Home solar 4 months in.

ayamxxx
post May 7 2024, 09:04 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ May 7 2024, 08:03 AM)
SHAH ALAM (May 6): The Ministry of Energy Transition and Water Transformation (Petra) has come up with the affordable “Solar BOLEH!” programme to enable more people to adopt solar energy by installing solar panels in their homes, said Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof.

Fadillah, who is also energy transition and water transformation minister, said Petra is collaborating with the AEON Group, Bank Simpanan Nasional and SOLS Energy to implement the programme.

He said the programme, under the People’s Solar Transition Initiative (Solar@Petra Initiative), aims to encourage more people to benefit from the national energy transition agenda and that it is specifically designed to expand domestic users’ access to solar installation schemes and available financing facilities in the market.

Fadillah said that through this public-private collaboration, solar installation subscriptions can be easily made at AEON branches across the country, with special benefits offered to AEON cardholders, such as earning double reward points.

“In the past, residential solar installations were typically done by those who could afford it because the cost was relatively high, but with the ‘Solar BOLEH!’ programme, we believe more people will respond to the call to support the energy transition agenda.
google but seems no details info. recommended?
ayamxxx
post May 11 2024, 06:37 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(owj @ May 10 2024, 05:30 PM)
Sorry. Mine is RM900 cash to me monthly as I was the last batch before NEM. Huawei inverter and panasonic panel. Price no need to ask lah sure much higher than you all since before NEM.

Just thought of getting some updated feedback on the yield/rebate with the new solar panels to decide whether good to invest in my parent's house with the new scheme or not
Whats your parent house bills be like monthly? My house last time consistent rm300-350 monthly due to old inefficient AC that already 10 years old or more. Change all AC in the house to 5 stars inverter, hp follow room sizes, hall included. And repaired my water pump forgot the electrical parts malfunction,it keep pumping water non stop (used quite high current, Grundfos). Now getting rm130-160 average and max rm180.

Ask few solar company, they said better wait cz solar are those who are higher bills consumed like rm350 above.
ayamxxx
post May 11 2024, 09:05 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ May 11 2024, 06:40 AM)
His is under FIT. He gets RM900 from TNB, not paying Tnb.
He's asking to install new solar to his parents house under current sceme. That why ask what's the current bill for his parents house
ayamxxx
post May 25 2024, 06:38 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 24 2024, 07:46 PM)

Unfortunately my Solar journey ends here . Click the spoiler to see pictures.

As per whatsapp from the solar company engineering team, my roof structure cannot support the weight of the solar panels

"Kayu ni boleh pecah kalau kita drill, bila da masuk L + railing + panel , possibility utk kayu tu mengepak dan pecah tinggi tu".

This means im stuck with a rm700+ tnb bill every month from now on
Rm700 monthly bill, whats the main contribution? If it AC, suggest changing all to 5 stars inverter first. It drop my monthly bill massively cz previously use old AC which are not efficient

ayamxxx
post May 25 2024, 09:15 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 25 2024, 08:52 AM)
700 bill.
That kind of roof means your house is heating up rapidly due to that kind of roof.

Suggestion
Look for quotes for roof renovation.
Or maybe AC keep running its compressor cz its not a closed area, similar to my kampung.
ayamxxx
post May 26 2024, 02:05 PM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ May 25 2024, 03:31 PM)
Hmm ive never tried touching the ceiling during the day. Will try later see how. But eventually will still need solar as we phase out all the ice car at home for an EV in the coming future
Either the room/hall ceiling too high until AC need to work extra2 harder to replace the hot air inside or another is to many gap & holes for the kampung design style like my wife kampung. Ask individuals who doing repairs at kampung to put close all holes (kinda old design for house in kampung) then change the AC to inverter, its also drop the bill of the house.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: May 26 2024, 08:07 PM
ayamxxx
post Jun 11 2024, 08:21 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Jun 10 2024, 05:22 PM)
i get mine 7.2kwp with Huawei string inverter
RM22k
drop contact details
ayamxxx
post Jun 14 2024, 04:37 PM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(eagle7 @ Jun 14 2024, 03:42 PM)
Once the NEM 3.0 contract expires after 10 years, our contract with TNB will go from NEM to Selco (self-consumption).

