Movies Last movie watched, share and discuss

Mov_freak
post Aug 13 2009, 09:45 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

I just finished watching District 9

In my humble opinion, it is the most original thing I've ever seen for a while!

I went through THE whole gamut of human emotions while watching this movie, repulsion, disgust, laughter, tears, disbelief etc....

Director Neill Blomkamp will be compared with the likes of Ridley Scott, which I think is unfair. I think he is Ridley Scott's equal, if NOT edgier!

I truly believe Neill Blomkamp and Peter Jackson had achieve the unbelievable, I think they had succeeded 3 things

1) They have developed a new GENRE

2) They proved that you don't need to spend an obscene amount of money in advertisement, to draw people to your movie

3) Make 2009 THE year District 9 was made

Many people have made references like, this movie is like Cloverfield or Dark City, and I say, it surpasses them IN SPADES.

This movie will proves that having a big budget and not storyline does not equal a successful movie.

This movie clearly states that if you have a good story, a good director and good actors (NOT big names, who knew Sidgorney Weaver, before Alien) you can make a definitive movie

There were several time in the movie that I was so replusived, that I FREAKED and wanted to leave the cinema, but it overpowered me, and I was glued to my seat!!

And then the scene with the robot suit happened. Mr Michael Bay, I don't care HOW MUCH MONEY you spent making Transformers 2, that scene ran circles around it.

That scene alone proves to me (dare I say it) that a live action movie of Robotech and Evangelion which DOESN'T suck is very VERY possible.

I do not want to write anymore. I don't want to hype anything (it does need it).

Go watch the movie

At the end of the movie, I felt like I was a little kid again, watching Alien in a dark cinema with my (cool) brothers. I didn't understand it, but when I was older and I watched it again, it hits me! (Yeah, yeah Quickfire, I'm ANCIENT)

icon_rolleyes.gif
ray123
post Aug 14 2009, 10:49 AM

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

Watched Robocop on dvd again.

It was much darker and deeper than the usual action fare of the late 80s/90s from what I remembered.

The scene near the beginning of the movie introducing ED209 was hilarious. The enforcement droid had a glitch and fired like 60 times (according to the commentary) at an unlucky executive. After making him flop around like a ragged doll with his huge machine guns, the droid was stopped by pulling out its remote circuits.

"Someone call a goddamn paramedic!"

Hahahaha... so over the top. The guy was "GONE!" according to the director.

The music was great, the cinematography was great, the effects state-of-the-art of the time and the story was emotional at times.

Watch it again and hear the commentary, it's enlightening. Tho the script writer's voice was annoying because he was trying to interject too much, the other script writer was more subdued and the director had a thick accent.

This post has been edited by ray123: Aug 14 2009, 10:49 AM
azarimy
post Aug 14 2009, 11:02 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

the director, paul verhoeven is dutch, hence why he has a thick accent.
HD_lover
post Aug 14 2009, 11:11 AM

37 posts

G.I.Joe: The rise of cobra
very nice biggrin.gif
noir7559
post Aug 14 2009, 11:22 AM

Take My Advice, I Don't Need It
592 posts

juz watch Pineapple Express yesterday... great action comedy muvee.

**the film wit he most f* word used tongue.gif tongue.gif
kobe8byrant
post Aug 15 2009, 12:16 AM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

His Girl Friday - trademark Cary Grant.

4.5/5
demio121
post Aug 15 2009, 01:53 AM

2,084 posts

D9.

I think Star Trek, Transformer and GI Joes spend $150mil upward each and what we have here is a feature directorial debut costing $30mil kicking @$$.
azarimy
post Aug 15 2009, 04:13 AM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

Time Traveler's Wife

ahhh... if u ever wanna look for a movie to bring the girlfriend, this is the one. be warned, it's quite a tear jerker, only second this year to my sister's keeper. the story is tight and very well adapted from the book. ofcourse, there are certain things that were omitted and slightly changed, but it keeps in line with the essence of the book.

i guess u can read the synopsis elsewhere. i'm just gonna share my verdict:

8.5/10
QuickFire
post Aug 15 2009, 11:00 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Spirited Away

Still earth-shatteringly good. As far as animation films go, it is definitely up there with the best of Pixar and Disney.

The Untouchables

Very stylish and looks very nice, but there isnt much underneath. The script is deficient, with half-assed attempts at character development. Also, the the tone rubs me the wrong way. It is far too light for a film like this. The acting itself isnt that noteworthy. Sean Conney is pretty good, but his character is for me very inexplicable. Costner is serviceable, the script doesnt give him much and he doesnt push it either, but he gets better in the second half. It isnt just him, the whole second half of the movie is an improvement and makes for a very entertaining and satisfying last hour, mostly due to De Palma's deft work in setpieces, which is usual in his movies. The music by Morricone is really good, though at times I think there is too much music. Overall a good first half, and an immensely satisfying second half. 4/5
ulwan25
post Aug 16 2009, 12:22 AM

2,054 posts

just watched Shanghai Noon on AXN. it is a nice film, don't believe on RT rating, it was wrong. the film was good especially when chinese meets the cowboy wannabe.
i like it. 8/10 from me.

i oso heard District 9 was good also. but didn't know when to watch it....
Mov_freak
post Aug 19 2009, 11:44 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Obsessed

Beyoncé Knowles is mean and scary....

