Health screen revealed I got heart issue

Ramjade
post Aug 3 2023, 06:19 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Aug 3 2023, 06:14 PM)
Supplements really works for prevention of heart issue like TS have?
Wrong type and and under dose won't do anything. Right type and proper dose will do something for you. Also need to see quality. Taking a rancid fish oil is worse than taking no fish oil.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 3 2023, 06:20 PM
Iceman74
post Aug 3 2023, 06:23 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 3 2023, 12:42 PM)
sorry I can't recall if I have missed out in ur earlier replies

But did you had a heart attack prior to the failed stress test?
no

supplements are just supplements, they won't help do or reverse whatever already there especially with continuity years of unhealthy lifestyles.
never trust any supplements sales talks unless there are proven scientific research and know how effective they are in real world usage.
kevinc
post Aug 3 2023, 08:51 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(Heroicage @ Aug 2 2023, 04:35 PM)
I took the mobile heart raeder around that age becoz i felt heart palpatation... After consultation... Blood test, threadmill.... Doctor told me nothing for me.... The ecg data also did not show any risk during my sleep...

Two doctors i can say good.
Assunta Dr. Lam.

Amcorp mall there is a heart specialist dr. Patricia.... Very expensive but good.

Should you need consultation 2nd opinion.
i'm under Lam also. ur post reminded me to follow up on my paroxysmal Afib in aug lol. also had palpitations few yrs before getting Afib. did u do stress echocardiography? possibly palpitation can leads to PAF
SUSwasime
post Aug 3 2023, 10:28 PM

106 posts

my friend bypass heart canal surgery

i knew him only one year

then he died
low yat 82
post Aug 3 2023, 10:45 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

So those wanna check. Shud start witmajor health check or straight go cardio specialist to check heart a.10years back I had palpitations n went to ijn for checkup. Doc says no big deal. N after I change lifestyle it didn't come bc d. But las year kena covid, palpitations come bc once in a blue moon..
feynman
post Aug 3 2023, 11:13 PM

4,781 posts

I don't see anyone talking about root causes and trying to address root causes.....only what kind of medication to take....medication doesn't address root causes, doesn't fix the problem. it only manages the problem.....and the problem will continue to get bigger as you age

Fundamentally, coronary heart disease is a lifestyle disease......in most causes it means, too much sugar, too much refined sugar, too much processed foods, too much refined carbohydrates coupled with limited physical activity. Carbs have refined and complex versions....most in the market are refined. If you keep your daily intake of carbs to just 20% and only stick to the complex carb, while keep 40% of lean protein, 40% of healthy fats, slightly less than your daily calorie requirements....you'll see changes across the board.

If you solve the food problem, you would have solved 80% of the problem. Physical activity helps you deal with stress.

etan26
post Aug 4 2023, 08:46 AM

322 posts

Better than none I supposed.
Heroicage
post Aug 4 2023, 08:49 AM

265 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Aug 3 2023, 08:51 PM)
i'm under Lam also. ur post reminded me to follow up on my paroxysmal Afib in aug lol. also had palpitations few yrs before getting Afib. did u do stress echocardiography? possibly palpitation can leads to PAF
Nope..just threadmill, and simple EKG. He did not see any abnormal issues with my heart valves.

To make me feel more assured, since I persisted, he just did the

cardiac troponin test, which was OK.
cardiac event monitor, where I took 1 week data of sleep, exercises, where i carried the recorder around. ( he did not see anything abnormal, just some heart rhythm when I sleep, he believe not something to worry about ).

the only pointing factor for me....was my thyroid, was actually near hyper, and til today...it is the only factor that points to my concern. Also, my lack of stamina for my age (which i lack exercises).

Pretty much detail when he explains...and he isn't very like against if I wanted some test to be done (although had an annoyed face), eventhough he knows from his experience there isn't anything he suspect from the data.

Note: There are alot of perhaps better consultants out there...but i just got his info from alot of aunties/uncles that got recommended him.

