Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1
clemong_888
Jan 20 2009, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Jan 20 2009, 12:21 PM) Guys, i just want to ask about the taxi in japan. Im planning to visit tsukiji Fish Market on tour and the tour start at 4am. The only trasnport on that time is a Taxi.So, roughly how much should i pay if i want to take a taxi from Asakusa(my hotel place) to Ginza(meeting point)? with premium charge(midnight rates) 2000-3000yen maybe??
PsyCHZZZ
Jan 20 2009, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Jan 20 2009, 12:21 PM) Guys, i just want to ask about the taxi in japan. Im planning to visit tsukiji Fish Market on tour and the tour start at 4am. The only trasnport on that time is a Taxi.So, roughly how much should i pay if i want to take a taxi from Asakusa(my hotel place) to Ginza(meeting point)? If you're not alone that time and with a few friends - I would advice that you stay up all the way till 4am  There's PLENTY of things to do in Ginza (just grab a drink and chat in a yakitori bar or go karaoke or lepak at family restaurant) and wait till 4am. Save you the transportation money and a gives you a different experience as well. Just a suggestion.
wchpeng
Jan 29 2009, 03:41 AM
QUOTE(laksaUTARA @ Oct 25 2008, 11:57 AM) ahahah that means i on budget trip.. eventhough i prefer backpack .... seem to be i have to settle down for trip... but let say for backpack in japan... is RM6K is enuff or maybe 10K is enuff...???? i really keen to go for backpack in JAPAN... next trip maybe in AUS...hhahahahahah.... Hi, i used to travel to Japan by backpack and we only spend about RM6k for 2 adults and 2 toddlers in Japan, incl of hotel, train, food, entrance ticket... excl air ticket and shopping only. we spend a total of 8 nights in Tokyo. Japan is not as expensive as what you thought.
bongo
Jan 29 2009, 08:26 AM

QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Jan 20 2009, 12:21 PM) Guys, i just want to ask about the taxi in japan. Im planning to visit tsukiji Fish Market on tour and the tour start at 4am. The only trasnport on that time is a Taxi.So, roughly how much should i pay if i want to take a taxi from Asakusa(my hotel place) to Ginza(meeting point)? Asakusa to Tsukiji is pretty far. By train itself will take probably 10-12 stops including changing line to Hibiya line. Asakusa to Ginza is probably the same. I know you are interested in the tuna auction which starts early. I personally haven't been to the tuna auction but I think you still got a shot at it if u can take the earliest train, 5.45am. Taxi itself will probably cost more than 2500....
matt85
Jan 29 2009, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(bongo @ Jan 29 2009, 09:26 AM) Asakusa to Tsukiji is pretty far. By train itself will take probably 10-12 stops including changing line to Hibiya line. Asakusa to Ginza is probably the same. I know you are interested in the tuna auction which starts early. I personally haven't been to the tuna auction but I think you still got a shot at it if u can take the earliest train, 5.45am. Taxi itself will probably cost more than 2500.... Isn't the tuna auction starting at 5am ? Train tak sempat. 2 ways; taxi or Psychzz's way (if you have friends with you)
babytensai
Jan 29 2009, 06:27 PM

