Did TNB just screwed Solar users?

TSBoy96
post Aug 9 2023, 05:35 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(a_dot_el @ Aug 9 2023, 05:33 PM)
By right ICPT charges should be charged after contra.
This should be the way
brkli
post Aug 9 2023, 05:36 PM

592 posts

kesian T20.
a_dot_el
post Aug 9 2023, 05:38 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:35 PM)
This should be the way
My guess they are not really into encouraging people to install solar panel afterall.
SUSBrookLes
post Aug 9 2023, 05:39 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:35 PM)
This should be the way
So curious.
Was this investment worth it.
SUSBrookLes
post Aug 9 2023, 05:40 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(a_dot_el @ Aug 9 2023, 05:38 PM)
My guess they are not really into encouraging people to install solar panel afterall.
No such thing as free money friend.
GunMetalX
post Aug 9 2023, 05:41 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:27 PM)

See description in image

This one very kesian. Last time with solar pay around rm30+ only per month. Suddenly ICPT charges kena rm200+ per month

How to gain back ROI from installing 40k+ solar like this
Compare to total bill with icpt without install solar then you can see savings lor
sadlyfalways
post Aug 9 2023, 05:42 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Aug 9 2023, 05:34 PM)
No actually I don't. Won't mind if ppl enlighten me

But for normal household usage 1500 is pretty high already
What you import from tnb is calculated separately from what you export to tnb

its a seperate meter, so your import can still be well over 1500, it does not minus each other like in western countries

they have been slowly screwing over solar users, i remember at the start they used to pay much more for the clean solar energy

TSBoy96
post Aug 9 2023, 05:43 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(GunMetalX @ Aug 9 2023, 05:41 PM)
Compare to total bill with icpt without install solar then you can see savings lor
Have to consider the solar investment rm40k++ ROI which was supposed to be in 5 years now dont know become how many years already.

Some more they only allow 10 years after that they won't pay back your excess energy. Have to spend more money to get battery storage
blanket84
post Aug 9 2023, 05:43 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Aug 9 2023, 05:06 PM)
tnb paying rm0.571 for that 1kwh is very generous. rich people didnt see ka?
myself not using much electricity if tnb offered me rm0.30 for every kWH solar energy production, heck yeah, sign-me in.
This.

TNB is buying ay higher rate than selling. The additional surcharge seems fair to me.
9m2w
post Aug 9 2023, 05:46 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Aug 9 2023, 05:42 PM)

its a seperate meter, so your import can still be well over 1500, it does not minus each other like in western countries

they have been slowly screwing over solar users, i remember at the start they used to pay much more for the clean solar energy
So residential don't have the option of using generated energy first? So it's something like net metering?

I did want to take the plunge but holding off till I see my neighbours bills. They told me their consumption is less but I'm not sure if they are reading it wrong and it's a contra of two rates
Kytz
post Aug 9 2023, 05:47 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(a_dot_el @ Aug 9 2023, 05:38 PM)
They're still encouraging people to install solar, just that they're also discouraging people from using alot of electricity too.

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Aug 9 2023, 05:42 PM)

They paid higher at the start to kick-start the trend. But no reason why they should pay more for it now. That's why the rates are much lower.

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:43 PM)
Have to consider the solar investment rm40k++ ROI which was supposed to be in 5 years now dont know become how many years already.

Some more they only allow 10 years after that they won't pay back your excess energy. Have to spend more money to get battery storage
Well, solar ROI still the same as long as you don't use so much electricity.
This is more for those who go crazy with electricity use or travels alot using EV.
Seawater
post Aug 9 2023, 05:49 PM

User problem. Just disconnect from grid and runs solar for some of the equipment then guarantee no extra charge.
@@@@@@@@@@
post Aug 9 2023, 05:49 PM

Possible for the owner to totally disconnect from tnb and fully rely on solar? Like, close tnb account.

This post has been edited by @@@@@@@@@@: Aug 9 2023, 05:50 PM
darkterror15
post Aug 9 2023, 05:50 PM

359 posts

fyi, to hit 1500kw per month is rm 738.2

if household u already t20, if buka kedai too bad for you.
vapanel
post Aug 9 2023, 05:50 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(@@@@@@@@@@ @ Aug 9 2023, 05:49 PM)
Possible for the owner to totally disconnect from tnb and fully rely on solar?
Of course can

Also owner can direct use the DC power

No need to invert back to AC

And convert all applicances to DC appliances
Doomsday
post Aug 9 2023, 05:51 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

If everyone benefit from solar.

Tnb punya orang / bini / anjing nak makan apa?

Sedarlah
TSBoy96

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(Kytz @ Aug 9 2023, 05:47 PM)

Well, solar ROI still the same as long as you don't use so much electricity.
This is more for those who go crazy with electricity use or travels alot using EV.
Whats the point of getting solar in the first place if you dont use much electricity, since the cheapest of solar is also 20-25k
zerorating

Miskin Adab
976 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:43 PM)

the main motive you go for solar is to slow down climate change and promote sustainability. not to save cost or gain from the system. how selfish are we.

if we are care about the planet, dont use too much resource(in this case electricity), take public transport or just use a bicycle and walk. the ICPT surcharge were supposed to encourage public to use less electricity, not keep increase it like nobody business.
submergedx
post Aug 9 2023, 05:53 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(darkterror15 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:50 PM)
fyi, to hit 1500kw per month is rm 738.2

if household u already t20, if buka kedai too bad for you.
Commercial for sure exceed 1500KW one lar
i wonder what is their % difference
TSBoy96
post Aug 9 2023, 05:53 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Aug 9 2023, 05:51 PM)
the main motive you go for solar is to slow down climate change and promote sustainability. not to save cost or gain from the system. how selfish are we.

if we are care about the planet, dont use too much resource(in this case electricity), take public transport or just use a bicycle and walk. the ICPT surcharge were supposed to encourage public to use less electricity, not keep increase it like nobody business.
Totally in contrast what they say when they ask us to change to electric cars

Wonder why they dont follow other countries where the tariff is super cheap at night.

This post has been edited by Boy96: Aug 9 2023, 05:55 PM

25 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0155sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:27 AM