I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

On sem break? sad.gif
QuickFire
post Mar 30 2009, 11:14 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

no, week 12 of 14. 2 tests this week. mad.gif Just kinda going on a spree here, burning lots of dvds. biggrin.gif

Platoon and The Green Mile next. Patton and Deliverance (really looking forward to this one, was looking for it and a 2.5gig h.264 blu-ray rip appeared today! yay) on the way. I got Man On Wire, Hunger and Waltz With Bashir on dvd but havent gotten around to watching them.

Oh yeah I forgot about Ghost Town, which I watched a few weeks back. Delightful movie.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Mar 30 2009, 11:15 PM
LeoLilieno
post Mar 31 2009, 04:52 PM

542 posts

P.S. I Love You - Had high expectation on this movie as a lot of people said its good. I am waiting to shed some tears with this movie BUT i end up hoping that it end quickly. Quite disappointed exactly.

Eden Lake - I curse this movie non stop when it ends as it did not ends it properly. It also sort of like giving a wrong perception that kids can got off easily if they commit crime. What a lame movie. What a waste of my precious time.

C_MelOdy
post Mar 31 2009, 08:35 PM

84 posts

Last movies i watched

- The international
- Race to witch mountain...
- Hotel for dogs..

Not recommended "The International"...
Kinda disappointed with this film... doh.gif
The only exciting part of the movie was the gun battle at the Guggenheim Museum.
I actually fell asleep in the middle of the movie as the plot was so incredibly boring.

Race to witch mountain and Hotel for dogs not bad~
doctorpopcorn
post Apr 2 2009, 05:39 PM

169 posts

Fast & Furious - 6.5/10
QuickFire
post Apr 2 2009, 06:05 PM

2,867 posts

The Green Mile - I loved this. The 3 hours just flew by. The film really takes its time in its setup, the story just draws you in, and you just cant take your eyes off the characters. Most you will love, some you will love to hate. Some of the supporting cast didnt really have much character imbued into them, but the acting is so strong that somehow I didnt notice it. For the first two hours I thought this was going to be one of my favourite films, and in the end it came close. The last hour was great, but I didnt think it was as good as the preceding two. Part of it is because the last hour is almost entirely about Coffey, and he isn't as well developed as he should be. More screentime for him would have been better. But still, it is funny, poignant, and sad. Just a great movie. Nicely shot too, lightning was good I felt. I dont think the final few minutes bodes well with the rest of the film, but I didnt mind it one bit anyway. And while some will say this is a very 'black and white' film with no grey areas (it's true, most characters here are either obviously good or evil, no in-between), I couldn't care less. Great film.

Deliverance - I was waiting to watch this. From what I've heard, I've always thought it was going to be quite like Lord of the Flies (only read the book, never seen the movie) with grown-ups, but it's different. Very different. My first impression upon watching it was that I was underwhelmed, but I think that's mostly because of the expectations I was going in with. I thought they were going to spend days inside the jungle as captives, and that would fill up most of the film's length, but it isn't. The final 20 minutes or so was great. Without it I think I would have been really disappointed in it. This is going to be a film which sits on your mind quite some time after you've seen it, I think. And I think it is at the very least a good film, probably a great one. Need to watch it again some time later.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Apr 2 2009, 06:06 PM
C_MelOdy
post Apr 22 2009, 05:30 AM

84 posts

Last movies i watched

- Dragonball Evolution

Another amusing movie for kids but bland for adults?
A bit disappointed even though i didn't have any high expectations towards this movie after the movie " Street Fighters"..
There were not enough fight scenes..
The characters were portrayed terribly..
Besides, Goku's hair was a failure if compared to the manga/anime's..
But there's still some entertaining parts which is quite entertaining...

- Confessions of a Shopaholic

a comedy movie which filled with laughter with a hint of the romantic kind...
That's so true that actually girls can be easily addicted to fashion and cannot stop spending..
secretsquirrel
post Apr 22 2009, 02:17 PM

389 posts

http://www.metacafe.com/watch/499977/perfume_movie_trailer/

Perfume: The Story of a Murderer (2006) is great and wonderful. I like the killer's simplicity of mind, mainly to create a good perfume, thats is touching. I even feel like what he did was reasonable and right tongue.gif

The Day The Earth Stood Still (2008)
It is a waste of time and money.

Body of Lies (2008)
It is very boring. And I dont quite get what is it about sad.gif

Added on April 22, 2009, 2:19 pmgruntz - sick of these movies meaning? U hate and u cant like them even u gave them a second chance? A few from your list are my fav movies and i would watch over and over again: taxi driver, american psycho, fight club, beautiful mind, vanilla sky, butterfly effect 1

QUOTE(gruntz @ Apr 2 2009, 10:23 PM)
the shining
jacob's ladder
the machinist
donnie darko
taxi driver
american psycho
fight club
a beautiful mind
vanilla sky
mulholland dr
the butterfly effect
fight club, mulholland drive, a beautiful mind, the machinist, the butterfly and mulholland drive i've seen before but watching them again..i still confused and sicked of these films...

this night i will watch memento, wicker park and 12 monkeys again....
This post has been edited by secretsquirrel: Apr 22 2009, 02:19 PM
QuickFire
post Apr 22 2009, 04:16 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(secretsquirrel @ Apr 22 2009, 02:17 PM)
Perfume: The Story of a Murderer (2006) is great and wonderful. I like the killer's simplicity of mind, mainly to create a good perfume, thats is touching.  I even feel like what he did was reasonable and right tongue.gif
I saw this a few years ago. The first 3/4 were, sporadically, mildly interesting, I mostly lost interest, and the ending was the biggest WTF I've ever witnessed in a film. For my money, one of the worst movies I've seen. The ending just seals it.

