Home solar 4 months in.

kaizoku30
post Jun 10 2024, 05:31 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Jun 9 2024, 11:50 PM)
Currently doing my homework on getting a suitable system for my home. Just read through 5x pages of comments 😵‍💫 (bit pening kepala). House is 3 phase.

This is the setup i am looking to go with:

TRINA vertex 605W N-type Bi Facial x16
Hoymiles HMT 2000 4T x4

Am leaning towards the above microinverter type because the panels will have to be laid in 3 different direction - North, South & East.

Hopefully sifus can help explain the following which i still am not clear on:

Is there such a thing as 1 phase / 3 phase for micro inverters? I read the thread that you can direct each micro inverter to a differece phase but if i have 4 microinverters - it means 1:1:2 setup? Any pros & cons to this?

Is hoymiles a goos brand? Asides from Hoymiles, any other recommended brands?

What is clipping and the ideal ratio?
Macam tiada 3 phase micro inverter.

No need get biracial if you gonna put on roof, the other side basically shaded. Just get the mono facial enough. Bifacial also more fragile cuz both side also glass panel.

Better to have string inverter on single side. Next time you can upgrade inverter with battery storage option when your nem contract habis

adamw
post Jun 10 2024, 06:02 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

QUOTE(kaizoku30 @ Jun 10 2024, 05:31 PM)

No need get biracial if you gonna put on roof, the other side basically shaded. Just get the mono facial enough. Bifacial also more fragile cuz both side also glass panel.

Better to have string inverter on single side. Next time you can upgrade inverter with battery storage option when your nem contract habis
Hoymiles HMT Series (Three Phase)
Hoymiles
mrstohchu
post Jun 10 2024, 09:45 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(kaizoku30 @ Jun 10 2024, 05:31 PM)

The panel was suggested by the seller. I think he is trying to give me the highest wattage.

I'm going w micro inverter setup because my roof is a smaller scale version of the attached pic. Cannot fit all panels onto 1 side. Have to split it up in clumps of 4 panels on the various roof facets.

dwRK
post Jun 10 2024, 10:38 PM

the consummate chartist
6,244 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Jun 10 2024, 05:22 PM)
i get mine 7.2kwp with Huawei string inverter
RM22k
who is the contractor ?

dwRK
post Jun 10 2024, 10:45 PM

the consummate chartist
6,244 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Jun 10 2024, 09:45 PM)
The panel was suggested by the seller. I think he is trying to give me the highest wattage.

I'm going w micro inverter setup because my roof is a smaller scale version of the attached pic. Cannot fit all panels onto 1 side. Have to split it up in clumps of 4 panels on the various roof facets.

can still use string because no shading problems... just have to connect properly...

as for which phase more... i would put 2 micros to the phase with highest daytime load...

bee88
post Jun 11 2024, 06:34 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 10 2024, 10:45 PM)
can still use string because no shading problems... just have to connect properly...

as for which phase more... i would put 2 micros to the phase with highest daytime load...
In my opinion, String on this type of roof will have reduced efficiency. It is because string inverters usually have two mppts to cover all four different angle.
cdspins
post Jun 11 2024, 07:06 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(mental007 @ Jun 10 2024, 03:34 PM)
Thanks for the feedback. I'm looking into about RM250-350 savings since my bill might go up in the future due to additional air conditioner etc.

I have approached a few companies (Solarvest, Pathgreen etc).
Solarvest:
6.7kwp
Jinko panel, solis inverter

PG
7.2kwp
Trina Solar  600W
Hoymiles inverter

Looks like the offerings from PG is quite good. 20k after Additional RM4k rebate from solaris incentives from government. about 6 years ROI.

Anything else I need to take note or compare?
Ya, comparing a few company then you probably know which company offer best. If for me, based on your quotation, I will go for PG as well. By the way, no quotation from GSPARX? But maybe theirs will be slightly more expensive anyway.

cdspins
post Jun 11 2024, 07:16 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Jun 10 2024, 09:45 PM)

Yes, the technology behind micro inverter sound great where each panel can maximize its efficiently to max and not dependent on the lowest panel, but maybe it is best that if you can ask the contractor to show you the log of that system and compare to log of a string system.