Under Selco, we are technically not allowed or licensed to export excess energy to the TNB grid; thus, doing so will be considered illegal.

By reading your smart metre's exported energy remotely, they can automatically know whether you comply with the Selco agreement.
From the link below, the off-grid system is more toward remote area without direct access to grid system.
Off-Grid Solar Power System
10 years from now, I believe you already start switching your old car from ICE to EV with half the current price.  So, your saving will continue to carry on in different form.
Considering Ron95 price will be up in future, was planning to install Solar for medium size panel to upgrade car with EV. House at rm250-300 monthly but will use the EV car for it, utilizing the solar panel investment
ayamxxx
post Jul 1 2024, 10:38 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jul 1 2024, 10:37 AM)
Drop the battery, I think it will reduce the price by quite alot, do not need battery currently, further down the road when battery becomes cheap then only consider.

By the way, sesco bill RM500 is about how many kwh?
this
ayamxxx
post Jul 1 2024, 10:41 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Jul 1 2024, 10:40 AM)
without NEM, i don't think he can drop the battery
I believe can as what others have been doing so far, use TNB as the "battery" provider, mean total generated by solar - current supply by TNB. Correct?
ayamxxx
post Jul 31 2024, 08:58 PM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Jul 31 2024, 01:48 PM)
off topic question but anyone can advice why I cant seem to save on electricity bill? Non solar user here. Example pass 2 days I turn off my fridge and coway water and when I look on the the mytnb it says I used 20kwh a day during the pass 2 days when I had these appliance off but the other days when I had these appliances on my daily usage is also 20kwh a day. Something doesn't add up with me here?

I want to put solar but was quoted rm21k which will take me some time to save up for it..
maybe get an electrician to check your house DB condition, if there are any electrical leak etc. I had for 3 months where the bill shoot up quite high vs normal and its due to my pipe in the toilet leaking, very minor at the stopcock, and the Water Pump pumping (cz it detects low pressure/water use) and the pump keep on pumping every 2 minutes which make the bill high. After repaired, bill down back as normal.

For coway where mine got Cold water and Hot water one, I use Mr. Diy timer plug type and set it auto off from 9pm - 6am daily, as that is the time when no one will use the kitchen.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jul 31 2024, 09:00 PM
ayamxxx
post Feb 13 2025, 09:06 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(PyOsE @ Feb 12 2025, 12:56 PM)

Just general question, let say Solar installation cost RM20k, and I'm planning to do installment with CC for 36 months.

But my CC limit is RM15k only. Is there any problem?  hmm.gif
few installer I message, they ask to reapply 1 new CC with your solar panel selection, ie rm20k or 25k, then use that card for payment and choose 12-36 months 0% installment.
ayamxxx
post Feb 13 2025, 09:42 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Feb 13 2025, 09:34 AM)
Mine can go for two cards last time. Nowadays not easy to apply a new card. Bank are quite strict, even I have difficulty getting new cards now.  Especially standard chartered. Maybe they tag me as gift hunter last time.
not sure how but CIMB one are the easiest so far, mine just apply it at their website, upload all, then straight they post to my house. Maybank hard,

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Feb 13 2025, 09:42 AM
ayamxxx
post Aug 21 2025, 09:10 AM

4,052 posts

QUOTE(etan26 @ Aug 15 2025, 10:36 AM)
Warranty PV 20 years, inverter 10 years, apa lagi lu mau.

Your friend all no warranty meh? Kesian .... NEM 1.0 sure la doesn't last long ....
Cable also got problem? Or just assuming .....

That's why invest abit more for the inverter la dei ...... If rosak after 10 years buy new one.. wouldn't cost you a bomb ma.

5 years free electric sudah around RM42k ..... then another 10 years 84k profit....
This. Then the next 10-15 years, for sure, the parts, inverter etc can cost much2 cheaper than now

0.0262sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:00 PM