26 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

What did you do to your bike today?, Or quite recently...

vikneswaranc_17
post Sep 23 2024, 08:59 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(hvk13 @ Sep 20 2024, 11:44 AM)
I'm not in any whatsapp group. My bike baru 15k km
PM me your whatsapp number.. will add you in the group
bluecat68
post Oct 18 2024, 09:20 PM

361 posts

Speedometer replacement: One step closer to fully revive my MR1.

smallbug
post Oct 20 2024, 06:30 AM

873 posts

Both footrests, left side mirror. Planning for battery, spark plug and air filter change next.

Any recommendations for Wave 125X battery? YTZ5S good or not?
WH4CockcooBird
post Oct 21 2024, 03:33 PM

194 posts

Took out the long ago purchased distribution box

Want to install spotlight and USB chargers.
Each fuse is 5A, max load 20A

Check check spot light, running at 5.7A. pffft....

Ok, go back to drawing board.

TSmADmAN
post Oct 21 2024, 03:49 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Oct 21 2024, 03:33 PM)
Just change the fuse to a higher rated one....i think as long as all fuses add up to 20 ull be fine.

I got 1 spotlight connected to the box but dunno amps..n im still using the 5a fuses that came with it...whats the device u used to check?
jaycee1
post Oct 21 2024, 03:55 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Oct 21 2024, 03:33 PM)

Want to install spotlight and USB chargers.
Each fuse is 5A, max load 20A
Check check spot light, running at 5.7A. pffft....

Ok, go back to drawing board.

Just put a bigger fuse in. I'm using a 10A fuse in my fuse box. Same as what you got.
JustForFun
post Oct 27 2024, 04:18 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

Cleaned my chain and front sprocket yesterday. Crazy amount of gunk at the bottom of the front sprocket cover, despite the sprocket itself being very clean. The gunk was like hard mud that I had to scrape off with my gloved finger. Now I am thinking I should probably open it up every other time or so.

I am not sure if I over-applied the chain wax or that's just the nature of it, but I saw grit splatters that stuck to my swing arm, the cover and my rim. My chain is noticeably noisy at slow speed and the bike also has a tad more vibration. Think I may have to reconsider using chain wax, or apply it very conservatively.

Is there a chain cleaning/bike washing service that can do everything and have the bike be collectible in an hour or two? Think I can use my time better.
Patent
post Oct 27 2024, 05:56 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 27 2024, 04:18 PM)
Cleaned my chain and front sprocket yesterday. Crazy amount of gunk at the bottom of the front sprocket cover, despite the sprocket itself being very clean. The gunk was like hard mud that I had to scrape off with my gloved finger. Now I am thinking I should probably open it up every other time or so.

I am not sure if I over-applied the chain wax or that's just the nature of it, but I saw grit splatters that stuck to my swing arm, the cover and my rim. My chain is noticeably noisy at slow speed and the bike also has a tad more vibration. Think I may have to reconsider using chain wax, or apply it very conservatively.

Is there a chain cleaning/bike washing service that can do everything and have the bike be collectible in an hour or two? Think I can use my time better.
Look for bike detailing service in your area, they wash your bike, can clean the front sprocket, relube and stuff.
Just tell them how to open the front sprocket cover and they would do it.
zuozi
post Oct 27 2024, 06:04 PM

1,261 posts

Recently i quite often see motor with yellow light equip and turned on tak kisah raining or tak hujan is this legal on the road?

TSmADmAN
post Oct 27 2024, 06:38 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Oct 27 2024, 06:04 PM)
Recently i quite often see motor with yellow light equip and turned on tak kisah raining or tak hujan is this legal on the road?

this should be asked here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4277749/+6540

but to answer ur question... no its not legal.
zuozi
post Oct 27 2024, 08:46 PM

1,261 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Oct 27 2024, 06:38 PM)
this should be asked here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4277749/+6540

but to answer ur question... no its not legal.
Okay thanks for your quick reply, last time i remember do need cover cover-up all the time on major road , is only allowed in a very dark environment private road like palm tree environment/off-road environment , i remember if covered up all the time they don't open saman for me or kacau me during roadblock

Because i thought recently many ppl use it thinking already become legal or something that why i ask because personally these yellow light very well lid the road no matter what kind of weather conditions personal i do prefer this over white led

Anyway thanks for replying
JustForFun
post Oct 27 2024, 11:17 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Oct 27 2024, 05:56 PM)
Look for bike detailing service in your area, they wash your bike, can clean the front sprocket, relube and stuff.
Just tell them how to open the front sprocket cover and they would do it.
Is it possible to ride away just right after lubing?

