Geely’s new battery boasts 50-year service life, 3,500 charge cycles

TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 07:48 AM, updated 2y ago

269 posts

Chinese giant Geely has unveiled its new LFP battery cell, featuring 192 Wh/kg energy density, a 50-year service life, rapid charging to 80% in under 20 minutes, and minimal capacity loss in cold weather.

This technology, akin to iron phosphate batteries used in Tesla’s base Model 3 and popular power stations like the Anker SOLIX F1200, addresses various concerns about electric cars beyond their price.

The battery excels with 3,500 charge cycles, equivalent to about a million kilometers, surpassing the high internal resistance of long blade batteries supplied by BYD to Tesla.

The Chinese company also added that its LFP battery promises significant benefits for the used electric car market, as EVs could maintain performance over more than 600,000 miles with minimal capacity loss. This durability equates to approximately 50 years of service life, considering average annual driving distances.

Moreover, Geely’s adoption of carbon nanotubes and enhanced cover film accelerates the movement of lithium ions, achieving an impressive charging time of just 17 minutes to bring the battery from 10% to 80% capacity.

Due to improved ion transfer, Geely’s Aegis Short Blade Battery experiences only a 10% range loss in extremely cold conditions, matching CATL’s fast-charging LFP cell introduced last year.

Interestingly, CATL, the world’s largest battery maker, is pursuing EV batteries capable of lasting a million miles. They have partnered with NIO to offer 15-year warranties on EVs.

Geely will initially deploy its new LFP cells in Galaxy E5 SUVs before making them available to other customers. To guarantee the durability of the short-blade LFP battery, Geely subjected it to rigorous tests: exposure to open flames, puncturing with nails, rolling over, submersion in corrosive seawater, and operation in freezing conditions.

According to the company, the thermally resistant separator and self-healing electrode technology passed all durability tests with flying colors, paving the way for EVs with a 50-year battery service life.

Meanwhile, GAC Toyota’s upcoming Bozhi 3X SUV will be the first EV to feature self-driving tech, marking an exciting development. Toyota has also committed to updating its current EV lineup, with the bZ4X electric crossover set for enhancements between 2026 and 2027.

As part of this launch, Toyota will also introduce an autonomous driving system capable of navigating highways, urban settings, and providing parking assistance.

Additionally, Toyota is developing an LiFePO4 EV battery that could potentially reduce the production cost of the bZ4X by up to 40%. Whether these savings will be passed on to consumers remains uncertain, but it highlights Toyota’s renewed commitment to advancing EV technology.

https://interestingengineering.com/energy/g...m=article_image
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 08:26 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Kasawari 2 @ Jul 4 2024, 09:18 AM)
Right. Everything from CCP mouth is talk only, cannot be trusted.
You sure it’s all talk only?
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 08:37 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Capt. Marble @ Jul 4 2024, 09:31 AM)
Will we be getting it in our Proton eMas-erati 7?
Said deploying on the Galaxy E5 SUVs which is our Proton EV right? Right? Or we getting our bateri from eveready? Sekali pakai habis, buang semua, buy batteri from Mr DIY to replace sebiji-sebiji.

Why Toyota tumpang the article at the end?
It’s about Toyota EV. So it’s related to EV news
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 08:48 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Moderna @ Jul 4 2024, 09:40 AM)
True. We’ve seen this time and time again!
When?
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 08:54 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(kel32 @ Jul 4 2024, 09:51 AM)
EV techs not yet matured, as ICE been around for 120 years
It’s just a matter of adoption. If everyone say it’s not matured and wait and see, it will actually slow down the tech development. That’s why EV was going nowhere until Tesla came out. Then China began mass adoption and we see the rapid changes today.
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 09:20 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 10:17 AM)
Agreed.

IMHO, hybrid market will boom first then only EV once they have solve the charging duration & infrastructure

Sometimes I also feel lazy to refill my ICE car LOL so i aint goin to wait 20min to charge the EV
It depends. Like my neighbour. He will take 1 hour every week to charge his EV. It’s his me time away from wife and kids. LOL
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 09:38 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Jul 4 2024, 10:36 AM)
After discharge, battery become lighter?
Same analogy like petrol tank?
Is your hand phone lighter when battery is low?

This post has been edited by 30624770: Jul 4 2024, 09:38 AM
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 09:44 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Jul 4 2024, 10:41 AM)
Apparently yes
Make sense?
It’s negligible decrease where you can’t really feel it
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 10:01 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Jul 4 2024, 10:47 AM)
Do you think Geely will break through the technology on weight reduction after discharge?
I think the weight of battery for EV is not the biggest priority.

The priority is longevity and fast charging.