TShoonanoo
post Aug 4 2023, 08:54 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Aug 3 2023, 11:13 PM)
I don't see anyone talking about root causes and trying to address root causes.....only what kind of medication to take....medication doesn't address root causes, doesn't fix the problem. it only manages the problem.....and the problem will continue to get bigger as you age
Fundamentally, coronary heart disease is a lifestyle disease......in most causes it means, too much sugar, too much refined sugar, too much processed foods, too much refined carbohydrates coupled with limited physical activity. Carbs have refined and complex versions....most in the market are refined. If you keep your daily intake of carbs to just 20% and only stick to the complex carb, while keep 40% of lean protein, 40% of healthy fats, slightly less than your daily calorie requirements....you'll see changes across the board.

If you solve the food problem, you would have solved 80% of the problem. Physical activity helps you deal with stress.
physical activiity better becareful not to over exert.

https://www.msn.com/en-my/lifestyle/other/m...c069a6c5f&ei=12

This example of a mid age man, suddenly die when he went for his regular jog.

Are you saying put stent is the ultimate solution?
TShoonanoo
post Aug 4 2023, 09:00 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(wasime @ Aug 3 2023, 10:28 PM)
my friend bypass heart canal surgery

i knew him only one year

then he died
sorry to hear that

I know a friend's father, had a heart attack, died for 3min but was revived.

He then had triple bypass and 3-4 stents.

20% of his heart dead.

that was 25 years ago

he is still alive and kicking

driving his ferrari.

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Aug 4 2023, 09:01 AM
TShoonanoo
post Aug 4 2023, 09:02 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Aug 3 2023, 06:23 PM)
no
supplements are just supplements, they won't help do or reverse whatever already there especially with continuity years of unhealthy lifestyles.
never trust any supplements sales talks unless there are proven scientific research and know how effective they are in real world usage.
wow, you never had a heart attack

u r as fit as a horse

yet u can have blocked arteries?

I not sure if it is due to diet and heredity.

I also heard of a similar person like u. He likes sports, never had heart attacks, just went for a health check, then doctor said his artery blocked need to do stents.
TShoonanoo
post Aug 4 2023, 09:03 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(latte36 @ Aug 2 2023, 03:17 PM)
Recommended to seek a specialist and get their advise. Take everything here with a pinch of salt.

I'm familiar with health care but  I shall refrain from giving you non qualified advises.

See a cardio. See a physician. Get few opinions. It's still early but now you know you got issues, go get it checked.
going to.

after consultations with various friends and family, I narrow down my list.

arranging for my company GL now to fund for it.

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Aug 4 2023, 09:04 AM
kevinc
post Aug 4 2023, 09:25 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(Heroicage @ Aug 4 2023, 08:49 AM)
He did not see any abnormal issues with my heart valves.
he just did the

cardiac troponin test, which was OK.
then's good

cardiac event monitor, where I took 1 week data of sleep, exercises, where i carried the recorder around. ( he did not see anything abnormal, just some heart rhythm when I sleep, he believe not something to worry about ).
he referred me to a cardio in ijn for an af ablation. the specialist denied a surgery due to my age and cardio reports. instead asked to go for a sleep apnea test (suspected could be a cause of af also)

Also, my lack of stamina for my age (which i lack exercises).
user prob lol should have exercise once a week at the least

Pretty much detail when he explains...and he isn't very like against if I wanted some test to be done (although had an annoyed face), eventhough he knows from his experience there isn't anything he suspect from the data.
he's family doc & old school. no fancy equipments. no nonsense. grumpy at times lol dad & i also under him for heart issues
feynman
post Aug 4 2023, 09:58 AM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 4 2023, 08:54 AM)
physical activiity better becareful not to over exert.

https://www.msn.com/en-my/lifestyle/other/m...c069a6c5f&ei=12

This example of a mid age man, suddenly die when he went for his regular jog.

Are you saying put stent is the ultimate solution?
So because of that, no one should have any physical activity?

By that logic, the evidence of smoking, eating lots of sugar and processed foods is damaging to health....and people have been dying from that....yet people still do the same shit
TShoonanoo
post Aug 4 2023, 10:07 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(feynman @ Aug 4 2023, 09:58 AM)
So because of that, no one should have any physical activity?

By that logic, the evidence of smoking, eating lots of sugar and processed foods is damaging to health....and people have been dying from that....yet people still do the same shit
i mean don't overstrain yourself la

like for me, I like to push myself to the next mile.