I feel sorry for Ali Larter........ tongue.gif

Not quite sure why they made this movie, we already have Fatal Attraction and Basic Instinct!

Added on August 19, 2009, 11:46 am
QUOTE(QuickFire @ Aug 15 2009, 11:00 PM)
Spirited Away

Still earth-shatteringly good. As far as animation films go, it is definitely up there with the best of Pixar and Disney.

The Untouchables

Very stylish and looks very nice, but there isnt much underneath. The script is deficient, with half-assed attempts at character development. Also, the the tone rubs me the wrong way. It is far too light for a film like this. The acting itself isnt that noteworthy. Sean Conney is pretty good, but his character is for me very inexplicable. Costner is serviceable, the script doesnt give him much and he doesnt push it either, but he gets better in the second half. It isnt just him, the whole second half of the movie is an improvement and makes for a very entertaining and satisfying last hour, mostly due to De Palma's deft work in setpieces, which is usual in his movies. The music by Morricone is really good, though at times I think there is too much music. Overall a good first half, and an immensely satisfying second half. 4/5
The Untouchables

Hey.... I like that movie..... Let me guess, you didn't even like the staircase scene!!? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Aug 19 2009, 11:46 AM
QuickFire
post Aug 19 2009, 08:02 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Aug 19 2009, 11:44 AM)
Obsessed

Beyoncé Knowles is mean and scary....

I feel sorry for Ali Larter........ tongue.gif

Not quite sure why they made this movie, we already have Fatal Attraction and Basic Instinct!

Added on August 19, 2009, 11:46 am

The Untouchables

Hey.... I like that movie..... Let me guess, you didn't even like the staircase scene!!? smile.gif
The staircase sequence was great. The setpieces are all great. And I like the movie.

Go

Pulp Fiction-esque, but replete with its own style. Furiously paced, this just jumps at you and screams 'GO!' all the way till the end. Pretty awesome! 4/5

Btw, Beyonce couldnt act for shit in Obsessed. I forgot about the movie right after I watched it.

This post has been edited by QuickFire: Aug 19 2009, 08:03 PM
kobe8byrant
post Aug 19 2009, 08:40 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

I walked out of the hall halfway. Just not worth it.
V12Kompressor
post Aug 19 2009, 10:52 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

District 9.

Awesome with the amount exploding humans and other gory stuffs like

ray123
post Aug 20 2009, 01:44 AM

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

Clue!

1985 film starring Tim Curry, based on the board game and with different endings. Made me laugh back in the day, still funny today.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clue_(film)

"I am, the singing telegram-"

BLAM!
peinsama
post Aug 20 2009, 08:43 AM

Au fait
725 posts

The Boat that Rocked

Awesome, brilliantly funny, extraordinary potong-stim scenes and somehow i love the ending. Worth my time and enjoyable.

And yeah, the girls......dayummmmmm.
Mov_freak
post Aug 20 2009, 10:16 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Aug 19 2009, 08:02 PM)
The staircase sequence was great. The setpieces are all great. And I like the movie.

Btw, Beyonce couldnt act for shit in Obsessed. I forgot about the movie right after I watched it.
Yeah, unfortunately, not all movies can be Untouchables and District 9.....

As for Beyoncé not quite sure why she feels like (she is NOT alone, Mariah Carrey, Whitney Houston etc) needs to conquer everything, music, movie, fashion etc!!

How MANY more millions does she need...... tongue.gif

Paul Blart: Mall Cop

*Sigh* I'm stuck with my DVD collection when I'm in KL (BD player is NOT in KL) and I have to say, it has been disappointing viewing of late.

Watched Obsessed on Monday evening and Paul Blart: Mall Cop on Tuesday....

The term "suck much" comes to mind.....

Whatever happened to Gilmore Madison productions (which gave us Happy Gilmore, Billy Madison and more recently 50 First Dates....)

It was a pain to watched

I was so numb by the movie, I couldn't get myself to lift up the remote control to switch it off.....

*Sigh* x 2

Will probably stick to my Alfred Hitchcock Presents TV series until the weekend!
noir7559
post Aug 20 2009, 10:36 AM

Take My Advice, I Don't Need It
592 posts

TRAINING DAY (Denzel Washinton & Ethan Hawke)

i'm re-watched this movie yesterday.. Well one of the great movie & well directed if u asked me.
great storyline, great character(Alonzo of coz), great setting(gangster scene/neighbourhood in LA)..
highly recommend

You want to go home or jail?

This post has been edited by noir7559: Aug 20 2009, 07:25 PM
slushie
post Aug 20 2009, 06:03 PM

257 posts

District 9!! kinda left some emotional impact on me
Mov_freak
post Aug 21 2009, 10:01 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

UP (Disney/Pixer)

Watched it yesterday at Pavillion (3D)

Apart from CARS, Pixar has always done it for me, and UP is certainly "doing it"!

The simple HEART WARMING storyline, told VERY SINCERELY

I'm actually a little reluctant to use the word simple because the story structure is anything but.

I really recommend it to EVERYBODY on the face of this planet to watch this delightful movie.

You'll not regret it.

icon_rolleyes.gif

121 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0239sec    1.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:47 AM