Probably you will notice the difference in energy generated maybe very insignificant.... (I'm guessing though)
My explanation is that, the peak sun hour usually occurs in the high noon 11am to 3pm. During this time the sun is almost on top of your roof regardless of orientation, so micro inverter do very little to contribute during peak generation period (unless your system is so big that a cloud partially shading some of the panel)

Micro inverter system shine during the early morning or evening time, when the sun ray is slanted, but do noted that during that time generation is like in the 20% region or less... So the question then becomes is it worth to invest additional money (micro inverter system will be more expensive than normal inverter) to increase the performance of that 20%.
ayamxxx
post Jun 11 2024, 08:21 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Jun 10 2024, 05:22 PM)
i get mine 7.2kwp with Huawei string inverter
RM22k
drop contact details
angelgemini
post Jun 11 2024, 09:19 AM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jun 11 2024, 07:16 AM)
Yes, the technology behind micro inverter sound great where each panel can maximize its efficiently to max and not dependent on the lowest panel, but maybe it is best that if you can ask the contractor to show you the log of that system and compare to log of a string system.

Probably you will notice the difference in energy generated maybe very insignificant.... (I'm guessing though)
My explanation is that, the peak sun hour usually occurs in the high noon 11am to 3pm. During this time the sun is almost on top of your roof regardless of orientation, so micro inverter do very little to contribute during peak generation period (unless your system is so big that a cloud partially shading some of the panel)

Micro inverter system shine during the early morning or evening time, when the sun ray is slanted, but do noted that during that time generation is like in the 20% region or less...  So the question then becomes is it worth to invest additional money (micro inverter system will be more expensive than normal inverter) to increase the performance of that 20%.
For my quotation,
Micro and normal inverter same price.

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 11 2024, 08:21 AM)
drop contact details
PM me.
dwRK
post Jun 11 2024, 10:10 AM

the consummate chartist
6,244 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Jun 11 2024, 06:34 AM)
In my opinion, String on this type of roof will have reduced efficiency. It is because string inverters usually have two mppts to cover all four different angle.
depends also on sun/roof orientation... 2 sides east and 2 sides west then no issue at all...

if i have a big system, i'd go half-half... string and micro... smile.gif

cdspins
post Jun 11 2024, 11:33 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Jun 11 2024, 09:19 AM)
For my quotation,
Micro and normal inverter same price.
PM me.
If same price then technology wise, yes, micro inverter is the way to go.
Do also check out about the brand, its app as well. I'm not into inverters much so not sure about it.

What about quotation from other companies that solely only do normal inverters. It is more or about the same price as well?

Then again, if the best price provided is about the same, all other factors is also merely about the same.
Then micro inverter technology is way superior.
mrstohchu
post Jun 11 2024, 11:36 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jun 11 2024, 07:16 AM)

Micro inverter system shine during the early morning or evening time, when the sun ray is slanted, but do noted that during that time generation is like in the 20% region or less...  So the question then becomes is it worth to invest additional money (micro inverter system will be more expensive than normal inverter) to increase the performance of that 20%.
Thanks for the suggestion.

Asked - installer told me 99% they recommend & install string, only cases like mine (due to my roof shape) they recommend micro. Also, he says only have access to string panel performance. Micro performance only owner have access.

angelgemini
post Jun 11 2024, 11:43 AM

1,751 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jun 11 2024, 11:33 AM)
If same price then technology wise, yes, micro inverter is the way to go.
Do also check out about the brand, its app as well. I'm not into inverters much so not sure about it.

What about quotation from other companies that solely only do normal inverters. It is more or about the same price as well?

