26 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

What did you do to your bike today?, Or quite recently...

alexei
post Nov 16 2024, 11:33 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Nov 16 2024, 02:35 PM)
I saw in before in fb got people do coil repair service, maybe you can ask around in bike groups.

Buying from shopee could work too I guess if you can find a trusted seller.
yeah, I know a few
I prefer to have a spare, so just open up the stator cover, swap, and reassemble
instead of take out, wait a few days to recoil, then reassemble

I ordered a shopee CBR929RR and an eBay genuine used... we'll see
007SMH
post Nov 17 2024, 07:33 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Nov 16 2024, 01:43 PM)
Any source to prove that?
Sure

Source https://www.jpj.gov.my/documents/portlet_fi...0&download=true

*Anyway I still installed spotlights (dual color) on my bike due to the streetlights near my housing area always almost never work in nightime.

This post has been edited by 007SMH: Nov 17 2024, 07:34 AM
zuozi
post Nov 17 2024, 09:43 AM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(007SMH @ Nov 17 2024, 07:33 AM)
Sure

Source https://www.jpj.gov.my/documents/portlet_fi...0&download=true

*Anyway I still installed spotlights (dual color) on my bike due to the streetlights near my housing area always almost never work in nightime.
Yeah then is correct need to cover all the time on road which mean only permitted for install for 4x4 only which mean any vehicle not default from factory by right motor/car is not allowed to install optional lightning, if you read carefully only permitted for 4x4 .
jaycee1
post Nov 19 2024, 02:34 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

Finally stopped procrastinating and installed my SHAD panniers. Took a bit of finessing and multiple mockups to get it where I wanted. Understandably as the bike has no allocation for.mounting anything to it..so whatever DIY work will take a fair bit of tinkering.

Now I got 3 options. Pannier, Top box or a small tail bag. Great to finally have some form of lockable storage.

What I like is, without the panniers mounted, the rack itself is not obvious.

Only major bug bear is the exhaust which is angled in such a way that it would melt them necessitating a custom aluminium heat shield to.protect the pannier. Works good so far.
TSmADmAN
post Nov 20 2024, 09:27 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 19 2024, 02:34 PM)
Finally stopped procrastinating and installed my SHAD panniers. Took a bit of finessing and multiple mockups to get it where I wanted. Understandably as the bike has no allocation for.mounting anything to it..so whatever DIY work will take a fair bit of tinkering.
wat did u have to do to get it mounted? u bought some universal brackets etc?

ive been thinking of transferring my shad bracket from my z9 to my v1k but i need some of those L brackets but can only find 3mm thick ones... looking for 5mm thick but cant seem to find anywhere.
jaycee1
post Nov 20 2024, 09:53 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 20 2024, 09:27 AM)
wat did u have to do to get it mounted? u bought some universal brackets etc?

ive been thinking of transferring my shad bracket from my z9 to my v1k but i need some of those L brackets but can only find 3mm thick ones... looking for 5mm thick but cant seem to find anywhere.
I bought the generic SHAD racks from one indonesian seller off Shopee. They have the SHAD 3P rack as well as the Givi 4 point racks. They also have some brackets. These are cheap. Slightly over 100rm after various shopee discounts and they fit just as well.

https://shopee.com.my/hilandmotorshop.my

I'm using a combination of custom and bought brackets for my mounting. But yes, i have found 6mm brackets on shopee.

https://shopee.com.my/agawelding85za.my

I bought my 6mm brackets from the above seller. Perhaps you can check the links and see if they have what you need. I just didnt use them as 3mm is sufficient for my application... trying to reduce weight.

My install is a bit unique, as the 3 mounting points are not fully load bearing but serves to only stabilize the load. The load is carried by the pillion seat. SHAD does make kits now for my 800NK but they are expectedly expensive and has a 2 month leadtime....and worst, involves cutting into bodywork, something I am trying to avoid for now.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Nov 20 2024, 09:59 AM
alexei
post Nov 20 2024, 10:04 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 20 2024, 09:53 AM)
I bought the generic SHAD racks from one indonesian seller off Shopee. They have the SHAD 3P rack as well as the Givi 4 point racks. They also have some brackets. These are cheap. Slightly over 100rm after various shopee discounts and they fit just as well.

https://shopee.com.my/hilandmotorshop.my
I'm using a combination of custom and bought brackets for my mounting. But yes, i have found 6mm brackets on shopee.

