Home solar 4 months in.

angelgemini
post Apr 27 2024, 08:59 AM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 26 2024, 09:11 PM)
No need itchy just go for it

I was waiting for a reason to do it. The SolaRIS rebate really  sealed the deal. Better be quick because there’s no visibility on the availability.
any company to recommend for Iskandar puteri johor?
MGM
post Apr 27 2024, 10:07 AM

18,435 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 26 2024, 05:39 PM)
Another installer quoted me Solis 3P6K, has integrated AFCI but needs activation, whatever that means. Huawei I know confirm it is there. Between Solis vs Huawei, I prefer Huawei simply because it is a more expensive hybrid inverter versus Solis..so for the same price or less, why choose the cheaper Solis? The company that quoted Solis said I need to top up RM2k if I want Huawei. In terms of company backing, as above, Huawei is one of the biggest tech companies in the world, the backing is solid. Solis, not sure if the company is here in MY themselves or via distributor.

Anyhow the installer quoted me Solis 3P6K with 4.6k panels for more money versus Huawei 5KTL-M1 + 5.4k panels. So its a no brainer for me.
RM18.8k before any rebates.

Well, there are instances micro inverters can be useful, when shading is an issue or orientation/roof design. Mine is a straightforward terrace roof and nothing shading around my roof.
Averagely how many kwh can this produce?

Moderna
post Apr 27 2024, 10:12 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 3 2023, 10:53 AM)
You need 5 years to break even. Imo, it should not be considered as ROI during the first 5 years. Don't forget to add the opportunity cost of the RM47000 you coughed up.

After this, baru can consider ROI.
The opportunity cost can offset by the extra 700++ ts grts every months. There’s an opportunity cost in having extra disposable income too.
tropicanagolf
post Apr 27 2024, 11:11 PM

19 posts

NEM system cannot install battery? what about after 10 years when the contract expire?
alfiejr
post Apr 27 2024, 11:16 PM

Gaming~
1,294 posts

QUOTE(tropicanagolf @ Apr 27 2024, 11:11 PM)
NEM system cannot install battery? what about after 10 years when the contract expire?
Can install afterwards.
adamw
post Apr 28 2024, 01:01 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,352 posts

As long as the hybrid inverter have IEC61727 certification you can used it with NEM & battery.
Jason
post Apr 28 2024, 02:29 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Apr 27 2024, 08:59 AM)
any company to recommend for Iskandar puteri johor?
After speaking to about 6 companies and asking questions.

Here are my recommendation. Disclaimer, I am not affiliated anyway to the industry. I am just a soon to be consumer.

1. Some companies will bs story you, because their approach is to maximize profit. E.g. your house uses three phase power. They tell you single phase inverter will work. It is true, it will work, but it’s not optimize and it’s not best for you. Out of the 6 I spoke to, 4 of them tell me can install can use, which is true, but it’s not the best. It’s like selling you snow tires for use in Malaysia. It will work and can use. It’s just not the best choice available.

2. Choose a large company with long track record. Best if they have large corporate clients. Why? When you buy from them, they will be the one supporting you for the 10 year inverter warranty, 12 year panel warranty etc. Sure, Huawei inverters will be backed by Huawei Malaysia even if your installer close shop tomorrow. But it will be very hard to find another installer to touch your system and do the replacement for you. Nobody wants to clean up other people’s shit.

3. Out of 6 of the companies I spoke to, 2 of them is clueless. Just focus on selling. When I ask questions like send me the data sheet of inverter, she answer me the quote is based on my tnb bill. Don’t even know what I am asking for. Don’t even have basic product knowledge. Just sell sell sell — this company advertise heavily on Facebook, name start with a. Worse thing about them that scares me, they used to sell Canadian Solar panels. Now discontinued. Which makes me wonder if your panel got issue claim warranty, they don’t carry it anymore, what happens? Is the installer going to replace for you? Are they going to tell you sorry brand no longer in Malaysia you need to pay to replace with other brand? Make sure you ask.

4. Truth is, solar panel hardly needs cleaning in most cases. If the company start story say need cleaning, charge you how much. Can walk away. If your output got problem, maybe cleaning is one of the remedy — like Godzilla 💩 on your solar panel and the rain can’t wash it off. This is what the big company tell me. Usually don’t need.

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 27 2024, 10:07 AM)
Averagely how many kwh can this produce?
Average save RM250 a month. You can go online find calculators. It’s a 5kW system.

This post has been edited by Jason: Apr 28 2024, 02:30 PM
Jason
post Apr 28 2024, 02:37 PM

6,354 posts

Can install. But what is the benefit? You don’t want to draw so much from tnb grid to make sure you’re below monthly 1,500kW threshold? There’s a 10 cents surcharge per kWh if you exceed 1,500kW drawn from the grid. It applies even if you’re on NEM.

