sloping roof was a deal breaker when carrying our newborn to baby seat. the opportunity to buy over my bro in law HRV was that nail in the coffin.

now, i had the same thoughts as you about the Mazda 3. i went and test driven it, and in my opinion, it was overhype. i understood the hype, but the Civic drive train was way better and the CKD vs CBU too big of a gap to ignore.
no, i am not just referring the the engine power NA vs turbo, i am particularly referring to the CVT vs slosh box, steering input and output, suspensions etc, the Civic FE to me, was all better than the Mazda 3.

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 13 2024, 10:47 AM)
Thats why i opted to give up the power and just get something nicer to own.
so long your expectations are aligned, test driven Mazda 3 liftback extensively, satisfied, then it'll be good thumbup.gif
admittedly, NVH was much better than the CKD Civic. it is still my opinion the price difference is still not justifiable as aftermarket full car
sound proofing also don't need 30-40k+
Quazacolt
post Aug 14 2024, 08:25 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 14 2024, 07:45 PM)
. Though I must say Civic, Altis and Mazda 3 - all three of them have very distintive handling characteristic. One man's poison could be another's potion.
That's why I laid my disclaimers/pre face.

I don't need a half bucket that Mazda 3 is trying to do.
To me Civic FE is a better family car.
Quazacolt
post Aug 15 2024, 07:28 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Aug 14 2024, 07:45 PM)
Could the rims had really affect your driving experience? Base spec 16" to high spec 18" is quite a big jump
Actually, it would be fair for my experience because our Civic e spec was 16"
Mazda 16"

Ok la.
Quazacolt
post Aug 17 2024, 11:46 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 17 2024, 11:08 AM)
My car arrived yesterday at showroom.. less than a week after booking.
the moment i sit into the car, the comfortable seats already justify my decision  laugh.gif
Congratulations on your new car bro! thumbup.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 17 2024, 03:09 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Aug 17 2024, 01:48 PM)
always in my mind that those who buy mazda 3 = rich  cool2.gif  flex.gif
This is no joke bro
Literally minutes ago on this post today

And yeah, quite literally my GT86 also costed less laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 17 2024, 05:01 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Aug 17 2024, 03:43 PM)
I think this few months mazda 3 sales might up a bit.. thanks to civic racks issue  laugh.gif
Yeah Mazda (and Toyota) just picking dead chicken from Honda lol
Quazacolt
post Aug 18 2024, 10:49 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SasuKopa @ Aug 18 2024, 10:27 AM)
Second hand bmw is definitely out for me.

end of the day i picked mazda 3 liftback because i consider it as a 4 door MX5  laugh.gif
It's no where near being a 4 door MX5

MX5 is really a full fledged sports car, even to my disappointment (but that's my own issue that I had too high expectations, and bias favouring my own car)
Quazacolt
post Aug 19 2024, 10:19 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

I'll stand firm that a car accident or not have nothing to do with torsion beam or multi link.

It's all the driver.
Quazacolt
post Aug 21 2024, 10:51 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Aug 21 2024, 08:13 AM)
Corolla group everywhere I can't find any problem as widespread as Civic.
I honestly find it hard to believe.

No way Toyota will let that prolong and tarnish their legendary reliability reputation? laugh.gif

But, not as widespread maybe because much fewer owners?
And/or unker less likely to viral stuff and would attempt to resolve issue behind closed doors.
Quazacolt
post Aug 21 2024, 04:51 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Aug 21 2024, 01:52 PM)
publish the shop name, address. We'll judge actual reputable pro or bawah pokok ourselves...
I know who. Lol

And that's all I'll say. Anymore (from whoever , regardless) would be just a dumpster fire
Quazacolt
post Aug 28 2024, 03:43 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Aug 28 2024, 10:29 AM)
there is more to handling than just rear torsion beam... gotta drive it to feel it... not just looked at specs... also it can suck in one car and excel in another... gotta look at the whole package...
i did and i prefer the Civic's suspension much more.

not because of rear multilink, more to how the Mazda 3 seems to be on standard outdated absorbers, which the Civic already have bypass valve built into it. it handles high speed compression/rebounds WAY better than the Mazda 3.
Quazacolt
post Aug 30 2024, 11:05 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Aug 30 2024, 10:44 PM)
For the most part, it can be better than stock. But can't beat good design from factory R&D.

There is just one thing they can't do, also most important to get clean sound. (at least 99% of the shop, with rare exception the shop has sound engineer worked in the major OEM before).
Which is tune the delay/phase of each speaker, so that they superposition reaching the ear together.
Then way from drivers/passengers cancel each other, minimize sound wave bouncing of the cabin.

Have you seen any accessories shop but a stereo microphone with dummy human ears shape + spectrum analyzer to measure the waveform?
At least I never.
Are you referring to time alignment?
Quazacolt
post Aug 31 2024, 01:07 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Aug 31 2024, 09:01 AM)
You can summarize as that...

You seen shop with that capability?
My area can calibrate the volume balance among all speakers very geng already. Most ah beng accessories shop just install, as long as punchy more base many people happy already.

Some OEM lower end also didn't calibrate the timing per specific car

When push high volume, very very noisy, sound no longer clean. Also the option to center at driver, or single passenger, all got very little change, don'tfeels real. My car is very obvious sitting right at middle of band vs first row of the stsge vs sit far way from stage.

I only seen one home theater professionally done that. Got to know one install case, the owner get modern 5.x.x DSP, not sure what he uses for the ceiling/sky channel. Each of the 5 goes to one B&W 803. Not sure what he use for the subwoofer channel, maybe not need already with the 803. Now got higher end Nautilus, don't know the uncle upgrade or not...
Bro, reputable accessories shop has been doing that at least 15 to even 20 years lol.

Yes they also have sonic or spectrometer tools while doing their tuning.

I was into ICE before into automotive (interest, maintenance, etc) in general (even before Motorsports)

0.0272sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:38 AM