I bought my 6mm brackets from the above seller. Perhaps you can check the links and see if they have what you need. I just didnt use them as 3mm is sufficient for my application... trying to reduce weight.
My install is a bit unique, as the 3 mounting points are not fully load bearing but serves to only stabilize the load. The load is carried by the pillion seat. SHAD does make kits now for my 800NK but they are expectedly expensive and has a 2 month leadtime....and worst, involves cutting into bodywork, something I am trying to avoid for now.
interested to know how the bike feels with the boxes mounted that high up
jaycee1
post Nov 20 2024, 10:20 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 20 2024, 10:04 AM)
interested to know how the bike feels with the boxes mounted that high up
With enpty load, not much effect. Will still have to increase rear preload and maybe add 1-2 psi rear tyre pressure. With load, very easy to wheelie. Again that's to be expected on a bike that likes to do that anyway. You can feel the weight on side to side transition...but no problems getting a knee down with them on. Just have to be slightly more careful when getting on the throttle...

It's no different from carrying any load or a pillion anyway.

I would say I prefer this to a topbox, mounted even higher and even further back than split panniers.

Warning label says max 5kg each side and 120kmh top speed.
TSmADmAN
post Nov 20 2024, 11:36 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 20 2024, 09:53 AM)

I bought my 6mm brackets from the above seller. Perhaps you can check the links and see if they have what you need.
thanks... didnt see any L brackets... i need those in 5mm minimum and i kinda need long ones on both sides of the L so i can have some adjustability
giftfre
post Nov 20 2024, 11:39 AM

Control Macho
677 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 20 2024, 11:36 AM)
thanks... didnt see any L brackets... i need those in 5mm minimum and i kinda need long ones on both sides of the L so i can have some adjustability
TS, i was wondering how do you keep you bike safely when outstation and staying in Hotel? Disc lock? Your storage box and Break Caliper?

This post has been edited by giftfre: Nov 20 2024, 11:40 AM
jaycee1
post Nov 20 2024, 11:43 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 20 2024, 11:36 AM)
Perhaps you would need a metal shop to do them for you..but I can't understand why you need long L brackets though. Can't imagine a setup what would use them. The versys stock mounting location for panniers is on the side of the body/tail.

TSmADmAN
post Nov 20 2024, 11:58 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(giftfre @ Nov 20 2024, 11:39 AM)
TS, i was wondering how do you keep you bike safely when outstation and staying in Hotel? Disc lock? Your storage box and Break Caliper?
if thailand.. no worries... just park the bike at the right parking n just lock the panniers and the handle bar....sometimes guards will ask u not to lock handlebar so they can move the bike in case they need to make space. no worries with theft in thailand.

malaysia, have only overnighted in penang, kedah and kelantan. all oso i take landed property airbnb with gate.

boxes r left on the bike n locked. calipers have those security bolts but if they want, they are willing to go through the hassle of removing them.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 20 2024, 11:43 AM)
Perhaps you would need a metal shop to do them for you..but I can't understand why you need long L brackets though. Can't imagine a setup what would use them. The versys stock mounting location for panniers is on the side of the body/tail.
not for the v1k peanut... other versions has mounting on the passenger grab rails... for the peanut theres no holes on the grab rail and the L bracket goes under the seat. uses the same bolt hole for the coverset and grabrail.

can get an idea in this image: https://down-my.img.susercontent.com/file/m...6pvnews0dc.webp

i want it long so i can have some space to adjust position appropriately and once done can cut off the excess. this is also load bearing so kinda need it thick..current givi is 5mm. ive tried the 3mm thick n i can flex with it bare hands. with weight and vibrations n bumps on the bike... itll be even worse.
alexei
post Nov 20 2024, 12:24 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 20 2024, 10:20 AM)
With enpty load, not much effect. Will still have to increase rear preload and maybe add 1-2 psi rear tyre pressure. With load, very easy to wheelie. Again that's to be expected on a bike that likes to do that anyway. You can feel the weight on side to side transition...but no problems getting a knee down with them on. Just have to be slightly more careful when getting on the throttle...

It's no different from carrying any load or a pillion anyway.

I would say I prefer this to a topbox, mounted even higher and even further back than split panniers.

