Absorbing a resignee's work. How to say no?, Is it possible to say no?

TSredracer2004
post Apr 22 2024, 08:58 AM, updated 2y ago

1,089 posts

Easy to read is:
Manager: Ms. A / Mr. A is leaving but we couldn't find a replacement yet. Can you temporarily handle her/his job until we found a replacement?

You know very well if you can handle it good, the job's sticking with you for long and they will not hire another person to replace A.

Is there a way to decline such requests?
jordin.spark
post Apr 22 2024, 10:43 AM

246 posts

I have this problem too.
I am seeking for advise from here.
How to speak nicely.

ZeneticX
post Apr 22 2024, 02:40 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

just accept it as a measure of good will to your superiors if the job is something you could handle. it will be a good supporting case for your annual performance review as well for promotion or increment

but once the workload get a bit overwhelming, raise your concern to your superior and if nothing is done, its time for you to leave as well

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Apr 22 2024, 09:22 PM
anzen600
post Apr 22 2024, 02:49 PM

Impossible is nothing ~Conquer your self !
1,238 posts

QUOTE(redracer2004 @ Apr 22 2024, 08:58 AM)
Easy to read is:
Manager: Ms. A / Mr. A is leaving but we couldn't find a replacement yet. Can you temporarily handle her/his job until we found a replacement?

You know very well if you can handle it good, the job's sticking with you for long and they will not hire another person to replace A.

Very hard to say no in this case unless you can divert the shit to others. And u are right, if u can do the shit they will either chop the headcount or move to other department.
Talk to ur boss, if u can take the shit and ask for promotion and salary adjustment. Then get someone else or thr new guy to take over ur current role. Internal promotion sure lebih jimat than hiring outside bah.

This post has been edited by anzen600: Apr 22 2024, 02:51 PM
hksgmy
post Apr 29 2024, 08:32 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Try to discuss with your immediate superior to say that you're happy to accommodate, but could the workload be shared amongst a few subordinates?
polarzbearz
post Apr 29 2024, 09:34 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

I would offer help, but with clear expectations laid out upfront considering the expanded workload to avoid wrong expectations set on either end.

If there are other colleagues, maybe further subdividing would also help to stabilize the operation whilst pending for the new hire.
Vervain
post May 1 2024, 06:57 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 22 2024, 02:40 PM)
just accept it as a measure of good will to your superiors if the job is something you could handle. it will be a good supporting case for your annual performance review as well for promotion or increment

but once the workload get a bit overwhelming, raise your concern to your superior and if nothing is done, its time for you to leave as well
This!

no wonder newer gens are complaining and not being promoted. Everyone is talking about work life balance but complaining stagnation. OP/TS needs to understand its temporary. if your boss is unable to find a replacement. Offer him proposal you will take up the addition work with incremental pay. its always cost effective in giving you a 30-50% raise if you have the right attitude. else just discuss with your boss on a deadline for a new hire.
InitialB
post May 1 2024, 06:59 PM

700 posts

Extra money, up position, else ask the manager 14th floor
AthrunIJ
post May 1 2024, 07:03 PM

2,992 posts

I will ask for Mr/Ms A benefits & salary as additional compensation until manager find a replacement.

Doing 2 people jobs. So get compensate well

At the very least they have a reason to really find someone

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: May 1 2024, 07:04 PM
anakkk
post May 1 2024, 07:06 PM

2,113 posts

tell your manager if cannot find replacement in 3 months, you going to quit too :X
Ralna
post May 1 2024, 07:15 PM

I love who I am
657 posts

Usually, a company needs about 3-6 months to find the right replacement.

Hence, the company should send you an official letter detailing the job scope, expectations, deliverables, replacement duration and additional compensation for you to take over the resignee's work.

You can decide if you want to accept it or not.

This is so that if you fail to deliver what the resignee is supposed to do, your own job KPI and performance appraisal will not be affected by the additional workload.

zenix
post May 3 2024, 02:30 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

Easy to read is:

if absorb another staff work does your datelines become more laxed?
you're 1 person doing 2 person job of course kpi different
hoonanoo
post May 4 2024, 04:58 PM

1,782 posts

Easy to read is:

I have no issue with this.

because while I am doing extra work of the resignee.

I am also actively interviewing candidates to takeover the resignee work.
langstrasse
post May 4 2024, 09:35 PM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

I’m currently in this exact same situation

Colleague left early feb, currently still drowning in work. Boss is nice but macam trying not to acknowledge the issue.

Had anyone successfully navigated this issue?
ZeneticX
post May 6 2024, 09:14 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ May 4 2024, 09:35 PM)
I’m currently in this exact same situation

Colleague left early feb, currently still drowning in work. Boss is nice but macam trying not to acknowledge the issue.

Had anyone successfully navigated this issue?
Try getting info or news about any incoming replacement? If they are still hiring unfortunately you are stuck... raise your concern with your boss in this case since you say he is nice

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 6 2024, 09:14 PM
earshore
post May 25 2024, 12:36 PM

453 posts

yes, should be possible to say no.

GHBZDK
post May 31 2024, 06:35 AM

173 posts

saying no is just as simple as words coming out your mouth. but in the end what matters is current department situation.
if theres no manpower and cant hire due to bureaucracy/cant find qualified ppl, theres really nothing you can do, aint it?
personally, i try to look at what can be improved first, like automating their work...
i left and my old place kolik maintaining 7+ systems in total over 5 departments haha.

This post has been edited by GHBZDK: May 31 2024, 06:42 AM
hksgmy
post May 31 2024, 09:07 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Any update, TS?
TSredracer2004
post Jun 1 2024, 09:26 AM

1,089 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 31 2024, 09:07 AM)
Any update, TS?
Cannot say no. I tried saying I cannot but the boss said need to until a replacement is really found. For now, they are actively finding for that new position but not many meet their criteria. Even if got also, they are asking for salary that beyond the company can offer for that post.

Rumours are abound that this head count might be removed and be absorbed by another dept as that dept also needs an emergency headcount. I told my boss I can't juggle all these work but my boss said the top mgt has considered putting extra RM300 for me every month to handle this job. I feel so cheated.
hksgmy
post Jun 1 2024, 09:29 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(redracer2004 @ Jun 1 2024, 09:26 AM)
Cannot say no. I tried saying I cannot but the boss said need to until a replacement is really found. For now, they are actively finding for that new position but not many meet their criteria. Even if got also, they are asking for salary that beyond the company can offer for that post.

Rumours are abound that this head count might be removed and be absorbed by another dept as that dept also needs an emergency headcount. I told my boss I can't juggle all these work but my boss said the top mgt has considered putting extra RM300 for me every month to handle this job. I feel so cheated.
Thanks for the update, at least there is news of upcoming compensation for your extra workload… good luck!

0.0173sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:17 AM