Is it the end for partition units?, Anyone heard more?
PAChamp
Aug 18 2023, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(teikboon @ Aug 17 2023, 03:39 PM) i got friend who stay in a house with more than 10 rooms in one normal double terrace house. if got fire really gg everybody inside I was shocked when i visited my friend who stayed in such a place as upper middle class area Bandar Utama. I also understand that many houses in Sunway do those partitioning for student accommodation. Guess those places were the "pioneer" of partitioning before those "near" folks and "theyalltopia" folks decided it was a good idea to do it for condos.
TSCavatzu
Aug 18 2023, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 18 2023, 11:05 AM) I was shocked when i visited my friend who stayed in such a place as upper middle class area Bandar Utama. I also understand that many houses in Sunway do those partitioning for student accommodation. Guess those places were the "pioneer" of partitioning before those "near" folks and "theyalltopia" folks decided it was a good idea to do it for condos. The big difference is should anything happen then it falls to the individual property owner. In the case of units, you would impact hundreds if not thousands of other owners should anything go wrong. So what is reasonable here? When a fire happens, you will get a nullified insurance claim and Bomba will fine the JMB for illegal obstruction. I’d like to see apatopia address this. They just gloss it over.
teikboon
Aug 18 2023, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(PAChamp @ Aug 18 2023, 11:05 AM) I was shocked when i visited my friend who stayed in such a place as upper middle class area Bandar Utama. I also understand that many houses in Sunway do those partitioning for student accommodation. Guess those places were the "pioneer" of partitioning before those "near" folks and "theyalltopia" folks decided it was a good idea to do it for condos. my friend is staying in taman desa, old klang road area. the house is old already somemore, waiting for disaster coming only
AskarPerang
Aug 18 2023, 03:01 PM
Example notice from management office.
rumahwip
Aug 18 2023, 03:10 PM
partitioning has been ard for long time. esp near college. look at ss15
Gadget_Freak
Aug 18 2023, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Aug 18 2023, 03:01 PM) Example notice from management office.  so means this management will not check for the existing units that partitioned which approved by them previously? and they will only check if they received complaints by other owners?
PAChamp
Aug 18 2023, 04:27 PM
QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Aug 18 2023, 03:44 PM) so means this management will not check for the existing units that partitioned which approved by them previously? and they will only check if they received complaints by other owners? Management usually act like this. Why take action unless there are complaints? Because if they take action on their own accord, the owner of that unit will blast them and make all sorts of noises and complaints on their performance on other issues and no other owners will side management so they kena kau kau. Some more their gaji so low, not worth the trouble. The management can only be brave if the committee back them fully and respond to the owners.
DragonReine
Aug 18 2023, 05:22 PM
QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Aug 18 2023, 03:44 PM) so means this management will not check for the existing units that partitioned which approved by them previously? and they will only check if they received complaints by other owners? The MO added the clause "previous approval is null and void" at end of letter in bold lah... Means any prior approved partition plans by MO is considered no longer valid. If the existing units get reported, the MO wash hands and won't take action to protect the owners or reimburse owners for any orders given by authorities like being forced to tear down the illegal partitions. The MO likely won't report directly but if questioned they'll probably just hand over prior info as proof. The MO also likely liable for approving such partitions to begin with. This post has been edited by DragonReine: Aug 18 2023, 05:25 PM
SUSNajibaik
Aug 18 2023, 07:10 PM
QUOTE(DragonReine @ Aug 18 2023, 05:22 PM) The MO added the clause "previous approval is null and void" at end of letter in bold lah... Means any prior approved partition plans by MO is considered no longer valid. If the existing units get reported, the MO wash hands and won't take action to protect the owners or reimburse owners for any orders given by authorities like being forced to tear down the illegal partitions. The MO likely won't report directly but if questioned they'll probably just hand over prior info as proof. The MO also likely liable for approving such partitions to begin with. it says will be approved if done inspection before 1 Aug, meaning even if approved on July and in the process of renovation also kenot either they will hold ur deposit meaning you can choose either to let go the deposit or dismantle the partition. but in case someone report to authority, even management approved u also need to dismantle
TSCavatzu
Aug 19 2023, 08:02 AM
QUOTE(rumahwip @ Aug 18 2023, 03:10 PM) partitioning has been ard for long time. esp near college. look at ss15 An old terrace house being converted is different from a fancy new unit with strata management. Even in the old neighbourhood, other owners will make noise if they don’t like what is going on. Try being in a 50 storey building and you’re older or less mobile then you will see the true extent of disaster when your elderly parents are trampled to death or burnt alive. This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Aug 19 2023, 09:06 AM
ManutdGiggs
Aug 19 2023, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(Cavatzu @ Aug 19 2023, 08:02 AM) An old terrace house being converted is different from a fancy new unit with strata management. Even in the old neighbourhood, other owners will make noise if they don’t like what is going on. Try being in a 50 storey building and you’re older or less mobile then you will see the true extent of disaster when your elderly parents are trampled to death or burnt alive. Sadly siamitopia is not gonna see tis but their pocket
forever1979
Aug 19 2023, 03:46 PM
local council rule > house rule by MO...
TSCavatzu
Aug 19 2023, 05:37 PM
People who don’t remember Grenfell in London that relied on cheap cladding that burnt like wildfire. I wouldn’t put it past our penny pinching developers to do something unethical.
This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Aug 19 2023, 05:38 PM
AskarPerang
Aug 20 2023, 11:20 PM
TSCavatzu
Aug 21 2023, 03:53 AM
QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Aug 20 2023, 11:20 PM) Urgh I really feel like slapping their smug faces. But hey can’t blame them for trying to make money with a presented opportunity. How they dig their business out of this hole is another.
SUSredic
Aug 21 2023, 04:47 AM
property guru how?
they all teach people using partitions to earn money
TSCavatzu
Aug 21 2023, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(redic @ Aug 21 2023, 04:47 AM) property guru how? they all teach people using partitions to earn money It’s padan muka if along the way, no one ever thought that this was illegal. The big F U is that they didn’t give a damn about other owners and neighbours who don’t want this environment. This all thrived on a tidak apa attitude and reliance on weak enforcement. Tell developers they want specific investment property with just bedroom and ensuite. Don’t go and make it something it is not. Property gurus are out there to make a buck not to act in your best interests. This post has been edited by Cavatzu: Aug 21 2023, 09:30 AM
AskarPerang
Aug 26 2023, 08:58 PM
butthead76
Aug 27 2023, 06:49 AM
Heard authority going around checking now. Standby kena saman and force to undo partition.
All gurus hiding now....hahahah....as for companies lease entire unit and do partition is their problem. But likely they will terminate early. They will be a major collapse in this business sector. Back to leasing by costly room or entire unit.
TSCavatzu
Aug 27 2023, 08:01 AM
QUOTE(butthead76 @ Aug 27 2023, 06:49 AM) Heard authority going around checking now. Standby kena saman and force to undo partition. All gurus hiding now....hahahah....as for companies lease entire unit and do partition is their problem. But likely they will terminate early. They will be a major collapse in this business sector. Back to leasing by costly room or entire unit. Really negative value now for their “investment”. The co-living companies are still ok as they provide convenience to rent out a fully furnished room.