QUOTE(wchpeng @ Jan 29 2009, 03:41 AM) Hi, i used to travel to Japan by backpack and we only spend about RM6k for 2 adults and 2 toddlers in Japan, incl of hotel, train, food, entrance ticket... excl air ticket and shopping only. we spend a total of 8 nights in Tokyo. Japan is not as expensive as what you thought.  How much was ur air ticket to japan for adults? I just went 2 HK n I spent around 3k for 4 days 4 nites in HK. I hope 2 go 2 Japan too, but need 2 save a few years more 1st. Heard its super expensive over there.
wchpeng
Jan 29 2009, 09:54 PM
we are traveling MAS, you can always check out their promo fare which is about within RM3k for a return ticket, incl of fuel charge.
Japan is not expensive when you compare with HK. hotel in Japan is much cheaper and the $$ for food also about the same, RM1x per meal ...
bonzaimy
Jan 30 2009, 04:37 AM
I get return to Narita around RM2300..hhehehe..so cheap..book with MAS
jessie_80
Feb 2 2009, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(bonzaimy @ Jan 20 2009, 12:21 PM) Guys, i just want to ask about the taxi in japan. Im planning to visit tsukiji Fish Market on tour and the tour start at 4am. The only trasnport on that time is a Taxi.So, roughly how much should i pay if i want to take a taxi from Asakusa(my hotel place) to Ginza(meeting point)? hi, how much is the tour - tsukiji Fish Market? u have any details? i interested to go too... thanks
cshong
Feb 6 2009, 10:52 PM
QUOTE(supernothing @ Dec 5 2007, 03:18 PM) applying a japan visa i had to provide 1. an invitation letter (i was visiting my brother) from relative there (together with their alien IC/passport copy). if no relative then have to state your purpose in a letter i guess. or company letter for your business trip. 2. company letter that states i am an employee (they don't want you to go there unemployed and looking for jobs on visiting visa). 3. copy of bank account/latest credit card bill that has more than RM8k balance. trust fund account also can. 4. copy of flight information. e-tix or the ticket itself. 5. copy IC/birth certs/marriege certs. IC is enough if you're not married (i dont remember). 6. copy of hotel/accommodation information if any. 7. passport. i'll update the list if i remember anything else. it's a chore to provide them with all that. but when i arrived, it was all worth it. japan treated me well. really dont mind doing it all over again. hehe Wow. That is too much. So many things are required.
wchpeng
Feb 6 2009, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(cshong @ Feb 6 2009, 10:52 PM) Wow. That is too much. So many things are required. here are the documents i submitted, i am going backpacking 1. passport 2. application form + photo 3. copy of flight ticket 4. copy of all my hotel reservation 5. bank statement 6. my kids birth cert to proof that they are my kids  7. my itinerary in Japan 8. company letter that states i am an employee and when i return to work, also i will bear the traveling expenses at my own i have the letter save in my pc, so i just change the date each time i apply for a visa. my friend said that it look difficult than apply for a loan from bank.
cshong
Feb 6 2009, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(wchpeng @ Feb 6 2009, 11:01 PM) here are the documents i submitted, i am going backpacking 1. passport 2. application form + photo 3. copy of flight ticket 4. copy of all my hotel reservation 5. bank statement 6. my kids birth cert to proof that they are my kids  7. my itinerary in Japan 8. company letter that states i am an employee and when i return to work, also i will bear the traveling expenses at my own i have the letter save in my pc, so i just change the date each time i apply for a visa. my friend said that it look difficult than apply for a loan from bank.  http://www.my.emb-japan.go.jp/English/visit.htm1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 8 are still acceptable but Bank statement, including the balance, is privacy. It is dangerous to let people know your balance because they may find people to rob you. Even a country's government staff also cannot be trusted. For company letter, if my boss are immoral person and does not want to give me letter even he/she approved me leave, how can I apply the visa in this situation? This post has been edited by cshong: Feb 6 2009, 11:24 PM
wchpeng
Feb 7 2009, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(cshong @ Feb 6 2009, 11:20 PM) http://www.my.emb-japan.go.jp/English/visit.htm1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7 and 8 are still acceptable but Bank statement, including the balance, is privacy. It is dangerous to let people know your balance because they may find people to rob you. Even a country's government staff also cannot be trusted. For company letter, if my boss are immoral person and does not want to give me letter even he/she approved me leave, how can I apply the visa in this situation? for bank statement, you have to show them the original copy for CTC (certified true Copy) on the photostat copy. have to show balance to them, the balance is RM6k per applicant. So if you travelling 2 pax, the balance should show at least RM12k. not sure if they still request for RM6k per pax... for company letter, you can simply get a company letter, type it and sign it... dont think they will call up your boss to confirm la. i DIY the company letter for my hubby, means i make the letter head, type the letter and sign it.
bonzaimy
Feb 7 2009, 10:54 PM
QUOTE(jessie_80 @ Feb 2 2009, 01:23 PM) hi, how much is the tour - tsukiji Fish Market? u have any details? i interested to go too... thanks The best one I can get is RM200. This guy who actually a fisherman last time will brought you inside.And he also will you certain places that normally tourist wont allowed to enter. But have to meet up at some place around 4am.lol QUOTE(wchpeng @ Feb 7 2009, 10:53 AM) for bank statement, you have to show them the original copy for CTC (certified true Copy) on the photostat copy. have to show balance to them, the balance is RM6k per applicant. So if you travelling 2 pax, the balance should show at least RM12k. not sure if they still request for RM6k per pax... for company letter, you can simply get a company letter, type it and sign it... dont think they will call up your boss to confirm la. i DIY the company letter for my hubby, means i make the letter head, type the letter and sign it.  I called them last week and even if 2 person go, you just need only Rm1k provided you tell them what is ur relationship status with him/her. Im not sure if they ask to bring a birth cert or not. The person who gonna support their parents/wife/kids etc is the one who must have at least RM6k inside their bank account
farex
Feb 16 2009, 06:59 PM

hi, been reading all of your post made me want to go japan even more.
i will be going to japan from 1st april to 10 april 2009. will be going with my wife. any tips for me? i have made my itinerary and 10 days is not enough to see all.
please help.
zoakies
Feb 16 2009, 09:30 PM

QUOTE(farex @ Feb 16 2009, 06:59 PM) hi, been reading all of your post made me want to go japan even more. i will be going to japan from 1st april to 10 april 2009. will be going with my wife. any tips for me? i have made my itinerary and 10 days is not enough to see all. please help. I suggest u just read this thread... http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/739760Got tons of information that u need to know about Japan... BTW, i just came back from Tokyo....u can read my blog at the below link... Cheers...
farex
Feb 17 2009, 10:40 AM

thanks. most of the day i will be at tokyo but for the last 3 days i want to go to
tokyo -> hiroshima -> osaka -> kyoto -> tokyo
what is the best method of travelling between those line? is it by bus or shinkanzen.
thinking of getting the JR rail pass that cover the shinkanzen to the above state right?
if by bus around what price?
if not using pass, the shinkanzen cost how much?
thanks all sifu for ur response. really need it. it is quite a rush to plan for japan for a trip that is going to happen in a month time. thanks.
awan_kelabu
Feb 20 2009, 11:18 AM

peeps,
do you know which money changer has good deals (can give me cheaper rate, etc)? it's 100Y = RM4.02 now, totally killing my pockets.
preferably around kl / bangi.
thx
bongo
Feb 21 2009, 08:14 PM

QUOTE(awan_kelabu @ Feb 20 2009, 11:18 AM) peeps, do you know which money changer has good deals (can give me cheaper rate, etc)? it's 100Y = RM4.02 now, totally killing my pockets. preferably around kl / bangi. thx Its lower right now...
bonzaimy
Feb 21 2009, 08:46 PM
Its high la..last time i change the currency rate is around 3.3