Warning label says max 5kg each side and 120kmh top speed.
good to know, safer than some rubber strap over a loose luggage then
jaycee1
post Nov 21 2024, 11:53 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Nov 20 2024, 11:58 AM)
if thailand.. no worries... just park the bike at the right parking n just lock the panniers and the handle bar....sometimes guards will ask u not to lock handlebar so they can move the bike in case they need to make space. no worries with theft in thailand.

malaysia, have only overnighted in penang, kedah and kelantan. all oso i take landed property airbnb with gate.

boxes r left on the bike n locked. calipers have those security bolts but if they want, they are willing to go through the hassle of removing them.
not for the v1k peanut... other versions has mounting on the passenger grab rails... for the peanut theres no holes on the grab rail and the L bracket goes under the seat. uses the same bolt hole for the coverset and grabrail.

can get an idea in this image: https://down-my.img.susercontent.com/file/m...6pvnews0dc.webp

i want it long so i can have some space to adjust position appropriately and once done can cut off the excess. this is also load bearing so kinda need it thick..current givi is 5mm. ive tried the 3mm thick n i can flex with it bare hands. with weight and vibrations n bumps on the bike... itll be even worse.
Perhaps you can try and repurpose these

https://my.shp.ee/MNLk76b

If not then you may need to get regular flat bar of your preferred thick Ness and have a metal shop bend them. You can DIY but you need a acetylene torch and a properly good vice though.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Nov 21 2024, 03:04 PM
alexei
post Nov 21 2024, 12:31 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 21 2024, 11:53 AM)
Perhaps you can try and repurpose these

https://my.shp.ee/MNLk76b

If not then you may need to get regular flat bar of your preferred thick Ness and have a metal shop bend them. You can DIY but you need a acetylene torce and a properly good  vice though.
just fyi, shopee link doesn't work unless I sign in
marsha1l
post Nov 22 2024, 09:45 AM

water-cooling PC enthusiast
1,041 posts

removed windshield and notice that, at 150+, steering feel lighter. Without windshield, had to use full face all the time.

I wonder how those ride with open face at high speed, on moped.
jaycee1
post Nov 22 2024, 10:11 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Nov 22 2024, 09:45 AM)
removed windshield and notice that, at 150+, steering feel lighter. Without windshield, had to use full face all the time.

Moped wont go 150+ though.....

This is also why I discourage anyone from putting a huge windshield on a non fully faired bike (because the windshield is connected to the front forks) It affects steering and can be dangerous with crosswind. Bigger touring bikes tend to have a separate body subframe for the windshield/front end and thus doe not affect the steering.
alexei
post Nov 22 2024, 01:39 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Nov 22 2024, 09:45 AM)

ER6 got windshield? is it like a small piece or a big piece? attached to headlamp or handlebar one?
moped go 150+ with open face have to tunduk, or angle the helmet downwards to let the visor do the work
marsha1l
post Nov 22 2024, 08:12 PM

water-cooling PC enthusiast
1,041 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Nov 22 2024, 10:11 AM)
Moped wont go 150+ though.....

This is also why I discourage anyone from putting a huge windshield on a non fully faired bike (because the windshield is connected to the front forks) It affects steering and can be dangerous with crosswind. Bigger touring bikes tend to have a separate body subframe for the windshield/front end and thus doe not affect the steering.
Those suzuki raider, modded lc etc. haha

yea, crosswind do affect very much on steering. Now dismantle the windshield and simpan. Building neck strength to fight the wind flex.gif

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 22 2024, 01:39 PM)
ER6 got windshield? is it like a small piece or a big piece? attached to headlamp or handlebar one?
moped go 150+ with open face have to tunduk, or angle the helmet downwards to let the visor do the work
Mine does not, even later version does nt have it either. It was added by previous owner, and attached to handlebar.

tunduk/angle downwards, mata almost juling alam sebalik mata. haha rolleyes.gif

jaycee1
post Nov 22 2024, 09:47 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(marsha1l @ Nov 22 2024, 08:12 PM)
Those suzuki raider, modded lc etc. haha

yea, crosswind do affect very much on steering. Now dismantle the windshield and simpan. Building neck strength to fight the wind  flex.gif
Mine does not, even later version does nt have it either. It was added by previous owner, and attached to handlebar.

tunduk/angle downwards, mata almost juling alam sebalik mata. haha rolleyes.gif
Can consider putting a small fly screen instead just to get some wind pressure off your chest

A good aerodynamic helmet (as in a premium brand that is wind tunnel tested) helps with buffeting and the feeling your helmet wants to pull your head off your neck. I have no issues at 150 without a windshield...but I have one small fly screen to get some air pressure off my chest at 200. If I want to go beyond that, it's tunduk udang.

But you do get used to it after a while...in fact in our weather, getting stuck behind a big windshield is not exactly a good thing also.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Nov 22 2024, 09:49 PM

26 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0225sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:06 PM