Radeon HD 3870 and HD 3850 On The Horizon, The Dark Side is POWERFUL . come join
Jan 12 2008, 11:13 PM
2,659 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Miri, PJ & KL |
If the price is right, I may migrate to R680 from this HD3870. Then again, may need 2 HR03GT for that behemoth
Jan 12 2008, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(User_Xp @ Jan 12 2008, 11:36 PM) looks like Ati 38xx series is interesting..i`m using 8600GT now... Big difference mate. I was on 8600GT as well maybe plan to change the GC... sumone can tell me the 38xx series benefit? My suggestion though...wait for R680 to come out. |
Jan 13 2008, 01:08 AM
Yeah...and if you can't afford R680...there will be a lot of people that may sell their HD3870 to get the R680. I may be one of them...
This post has been edited by clayclws: Jan 13 2008, 01:08 AM |
Jan 13 2008, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(TheTraffic @ Jan 13 2008, 12:10 PM) Do you guys know when HIS 3870 ICEQ is coming out? If you are not one to add in a 3rd party heatsink, better wait for the IceQ or IceQ Turbo version. HIS HD3870 is very hot since its heatsink is very small and the fan is extremely loud...like a hairdryer. And believe me, it is indeed a hairdryer.I wanted to get HIS 3870 (without the ICEQ) but ppl are telling me that the one with ICEQ is much more better. So should i wait or just buy the normal HIS 3870 QUOTE(hahaboy @ Jan 13 2008, 12:21 PM) If you are not willing to overclock on your own, IceQ Turbo may be better but when will it arrive here is anyone's guess. Also, the pricing may not be reasonable. Should wait for R680 if you haven't decide on an upgrade.Added on January 13, 2008, 12:34 pm QUOTE(hydelai @ Jan 13 2008, 12:28 PM) Anyone encountered the problem 3850 when playing game halfway suddenly hang Either you overclocked too much or the fan and heatsink are not efficient.and then pop out 1 message something like driver stop responding etc This post has been edited by clayclws: Jan 13 2008, 12:34 PM |
Jan 13 2008, 07:09 PM
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Jan 13 2008, 06:51 PM) QUOTE(TheTraffic @ Jan 13 2008, 06:49 PM) But how come the reviews state that the stock cooler is sufficient? If it is gonna cause heat prob wouldnt ATI do something on it b4 release? That means all the owners of 3870 will have to change to 3rd party cooler? NO right? So i guess there will be alot of heat just that we have to adjust the fan speed right? So conclusion? no heat-PROB? 3870 will not die even the load temperature reach 95C. so basically if you don't oc, your card most likely will be fine with default bios. QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Jan 13 2008, 05:47 PM) Anyway TheTraffic, if you don't overclock, the stock heatsink and fan is fine. Even if you overclock, you can set the fan speed to be very high (and very noisy) and you'll still be fine. People in here are mostly enthusiasts that like to overclock and most of us like to make sure our graphic card stays a lot cooler and quiter than normal...so that's why we change the heatsink. Also, changing heatsink on a GPU is the same as CPU...you may be able to extend the limit of overclocking.And again, wait for R680... This post has been edited by clayclws: Jan 13 2008, 07:09 PM |
Jan 13 2008, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(jinaun @ Jan 13 2008, 07:29 PM) its not actually called R680 as per say... My hope...is that it actually work as a SINGLE card and NOT CF...so that all motherboard without CF support can actually use it. If it is so, I would say, it is indeed R680 its actually 2 RV670 in a single board connected by a plex pcie bridge i would say an R680(2x rv670) will perform comparably to pair of 3870 crossfired Oh, btw, it is officially spotted at CES2008. Refer to: http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=224402 This post has been edited by clayclws: Jan 13 2008, 07:49 PM |
Jan 13 2008, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(cschun86 @ Jan 13 2008, 09:55 PM) I got a problem here... Had the same problem. I uninstall every ATI possible, including registry edits and manually looked up every .dll available, but it still happens. In the end, I just forget about it and just install the drivers without the CCC. I use Rivatuner instead.after I install all the driver for 3850, all the things working fine... but afterward I realise I cant open the CCC, anyone here know the reason of this?? |
Jan 13 2008, 11:13 PM
Jan 14 2008, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(Lucas @ Jan 14 2008, 10:12 AM) how to set auto fan speed? (other than flashing the bios) I have tried ATI Tool and Riva Tunner, both does not seem to work. Refer here: http://www.guru3d.com/article/article/449/1/QUOTE(nagflar @ Jan 14 2008, 10:51 AM) no need to set anything if u need auto speed . just when playing games u manuly set the fan speed to atleast 60% . tahta all Huh? That's manual adjusting... |
Jan 14 2008, 08:16 PM
Jan 14 2008, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Jan 14 2008, 09:31 PM) hi every1... i just got my 3870 yesterday & i hv a problem. seems like i unable 2 run 3dmark06 & ATItool. it just hang & not responding. is tis normal? help me pls... Would be helpful if you post your system setups, OS, graphics related software, past GPU...all with version numbers please |
Jan 14 2008, 11:08 PM
Jan 14 2008, 11:32 PM
Jan 15 2008, 07:53 AM
Jan 15 2008, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jan 15 2008, 08:11 AM) Doom ur graphic card is hardly stay long enough to rust with you too......... According to PC-Zone's price list, they have the Turbo Module (aka AC Fans) at RM45 each. Personally, I haven't gone to ask about it.AC have their own version of fans, very thin profile for S1 if not mistaken, but locally can get or not i'm not sure |
Jan 15 2008, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(choyster @ Jan 15 2008, 05:50 PM) Maybe you should get new cards...I don't think the pricing for HD3870 and HD3850 will be lowered much. Unless you think of getting a 2nd hand HD3870 when people start ditching it for R680.QUOTE(8tvt @ Jan 15 2008, 06:00 PM) It's a damn lousy card. It's a downgrade from 8800GT. |
Jan 15 2008, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(king99 @ Jan 15 2008, 06:31 PM) No...NVIDIA 9600GT.QUOTE(scph50004 @ Jan 15 2008, 06:32 PM) Last time I went to buy my HIS, I think PC-Zone sells the GeCube HD3870 OC Ed. for RM830. Can bargain lah... |
Jan 15 2008, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(scph50004 @ Jan 15 2008, 06:39 PM) hmm do you think it's worth the little extra money to get the OC version? the review at HWZ looks good. 1. Do you overclock? If no, you can try.2. Even if you do overclock...It has better stock heatsink and fan...so, could be a good buy. 2. Do you dare void the warranty and get your own 3rd party cooler? If yes, then don't buy it. Get a normal HD3870 and use 3rd party cooler. This post has been edited by clayclws: Jan 15 2008, 06:51 PM |
Jan 15 2008, 09:18 PM
Wahaha...after that period, with the extra angpow money (assuming you are Chinese), you can consider R680
Jan 15 2008, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(probiotix @ Jan 15 2008, 10:08 PM) have decided to buy 3870 for my rig...... but wondering is the card very hot n noisy? 1. Depends on overclocking, chassis temperature and ventilation, fan speed, heatsink (stock or otherwise)...eg: >80C after 2 hours of games? is S1 the best 3rd party cooler for the card? Hoping there is a card that comes preinstalled with a good cooler.... save money too! 2. S1 is the best bang for the buck, not the best. 3. Preinstalled with great cooler also warrants a greater price tag...and they are not as good as S1. Eg. PowerColor, GeCube, HIS. |
| Change to: | 0.0525sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:39 PM |