Incidentally, this morning I saw another one of Twyker's films - Run, Lola, Run, which I also didnt for care much. Annoyingly shot, annoying soundtrack, and I found the whole excursion to be rather pointless in the end. It's short at only 78 minutes, but it feels longer.
kobe8byrant
post Apr 22 2009, 08:34 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

seriously, you didn't like Run, Lola, Run?

You gotta catch the International. Twyker's best shoot-out scene to date.
Ultima
post Apr 22 2009, 08:38 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

juz watched comedy religion documentary Religulous... dmn it was funny n at the same time so offensive to religions...

its not recommended to ppl who r sensitive bout religion issue tho.. eventho its funny tongue.gif
imax80
post Apr 22 2009, 09:13 PM

732 posts

i just watch 'Raging Bull' classic movie...hahahaha funny..i think the supporting actor is funny...robert de niro is awesome..sometime fat..sometime slim..sometime fit..
TSMakakeke
post Apr 22 2009, 09:16 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(imax80 @ Apr 22 2009, 09:13 PM)
i just watch 'Raging Bull' classic movie...hahahaha funny..i think the supporting actor is funny...robert de niro is awesome..sometime fat..sometime slim..sometime fit..
Joe Pesci? Haha, yeah, Deniro's best side kick.
QuickFire
post Apr 22 2009, 09:17 PM

2,867 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Apr 22 2009, 08:34 PM)

Cant say I liked it. Not nearly bad enough to hate it. biggrin.gif I didnt like the rapid splicing of still shots though.

I didnt catch The International in the cinemas. Wait for the dvd la.

I watched 28 Days Later and 28 Weeks Later a few weeks ago. Two terrific movies, each with their own flaws. The first one was en route to becoming a classic until it turned into Rambo with zombies in the end. Everything before was amazing. It got the mood and atmosphere of a post-apocalyptic world down pat. The sequel is more visceral and Hollywood, especially the chopper rotor blade and Apache scenes (two scenes which I could do without), but it remains awesome. The firebombing was just... wow. And that first 10 minutes. shocking.gif

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Apr 22 2009, 09:23 PM
Hou_JaI
post Apr 22 2009, 10:56 PM

1,129 posts

The unborn - Horror movie about Nazi's human experiment on twins which ended up a child got possessed by demons ... well the actress is hot ! but the story hmmm quite interesting though, if u have nothing to do, go ahead and try watching it tongue.gif
QuickFire
post Apr 22 2009, 11:07 PM

2,867 posts

is that the one with the nice ass shot in the poster? written by david goyer right?

good poster to attract the boys anyway.

edit: here you go

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Apr 22 2009, 11:08 PM
de4thscythell
post Apr 22 2009, 11:14 PM

in progress
1,941 posts

The Unborn eh...
At first, i was shock shocking.gif I thought that dog really have a human face. Then i realized that the dog was wearing a mask sweat.gif
But still, the blue eye.... kinda freaky sweat.gif
menime123
post Apr 22 2009, 11:17 PM

301 posts

17 again - yes, i know its a teen movie but still, its ok i guess. i watch it for the sake of hot chicks. couldnt care for zac efron, on the other hand, matthew perry is still as funny XD

dragonball evolution - the only reason i watch it is because i wanna know how suck it was and oh boy, it surpass my expectation of suckiness
secretsquirrel
post Apr 23 2009, 02:35 PM

389 posts

I cant believe there is such a negative comment from this movie. It is one of my fav movie and I dont simply like many movies tongue.gif The storyline is great, by trying to capture the perfect scent in various failures, the final success way wasnt impressive at all, but i try to ignore this tiny imperfections. Love the explanations of how a perfert scent was created from convertion of 12 scents, top up with a 13th major scent would be the key to conquer the world. And he did it. I just dont get it, for the last scene. Why would the crowd saw him as an angle and then has eaten him up - how did it relate to the whole story? -So when we love something which is too perfect and too beautiful, we ve got to mash it? ruin it? I dont get it.

Being a frequent perfume users I get to experience how scents were lasted in different ways, mixed with different day activities and how the scents last at the end of the day. I'd say it is a marvelous story/description of scents. Perhaps I should go for the book one day. Words in books are always better than scenes I believe smile.gif

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Apr 22 2009, 04:16 PM)
I saw this a few years ago. The first 3/4 were, sporadically, mildly interesting, I mostly lost interest, and the ending was the biggest WTF I've ever witnessed in a film. For my money, one of the worst movies I've seen. The ending just seals it.
This post has been edited by secretsquirrel: Apr 23 2009, 02:38 PM
fragglerock
post Apr 23 2009, 04:49 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Apr 22 2009, 08:34 PM)

is the scene michael mann great? has he done any 'good' shoot out scene before that?

121 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:18 PM