SUSMr Mercedes
post Aug 4 2023, 11:42 AM

424 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 4 2023, 10:07 AM)
i mean don't overstrain yourself la

like for me, I like to push myself to the next mile.
No you don't do that. Exercise with moderate intensity. Don't overdo it.

There was this viral video few weeks ago, uncle collapse playing badminton. Looks like heart attack.

Even Le Bron's son, young fella only. College basketball player, soon to be drafted into NBA, also kena cardiac arrest while training.

This post has been edited by Mr Mercedes: Aug 4 2023, 11:43 AM
Iceman74
post Aug 4 2023, 02:47 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 4 2023, 09:02 AM)
wow, you never had a heart attack

u r as fit as a horse

yet u can have blocked arteries?

I not sure if it is due to diet and heredity.

I also heard of a similar person like u. He likes sports, never had heart attacks, just went for a health check, then doctor said his artery blocked need to do stents.
no fit lar.. more like overweight cos lazy to excise due to working.
so for no heredity on my side.
I think mostly due to my unhealthy diet previously.

Like I said, healthy now doesn't means anything as all this happened due to accumulating bad habits and of cos heredity play a parts.

major health screen is a must if there is no major heredity problems after 35 years old
If there is family history, better educated and start earlier to monitor any abnormal growth and compared with history.
Dark Lord
post Aug 4 2023, 03:22 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Aug 1 2023, 05:53 PM)
thanks.

hah, I have to take blood thinners for the rest of my life? why?

I known one of my friend's mother took blood thinners, one day she felt dizzy and vomitted, just passed away macam tu.
Cause her doctor lousy. My family went to UH. Our whole family got high cholesterol. Doctor said just eat the cholesterol medicine. But need to book appointment every few months to do blood test and checking. Cause will have super duper low chance that some people might have certain problem after taking the medicine. We are fine but if saw even a bit abnormal number, doctor will take action immediately so it doesn't develop into something more serious.

So, go to the best specialist you can find. Ask for his advice. Can tell him about your friend's mom case too. A good doctor will explain everything for you. Make sure got follow up, else change doctor.

Btw, regarding you saying that you can run 5km no problem. Having heart problem doesn't mean you will have symptoms. And you can still get heart attack even if you are very healthy after doing all the checking. Having a healthy heart means that in case you got stoke for whatever reason, you have a very very high chance of surviving it, without having side effects after the attack.

This post has been edited by Dark Lord: Aug 4 2023, 03:28 PM
skindred
post Aug 5 2023, 12:46 AM

283 posts

I think what has to be said or advised, has been advised in previous comments..

But one thing i need to ask you, TS - Are you a very stressed or tension person? Whether from work, family, creativity, etc.

Eating a good diet, and cutting the bad stuff is one thing.. (not eating enough of the good stuff is also another).. But I do know that people who are constantly stressed / tension, lack good sleep... Also have high cholesterol.

I myself am guilty of that. I'm slim (underweight, actually) , do not smoke, do not drink, once awhile eat some cake with wife (shared).. But my cholesterol (LDL) is high, and hard to bring down.
HDL also hard to bring up, even though i always eat proper diet.
TShoonanoo
post Aug 5 2023, 07:04 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(skindred @ Aug 5 2023, 12:46 AM)
I think what has to be said or advised, has been advised in previous comments..

But one thing i need to ask you, TS - Are you a very stressed or tension person? Whether from work, family, creativity, etc.

Eating a good diet, and cutting the bad stuff is one thing.. (not eating enough of the good stuff is also another).. But I do know that people who are constantly stressed / tension, lack good sleep... Also have high cholesterol.

I myself am guilty of that. I'm slim (underweight, actually) , do not smoke, do not drink, once awhile eat some cake with wife (shared).. But my cholesterol (LDL) is high, and hard to bring down.
HDL also hard to bring up, even though i always eat proper diet.
normal stress like if someone suddenly cut into my lane while I am driving 120kmh, I sure maki hamun that fella lah.

I know one colleague of mine, bullied by my employers, during MCO, to prepare office for sanitization and rearrange the position, he worked till late at night, then died of heart attack.

10 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:22 PM