Did TNB just screwed Solar users?

zerorating
post Aug 9 2023, 05:21 PM

Miskin Adab
976 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:15 PM)
Yes. But even if u install many panels than can generate the whole electricity back, cant escape from paying the ICPT charges
i think you should know the purpose of ICPT surcharge, it is to cover up fuel cost.
night time you are using energy mostly came from fuel,neutral gas and coal, not solar.

just charge your vehicle during the day time, when your solar panel generating energy, rich people have multiple car, takkanlah every car habis battery?
ray148
post Aug 9 2023, 05:21 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:20 PM)
Cannot malaysia rule you need to connect tnb. Unless you senyap2 lah
Oh wow. What a dumb rule.
TSBoy96
post Aug 9 2023, 05:24 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Aug 9 2023, 05:21 PM)
i think you should know the purpose of ICPT surcharge, it is to cover up fuel cost.
night time you are using energy mostly came from fuel,neutral gas and coal, not solar.

just charge your vehicle during the day time, when your solar panel generating energy, rich people have multiple car, takkanlah every car habis battery?
But look at the bill, even if you use during daytime, it still feeds off the grid, the energy generated is only to contra to the grid no?
cempedaklife
post Aug 9 2023, 05:24 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

its not about solar or not solar.
its about your usage high. they charge you because the logic is, the more you use, the more they need to innovate to sustain the load. what if everyone also high utilization? more grid is needed.

this is to curb high usage and wastage, by charging you more.
Ayambetul
post Aug 9 2023, 05:26 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(kamfoo @ Aug 9 2023, 05:12 PM)
msia electric one of cheapest
Should put it this way:

Msia petrol one of cheapest

Bodo for those think drive EV will save moneh for petrol
sikongma

175 posts

Thanks TS for letting us know how TNB charge the ICPT. IMO as long as you import from TNB, they spent that amount to generate the electricity you import thus if you exceed the subsidized quota, you pay the full cost (so the rest of us don't have to subsidize you). Your Solar Panels generated electricity that was sold back to TNB at the agreed price in your agreement/contract independent of ICPT (and you already know this when you installed your solar panel). Thus I don't see the issue here. Like some other say, you CAN opt to charge your car during the day thus lowering your energy import. Moreover you should calculate the amount you save per km vs petrol to make it more apple to apple comparison.
darkterror15

359 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:10 PM)
Atto3 has very high energy loss, a full charge from 0% will actually pull around 70-75kWh instead of what they say it is 60kWh.

And also a full charge is roughly 320-350km. So hard to get 400km
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Aug 9 2023, 05:11 PM)
Can you calculate how much they spend in petrol vs EV? How to calculate cuz I got a bone to pick with these complain kings
75kw needed to charge 60kw battery, then it is 25% lost, assume 60kwh giving u 300km, then 1 kw is 5km, and 100km is 20kw.

20kw with 25% charging loss requires 25kw, and lets consider you are hitting more than 900kw per month without ev, so every kw to charge ev will cost you rm 0.571.

then charging 25w will cost u rm 14.275.

fuel per 100km for my almera is 8 to 9 liter. so if 8 liter will be rm 16.40.

little bit saving, but if u hit 1500kw probably no saving.

but also depend on what ICE u drive la.

i am using worse case for ev and best case for ICE for calculation. if u charge using first 300 unit u always save money.

This post has been edited by darkterror15: Aug 9 2023, 05:27 PM
billy08
post Aug 9 2023, 05:27 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Juan86 @ Aug 9 2023, 04:53 PM)
kalau tak suka

jangan guna
tapi sudah pasang.. belanja lebih RM50K
TSBoy96
post Aug 9 2023, 05:27 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

See description in image

This one very kesian. Last time with solar pay around rm30+ only per month. Suddenly ICPT charges kena rm200+ per month

How to gain back ROI from installing 40k+ solar like this

This post has been edited by Boy96: Aug 9 2023, 05:29 PM
MR_alien
post Aug 9 2023, 05:30 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

if your solar is big enough to not needing to pull frm the grid
thn what are they charging u?
billyboy

2,220 posts

your buddy is T1....aircond on 24/7....ok lah...bayar je... cool2.gif

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 04:46 PM)
With the new ICPT charges of 10c/kWh for any usage above 1500kWh , solar users also kena this charges despite them using the solar they generate to power their house/charge their EV

Got this bill thru my EV whatsapp group

Tnb just flat out charge additional 10 cents/kWh for the total energy usage instead of just anything above the 1500kWh use

This is tnb bill for another solar user who didnt hit the 1500kWh monthly usage

your buddy is T1....aircond on 24/7....ok lah...bayar je... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by billyboy: Aug 9 2023, 05:30 PM
netflix2019

418 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Aug 9 2023, 05:16 PM)
Interesting. Last week i just saw Marques video about solar panels on house.

He gets credits for generating more back to the grid. and the credits will carry forward the next bill.

I remember reading TNB has the same scheme.

https://www.tnb.com.my/solar/faq#:~:text=Th...0pv%20system%3F
But i understand that TS says TNB increases rates after certain KWh usage regardless of solar credits or not.

But i would like to know where is the section for the credits if you generate more than you use?
It's in the TNB bill first page. TS didnt post cos contain your name address etc. Basically bottom left got the "Baki NEM" and the tarikh luput.

Just installed solar for my house. My bill rm800+ reduce to rm40+
zerorating

Miskin Adab
976 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:24 PM)
But look at the bill, even if you use during daytime, it still feeds off the grid, the energy generated is only to contra to the grid no?
then find a better inverter la. sweat.gif
ideally it supposed to prioritize house usage first.
9m2w
post Aug 9 2023, 05:32 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:05 PM)
Susah mau explain in simpler sentence. These new ICPT charges they simply implement without thinking thru
I dont have solar yet. But it doesnt matter how much your system generate. Tnb still charge u icpt on your total usage.
I'm not familiar with residential so I'm assuming is you're using electricity from your system when it's generating, importing from grid when there is a short for example at night

My place my neighbours mostly install 5kwp systems, corner got 11 la. So 5kwp multiply by 4 hours (tembak here could be higher) and 30 days gets you about 600kwh give or take

That's your buffer before hitting the ICPT. Like someone said charge during the day.
a_dot_el
post Aug 9 2023, 05:33 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:24 PM)
By right ICPT charges should be charged after contra.
9m2w

1,035 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Aug 9 2023, 05:19 PM)
with the new ICPT for solar users

you would want to consume more (wash, heat etc.) and charge ur car during the day to avoid importing from grid then only use the usual stuff at night... i manage to reduce from 1600kwh to nett 400kwh with the strategy
T1 spotted. How the heck you use 1600

And two, how big your roof to fit in 1200kwh monthly solar kek

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Aug 9 2023, 05:34 PM
sadlyfalways

1,185 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Aug 9 2023, 04:55 PM)
With solar it's hard to exceed 1500. Most house holds also cept for T1s
you obviously dont understand how solar works in malaysia
vapanel

1,075 posts

Don't sell back to TNB

Live off grid
9m2w
post Aug 9 2023, 05:34 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Aug 9 2023, 05:33 PM)
you obviously dont understand how solar works in malaysia
No actually I don't. Won't mind if ppl enlighten me

But for normal household usage 1500 is pretty high already
sadlyfalways
post Aug 9 2023, 05:35 PM

1,185 posts

Tesla Malaysia teased tesla powerwall,

that will be only solution to say f off to tnb monopoly

mkbhd got video go see

25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top