My biggest complaint is being able to do this in the morning only, because I need the bike to dry throughout the day under sun so I can then lube it right before it gets dark in the evening, so I can see whether the chain is lubed well or not. Also, if I missed the morning window it gets too hot for me to do it, because I don't wanna do it in the covered porch since I will have to clean the ground after, so I usually do it roadside and spray water over the diesel and guide it to the drain.

I am considering using old clothes or worn rags to soak the dripped diesel next time, and clean the wet spots on the ground after, maybe with those Daiso wet wipes.

Edit: After checking the price of Shopee, a brand new set of sprocket/chain will cost me RM400 or so, makes me wonder if it's even worth taking that good care of the chain. Imagine the extra time spent amounted to a 30% increase in chain lifespan, that's only 400*0.3 = RM120 for a lot of time spent.

This post has been edited by JustForFun: Oct 27 2024, 11:26 PM
Patent
post Oct 27 2024, 11:44 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 27 2024, 11:17 PM)

My biggest complaint is being able to do this in the morning only, because I need the bike to dry throughout the day under sun so I can then lube it right before it gets dark in the evening, so I can see whether the chain is lubed well or not. Also, if I missed the morning window it gets too hot for me to do it, because I don't wanna do it in the covered porch since I will have to clean the ground after, so I usually do it roadside and spray water over the diesel and guide it to the drain.

I am considering using old clothes or worn rags to soak the dripped diesel next time, and clean the wet spots on the ground after, maybe with those Daiso wet wipes.

Edit: After checking the price of Shopee, a brand new set of sprocket/chain will cost me RM400 or so, makes me wonder if it's even worth taking that good care of the chain. Imagine the extra time spent amounted to a 30% increase in chain lifespan, that's only 400*0.3 = RM120 for a lot of time spent.
yes I've been riding my bike right after its finished out of the wash.
a proper detailing shop will dry the bike for you and use a good chain lube.

i've used stp chain lube before and got nothing flinging on my pants or bike.
IMO, taking good care of the chain is important because you don't want it to break it mid ride and whip your leg.
personally, I don't clean the chain before applying lube if theres no dirt on it. I'll let the shop clean it every month, front sprocket every 3 months, then reapply lube after every 500km or after raining.
alexei
post Oct 28 2024, 09:03 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Oct 20 2024, 06:30 AM)
Any recommendations for Wave 125X battery? YTZ5S good or not?
ok kut
I would look into Lithium batteries

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 27 2024, 04:18 PM)

check the rollers if it is loose in the links, the shiny rollers that contacts the sprockets
there are cases where the chains last longer without cleaning, and my experience tells me chains that got cleaned, will kink sooner

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 27 2024, 11:17 PM)

the chain should be dry and warm when applying the lube, which makes it more tedious if you want to clean it and then apply lubes - some ppl will clean the chain, then ride the bike a bit to warm the chain before lubing it

see my reply above, there are ppl who never lube their chain their whole life
my riding circle got riders like this
JustForFun
post Oct 28 2024, 03:23 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 28 2024, 09:03 AM)
ok kut
check the rollers if it is loose in the links, the shiny rollers that contacts the sprockets
there are cases where the chains last longer without cleaning, and my experience tells me chains that got cleaned, will kink sooner
the chain should be dry and warm when applying the lube, which makes it more tedious if you want to clean it and then apply lubes - some ppl will clean the chain, then ride the bike a bit to warm the chain before lubing it

Thanks, my chain is in good shiny condition (visually), thanks to the low mileage also. I think I'm spending too much time worrying over small things like that.

I'll just do the bare minimum going forward, I should hit 12k mileage next year, by then I'll pay a visit to 66 speedbike for fluid change and inspection, and see what they say about the chain, maybe earlier.
alexei
post Oct 28 2024, 04:19 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 28 2024, 03:23 PM)
Thanks, my chain is in good shiny condition (visually), thanks to the low mileage also. I think I'm spending too much time worrying over small things like that.