But even assuming the surcharge applies, 1501kW * RM0.10 = RM150.10. Per annum it’s RM1801.20. Current battery system costs way more than that.

There’s no clear ROI? Unless you’re consuming way more — but that also means you need a large battery and a huge solar system.

Huawei’s inverter is battery ready. Hopefully 10 years later the NEM gets renewed or the battery costs comes down. Yes yes Huawei supports proprietary batteries only and it’s HV battery. But you can still do AC coupled battery with inverter with the Huawei system. Same same.
angelgemini
post Apr 28 2024, 03:08 PM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 28 2024, 02:29 PM)

Here are my recommendation. Disclaimer, I am not affiliated anyway to the industry. I am just a soon to be consumer.

1. Some companies will bs story you, because their approach is to maximize profit. E.g. your house uses three phase power. They tell you single phase inverter will work. It is true, it will work, but it’s not optimize and it’s not best for you. Out of the 6 I spoke to, 4 of them tell me can install can use, which is true, but it’s not the best. It’s like selling you snow tires for use in Malaysia. It will work and can use. It’s just not the best choice available.

2. Choose a large company with long track record. Best if they have large corporate clients. Why? When you buy from them, they will be the one supporting you for the 10 year inverter warranty, 12 year panel warranty etc. Sure, Huawei inverters will be backed by Huawei Malaysia even if your installer close shop tomorrow. But it will be very hard to find another installer to touch your system and do the replacement for you. Nobody wants to clean up other people’s shit.

3. Out of 6 of the companies I spoke to, 2 of them is clueless. Just focus on selling. When I ask questions like send me the data sheet of inverter, she answer me the quote is based on my tnb bill. Don’t even know what I am asking for. Don’t even have basic product knowledge. Just sell sell sell — this company advertise heavily on Facebook, name start with a. Worse thing about them that scares me, they used to sell Canadian Solar panels. Now discontinued. Which makes me wonder if your panel got issue claim warranty, they don’t carry it anymore, what happens? Is the installer going to replace for you? Are they going to tell you sorry brand no longer in Malaysia you need to pay to replace with other brand? Make sure you ask.

4. Truth is, solar panel hardly needs cleaning in most cases. If the company start story say need cleaning, charge you how much. Can walk away. If your output got problem, maybe cleaning is one of the remedy — like Godzilla 💩 on your solar panel and the rain can’t wash it off. This is what the big company tell me. Usually don’t need.
Average save RM250 a month. You can go online find calculators. It’s a 5kW system.
can share the company you have talk to?
maybe can censored some word in between the company name. haha.

Jason
post Apr 28 2024, 03:37 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Apr 28 2024, 03:08 PM)
can share the company you have talk to?
maybe can censored some word in between the company name. haha.
All this just PM lah.
Not nice to disclose public forum. Can refer you the person and company I chose. Already paid booking.

it’s my personal experience, observation and opinion and is only 1 case, and may not reflect the norm.

I don’t want to get sued.

Oh ya one more benefit in Malaysia versus those angmo countries like Australia and UK, our installers mostly use skylift. Damn hebat compare to Aus & UK where they mostly use ladders and carry the panels up the roof for installation.

I’m also going to request when they install the frame/support rail for panel to be bigger and to allow me to install extra panels in the future. Top up a bit more worth it.

My package comes with 5.4kWp panels on 5kW inverter.

I intend to ask how much to add 2 extra panels, and have space to accommodate a max of 16 panels. So in future can add panels or swap panels without having to touch the roof again. Of course mixing old panels and new ones not ideal, but it’s easier down the road.
bee88
post Apr 28 2024, 04:41 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 26 2024, 03:07 AM)
Quite useful tered. Why is it in /k lol

Going to pay booking next week.
5kW system with 3 phase Huawei Hybrid Inverter & 5.4kW Trina Vertex S+ panels.

After doing extensive reading, this Huawei Hybrid Inverter is the bomb if it’s the same price as non hybrid string inverters. Built in AFCI. 10 years warranty (installer says it’s 1 to 1 swap), option to plug in their HV batteries and supported ones — argument that it’s proprietary is silly. You can still install AC coupled batteries as with normal string inverters if you want.

What I’ve noticed about many installers is that the panels and inverters they use are seasonal. E.g. one company used to sell Canadian Solar panels and now moved to Longi exclusively. And they are also phasing out string inverters and going for Hoymiles micro inverters.

