Geely’s new battery boasts 50-year service life, 3,500 charge cycles

pisces88
post Jul 4 2024, 01:17 PM

3,970 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 12:30 PM)
I believe a lot more discount incoming, wait until year end and see with more and more EV brand coming out.
next year best time to buy ev. when perodua launch their own ev, and MITI remove the rm100k cap for new cbu ev then prices all come down.
Roman Catholic
post Jul 4 2024, 01:23 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 12:46 PM)
I am willing to change for the family but not for current EV tech and infra.

I am willing to change if EV charging is on par as ICE vehicle refueling. Accessibility and convenient.

Yes, the planning is OK for other but not for my family and me.
Charging EV and refueling ICE will never be on par due to huge differences in their energy density.
CoffeeDude
post Jul 4 2024, 01:29 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Jul 4 2024, 08:13 AM)
People only use car for 10 years

50 years for what?

Owai
After 10 years transfer the battery to another car.

Same battery use for 5 cars.
X3r0
post Jul 4 2024, 02:12 PM

122 posts

I wonder why some people even feel pressure to consider EV when it doesn't suit their lifestyle?

Can go with ICE car just need to bear with higher petrol prices in the near future.

ICE is here to stay, at least for our lifetime. EV is not meant for everyone, just alternative for people who wants and can afford to try something different.
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 02:16 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(X3r0 @ Jul 4 2024, 03:12 PM)
I wonder why some people even feel pressure to consider EV when it doesn't suit their lifestyle?

Can go with ICE car just need to bear with higher petrol prices in the near future.

ICE is here to stay, at least for our lifetime. EV is not meant for everyone, just alternative for people who wants and can afford to try something different.
It’s up to them to adopt EV. If they feel they like it and can change their lifestyle to accommodate EV, then what is wrong? Nobody put a gun on your head to buy EV. So why the criticism on EV buyers?
SUSifourtos
post Jul 4 2024, 02:19 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Jul 4 2024, 08:13 AM)
People only use car for 10 years

50 years for what?

Owai
Energy Storage Tech Main Facing Market is not EV.
EV battery is just a "By-product" of ESS market.

The last puzzle to perfect Solar ( free energy ) is Battery.
They are the bigger pusher for Battery Tech.

Giga Capacity
Full Charge Discharge Every Day
High Power Output
And need ultra long working life

These Giga Farm are pushing Battery Tech go extreme. Not EV
ceras
post Jul 4 2024, 02:26 PM

649 posts

Lasting 50 years sounds fantastic, but how many consumers want that? I don't want to be driving my car for 50 years Range is more important than lifespan. How about 2000km range per charging cycle lasting 15 years? This will be more than sufficient and ideal.

This post has been edited by ceras: Jul 4 2024, 02:26 PM
abelyap
post Jul 4 2024, 02:33 PM

235 posts

Lepas ni USA tax 200%
SuperTuhan
post Jul 4 2024, 02:39 PM

279 posts

i am very interested in the battery
then can use in campervan
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 02:42 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(ceras @ Jul 4 2024, 03:26 PM)
Lasting 50 years sounds fantastic, but how many consumers want that? I don't want to be driving my car for 50 years Range is more important than lifespan. How about 2000km range per charging cycle lasting 15 years? This will be more than sufficient and ideal.
The 50 years is sort of marketing talk lah. Today the fear is you need to change the batteries after just a few years. This 50 year gives some assurance that you don’t have to change the battery anymore
pornoman2128
post Jul 4 2024, 02:42 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(spectrum17 @ Jul 4 2024, 11:58 AM)
unless ev charges 300km in 3 mins.

In 8 months, CATL improved their EV battery charging speed from 400kms in 10 mins to 600kms in 10 mins.
What you're asking for might be achievable by the end of this year.

So now you have free energy (from the sun) extracted by panels which lasts 20-30 years, which is then stored in batteries lasting 50 years, which is then 90%-99% recyclable.
Is this not revolutionary? When the world has this tech, we can finally stop the wars and exploitation over control of oil.

milky12388
post Jul 4 2024, 02:46 PM

108 posts

50 years sure or not, has it gone throught test of time with 50 years?
diffyhelman2
post Jul 4 2024, 02:50 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jul 4 2024, 01:29 PM)
After 10 years transfer the battery to another car.

Same battery use for 5 cars.
More like the battery is recycled/repurposed for home or industrial solar energy storage which is already done with current old ev batteries.

This post has been edited by diffyhelman2: Jul 4 2024, 02:51 PM
DarkNite
post Jul 4 2024, 03:02 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(X3r0 @ Jul 4 2024, 02:12 PM)

Some ppl mahu gaya.
See the numerous Vellfire/Alphard being rented out during balik Kampung?

ICE will evolve. No need wait a lifetime.
By 2030, and with further improvements to battery technology, we will know where the car industry will be heading.
Jasonist
post Jul 4 2024, 03:14 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

say is impressive.. later recall pulak
new in IT
post Jul 4 2024, 03:35 PM

378 posts

Nothing mentioned on hot climate like in MY.

Probably not suitable in MY.
pornoman2128
post Jul 4 2024, 04:35 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(malaozhai @ Jul 4 2024, 07:53 AM)
will kebabooom?
This guys says its the safest EV battery in the world right now.
They throw it in seawater, throw it in 1000C fire, simultaneously puncture it at 8 places and wait for 1 hour, shot it with a 5.8mm bullet and drove a 26 ton steamroller on it.

They might as well build an APC with this battery.

B0ss_ku
post Jul 4 2024, 04:37 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Jul 4 2024, 08:09 AM)
Fast charging not enough, consumer want instant charging comparable to refuelling petrol.  tongue.gif
Just design universal battery shape and size for all EV and easily detachable design. everybody go EV station to swap new battery.
B0ss_ku
post Jul 4 2024, 04:39 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(pornoman2128 @ Jul 4 2024, 02:42 PM)

In 8 months, CATL improved their EV battery charging speed from 400kms in 10 mins to 600kms in 10 mins.
What you're asking for might be achievable by the end of this year.

So now you have free energy (from the sun) extracted by panels which lasts 20-30 years, which is then stored in batteries lasting 50 years, which is then 90%-99% recyclable.
Is this not revolutionary? When the world has this tech, we can finally stop the wars and exploitation over control of oil.
So no more oil money to earn from

Malaysia economy to the gutter
katijar
post Jul 4 2024, 04:44 PM

2,294 posts

Why ppl like ev so much

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0150sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:34 PM