Civic FE RS to Mazda 3 Liftback Ignite

squareballs
post Aug 8 2024, 04:18 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 8 2024, 04:04 PM)
If you think steering rack issue only for Honda, your gonna be wrong. All electrical type steering rack if driven harsh also will encounter issue, just google and go read in forums, Mazda, Toyota electric type steering rack been piling with claims and repair also.
but is it as frequent as Honda civic's rack?
My FE only 20k mileage, going soon for my 4th claim.. Even product recall rack by Honda, just changed in April now defect again
squareballs
post Aug 8 2024, 06:04 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Aug 8 2024, 05:21 PM)
I have heard & seen a lot of people think that modern cars with EPS is light, easy to turn and abuse it. Just google about "Dry Steering" even tho it is electric motor assist major components like gear, shalf, seals still similar with other power steering. Daily seen people turn max steering while idling, went thru corners & bad road condition at high speed and worse with those big heavy sport rims.  doh.gif Last time many cars use small sport rims, tire is thicker. So even use old hydraulic type power steering the thick tire and soft suspension settings can help absorb a lot of impact from bad road condition. Nowadays modern car all terbalik and expect more lastinghmm.gif
I don’t expect my civic steering rack in 20k change 3 racks to be more lasting. And I never turn max my steering until the end.

20k km with 3 faulty racks , I definitely expect it to be more lasting!
squareballs
post Aug 8 2024, 07:56 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Aug 8 2024, 07:34 PM)
My Grand Livina with 10 years of EPS is trouble free. Similarly my old Myvi from 2006 and EPS is trouble free too, its now 18 years.

So, nothing to do with EPS or road condition. Honda is fcuking up royally and they just don't seem to want to solve this. I know for sure there is no major OEM that wants to solve something like this cannot solve it from just plainly buying any 10 year old 2nd hand Toyota or Nissan and reverse engineering it.  My Honda has very fat tyres, smaller rims.

Yes, I too am going to change my steering rack on my Civic for the 3rd time imminently - that's if the Honda service ang kongs in my service center got the right mood to accept the claim.
Let’s say they let us change new rack for 3rd 4th time… after few months come back again

It’s just like husband curi makan with the same girl again and again after kena caught first time 😂

2 options
-Continue with the husband and close eye let him curi makan again and again, wife day day emo and geram
- divorce

This post has been edited by squareballs: Aug 8 2024, 07:57 PM
squareballs
post Aug 10 2024, 12:32 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 10 2024, 10:55 AM)
Yeah I don't even have the motivation to even bother test driving the Altis lol
I don't buy into their (lackluster, mind I add) marketing lol

No idea on their power steering supplier, I assume different as never heard of CC faced issues.

But, SUV hahaha.
Maybe CC hybrid is decent? If my experience on Honda HRV EHEV is anything close to CC hybrid
From a civic to Altis.. I rather drive back my FE with sticky rack 😅

This post has been edited by squareballs: Aug 10 2024, 12:32 PM
squareballs
post Aug 17 2024, 01:48 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Aug 17 2024, 12:22 PM)
Bro, ive had a cx30 (same engine with m3) before and trust me, its not worth the price.

Engine feels underpowered, poor efficiency and small rear room.
I think TS mentioned he doesnt mind the power and small rear room..
He basically lost faith to his civic RS lol

When someone would rather spend more to get a smaller/slower car, we already know how bad the civic's rack is bothering him..

To TS, enjoy your new ride! always in my mind that those who buy mazda 3 = rich cool2.gif flex.gif
squareballs
post Aug 17 2024, 03:43 PM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 17 2024, 03:09 PM)
This is no joke bro
[attachmentid=11501162]
Literally minutes ago on this post today

And yeah, quite literally my GT86 also costed less laugh.gif
I think this few months mazda 3 sales might up a bit.. thanks to civic racks issue laugh.gif
squareballs
post Sep 4 2024, 11:13 AM

4,331 posts

So TS, how's the car so far?

i'm tempted too to sell of my civic..
squareballs
post Sep 4 2024, 11:32 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 4 2024, 11:18 AM)
many owner done this after own it for a year, they dont feel safe with this annoying Steering rack. one of it is my buddy, last time he own CX5 2.5T, then this pop up engine oil come out at 4k or 5k km interval ( resemblance of his old Audi) then let go, buy Civic FE. Own 1 year letgo cz stering rack. now owning Tesla.
I've seen people saying online to skip one gen for the civic.

FD (Great)
FB (Not so great)
FC (Great)
FE (Worst in my opinion)

I dont remember seeing so much rack issue on FC, thats why bought the FE... mana tahu laugh.gif

squareballs
post Sep 4 2024, 11:58 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 4 2024, 11:39 AM)
was hoping HM can do something great for the rack issue, recall but with different, major improvement of rack parts etc, but they seem no bother. 2014-15 last time, had braking juddering issues for all HM model, again no improvement being made. This was norm for the stock brakepad that made in Thai one. Solution, change aftermarket brakepad.

hopefully there are indeed workshop/3rd party/ OEM that able to offer better, reliable steering rack than from HM. Pity those who letgo all take lost price cz they fed up with rack issue
https://www.facebook.com/share/p/FqsT4bC6xNt96Qj8/

Saw some regrease the rack part.. Not sure if that will permanently solve it.

But i believe once we temper with the rack, HM will void the rack warranty

0.0147sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:57 AM