I'll just do the bare minimum going forward, I should hit 12k mileage next year, by then I'll pay a visit to 66 speedbike for fluid change and inspection, and see what they say about the chain, maybe earlier.
you'd have to touch it, to see if it's loose in the links

jaycee1
post Oct 28 2024, 06:38 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 28 2024, 09:03 AM)
ok kut

Actually I think it's how we clean chains. Printed on my RK chain box, it says specifically not to use petroleum based cleaners ( ie diesel or kerosene)or harsh chemicals with pressure washer.

Maybe that's why. Anyway I half expect my RK520 X ring chain to last about 25k. At 150 a set + 50 installation, it's a 200rm expenditure, once a year...

JustForFun
post Oct 29 2024, 08:16 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 28 2024, 06:38 PM)
Actually I think it's how we clean chains. Printed on my RK chain box, it says specifically not to use petroleum based cleaners ( ie diesel or kerosene)or harsh chemicals with pressure washer.

Maybe that's why. Anyway I half expect my RK520 X ring chain to last about 25k. At 150 a set + 50 installation, it's a 200rm expenditure, once a year...
I use diesel because it's easily available and 66 speed bike recommends it as well. Anyway, based on my usage so far I will average 8K KM per year, it will take a long time for me to need to replace the chain unless I really abuse it, so at that cost i should really be worrying too much, just need to get it checked when I do oil change to make sure it's okay.

I see that the standard recommendation is to clean the chain every 800KM, but given your usage thats probably too often?
alexei
post Oct 29 2024, 09:27 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

I feel the chain that gets used regularly last longer - we should track the chain life by both mileage and time

hydrocarbon (diesel, kerosene etc) to clean chain, including WD40 and a lot of myths out there, my only thought is what happens when those liquids get pass the seals (o-ring, x-ring etc) into the chain lube - personally, I wouldn't want any of those as a high pressure lubricant inside my chain

now I'm using maxima chain lube, there are two types, I'm using the 'clean' one... another type is 'messy'

I do get a lot of wet rides, and the chain has visible rust spots often times, which is not good. I do give the bike a quick rinse after most rides, to remove bug splats and quick inspection before parking it - which was how I found out I have a waterpump leak at the moment

I also check my sprocket marks, to get a rough idea if I should change it or maybe tighten the chain slack

my last chain + sprockets = Nov 2021, ~15k km so far and starting to kink, and rollers are loose
I haven't done chain length measurement, but I'm pretty sure it's close to wear out liao

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Oct 28 2024, 06:38 PM)

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 29 2024, 08:16 AM)
I use diesel because it's easily available and 66 speed bike recommends it as well. Anyway, based on my usage so far I will average 8K KM per year, it will take a long time for me to need to replace the chain unless I really abuse it, so at that cost i should really be worrying too much, just need to get it checked when I do oil change to make sure it's okay.

I see that the standard recommendation is to clean the chain every 800KM, but given your usage thats probably too often?
jaycee1
post Oct 29 2024, 11:11 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 29 2024, 09:27 AM)
I feel the chain that gets used regularly last longer - we should track the chain life by both mileage and time

hydrocarbon (diesel, kerosene etc) to clean chain, including WD40 and a lot of myths out there, my only thought is what happens when those liquids get pass the seals (o-ring, x-ring etc) into the chain lube - personally, I wouldn't want any of those as a high pressure lubricant inside my chain

now I'm using maxima chain lube, there are two types, I'm using the 'clean' one... another type is 'messy'

I do get a lot of wet rides, and the chain has visible rust spots often times, which is not good. I do give the bike a quick rinse after most rides, to remove bug splats and quick inspection before parking it - which was how I found out I have a waterpump leak at the moment

I also check my sprocket marks, to get a rough idea if I should change it or maybe tighten the chain slack

my last chain + sprockets = Nov 2021, ~15k km so far and starting to kink, and rollers are loose
I haven't done chain length measurement, but I'm pretty sure it's close to wear out liao
Yeah, I just treat is as a wear and tear item. Can't be so hung up on chain longevity on a daily ridden bike with 25 to 30k annual mileage.

Last last few chains lasted about about 25k no matter what I did to them. My stock DiD chain on my NK800 started kinking up at 15k.

26 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:31 AM