Geely’s new battery boasts 50-year service life, 3,500 charge cycles

Tariq_H
post Jul 4 2024, 11:49 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(Atrocious @ Jul 4 2024, 11:39 AM)
That's just a battery, it's not whether it can last 50 or 500 years, it's whether YOU HAVE ANOTHER 50 YEARS TO LIVE NOT? Lol...
It translate to high resale value, or pass down to children
yhtan
post Jul 4 2024, 11:50 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(malaozhai @ Jul 4 2024, 07:53 AM)
will kebabooom?
blade battery won't kaboom

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jul 4 2024, 08:57 AM)
Yes.

Geely announce the galaxy E5 will be getting this latest Aegis LFP battery pack. Latest tech.

BYD current blade battery oso lose. Their version/mach 2 only on par in density with this battery. Only gonna be mass produce in their new car by end of the year or early mext year.
So is Proton getting this?

If selling at price around RM80k then it is a real bargain liao
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 11:51 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 12:45 PM)
i need a car that travel outstation frequently for family holiday without additional hassle

charging a night at home is barely enough for that usage
That’s why when I talk to Ora Good Cat salesman, he was honest in saying if you need to travel a lot, it’s still better to have ICE cars. EV is more suitable for city driving like going to office or shopping.

The BYD salesman said if you want to use EV for long distance traveling, you need to do a lot of research planning ahead as we are not like China where charging is available everywhere.
PowerSlide
post Jul 4 2024, 11:52 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(trix @ Jul 4 2024, 11:35 AM)
guess what, you can also hypermile with ev
Anytime these how many litre/100km or what is laughable, have to drive slower than snail and drive on highway lol

Drive in start stop traffic what great consumption also gone
Atrocious
post Jul 4 2024, 11:54 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(Tariq_H @ Jul 4 2024, 11:49 AM)
It translate to high resale value, or pass down to children
Sadly, there's nothing high value to look forward to.. Even the chinese drivers themselves are disgusted with EV..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tJCb3MkOgEg

Pass down to children? Lol. Don't joke.. You wouldn't even want to drive your proton wira for 50 years if its not sold off.. Lol.
Tariq_H
post Jul 4 2024, 11:55 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Jul 4 2024, 11:51 AM)
That’s why when I talk to Ora Good Cat salesman, he was honest in saying if you need to travel a lot, it’s still better to have ICE cars. EV is more suitable for city driving like going to office or shopping.

The BYD salesman said if you want to use EV for long distance traveling, you need to do a lot of research planning ahead as we are not like China where charging is available everywhere.
Most travel long distance less then 10 times a year. Better rent a car for that purpose.
spectrum17
post Jul 4 2024, 11:58 AM

66 posts

unless ev charges 300km in 3 mins.
msacras
post Jul 4 2024, 12:14 PM

1,767 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 11:45 AM)
i need a car that travel outstation frequently for family holiday without additional hassle

charging a night at home is barely enough for that usage
Family holiday tak kan you no stop at RnR for rests?
KevProp
post Jul 4 2024, 12:14 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Jul 4 2024, 11:51 AM)

Ora salesman speaking the cold hard truth and alternate solution which is honest

BYD salesman is merely giving a heads-up hoping you could buy into it, anyway a lot of charging stations does not cut short the charging duration which is the main point. Some salesman i've met even propose that not necessary to charge until 80% (20mins) per session if busy but that also means I need to plan for another session again? Pening la itu maciam.

TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 12:16 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 01:14 PM)
Ora salesman speaking the cold hard truth and alternate solution which is honest

BYD salesman is merely giving a heads-up hoping you could buy into it, anyway a lot of charging stations does not cut short the charging duration which is the main point. Some salesman i've met even propose that not necessary to charge until 80% (20mins) per session if busy but that also means I need to plan for another session again? Pening la itu maciam.
That’s why the BYD salesman said you need to do planning first if you want to travel outstation.

However, if it’s for daily city driving, it’s not much of problem as you just need to sacrifice 1 hour every week to charge. Can just go shopping mall lepak 1 hour and kaotim
kel32
post Jul 4 2024, 12:20 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 12:14 PM)

Thai consumer body investigates BYD over aggressive discounts

Win the battle, lose the WAR
https://www.wapcar.my/news/thai-consumer-bo...discounts-80347
KevProp
post Jul 4 2024, 12:23 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Jul 4 2024, 12:14 PM)
Family holiday tak kan you no stop at RnR for rests?
Nope, because i dun like the food at R&R and we stop for WC only.

And why should I plan to go makan place that cater for the EV? LOL

So conclusion we are not willing to sacrifice for the EV. We only could use as little time as possible just to get a vehicle working to get us to the place that we wanted to go, not the other way round.
KevProp
post Jul 4 2024, 12:28 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Jul 4 2024, 12:16 PM)
That’s why the BYD salesman said you need to do planning first if you want to travel outstation.

However, if it’s for daily city driving, it’s not much of problem as you just need to sacrifice 1 hour every week to charge. Can just go shopping mall lepak 1 hour and kaotim
You can see my reply above.

Holiday with family is planning for the family

As for city drive, yes this I agree but I don't need that charger at mall. I have a landed house but then we are talking about outstation.
KevProp
post Jul 4 2024, 12:30 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(kel32 @ Jul 4 2024, 12:20 PM)
Thai consumer body investigates BYD over aggressive discounts

I believe a lot more discount incoming, wait until year end and see with more and more EV brand coming out.

TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 12:32 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 01:28 PM)
You can see my reply above.

Holiday with family is planning for the family

As for city drive, yes this I agree but I don't need that charger at mall. I have a landed house but then we are talking about outstation.
Like I say before it’s not totally undoable but just need to do planning first

It’s also changing your habit on driving. If you’re not people who are willing to change, then EV is out of the question
emburrar
post Jul 4 2024, 12:35 PM

14 posts

Next potong emas
aLittleMisfit
post Jul 4 2024, 12:39 PM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

say no to geely
KevProp
post Jul 4 2024, 12:46 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Jul 4 2024, 12:32 PM)
Like I say before it’s not totally undoable but just need to do planning first

It’s also changing your habit on driving. If you’re not people who are willing to change, then EV is out of the question
I am willing to change for the family but not for current EV tech and infra.

I am willing to change if EV charging is on par as ICE vehicle refueling. Accessibility and convenient.

Yes, the planning is OK for other but not for my family and me.
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 01:14 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 01:46 PM)
I am willing to change for the family but not for current EV tech and infra.

I am willing to change if EV charging is on par as ICE vehicle refueling. Accessibility and convenient.

Yes, the planning is OK for other but not for my family and me.
That’s why I say it’s a change of habit. I doubt the tech will be as fast as like pumping petrol but I think in the future a much shorter time of 10 minutes might be more realistic.

If petrol price is floated and we don’t get cheap petrol anymore, people will have to more or less change their habit too.
pisces88
post Jul 4 2024, 01:16 PM

3,970 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Jul 4 2024, 07:59 AM)
Why every thing must super fast charging ..
now ppl always takut no time to charge, no place to charge. if terus kasi u 1000, 1500km mileage per charge, syok leh

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0142sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:45 AM