Which brings me to the conclusion that, when selling you the system they can tell you 12 years warranty and 25 years performance guarantee or whatever, but if they stop carrying or selling the brand, or the distributor stops distributing the brand. Your warranty is just words on paper.

Huawei is distributed by themselves in Malaysia. Gigantic company, and I am confident with the warranty they offer. No idea about panels. Any panel manufacturer has presence in MY? Trina konon partner with TNB. Don’t know what that actually means. Probably just GSPARX using their panels.
Actually u will notice that most solar companies will just offer the brand of the panels they have in stock and they won’t stick to one single brand. I have seen many companies and their quotes, that changes brand over the time. Perhaps your company also no difference. They could bring two or more brands in and offer whichever which is in stock.

Usually for the panel warranty, the company will just replace with the similar wattage and claim the defective panels later with the manufacturer on credit note. That’s why a company which is reputable is better than those new companies.

Also that’s why to go for tier 1 panel companies, as they are more likely to storm the weather and last longer in the pv industry.

adamw
post Apr 28 2024, 05:35 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,352 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 28 2024, 02:37 PM)
Can install. But what is the benefit? You don’t want to draw so much from tnb grid to make sure you’re below monthly 1,500kW threshold? There’s a 10 cents surcharge per kWh if you exceed 1,500kW drawn from the grid. It applies even if you’re on NEM.

But even assuming the surcharge applies, 1501kW * RM0.10 = RM150.10. Per annum it’s RM1801.20. Current battery system costs way more than that.

There’s no clear ROI? Unless you’re consuming way more — but that also means you need a large battery and a huge solar system.

Huawei’s inverter is battery ready. Hopefully 10 years later the NEM gets renewed or the battery costs comes down. Yes yes Huawei supports proprietary batteries only and it’s HV battery. But you can still do AC coupled battery with inverter with the Huawei system. Same same.
Huawei have both on grid and hybrid inverter. So please get your facts right, later somebody installed Huawei cannot add battery will surely blame you. brows.gif

prdkancil
post Apr 28 2024, 08:52 PM

219 posts

Tis good deal? Using huawei , promotion partner with huawei

This post has been edited by prdkancil: Apr 28 2024, 08:53 PM
bee88
post Apr 28 2024, 10:38 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Apr 28 2024, 08:52 PM)

I dont think so to be honest. Need to see what is being offered in detail lah anyway.
MGM
post Apr 29 2024, 12:03 PM

18,435 posts

For d 11kWp system at rm25800, how many panels would be needed? It's bill of rm650 is ~1366kwh? My current bill is rm300, planning to get EV in 3 years time.

This post has been edited by MGM: Apr 29 2024, 12:06 PM
prdkancil
post Apr 29 2024, 12:08 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 29 2024, 12:03 PM)
For d 11kWp system at rm25800, how many panels would be needed? It's bill of rm650 is ~1366kwh? My current bill is rm300, planning to get EV in 3 years time.
I dunno bro , i jz share tis ads tat popup on my fb , maybe u can PM ask them "ERS Energy" in facebook .

I think for 12kWp system x 4hrs peak sun = around 48kWp x 30days shd be for that 1400kwh usage , so their est monthly fees more or less is correct1.

This post has been edited by prdkancil: Apr 29 2024, 12:12 PM
bee88
post Apr 29 2024, 12:12 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Apr 29 2024, 12:03 PM)
If your bill is rm300, you don’t need this much. If ev is in the planning, but not confirmed, I think better not to take into consideration. Lots of thing can happen within this three years. Newer tech, cheaper options.

You most likely need about 7kwp max. If you are on single phase, you don’t need to convert to three phase for 11kwp.

Why 3 years time to get ev. Get now and enjoy. Nice ride actually.
TSnetflix2019
post Apr 29 2024, 12:15 PM

414 posts

actually very cheap. the before discount price is what i paid. Mine is 14kwp system 26panel 550w panel.
prdkancil
post Apr 29 2024, 12:20 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Apr 29 2024, 12:15 PM)
actually very cheap. the before discount price is what i paid. Mine is 14kwp system 26panel 550w panel.
I think so .
500w panel no brand grade b around RM600 , let say 1000w each = RM1k
10kw = RM1k x 10 , RM10k
inverter let say RM5k branded 10kw system .
Total cost >RM15k add wire la , tis and tat installation + RM5k
RM20k+ for 10kwP system i think is reasonable , am i right ? I dunno i juz newbie on solar .

Ivan113
post Apr 29 2024, 12:31 PM

925 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Apr 28 2024, 02:29 PM)

my house is 3 phase power, but they chose 1 phase inverter for me, it's 6.96 kw panel system, set date to install on end of May. How is it not optimized though?

255 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:53 PM