Then again, if the best price provided is about the same, all other factors is also merely about the same.
Then micro inverter technology is way superior.
the option is
1. Microinverter hoymiles Inverter x 3 units.
2. Huawei string hybrid Inverter

the consideration i choose string because
String is.
1. option to add battery when itchy backside to have backup during power outage.
2. worry Hoymiles kena buy over by other company then no more support or warranty.
3. if any issue to inverter, Microinverter, need to go up roof top which cost so much higher compare to String inverter at ground floor.
4. I see Hoymiles need to have extra gateway for communication, then i think if that spoil, how? and 10 years later still have same part?

because of all above consideration, i get string.
laihuhng
post Jun 11 2024, 12:53 PM

603 posts

Has anyone ever gotten a quote from this company, Semangat Anggun Group of Companies (SAG) - SAG Green Tech?

This post has been edited by laihuhng: Jun 11 2024, 12:54 PM
bee88
post Jun 11 2024, 12:57 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(laihuhng @ Jun 11 2024, 12:53 PM)
Has anyone ever gotten a quote from this company, Semangat Anggun Group of Companies (SAG) - SAG Green Tech?
There are many companies now. Mostly are just established few years ago.

If in doubt, always check the ssm for reg date. Choose those with longer history.

Also try to understand the nature of the business. Some companies venture into solar and their core business is different. They could be established way earlier but their solar experience is short.

This post has been edited by bee88: Jun 11 2024, 01:01 PM
dwRK
post Jun 11 2024, 02:11 PM

the consummate chartist
6,244 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Jun 11 2024, 11:36 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion.

Asked - installer told me 99% they recommend & install string, only cases like mine (due to my roof shape) they recommend micro. Also, he says only have access to string panel performance. Micro performance only owner have access.
nice that they don't push one solution... and looks like special case optimized for you... which company is this?

laihuhng
post Jun 11 2024, 02:17 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Jun 11 2024, 12:57 PM)

If in doubt, always check the ssm  for reg date.  Choose those with longer history.

Also try to understand the nature of the business. Some companies venture into solar and their core business is different. They could be established way earlier but their solar experience is short.
This company is one of the solar companies under our company's EPP program. Just wanted to see if anyone has experience with them.
cdspins
post Jun 11 2024, 02:40 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Jun 11 2024, 12:57 PM)

If in doubt, always check the ssm  for reg date.  Choose those with longer history.

Yup this is a very good advise. There is just too many company doing solar now.
There are many that have close shop or change hand/ change name.
Mind you that all the warranties is tie up to the installer company. So if the company no longer exist, so is your 10 years inverters warranty or 25 years solar performance warranty.

It all boils down to one's risk appetite. Besides, solar panels and inverters rarely spoil.
So if you are one of those that must get all warranty... then GSPARX (TnB subsidiary) is one of the better option.
If you do a lot of homework, then can choose those established solar company as well with more than 5 years in operation. A google on their facebook pages or hashtag or customer review will show about when they start their business
If you are ok that solar system last as long as you can get ROI in about 5 years, then the cheapest will do and usually this are the new companies. Because it it ain't broke in the first few months, it probably gonna last a few years at least.

laihuhng
post Jun 11 2024, 02:45 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jun 11 2024, 02:40 PM)
Yup this is a very good advise. There is just too many company doing solar now.
There are many that have close shop or change hand/ change name.
Mind you that all the warranties is tie up to the installer company. So if the company no longer exist, so is your 10 years inverters warranty or 25 years solar performance warranty.

It all boils down to one's risk appetite. Besides, solar panels and inverters rarely spoil.
So if you are one of those that must get all warranty... then GSPARX  (TnB subsidiary) is one of the better option.
If you do a lot of homework, then can choose those established solar company as well with more than 5 years in operation. A google on their facebook pages or hashtag or customer review will show about when they start their business
If you are ok that solar system last as long as you can get ROI in about 5 years, then the cheapest will do and usually this are the new companies. Because it it ain't broke in the first few months, it probably gonna last a few years at least.
Other than GSPARX, any other companies with good reputations? If you checked the responses in Google Review, GSPARX isn't that impressive.

255 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:22 PM