Anyone that can reduce the charging time to 10 minutes and below will be a big game changer
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 10:28 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Moderna @ Jul 4 2024, 11:21 AM)
Remember Wuhan and how China denied COVID at first!
Did China denied?

It was a new disease and they were unsure how it was spread.

Once they were certain of how it spread, they immediately lock down. All that within 2 weeks from discovery.

They shared with WHO back in end Dec about emergence of new disease.

From discovery on 31 Dec 2019 to 11 Jan 2020, they managed to share the genetic sequence.

TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 10:35 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Moderna @ Jul 4 2024, 11:30 AM)
Yea right! Cool story bro!
Cool story? It’s all on WHO and CDC website lah.

You can Google chronology of covid and the same thing will appear.

TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 10:41 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Modasatan @ Jul 4 2024, 11:37 AM)
i am confused, 3500 cycles, if charges once per day, then isnt it less than 10 years?
1 cycle is considered as 0 to 100.

If you do charging everyday, it’s never 0 to 100.

If you really need to charge everyday from 0 to 100, can you really say it’s not lasting enough if it’s 10 years?

This post has been edited by 30624770: Jul 4 2024, 10:41 AM
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 10:53 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Modasatan @ Jul 4 2024, 11:44 AM)
thks for explaination, but why battery charges between 40~80% not degrading the battery? but charging 0% to 100% degrades it more?
This is my understanding. So, you might need to confirm with EV salespeople.

40-80% does not mean no degrading to the battery. It just degrades less.

It says 3500 time. So, only when your recharging is total up to 100%, it is considered as reduced to 3499.

Of course, it's all estimate. Real life usage will of course be different.
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 10:54 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Tariq_H @ Jul 4 2024, 11:53 AM)
Charge overnight at home is not an option?
If you stay in condo and there's no EV charging port, it is not an option
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 11:05 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jul 4 2024, 12:03 PM)
Biasa la Tesla/ BYD brag their EV car can go to 600++km.
Real life around 500km.
ICE cars also do the same thing lar. Can anyone really achieve the so called fuel consumption they advertise?
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 11:51 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 12:45 PM)
i need a car that travel outstation frequently for family holiday without additional hassle

charging a night at home is barely enough for that usage
That’s why when I talk to Ora Good Cat salesman, he was honest in saying if you need to travel a lot, it’s still better to have ICE cars. EV is more suitable for city driving like going to office or shopping.

The BYD salesman said if you want to use EV for long distance traveling, you need to do a lot of research planning ahead as we are not like China where charging is available everywhere.
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 12:16 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 01:14 PM)
Ora salesman speaking the cold hard truth and alternate solution which is honest

BYD salesman is merely giving a heads-up hoping you could buy into it, anyway a lot of charging stations does not cut short the charging duration which is the main point. Some salesman i've met even propose that not necessary to charge until 80% (20mins) per session if busy but that also means I need to plan for another session again? Pening la itu maciam.
That’s why the BYD salesman said you need to do planning first if you want to travel outstation.

However, if it’s for daily city driving, it’s not much of problem as you just need to sacrifice 1 hour every week to charge. Can just go shopping mall lepak 1 hour and kaotim
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 12:32 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 01:28 PM)
You can see my reply above.

Holiday with family is planning for the family

As for city drive, yes this I agree but I don't need that charger at mall. I have a landed house but then we are talking about outstation.
Like I say before it’s not totally undoable but just need to do planning first

It’s also changing your habit on driving. If you’re not people who are willing to change, then EV is out of the question
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 01:14 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(KevProp @ Jul 4 2024, 01:46 PM)
I am willing to change for the family but not for current EV tech and infra.

I am willing to change if EV charging is on par as ICE vehicle refueling. Accessibility and convenient.

Yes, the planning is OK for other but not for my family and me.
That’s why I say it’s a change of habit. I doubt the tech will be as fast as like pumping petrol but I think in the future a much shorter time of 10 minutes might be more realistic.

If petrol price is floated and we don’t get cheap petrol anymore, people will have to more or less change their habit too.
TS30624770
post Jul 4 2024, 02:16 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(X3r0 @ Jul 4 2024, 03:12 PM)
I wonder why some people even feel pressure to consider EV when it doesn't suit their lifestyle?

Can go with ICE car just need to bear with higher petrol prices in the near future.

ICE is here to stay, at least for our lifetime. EV is not meant for everyone, just alternative for people who wants and can afford to try something different.
It’s up to them to adopt EV. If they feel they like it and can change their lifestyle to accommodate EV, then what is wrong? Nobody put a gun on your head to buy EV. So why the criticism on EV buyers?

0.0164sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:02 PM